NAZA NX-01 Spyshots

small_nx01.jpgThese are spyshots of a new car being tested on Malaysian roads. It is a small mini-MPV type of vehicle which belongs in the Hyundai/Inokom Atos and Perodua Kenari class of cars. It’s heavily plastered, but the overall shape and certain design features leads me to believe that it is the Naza NX-01, which is supposed to be launched on the 22nd of April 2006. That’s 10 days from now. Check out the spyshots after the jump.

UPDATE: Naza Sutera launched, click here for details.

nx01_01.jpg

I’ve put 2 photos of the original Hafei Lobo 1.1 litre at the end of this blog post so you can compare our Malaysianised Naza version with the original car. You can’t erally see properly what Naza has did to customise the car design to the Malaysian market. The funky triangular turn signals at the base of the A-pillar is still there, taped up.

The number plate has also been moved up to the hatch lid instead of Hafei’s rear bumper mounting position. It looks like there’s not much modifications. New rear bumper without a number plate, a new rear hatch lid with a number plate, and probably Naza’s front grille. I’m pretty confident the front will look good as Naza’s own designs for the Naza Ria and Naza Citra actually look better than the original Korean Kia grilles.

The original Hafei Lobo 1.1 litre was designed by Pininfarina and is 850kg, powered by a 1.1 litre (1075cc) engine making 62 horsepower at 5700rpm and 85Nm of torque at 3000rpm with a top speed of 130km/h.

Naza has another car up it’s sleeves, the Naza NX-02 which should be based on the Peugeot 206. More details on that in my previous post “Naza to launch NX-01 and NX-02 within two months“.

Hafei Lobo 1.1
NAZA to sell Chinese minicars
Naza to launch NX-01 and NX-02 within two months

nx01_02.jpg

nx01_03.jpg

nx01_04.jpg

orilobo1.jpg

orilobo2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• alqassa (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 10:50 am

nothing special ! bored

• hetfield85 (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 1:04 pm

Why the tail lamp designed like that ?? so freakin' UGLY :( :(

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 4:19 pm

indeed, its the same car. i do agree with u guyz, totally-ordinary (xcept for the triangular approach), nothing special/interesting bout the design. no need to taped-up everything, nobody noticed anyway.

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 4:22 pm

to be honest, the tail lights ain't that bad… those square headlamps may date fast… and I hope the grill dun look like the hafei's… hehe..

and i surely hope the steering will be of better quality, and not of different grade plastics like in the pic… lol

• kendo (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 5:09 pm

In china,

these are called no-frills " china national car",

price around RM25K, just like Cherry-Alado QQ (spark-clone)

(kancil, iswara classes pricing)

NAZA, can u price it the same

thus to truly benefit RAKYAT?

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 6:08 pm

Steering wheel is yuck.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 6:11 pm

Yea.. boring.. even savvy looks much better.. what a stupid place to put the front signal lamp.. if it is Atoz brother.. then dont buy la.. i heard many horror stories from Atoz owner, especially bad FC.. better buy small car from P2 or savvy… i really dont think i can sell good here, since we ve P2.. & myvi still hot in the market…

• raverus (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 6:27 pm

hm……not a beautiful thing. If its really…cheap, ppl won't mind. As cheap as kancil at least.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 6:40 pm

hahaha.. yeah sure.. as cheap as kancil, which i think wud be impossible… see how much spark cost here… difficult to see one oso.. they never learned…

• retrofuturism (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 7:11 pm

this car design was penned by pininfarina (source: Auto & Design issue 134). for my humble opinion, the design outcome was quite controversy just like the hyundai matrix. this kind of car might looks different (funky triangular taillight…), but the aesthetic is not there. For the interior, hopefully naza NX01 has a better treatment on the plastics interior…we shall see…

• drM (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 7:31 pm

why NAZA has the permission to take cars like Sorento, 206, and this Lobo and Malaysia-nised them? put the NAZA badge and suddenly the brand also changed. NAZA Sorento? NAZA Ria? And the price get lowered summore. last month, I managed to get hold into one NAZA Sorento and i dont think there's a single modification from the original Sorento.Even the look also the same.Totally plagiarism.

I dont understand the concept of NAZA acquiring these cars and put their badge into them. Let say they manage to get one SLK here and do the same as they did to Sorento and 206. Wonder what the name of that Malaysia-nised SLK? NAZA SLK? hahahahahahahaahahaah

• catborg (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 7:43 pm

1.1 = max speed 130kmh?

savvy 1.2 = 170kmh :o

TUV? airbag?

but if hell realy cheap below 20K.. why not? ;)

else = yet another scrap and rubbish!

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 8:35 pm

That triangle headlights has a massive flaw. Pininfarina or not, he forgot people side park. The rear lights make rear parking quit hard, unless you park in front of a lorry, bus.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 9:02 pm

why we, malaysian like to be a copycat? why can we produce a car totally belong to malaysia and capable of challenging other brands?

• kendo (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 9:42 pm

better we don;t produce any national cars,

then there are no cronies / nothing to PROTECT,

CLOSE,or sell off, all national cars plants,

there will be our motto, for all politicians,

in coming election,

all can enjoy CHEAP good cars!

Malaysia is not a auto leagues,

maybe mtotobike leagues ,

(keep Aguesta, as dr.M siad,

but sell Proton)

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 10:04 pm

REDDEVIL… not bcoz they dont want produce themself.. but to develop a car you need huge investment in R&D… rebranding is cheap & fast way to produce something, not only car.. but many2 other things.. but of coz u need to pay some amount of royalty or some kind.. depands how is their contract la… furthemore, i think msian dont have enuf expertise to develop their own cars yet.. we r just not ready.. no proper planning.. unlike produa they have big brothers daihatsu & toyota for support… even with low quality produce, their technology is reliable….

Like poton.. they lack of expertise.. so desprate for partners.. i hope they'll make it with VW…. Naza only like to make fast money.. anyl brand boleh.. they just go for the best deal.. of coz low cost deals…..

• rhoma (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:10 pm

The number plate has also been moved up to the hatch lid instead of Hafei’s rear bumper mounting position.

i think the number plate is still on the bumper

see the bumper part where got black tape covered

the one on the hatch lid is a temporary number plate hanged on to the wiper

• Paul Tan on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:16 pm

rhoma: hmmmmm you're right! i didn't notice the string.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:26 pm

Motorhead… i totally agreed. proton must get a partner asap so that they can save the R&D cost. let's see what they got after pumping so much money in R&D, proton gen-2 and savvy. gen-2 is rated 1-star and the latter rated 2-star in the www.whatcar.com, what a failure…

if the jokers in proton don't know how to manage, it's better for the G to sell it to other big gun in car industry. waive the damn NAP, all the rakyat will be joyful… everyone can get a good quality car with a reasonable price.. i think that is all malaysian dreams..

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:36 pm

hoyeaaa… yeah better sell P1 for good… Tun M said it b4… Datuk Shahir oso mentioned.. if the partnership didnt work out, i think it is possible… but sure take more than 5 years… i will be older that time…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:40 pm

don't like the car at all…. from the exterior to interior.. all seems very cheap especially the interior.. feels like plastic car.. i really don't like the central dashboard… damn ugly..

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 11:46 pm

yeah.. cheap interior.. remind me the interior of new kancil model.. the interior quite similar…. center meter oso….

• kody (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 1:29 am

XX@XX#@X P1…. you see how people suffer & hate for the brand. people tend to forget only if P1 produce really good quality & cheap in price then it can change the image…. wait lah….. haha :)

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 2:10 am

the car actually looks narrower than a kancil.

btw DrM, there are too many WHYS.. when it comes to NAZA.. no one knows.

• acbc (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 8:19 am

Hey… Holden of Australia also did the same way… rebadging cheap Korean / Chinese cars as their own.

What do u get? A market flooded with cheap and cheerful every day rakyat cars. Best of all, they are NEW! Enough of Proton Saga / Iswara, Satria, Wira, Putra, Perdana, Tiara, Arena n Juara already!

Proton should follow Naza's step… that's what Hyundai did some 30 years ago! Look at them today… can compete with Japanese n Germans. Where is Proton? Stuck in some 'nyanyuk' advicer's toilet / recycle bin.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:03 am

Looks ugly from every single direction, maybe it's a good drive though.

• KingKong (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:51 am

what so special about this car till Naza need to cover it???

its damn ugly…they must admitted…no need to cover it.

because i dont care about this ugly car!!

• kendo (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 4:53 pm

the more models the merrier,

let them compete on price and models,

then rakyats benefit, truly..

forget about PROTECTION!

too much these of protection shitttt in malaysia already…

• catborg (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 7:08 pm

no major change.. errr.. even a minor change from the original hafei's car..

the tire so thick .. urrrgggg.. dangerous drive..

this kinda business wouldnt give malaysia any good manner..

gud luck naza..

MAKE MORE RUBBISH AND SCRAP HERE!..

• e1fnd (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 7:08 pm

the price and the quality can be a selling point…i wonder when geely ck will enter malaysian market….below 30k woooo!!!!!

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:31 pm

freakin…ly….. ugli…shhhhh

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:37 pm

so slow oso, 130 only.. even my ex850 can go 140kmp.. use G power plugs…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 10:21 pm

Saw the real thing. well Naza did a good job on changing the whole package into a better looking car compares to the China version. But there are still doubt on the quality & safety of these cars even the upcoming NX02. My point of view, it looks like the Ford Fiesta in a certain way. Even the interior has made some changes. Reasonable for some female which dunno anything about cars but just the looks(i presume).

But price & size like, i think it would be cheaper than the ones P1 Sav-me. They say Sav-me has good sales figure, but i heard there were some news saying that it needs desperade help from R3 to boost the sales. That is why 0-kit was intro. Another news saying NX01 wasn't launch yet due to NAP pricing. U figure…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:50 pm

Motorhead – your ex850 go for 140 kmp…. better take care of your safety and of course not get saman polis lah, you may get poorer by RM 100.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:47 am

Joe.. hahaha… last time i got saman twice a month… if i got bigger car, dont knowlah…ok what, can wait merdeka day, they'll give 50% discount… but if u kena, dont give duit kopi, just take the saman.. & go to any balai… look for ketua polis daerah & ask for discount, sure they will give one… but better make pity face & go to district area… those polis officers more friendly… hahaha.. i used to doit… what to do, i ve passion toward speed….

ps:use to ride my bike 180kmp…. my motor oso got saman ekor…hahaha..

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:48 am

LEts bet on the price. I bet the price will be between RM29k and RM32k.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 3:56 am

NoWay…. this is Cartaxland.. remember??.. even spark not that cheap!!.. but i dont know oso… since this is bolehland.. anything is possible.. maybe 50k for this poor car… hahaha…u c la..

• Din (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 8:39 pm

I saw that EXACT green car with the sticky tapes covering it coming downhill (while I was driving uphill) the Batang Kali – Genting Highlands road. I think I saw it for about 2 seconds. Saw it 2 days ago.

• RBC (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 1:57 am

for me..Naza change the interior/exterior much better then hafei lobo..

standard features: twin air bags, power stering, engine maybe base on suzuki tecnology. front view sporty but back view i dont think so..head lamp quite sporty… if the price range 30k to 40k, maybe can sell la…top speed can achieve >160km/h..(tak pasti..)

if not mistaken this 22/4/06 will be launch..(so wait & see..)

• goingberserk (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 11:36 pm

Hi guys, This my 1st time visit to paul's blog. I found the articles, comments as well as barrage of critisims on automobile industry especially concerning our beloved malaysian car industry somewhat bemusing and yet enlightening. I do agreed that to some extent on the quality of our Malaysian cars are somewhat consistently comparable to the olden days of early 50s or even 60s. Much has yet be done to enhance the the reputation of malaysian manufacturers esp. proton. Common complaints esp on proton are a norm in Malaysia. As mentioned by other bloggers, the industry MUST CHANGE. The only way to do it is GOVERNMENT ACTION. Take a proactive and concrete action, like making it compulsory for all new cars to pass a certain standard, compulsory airbag installation, side impact bar, enforcement or enhancement of car chassis. banning car modification esp by manufacturer like longer chasis. It is up to the Government to dictate the terms and direction of the industry. The current administration has not done enough in terms of safety of cars, controlling of quality of cars manufactured and the flooding of cheaper chinese and probably indian cars in the market. I felt sad at the current predicament of malaysian car manufacturers. They only have themselves to blamed for not taking positive action in rectifying past mistakes. For a car manufacturer with more than 20years experience and with SEVERE AND HIGH GOVERNMENT PROTECTION, they still cant be left independently. What a shame that Malaysian car manufacturers cant take a cue of what happened in the past. I would dread to c all efforts to help Malaysian automobile industry falls into the drain. What a waste.