Naza Sutera (Naza NX-01) to be launched tomorrow

nx01_01.jpg

Naza will be launching it’s new Naza Sutera (Naza NX-01) tomorrow in Bertam, Penang. The Naza Sutera will be Naza’s first foray into the national mini car market, currently dominated by the Proton Savvy and the Perodua Myvi. Naza also sells the Kia Picanto but that’s not really the same price range and it is considered an import car.

Also at the launch will be importers from the UK, India, Pakistan and some Asean countries. Naza will be signing agreements with these importers to export the Naza Sutera (Naza NX-01) to their countries. Out of 30,000 units of the Naza Sutera’s production yearly, it’s expected that 33% which is 10,000 units will be destined for export. Exports are expected to start in 3 months time.

Update: Naza Sutera launched, more details here!

The Naza Sutera (Naza NX-01) will be a mini car competing with cars like the Proton Savvy and the Perodua Myvi. It is touted as a recession-proof car, economical enough to maintain and run even through recession. This market range hopes to convert motorcyclists to car users.

Naza says the Naza Sutera was developed and styled by Naza at it’s Gurun R&D center together with Italia, British and South Korean designers. Although not mentioned in today’s press report, it’s quite clear that the car is based on the Hafei Lobo, a small Chinese car with a 1.1 litre engine. Naza re-engineered it to be right-hand drive and customised the styling to suit Malaysian preferences.

The Naza Sutera is expected to cost between RM35,000 to RM40,000. Naza also confirmed that the Naza NX-02 will be based on the Peugeot 206 and will have a production of 10,000 units a year, with 3,000 of that amount for export. The Peugeot 206 based Naza NX-02 will be priced between RM65,000 and RM75,000 and is expected to be introduced in May.

If you want to know how the Naza Sutera (Naza NX-01) looks like, have a look at the Naza NX-01 spyshots post. The original Hafei Lobo 1.1 that it was based on is also available for viewing here.

Related Posts: Naza NX-01 spyshots

Update: Naza Sutera launched, more details here!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express skepticism and criticism about the Naza Sutera's quality, pricing, and design, with many considering it overpriced compared to Chinese and global alternatives. Several highlight the car's low-end origin, poor safety features, and unappealing appearance, while others compare it unfavorably to existing models like Myvi and Kia Picanto. Concerns about protectionism, high taxes, and inflated prices dominated the sentiments, with some viewers feeling the car is a rip-off and supporting boycotts. A few comments note the car's resemblance to Chinese models or toy-like appearance, and many advise waiting for more reviews or better alternatives, with a general negative tone toward the launch and the car's value proposition.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 10:20 pm

So, customers have 3rd choice on P3! This kind of car should sell below RM 25K only can hope to convert more motorcyclist to car users!

• ar (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 10:27 pm

huhuh….

Seen 2 naza "peugeot 206" at highway ipoh.

They drove quite fast my pajero couldnt catch them up.

Heheh

• jet (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 10:36 pm

if this become the 'kancil replacement' then, perodua in trouble!

• lomotus (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 10:43 pm

Correct me if i'm wrong Paul, but i think Bertam is in Penang ( Seberang Prai).

Not sure whether there's one in Pahang.

Will they launch the NX-02 together tomorrow?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 10:48 pm

Yes correct Bertam at Penang, if mentioned Pahang, it should be Pekan!

• go_go (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 11:29 pm

"……and also hopes to convert more motorcyclists to car users."— got to agree with Joe…. within price range of rm35 – 40k dosent make any sense to turn motorcyclist to car users…. but, if the quality of this car is better than myvi or savvy, it might have demands but not from motorcyclist…. i hope this car better than any P1 cars…

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 11:42 pm

nice pricing.. but really dislike the signal lamps position… its on critical position.. make the car look fragile….

• blazerSST (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 12:10 am

Just what malaysian road needs, more cars on the road and to add salt to injury they are small cars that are either driven slow on the fast lane or the driver is rushing to be re-incarnated.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 12:31 am

have u ever owned a NAZA motorbike? What about Comel motorbike? Just dont put ur hopes too high on these cars in the sense of quality.

I think the manufacturers need to be more "transparent" on their products towards the consumer.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 1:07 am

we will have to wait until tomorrow for this car

• Oops! (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 1:14 am

come with 4 years warranty as well? anyone?

• kody (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 1:31 am

wahlaueh…

Will it affordable to every cyclist….???? RM25-30k then it is ok lah… i wonder what is the safety features on this car. i am more interest on the '206' than this china's model.

but the Naza '206' at rm65k & 75k are quite expensive but need to review the spec 1st.

i don't have hopes that these 2 cars will anyway cheaper than P1 & P2 cars.

• DareDan (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 1:35 am

Looks like Kancil and the name is Naza Sutera…Just saw it…:)

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 1:51 am

recession proof? cheap to run and cheap to maintain? hope to convert m-cyclist to car driver?

which is cheaper? kancil 660 or Naza NX1?

do we see mcyclist gets converted all these while? there's still as many out there!

even a kancil cant get it done what makes one which is rm10k more could?

• kendo (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 3:32 am

::;—-The Naza NX-01 is expected to cost between RM35,000 to RM40,000. Naza also !!!"

IF NAZA rebadge- PICANTO KIA, instead

as RM35K, that is FAIR price!

(RM40K should be the price for fair SWIFT, VIOS, JAZZ, CITY..) Even Myvi, we are overpaying by RM10k, with 100k yearly volume. TOYOTA/ UMW group find M'sia MARKET and policy are EASY money!

same car, in china, it sells at RM10-15K ONLY! that is what we call National Cars! just like QQ-spark clone range! (some even come with sunroof, ABS, airBBAG….

converting motorbikers? what a BIG ripped-OFF and INSULT to them!

ANOTHER SLAUGHTERING ON RAKYATS!

only if it's RM10-15k, where KANCIL range shoud be!

• kendo (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 3:43 am

(corrected) same car, in china, it sells at RM15-20 K ONLY!

From RMB 36K onward

• Hilmax (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 4:19 am

I see it at junction to melaka,seremban,tampin. The trak move to seremban.

Sure it price in 10-15K in china but in TaxesGilaLand 35-40k. WTH.

Rakyat kena pancung 20K from their own hardwork,tired somemore.

The G polisy is the cause(or the G itself) and any problem from this Bulls&it(accidents,dreaming people for better and safe car) need to TERMINATED>

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 6:31 am

Well said, Hilmax.

Bingo, Kendo.

Yeap, HatukNgkau.

Naza Sutera??? another blood sucker from TaxmadLand / Bolehland / Cartaxland.

35k to 40k? You got to be joking!!!

Add another 5k, that's Mazda 6 CIF value.

Cars at reasonable prices? "It's HONDA again. If u know what i mean.

• KingKong (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 10:18 am

another ugly & outdated car for malangsian.

malangsia people will never taste new & updated car in their life.

RM 35k-40k is bloody expensive.

plus, it's UGLY!!!!

but Naza knows that malangsian will buy even its ugly.

because malangsian got no choice lioo!

• StingRayINC (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 2:19 pm

Hmm they don't really state any specific introduction or specs of the car and suddenly launch it, i think there's hanky panky around. (in the form of the car is not so good in some aspects such as handling that only allows normal speed cornering or even worse is that this kind of car would have difficulty in climbing hills).

Let's hope that it is not what I predicted. Hope that it's a good car with a reasonable price.

• StingRayINC (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 2:30 pm

Holy molly, the original car really looks like a toy car for a teenager age 12 and below. It is so simple until the passion of driving is completely lost, being damn dull to drive. I hope that the latest NZ version of interior would be more interesting than the Lobo…..Man that car really sux. "What Good is a car when you drove back from the stressful office of urs and Don't have the excitement that provided by the car." (At least when u get into the car u would say i love my car because i work hard for it" and not "Why i am still driving this car, after all the stress that i suffered and the long hours of work.) This is where motivation being born and maintained. People work hard, they will get better reward. In this land, although u work hard, u don't have any escape route, u gotta buy P1 and P2 cars first. If not, your monthly meal would be bread and butter for 365 days.

• carwhizkids (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 6:54 pm

wueekkk…

wat da ugliest car on da' earth…

Engine : Japan

Design by Pininfarina

Body : China (Hafei Lobo)

Naza Sutera 1.1

comes wif 2 airbag but dunno the tougher of da' body n egine…

RM 35K – RM 45K ???

Wanna killed Kancil mkt % ?? We'll might see it…

Price should be lower as Tan Sri brings it in cheap $$$

Not much change from; just the headlamp n interior inside…

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 9:07 pm

so, anybody seen it and took picture?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 9:07 pm

NAP is close market policy with few players get protected (P1, P2 & P3), in this situation it is near to "monopoly". Therefore, the "pricing behavior" for any product(s) intorduced by them is like cartel – few player dominate the market. It is not suprising the price range for given cc (as NAP sturcture is closely related to cc) is peg on their "prevailing manupulative prices" currently in place, knowing very well definitely there are no rival products (open competiton) will price below this range under CarTaxLand. Consumers still get suck until last drop of blood!………..

• kendo (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 9:40 pm

another "blood-sucking" axxxx junk,

that

enriching " cronism, nepotism" auto players,

at the

expenses of RAKYATS, whom

force to live in "ghana-type" third-word car life,

as even INDIA, CHINA people

( at RM40k , they are getting jazz, yaris, getz, BOON, tiada, polo, city, 206,)

advanced and are laughing at us!!!!!!

( Can believe even a G-head will go and OFFICIATE the launching

of a JUNK project (that not benefiting, but ripping-off rakyats) !)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 10:38 pm

kendo – some of G-head also benefit mah, …. who know!

• tkuan18 (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 1:12 am

I saw this car yesterday morning on my way to office, the workers is unloading them from the trailer. Looks better then the original Hafei Lobo but I can't see the interior as I was driving. My sister received a letter from the distributor saying the official launching will be today by our PM. The letter say it come with 2 air bags but I wonder if the body strong enough to take the impact during accident?

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 1:25 am

hey….detail report..have a look ppl

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/arti…

• cyrixMX (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 1:33 am

hey guys there report is out on motortrader website. RM36k will surely bit the market of Chevrolet Spark RM47k, Myvi RM48k and all P2 models in RM40k range.

• tkuan18 (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 1:56 am

Thanks CyrixMX, I saw the report and the photo pf exterior and interior of the car. I think Naza designer really do a good job to make this car look more classy then the original China car. It looks more sporty and don't look cheap. P1 should feel shy…..

• kendo (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 1:59 am

sutera, china cars, at RM37k, manual!?!!

vs…

savvy 1.2 manual RM39K (renault engines, Germany TUV"" quality certify)

u pick?

If sutera" at RM20-25k will be a good choice for kancil classes segment,

and for upgraded motorbiker, may be!

we don't need any so called-procted-National cars", just give me the REAL GLOBAL car, at fair global price!

• tkuan18 (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 2:16 am

I agreed with you, look at Thailand and Indonesia………..Toyota assembly their car there, their goverment do not need to protect them instead of getting billlions of dolars from them, their rakyat enjoy the best of class car with low price. Sadly to say, this rules doesn't work in this country.

• nissan130Y (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 3:07 am

come on lar.. some motorbike cost RM 60k. we can't care much for that. if this car is not bad. just hope the loan interest also cheap cheap. then anyone can think of it as a second car at least.

• McPadey (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 5:16 am

much better looking than the savvy

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 6:35 am

…some motorbike cost RM 60K or more is like MV Cagiva or other high end nitch market but not majority like Ah Chong, Ahmad or Muthu use motorbikes or "cub-cai" like Honda EX-5, Yamaha, Modenas, etc which cost around RM 3.5K to RM 5K. This Sutera still sale at "cartel manipulative price"! Only cub-cai economical and recession proof

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 7:15 am

saw it on TV… not bad… msia made look better…. but wont consider, looking forward anyone brave enuf to buy, i am sceptical with china products.. better wait for R3.. coming out soon….. at least it uses renault tech… proven in F1… ferari oso cannot beat them…yet….

• kendo (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 7:25 am

FOLKS,

in CHINA,

at RM40K,

can get U an ORIGINAL

peugeot 206, 1.6L AUTO!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 7:37 am

motorhead – agree with you that have to waite and see first, then most likely don't buy! This is China low end product perhap sold at around RM 15K in their country! Sorry to say that our perception is not all Made in China are not good but for those "low end" products we have reservation on the quality. Remember that low end products from China always look good but quality is utterly pathetic.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 7:40 am

In China, low end product sale at ridiculously "cheap & big". But come to Malaysia and change the brand, it is sale at ridiculously "expensive", look like P3 = P1! see-see and look-look what the talking!

• OvaBoost (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 8:28 am

FUGLY CAR!!!! My fellow Malangsian, pls don't buy!!!

Don't support stupid car manufacturer.

JV with China, what's up wit that!!!!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 8:36 am

Bolehland people need good cars? Dream on…..

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 5:26 pm

work hard to earn money to buy good and "expensive" car

• kendo (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 5:53 pm

PLEASE lah,

don't FOOL RAkYATS lah, with JUNKS products and corrupted policies,

no more!!!

in today globalised market and SOUND car life-

—in china, Japan,

hongkong, Aussie= Msia land space.,

,( except space-limit S'pore,)

for

RM40k : u get jazz, yaris, swift, 206, city, vios, aveo, getz

for

RM60-80K: u get Altis, Civic, Sentra. 306, madza3, focus,

for RM100k- u get camry, cefiro, accord, madza6, mondeo,

complete with ABS + airbags!

It's time to boycott, VOICE out, ACT and CHANGE!!!!!

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 6:02 pm

hey cool… the car actually looks rather nice… the changes they made are the stuff that needed changing… interior looks good too, not too sure on the quality yet tho

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 23, 2006 at 8:28 pm

Our country CarTaxLand auto sector is heavily tax-based oriented NAP, not consumer spending friendly policy!

• PGlang (Member) on Apr 24, 2006 at 4:58 am

After applying some cosmetic change in front, this Hafei looks good. And you could have two airbags with this price that you can't find in Kelisa and Kenari. The interior also not bad, the engine should be fine I hope. I will consider to get one to replace my kancil.

• 88forex.blog.com (Member) on Apr 24, 2006 at 10:18 am

Just saw the car today at the showroom.

My conclusion, looks nice in the newspapers, the print ad and TV commercial.

After sitting in the car for and touching the interior, my conclusion is this is worse than any proton car. Geez 37k for a manual car 1.1 L???? I myself add a few k and get a myvi with toyota QC and engine also way better . Better get reliable japanese technology not some lousy china product which is WORST than korean and malaysia technology.

FINAL WORD = piece of junk.

• king (Member) on Apr 24, 2006 at 10:41 am

Add a few k? u mean add more than 10k. even myvi at 50k plus only have single airbag. quality looks ok to me ….about the same as myvi. dun know about maintenence though.

• 88forex.blog.com (Member) on Apr 24, 2006 at 4:42 pm

King,

Myvi is only below 50k for premium spec with double air bag. I know cause I have one. I got mine since August 05. Got it early cause book 1 month b4 launched. You know why? Cause I know it is actually a Toyota car. So no worries about QC.

Naza? Come on. 37K for 1.1L MANUAL. IF auto also at least 40k. and you pay for some china thingy. Try and test drive b4 buying. I know it looks nice, but dun be fooled. I test the interior, fittings cant compare to perodua or savvy.

• megadisc (Member) on Apr 24, 2006 at 11:39 pm

it's looks cute but does it work better than cute??

For 35K, it'd better be good man . . .

but u said it is 2nd hand-down model from CHINA…

So that already got my hopes down…

GO GO GO MADE IN CHINA ! ! !

• king (Member) on Apr 25, 2006 at 10:01 am

88forex,

Official myvi prices when launched :

1.0SR: RM41,200.00 (metallic finish only)

1.3SX: RM44,755.00 (+RM545 for metallic finish)

1.3EZ Auto: RM47,781.00 (+RM519 for metallic finish)

1.3SXi: RM47,781.00 (+RM519 for metallic finish)

1.3EZi Auto: RM50,781.00 (+RM519 for metallic finish)

Isn't 1.3EZi over RM 50k already? unless u mean the new pricing which has been reduced by around 4%

I mean just to get airbag in myvi, minimum amt is 47k which is 10k more than sutera.

From what I've seen myvi isn't very solid either especially its body coz recently saw one myvi hitting a wira aeroback in SS2 area, wira bumper drop off and slight dent,but myvi front bumper total loss,bonnet badly dented and 1 side headlight smashed.

One problem though, be warned when buying cars from naza as their customer service is the worst ever. Unless you dun mind being treated like dirt.

Not everything made in china is low quality, ppl used to criticise korean cars last time too….but look at their sales figure today.

• filixku (Member) on Apr 26, 2006 at 11:28 pm

Malaysian cannot be reduced its' price because our government have setup the excise duty for either Malaysian's car or overseas's car and for overseas' car they have to pay another import duty of 300% of the price they declare… that's why the imported car is very expensive here… as the governement have set the excise duty for national's car if i'm not mistaken about rm15k per car based on cc of the car…. that's why our car also high price in the market… unless government have reduced it to rm1k to 5k there is a big different in our car's price la…. hopefully government will reduce the excise duty for national car to around rm1k to 5k only and increase the excise duty for imported car heheheh…. so our car will be cheaper around 10k from its. current price lah hehe

• apala (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 1:20 pm

apala……..ini kereta ha…..kalo bawak atas hi-way itu bas xpress atau lori lalu sebelah boleh gonchang 1……apala….ini kereta di cina sudah ada cuma design saja itu naza bikin cantik…bukan apa mau tipu itu msia org yg tara pernah lihat ini model…..apala..sapa beli ine kereta macam beli itu KERANDA….tau ka apa itu? 1 kali langgar lu 6 kaki di bawah ooOOOoo….wa cakap lu…baik tambah sikit itu duit beli kerete jipun atau korea…..ini semua mau main lu org punya pungkoq……………………

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 8:40 am

apala said,

May 2, 2006 @ 5:20 am

apala……..ini kereta ha…..kalo bawak atas hi-way itu bas xpress atau lori lalu sebelah boleh gonchang 1……apala….ini kereta di cina sudah ada cuma design saja itu naza bikin cantik…bukan apa mau tipu itu msia org yg tara pernah lihat ini model…..

……….

15K in China… said joe ooi

So sapa kaya? Naza la… they claimed >70% local content what. Got tax rebate manyak etc. They want to kill P1 & P2 as wish by Joe ooi and gang.

Like pampers pakai buang.., rosak buang saja lah mana boleh repair.

• ezals (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 5:48 am

hahaha.. tahu tak pe.. aku pun heran gak bila tengok model nie kuar.. dengar cite keta nie memang mengunakan barang kos murah.. jadi paham2 udah ler.. maleh nak cite panjang.. hehehe..