No further price cuts for Proton

Proton Edar Sdn Bhd’s CEO Datuk Maruan Mohd Said said to the media yesterday that there will be no further price reductions for Proton cars, despite rumours that there will be a second round of price reductions.

There are rumours going around of a second price reduction around September to October. Some variations of the rumour say it will affect local cars, and some say it will affect all cars. I don’t see what could cause a second round of price reductions though, so these are likely just baseless rumours.

For a full list of Proton prices after they have been reduced due to the new NAP rates, click here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 3:56 pm

Rumuor on car prices reduction around September/October 06. So can rumuor also the fuel price will increase by another 30 sen earlier one or two month from car price reductioon. "Market price" shown in Petronas station for RON 97 is around RM 2.50!

Precedent already set few month back!

• mits27 (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 4:20 pm

I am really don't think there will be another car price reduction, I don't see any reason why G will want to do that, which will cause another wave to car market that is stable now.

• assimo (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:03 pm

Interest rate from finance also increase..nothing changing the sitution….But the news report after prices reduction,more wira and saga has been sold.No choice for rakyat,so pity we has been 'forced' to buy that 'antic' proton car….

• Dinozilla (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:24 pm

don expect any reduction in near future….

yet….expect the G to raise the petrol price after a year….even thought it actually don cost RM2.50!!!!

and brent crude oil price is stabilize now….

going $68 something today….not above $70!!

No excuse please…..

Malaysia Boleh!!

• rexis (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:31 pm

Woowee new interface, and old news – no price cut. Why need to say to media? Is the rumours affecting the sales? Wira sold more… of course, less then 40k can buy one, how many people could force out double that price to buy a car?

New Wiras simply just looks like my old wira, in fact i think my wira's butt looks sexier.

• tbcheese (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:31 pm

Petrol prices here are about £0.97/liter for RON97. I shudder to think of unsubsidised petrol in Malaysia.

• tbcheese (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:33 pm

BTW good job with the new interface Paul. Looks more organized though I must say the old colour scheme is easier to read.

• accitzone (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:16 pm

hm price decrease been offset by higher interest rate… so meffectively still no benefits for the end user n with price hikes on basically evry item….. whoaaa susah laaa

• goingberserk (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:30 pm

Whoaaaa. Paul. Nice interface. Looks more organised and neat. Abt price reduction.. Probably it will. but depends on the oil prices. If oil prices goes up to let's say USD 85-90 a barrel, probably G will contemplating of car price reduction again at the expense of fuel price adjustment. We could well look at subsisided petrol at Malaysia going up by another 30-45 sen.

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:35 pm

I hope there will be price cut. It will not only benefit the citizen, the government will also have a lil taste of globalisation. Therefore, they will slowly adapt to it.

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:38 pm

Hey u guys, do u know that there's a water powered car exists now, the technology is from either america or europe country, this is no joke. U guys try to look for it. I saw the video somewhere.

• mits27 (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:53 pm

StingRayINC,

Is that hydrogen car? I know in some places in US have the hydrogen stations. I think hydrogen will be the next major technology and good for environment too.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:26 pm

Comment by mits27 — 16/5/2006 at 8:20 am

I am really don’t think there will be another car price reduction, I don’t see any reason why G will want to do that, which will cause another wave to car market that is stable now.

I am agree with you no reason for the G to do that…but

"rakyat" CAN STOP BUYING PROTON…

that will make the price go down..but better close shop.I think Msian petrol price too expensive to pump into overpriced jointly cheap moving metal (Proton).

PEOPLE SHOULD HAVE FREEDOM TO CHOOSE WHICH CAR THEY WANT TO DRIVE.

• Paul Tan on May 16, 2006 at 7:38 pm

tbcheese: I am working on the readability, especially the comments list. right now it's not really that easy on the eyes. i switched to this layout around 5am, didn't manage to modify it as much as i want before sleepiness set in. maybe you can elaborate abit on how the old colour scheme was easier to read.

• v (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:58 pm

the price reduction of proton cars i think it will be a reality one day. why dont all of you cant accept these good news. just take it..proton are trying their best to produce better quality just to make their customer satisfy.. so, it no more fantacy but reality.Malaysia bolehh…proton bolehhh..

How most people "kondem" proton , but just watch on the road 80% cars on teh road are manufactured by proton……….

u see now…..

• tbcheese (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 8:21 pm

lol fixing your website at 5am. I've seen you do updates between 2 and 4am too. Looks like you really don't sleep.

The red bar with (white?) text article title looks better in the main page I think. The current red text on white doesn't seem to have as much weight.

Its the commenting system that bothers me but I can't really put my finger on it. I'll try to figure it out later today. Got an exam in a few hours and being an insomniac for the past month and a half isn't helping.

Either way, your blog still makes for great reading and its a nice place to be. Great job.

• johanbey (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 8:55 pm

do you guys think "v" is quality verification section of proton? hope he does drives a proton himself.

price down or up, buying a proton is like buying over-price dvd in BB plaza, it a dvd, minus all the speacial features, might work, might not work, depends on luck. but pirated dvd is cheap and no cencorship, but proton is expensive and all the features censored. hah!

why proton can release press statement lime "we will be showcasing 10 prototypes at KLIMS 2006, as a result of all the money spent in TMalim RnD facilities and being Lotus boss of nearly a decade. wouldnt that be cool? or book the new SRM now and get 2005 satria stocks with 50% off. Thats something worth blogging here. cheers!

• wingz (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 9:34 pm

die proton die!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 9:38 pm

johanbey – As I mentioned before, P1 can talk cock in the media about quality campaign and "strategic partnership", all design to boost their sales (including clear 2005 model stock) and share price!

Do you think they can talk as what you mentioned without a partner? Answer is very clear, as far as they don't have partner, likely no new models! If they can claim want to launch "new model", then most likely another "cosmetic change" on current model.

• wilson (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 10:14 pm

wanna selll my proton and buy a honda .

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:39 pm

Yeah I think it should be related to hydrogen technology, but the thing is the american guy pour water into the car, and there is demostration of using water as fuel to power a hydrogen flame. Amazing huh?

• assimo (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:44 pm

Everyday I saw a lot of new unregistered protong cars at Autocity Juru under rain or sun..thats why some buyer will see his protong start to rust and noisy sound from interior after 3 month….My neighbour just bought a new Waja..but looks not new lah….

• tbcheese (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:51 pm

StingRay, napping during chemistry lessons? :p

No offense just a friendly jab at you :)

• rexis (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 12:09 am

StingRay,

Pour sth into a car and run the car, and you dont know what is inside, is not a prove of technology. Too many of these water technology exsisted, most of them hoax.

Some revision on physics might helps also! ^_^

• johanbey (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 3:20 am

paul, good work on new layout, acutally colors are better and earier on the eyes.

btw, just asking, are you still studying in college or something? just a hunch. anyway great job done here, why dont you invite guest bloggers like proton MD for a live forum, that will be cool.

and proton price up or down, ignore it, just visit a P2 or now P3 (naza) showroom, and rumours had it, 2nd hand cars price are good these days after NAP. so, no reason to buy a proton.

I drive my gf 6yrs wira around town, you wont believe how many items are falling apart. Even she prefer to drive my avanza around. says alot isnt it?

• motorhead (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 5:31 pm

Good la no reduction.. I wont buy it anyway.. save my money from car loans….

• goingberserk (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:38 pm

By the way guys, has anyone read The Star dated 17 th May 2006. ! There is a column on reader digest on Malaysian top brands.. Unfortunately it included Protong as among the most trusted brand. Trusted kah .. I dont think so . Probably Reader Digest shd get a new category and renamed it Most Forceful and No Choice Brand ! P1 would have won in hands down !!!!

• abe (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:48 pm

# Comment by StingRayINC — 16/5/2006 at 10:38 am

Hey u guys, do u know that there’s a water powered car exists now, the technology is from either america or europe country, this is no joke. U guys try to look for it. I saw the video somewhere.

hey, i have read about that in Berita harian news around jan/feb 06. it was tested on all proton(mitsu eng only,in thinks) + kancil models.

an xtra water tank in the boot.pun the clean water into the tank. water go thru tha canister to crack the hidrogen. and the hidrogen mix with petrol and go to carb/injection .. and the piston suck the gas and BOOM!!

petroleum 50%

hydrogen 50%

power maintain. no less.

pterol savings +- 50%

petrol 30%

hydrogen 70%

power less 7%

etrol saving : of course more laa (dunno the figure)

develop by local+us+europe scientist group. heard they want to sell the product in the market around feb/march. but did't see anything. or cut off by petronas ..heh

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:01 pm

Comment by goingberserk — 17/5/2006 at 11:38 am

"By the way guys, has anyone read The Star dated 17 th May 2006. ! There is a column on reader digest on Malaysian top brands.. Unfortunately it included Protong as among the most trusted brand. Trusted kah .. I dont think so . Probably Reader Digest shd get a new category and renamed it Most Forceful and No Choice Brand ! P1 would have won in hands down !!!!"

Joe Ooi

Yes, yes, yes, I am reading it…….

Reader's Digest is basically involve in publication and online biz just like Amazon, Yahoo, etc, etc, etc…. Look at their website below:

http://www.rd.com/

http://www.rd.com/rdstore/storeLanding.do?storeid…

Let me comments on this award, there are likely 3 scenarios.

1. Dubious Title: –

In this internet biz world anything can buy by money is available online. If you want to lelong yourself in online, there are many site ready to accept you. Even if you want to buy PhD degree and put Dr. on your name also available as low as USD 2K.

Datokships = ISO quality certifications = "Most Trusted Brand 2006" = "money can buy"

Back to Reader's Digest dubious title "Most Trusted Brand 2006", you may pay a fee or make contribution to them, "what title you want also available" – "voted by customers" – If P1 pay u and me RM 1K, then we can vote and become their statistic – $ & sen logic.

2. "Bias/Tampered" Result in favour of P1

Perhaps, P1 bulldoze through and give some favour to Reader's Digest to get "competitive advantage". So only P1 get assesment for this award. I don't think other brands like Perodua, Naza, Toyota, Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Mercs, BMW, VW, Nissan, etc, etc, etc, in Malaysia is any less trusted by our consumers at large compare to P1?

3. Unwanted Title, Non prestigous, "cheap" or non recognize title.

Reader's Digest principal biz is in publication and other online biz just like Amazon.com. They are not prestigous world reknown body or world famous automotive magazine given out PRESTIGOUS ANNUAL AWARD like Oscar in Hollywood Land. So it is understood, perhap Reader's Digest invite all car players in Malaysia and only Proton is interested to respond and participate. So, since there is only one entry and no other, Reader's Digest have no choice but dump this award to Proton and P1 take it happily and advert in the STAR dated 17 May 2006.

goingberserk propose

"Most Forceful and No Choice Brand"

I propose

"Compulsory to buy brand"

P1: We have 2 proposals and any title(s) can be discuss and negotiate, P1 can have any title deem fit, perhap FOC. We can award you as you like, with exception "subject to our consent", he, he, he, ……….

terms and conditions apply, call us at 603-8888 8888, or email: [email protected] for further enquiry.