4th Gen Mitsubishi Pajero to be unveiled

newpajero_1.jpg

The next generation Mitsubishi Pajero will be unveiled at the 2006 Paris Motor Show to be held from September 28 2006 to October 15 2006. The new Mitsubishi Pajero – fourth in it’s generation – will continue the SUV’s legacy since it was first launched 25 years ago in 1982. The Mitsubishi Pajero was sold in 170 countries and regions, also known as the Mitsubishi Montero or Shogun in different markets.

The new Mitsubishi Pajero will retain it’s precedessor’s SUV specifications like its approach angle, ground clearance, and other all-terrain performance specifications. New features will include a new 3.2 litre inline-4 common rail direct fuel injection turbodiesel, or a 3.8 litre V6 MIVEC petrol unit, likely the same award-winning 6G75 powerplant in the Mitsubishi 380. True to it’s off-roader nature, it will be equipped with Mitsubishi’s Super Select 4WD-II transfer case with Active Stability & Traction Control (ASTC). In-car entertainment will be provided by a 12-speaker 860W Rockford Acoustic Design Premium Sound System.

The new fourth generation Mitsubishi Pajero will be produced at the Pajero Manufacturing Co., Ltd. in Gifu Prefecture, Japan. Shipments to Europe will begin this month, followed by shipments within Japan as well as to Australia in October. We will also see a kitted up Mitsubishi Pajero Evolution based on the new Pajero at the Paris Motor Show, which will be used in the 2007 Dakar Rally.

The photo above is the long wheelbase version, for the short wheelbase 2-door version as well as some shots of the interior scanned from a magazine, look after the jump.

newpajero_2.jpg

newpajero_3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 1:28 pm

Wow, when will be available in Malaysia, current Pajero is pretty dated on the road.

• retrofuturism (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 4:03 pm

i like the new pajero comes with 2-tones color scheme just like the 2nd generation model. Although overall design retained the 3rd generation design cue. Nevertheless, It is still a good-looking SUV compare to toyota prado. One of my favourite SUV follow by land rover discovery 3.hey Paul, do u noticed the latest nissan crossover-qashqai??

• J (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 4:05 pm

Whoaa… but this will probably priced close to RM300K ? :)

Pajero used to be a "contractor" vehicle, but now it is a rich man SUV..

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 4:27 pm

contractor vehicle? lol… quite true oso…

but this is nice..

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 6:11 pm

That's becoz all 3rd generation Pajeros in M'sia are fully imported from Japan. So, the average Malaysian could no longer afford it.

• blazerSST (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 7:21 pm

Would love to get this car, SUV > car in my books hahaha.

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 8:01 pm

wont b cheap lar i'm sure. any other entry level true 4×4 from mitsu?? d new land rover defender will b out soon. ciao. happy sunday!!

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 8:19 pm

the 3rd generalation pajero in malaysia cbu and very high tax and excise duty,so,it become rich man toy rather then workhouse it use to be,in china,it was local produced,the army and polis all using it,regularly can be seen all over china,very popular there.even the 2nd geralation were expensive mainly due to local agent included nearly 50k accessaries,otherwise it cost around 9ok,the 1st geralation in 83,84,85 onwards only 30 over k,back in 90,91,it priced at 60 over k,today,pajero had priced themself out of layman market,only the elite and rich man can affort buying it.so most of us can just amired it onlyyyyy!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 8:20 pm

looks are not so diff from the current gen…its jus subtle changes..the center console is abit toyota-ish…always luved pajeros n how rugged it looked…although it has a realy poor ride…bouncing like no tmr…but very easy to drive..

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 12:17 am

Looks like new LandRover esp headlight..

why japananese still like to copy?

eg: Lexus IS500 = BMW 5-series.

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 8:44 am

My dad bought a new L047 Pajero back in 1990 for RM63k. It has serves my family well since then. Today, you can bought the same model at a very cheap price. We've clocked over 400k km on the mileage and the engine is still very smooth although it has lost lots of horses due to its age. Mind you, it has never been overhaul! It has been on the road all over the Peninsula. Going through flood in the east coast, been in some estates, but still it looks good. Alright, we had to repainted it once because one Indon mat rempit decided to kill himself (mati katak) because he decided to rempit solo without a helmet (no driver's licence too!) and crash on the front right of our Pajero. But it still doing well, and I feel that it will continue to do so in many years to go.

The point is, Mitsubishi has made a very good 4×4. It has been a family car to some people too. Despites its off-road abilities, it rides well on the road too. There was no such thing as an SUV back then. Hope they will continue to do so with this new model. Errr…CKD pleasee….. =)

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 9:36 am

love to see the traditional colors of pajero shown in that one…… 2 tone…. :)

• african (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 10:43 am

What a good looking SUV, but the price is just beyond my reach, look like I am going to keep my L47 forever, too expensive to buy a new one and no one will buy my old junk.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 9:26 pm

correctme if im wrong but this pajero seems to borrow cues from land rovers and american makes such as dodges and chevys when it comes to the styling….its seems to be made wit rich gangtsa rappers as its main buyers because they made it 'bling frenly'

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 1:38 am

It's time to change the New Pajero! I like it!

Great Job to Mitsu!

Don't forgot to watch this website: http://gran-off.jp/suvinfo/pajero/index.html

Siapa Sokong?

• szw (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 4:46 am

i like da ICE, no need to spend extra on it d.

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 11:09 pm

better get a ninja king (toyota land cruiser hdj101)..hehehe…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 11:00 pm

I think it looks much better in a single-tone colour scheme. I don't really fancy this "kuih lapis"…hehehe…although the same can't be said about the V42V and V44V models… :D

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 7:18 am

the headlights remind me of range rover's… but the new pajero looks really concept and futuristic to me… cant believe this vehicle is going for production…

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 7:21 am

the headlights remind me of a range rover's… looks too concept and futuristic to me… cant believe its own its way to production…