NAP After-Effects: Proton reduces prices further

Proton Edar Sdn Bhd and EON have published new price lists for Proton cars, lower than the prices previously announced. It’s still not much, with the model with the largest price cut being 7% for the Proton Gen2 1.6 A/T Highline which translates to about RM4,450 in savings. The new price list is available after the jump, provided by Proton Corporate Communications.

Model Previous OTR Current OTR Diff %
PERDANA V6 ENHANCED 3 106,888.00 101,500.25 (5,387.75) -5.0%
WAJA 1.6AT CAMPRO 63,888.30 59,899.23 (3,989.07) -6.2%
WAJA 1.6MT CAMPRO 59,888.90 56,665.85 (3,223.05) -5.4%
GEN.2 1.6AT H-LINE 63,368.50 58,919.46 (4,449.04) -7.0%
GEN.2 1.6MT H-LINE 59,264.50 55,933.33 (3,331.17) -5.6%
GEN.2 1.6AT 58,152.50 55,234.32 (2,918.18) -5.0%
GEN.2 1.6MT 55,074.50 51,510.66 (3,563.84) -6.5%
GEN.2 1.3AT 49,888.20 46,899.54 (2,988.66) -6.0%
WIRA AB 1.5AT 52,656.77 49,972.83 (2,683.94) -5.1%
WIRA SD 1.5AT CE 51,337.43 48,744.14 (2,593.29) -5.1%
WIRA AB 1.5MT 50,577.97 47,476.58 (3,101.39) -6.1%
WIRA SD 1.5MT STD MET 48,863.08 46,383.41 (2,479.67) -5.1%
WIRA SD 1.5MT STD SOL 48,157.20 45,428.78 (2,728.42) -5.7%
WIRA SD 1.5MT PECA MET 45,610.80 43,238.33 (2,372.47) -5.2%
WIRA SD 1.5MT PECA SOL 44,967.30 42,346.08 (2,621.22) -5.8%
SAVVY 1.2AMT MET 45,888.00 42,916.32 (2,971.68) -6.5%
SAVVY 1.2AMT SOL 45,438.00 42,050.07 (3,387.93) -7.5%
SAVVY 1.2MT MET 42,888.00 40,267.13 (2,620.87) -6.1%
SAVVY 1.2MT SOL 42,494.18 39,427.88 (3,066.3) -7.2%
ISWARA AB 1.3MT LMST PS 37,385.01 35,494.73 (1,890.28) -5.1%
ISWARA AB 1.3MT LMST NPS 32,888.99 31,072.95 (1,816.04) -5.5%

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• triplesaber (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Wahh..expect to see more n more Proton on the road. Ive an old Satria 1.6, but my next car surely wont be another Proton.

• dfs3000my (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 11:28 pm

Hmm, I'm new here. Few days ago, they gave us a price list. Now another one. Who knows in a week time, there'll be a new price list! Lol! And yeah, we'll see more protons on the road. Probably cherries too. ;)

• kody (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 11:52 pm

wahlaueh….

check this out

ISWARA AB 1.3MT LMST PS 35,494.73 (1,890.28) -5.1%

after prive cut only become RM35k++, in 2004, RM36k+ together with sport alloy RIM for this model. so… it's really big cut…. :)

the after price cut ISWARA for now also, chg back to old type ekzos system, ugly steel RIM cover (newer cover, i observed this for new register ISWARA LMST as compare to 2004 ISWARA LMST)… than is a REALLY cut…haha…

2004 ISWARA with 4to1 extrators, louder muffler& better pickup. Now… chg back to cost saving old extrators & muffler.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 1:07 am

If you look at the pricelist very carefully, the prices are just starting to be cheaper than last years pricing, but its still way expansive. Since the price increased this year, so its just gone down to what was offered 2 years ago. Still not much to me.

Another thing to note is the %. You may see lot of numbers, but if it keeps on going at a -5% from a previous value, than the decrees is getting smaller and smaller.

Eg:

-5% of 100 is 95

-5% of 95 is 90.25.

So better keep on waiting :D

• purity (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 1:47 am

hope this will spur others to reduce their price…

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 3:22 am

i befriend one nice guy from poton sales, met him b4 for savvy test drive.. the convasation on the fon was something like this…

me: apa mcm?? bagus ke?? skrg harga ada turun?

a: ada bang.. best, byk turun… beli la bang.. gen2 byk turun..

me: yeke?? tapi ginilah kalau boleh abg nak keta yg takde poblem la.. apa kau rekomen???

a: Errmmm… wira la bang…. wira ok apa…

me: Ala. wira model lama la.. keta baru takde??

a: satria la bang, nak keluar x lama lagi.. tapi 2 pintu la.. tak suai dgn abg…

me: yela, susah nak masuk.. abis tu tahun ni xde model baru lagi ke selain satria??

a: ermm.. rasa xde la bang, setahu saya satria aje.. abg angkat wira la..ok?

me: Ok.. nanti aku kontek kau balik..bye..

end.

After 20 years.. wira is still the best model…& best offer…what a shame… but that guy was really honest.. if poton can produce better products. I am sure to give him a sale….

• catborg (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 8:50 pm

peoples.. please stop buying Iswara and Wira..

to make proton stop produce it..

if there's demands, for sure they will make it, as long as u want it..

They new saga is Okay la..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 1:25 am

Dear CATBORG….

PEOPLE please stop buying all the PROTON….

better buys CITY or VIOS

can drive for next 15 years

some more still have the second hand value.

*1994 EG6 can still get good price.

*1992 SEG also still in demand.

P/S

• swarty (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 5:26 am

picked from:
    http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

Jaguar and Daimler cars would be reduced by up to RM280,000 depending on the model due to the reduction in duties in the new tax structure, said sole importer and distributor Sisma Auto Sdn Bhd.

Managing director Syed Hussain Syed Ibrahim also said two new models, the Jaguar XK coupe and convertible and the Daimler Super 8 luxury saloon, would be introduced here, targeting younger customers.

* Statement made after proton reduction, hrm… wonder who this younger customers is.. RM280,000!

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 8:03 am

What choice do these low-income ppl really have, besides Saga, Wira, Kancil and the likes? Some ppl buy these cars bcos they have no choice, we cant blame them all. Take Wira for example, remember New Kids On The Block? Yeah, thats how old this model is, yet its still being manufactured bcos there r demands, and for its all-rounder. Also, all mechanics in Malaysia can repair this car.. But does it make it the best car of the decade? Who decides these factors?

Knowing these facts, im beginning to hate Proton even more. Today, DrM said itsa mistake tht Proton reduces their cars' prices and he thinks the prices should stay the same. C'mon, we the rakyat r being robbed for how many years now? WE WANT BETTER CARS FOR OUR HARD-EARNED MONEY, NOW!!!!

• swarty (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 5:39 am

I totally agree with DrM.. and believe it should keep the price higher. Yeah! Proton you should increase the price higher, so that can close the door much sooner. I just wonder what they going todo with all the car waiting over a year on hot sun and rain. Get rusted and yet Proton continue sale to unfortunate poor people who can't afford to pay for heavy price tagged car. Ah! heavy price tag, why so worried about that; we could continue hutang bank for 9 YEARS!! While other country people could pay for car price within a year or two. Unloading rakyat burden from 5 year to 9 year, great idea.

I writing this out of frustation after look new car price tag on The Star.

Today, I when to Kulim, Kedah. Shocked to find lots of Chev. Optra here and there! People are continue puchasing imported car even price tag is high that clear sign how bright proton future is.

Guys is there any hope that car could some little down.. I can't say "hope", but day dreaming that at least Toyota VIOS could drop zero to RM70k at least!

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:13 am

We, on the other hand, should do our job by educating friends and realtives not to take up the 9 years instalment period (and what?! we have another one = 10 years!! for G servants). Itsa totally rip-off!! If could, 5 is the best la, 7 while still ridiculous still ok.

• swarty (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 4:15 pm

Enjoy this: http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…
    while Singaporean and Thais have better deal. They talk too big and too little has changed or none at all.

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 5:21 pm

Thanks swarty, im really "enjoying" it.

lets all take a 'nap' then.. hybernate.. wake me up when all this BS is gone..

• jz (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 1:31 am

its good when proton reduce the price.. but why sooooo lambat to release the car once purchase.. my experience.. i'm still waiting my savvy amt from my proton dealer in kg baru.. but it already hold for 1 week.. waiting for kastam release letter.. AND ALL SORT OF CONFUSING EXCUSE….. can't understand though.. how come my officemate who buy savvy lambat from me can get his car this evening….. and her dealer somewhere in tmn permata manage to get the tax letter.. what the hell is going on…. was it proton edar prob's or the system.. i dunno… i'm sooo irritate..!!!