Subaru B5-TPH Concept

Subaru’s B5-TPH concept was shown at the Tokyo Motor Show 2005. Subaru calls it a blend of the characteristics of a sports wagon, a coupe and an SUV. They could technically call it a shooting brake if they wanted to, like Audi’s Shooting Brake Concept.

Production plans for the Subaru B5-TPH is unknown but Subaru plans to use some of the technologies gained from research in production vehicles in 2007. The TPH in it’s name stands or Turbo Parallel Hybrid. This particular system mates the usual turbocharged 2.0 litre 4 cylinder boxer that’s Subaru is famous for with a thin 13 horsepower motor between the engine and the transmission. This motor boosts torque at low engine speeds.

Frankly I just can’t get used to the new Subaru styling yet.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mango on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:43 pm

YUK….!! Damn ugly…

• rafreez on Oct 25, 2005 at 8:08 pm

uuuuuuuuweeeeeeekkk….vomitting blood

• tiong on Oct 25, 2005 at 8:28 pm

better savvy btw that ugly car……

• Dando on Oct 25, 2005 at 9:09 pm

off topic: Paul, Forbes magazine have just came out with a list of the least safe cars of 2006, maybe u wanna blog about it?

• xprezzy on Oct 25, 2005 at 10:33 pm

euw………looks like yougurt……..

ugly and looks disgusting

errr SUBARU you better redisgn your "concept" car and do your homework well

• siren on Oct 25, 2005 at 11:58 pm

Hey I think I'm in love. It's so COOL!

And I don't usually even LIKE weird new designs. I'm such a traditionlist.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:21 am

What is Concepts cars for? Anyone knows IT?

• yhtan on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:27 am

wow…lucy is a concept car only

• ex-mivec on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:30 am

ok what. subaru maaa…. from the back, looks like a huge pig!

• SEE FU on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:48 am

Wah!! My wantan Mee almost omitted out man!!

Wagon not wagon, sports car not sporty, Ah pek not 100% ah pek, Ah nah not nah completely…..What is this????? Some more only 2 doors!! F**K man

YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!!! Show car should be looks special and awesome not like this…..!! Shit!!

• If I was the WRX, I would ram myself agaist my new sibling.

• mihonkenji on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:18 am

Well, i really dun mind driving one of this…really. :)

• danishbrad on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:32 am

Nice

• hfrshah on Oct 26, 2005 at 5:19 am

Kinda funny-looking. The front is pseudo-80's-futuristic while the back is all out retro.. Doesnt really match.. Surely not ugly, tho its no beauty either. Unique and original

• MutantTomato on Oct 26, 2005 at 8:07 am

The front is quite tolerable… but the back? Bad show la! Damn ugly backside sialllll!!

• Umeng on Oct 26, 2005 at 5:42 pm

No comment.very nice!!!!

• hot1gmx6 on Oct 27, 2005 at 9:31 am

you know why those look nasty….subby and saab had a "joint operating agreement" until they broke it off earlier this year…have you seen the new WRX STi ? looks a lot like like the new Saab 93

• alansm on Oct 27, 2005 at 5:48 pm

This car look odd in picture. But if anyone of us got a chance to stand in front this car ,u 'll be impressed by the design elements. You won't be able to close you mouth. The rear and side look fine to me. The only nasty part is the front.

• Saabbaru? (Saab + Subaru)

• kanasai on Nov 01, 2005 at 6:21 am

ugly? wa ha ha ha ha ha ha ……. not sure bout the interior … but the outlook damm chun!!

• MoMoSosicko on Nov 02, 2005 at 9:44 am

i have to agree wif you EX-Mivec from the back its look like a giant pig face…but then again the froont oklah futuristic make me wanna buy..

its like nice bust bad bum….

• I was taken aback with the BACK… front so stylist.. the back argh!

• Sandile on Nov 04, 2005 at 1:10 am

Subaru should not try too hard on creating future cars,but i must say that i love the WRX Impreza STI it is very breath taking.Kep it up!!!!

• Subaru should continue producing the impreza and staying in the rally competition otherwise bankruptcy is inevitable

Stop designing losers you just cant do it !!!

• benunited on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:19 pm

looks like my shoe…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:51 pm

YUCK!!! Puke, puke, puke, and more puke…

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 11:35 pm

here comes a new style… exhaust in front

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 6:25 pm

man…wots with the new exhaust design la???…the new evo, civic type R & now the new imprezas all gonna be with 2 tailpipes???

• BobMarley (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 9:42 am

ya, very ugly. very unsubaruish! Impreza is a rally car, not a piece of poo GM wannabe futuristic crap car.