Geely begins Geely CK1 sales in Indonesia

geely_car.jpg

The Geely CK1, who used to sport a W203 Mercedes Benz C-Class front end but has been recently revised has just made it’s debut in Indonesia last week. It is sold by PT Gaya Motor, an associate of Information Gateway Corp Sdn Bhd owned by Tan Sri Cam Soh Thiam Hong.

The car, available in 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre form, will be assembled in Indonesia, and 2,000 units is expected to be sold over the next 12 months. PT Gaya Motor has an agreement with Geely Holding Group for the manufacturing, assembly and international marketing of Geely vehicles in Indonesia. PT Gaya Motor will initially assemble CKD packs of the car in Indonesia, but later will start using more local components as volume picks up.

Geely originally wanted to establish a manufacturing base in Malaysia with an investment of RM100 million together with it’s partner Information Gateway Corp Sdn Bhd, but decided to pull out and choose Indonesia instead because of the discouraging National Automotive Policy.

You can read more about the history of how the NAP chased away a potential investor in the related posts below:

Geely moves assembly plant plans to Indonesia
IGC to start Geely assembly in October 2006
Geely investment plans on hold again
Geely Freedom Cruiser to be assembled in Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pekan (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 1:49 am

GEGEGEGEGGEEELY!!

• Hikaru (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 1:49 am

Two reasons i think it's wise for them not to come to Malaysia.

First: i think the economic atmosphere now is not conducive for them to establish their base here as well whether there is a market for them or not. Aldo didn't sell much of their car, not to say Geely. It would be a struggle for them to flourish. Not to mention the NAP.

Second: No more rip offs please. It is quite a sight for sore eyes. Atleast hyundai makes a better effort at making the cars their own. I appeal to the better taste public and the directors themselves, keep the car where it is, I don't remember seeing much of Geelys when i was in Beijing anyway. They *cough* prefer their VW jettas………..(*cue proton*) or Audis.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 2:30 am

Thank you kerajaan Barang Naik. Kite dpt elak lihat kereta sampah di atas jalan raya kite, maka dgn ini, org-org kampung tentu mengundi anda sekali lagi. Malaysia boleh[/sarcasm]

As much as I dun like China cars, it is still quite an unfortunate that they pulled out due to the annoying policies. Oh well, "it doesn't matter", we "have confidence in the gahmen" we choose, so don't worry, they know best, and we'll agree they did the right thing.

Yeah rite.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 3:31 am

Gee-Wat car is This?!!

its the only reason y i like the NAP , bcos those junk cars wont be encouraged to assemble their so called cars here…!

• proton GL (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 3:44 am

malaysian design batter,

this is…….. geli,,

• mystvearn (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 5:26 am

if come here can bankrupt la. Why come in the first place. Who will buy.

• bugbear (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 5:40 am

yea, indeed.. is very GELI!

looks really horrible…

• aesthari (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 5:51 am

GEELY or GELI? Must be the latter la, those Chinamen, they don't spell too well, do they?

Jokes aside this is the only instance of the NAP being actually useful; keeping eyesores off our roads.

• pekan (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 6:28 am

A few years ago, TATA wants to bring in their 4X4 into Malaysia, the TATA Safari. But I heard this plan was canceled because of MITI. They said bringing in the low cost and high quality Safari would serious hurt Perodua's Kembara. The same goes with TATA Indica having the effect on on local car makers.

Probably the reason applies here too.. Just my 2 sen…

• joe203 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 2:53 pm

OMG

I have no idea why people would buy this car. Looks horrible.

But ppl have said before that the KIA Spectra looks ugly, but now we have seen them on the roads and it becomes so familiar that we think they look OK and don't care anymore.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 3:40 pm

Ugly or not. Sometimes beggars can't be choosers.

As with the Spectra/Sephia. Not the greatest looker out there, nor the best in resale value, not the most reliable, but then again, it used to be the only "mid sized" car about 60k that is not a proton…so people bought it in hordes.

You could design the next VIOS in the most ugly fashion and people will still buy it and the City isn't the greatest proportioned car on the road either.

I'd say its a lost to the country disrespective to if we buy them or not, since if they couldn't sell here, Geely may export them anyway, which is good for the countrie's GDP. Its an avenue for skilled Proton workers to work if Proton does indeed goes bust.

• normaluser (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 3:52 pm

4G63T DSM, well said. The important thing for Malaysia is export, like what Thailand did with its auto industry. Doesn't matter if Malaysians are going to buy it or not. FDIs will bring more employment, attract more skills and create a value chain in the auto supply sector, thus increasing their supplier's competitiveness to strive hard to produce quality parts.

Malaysian market is too small for the auto players to get a comfortable slice of the domestic cake.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 4:35 pm

Geely CK1 ?? it is china makes ?? erm looks copy Mercedes head lamp only … a small body … i think indonesia will buy this … becoz mercedes too expensive for them … more model will be coming soon … P1 .. what u waiting for ?? pls make our new 4×4 suv & MPV …..

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 5:20 pm

sxe10r:

You'd be surprised how rich the Indonesians are. Don't be ignorant by saying that they can't afford Mercedes Benz's. That is derogatory and not supported by any facts whatsoever.

• layman (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 5:57 pm

GEELY – A giant auto maker in the making !!!

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 6:16 pm

May I add, Indonesian cars are cheaper than Malaysia. Besides, Indonesia is a much bigger market with population of over 200 million. They would sell better than Malaysia.

Perhaps they should rename GEELY to something else to make it less geli.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 6:57 pm

the car indeed not nice. too bad it is not nice too, not coming to be manufactured in malaysia. another lost income.

• kei9 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 10:27 pm

hey dont you all wonder why the front looks like a merc older s-class……

• kei9 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 10:29 pm

but this geely or so called……really sucky looking….

• schdmitz (Member) on May 25, 2007 at 4:28 pm

Proton design still THE BEST!

• sxe10r (Member) on May 25, 2007 at 7:39 pm

cbljkkj said,

May 24, 2007 @ 9:20 am

sxe10r:

You’d be surprised how rich the Indonesians are. Don’t be ignorant by saying that they can’t afford Mercedes Benz’s. That is derogatory and not supported by any facts whatsoever.

cbljkkj : I think u misunderstanding my words … what i means is for the ppl can't affort to buy mercedes they can choose this geely ck1 one .. if u rich u wan but this ck1 ?? e ni zhai mao tiu nou …

• kei9 (Member) on May 25, 2007 at 10:57 pm

chinese….cbljkkj: ne jiang de you tau li……

• transformer (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 6:55 am

thank you NAP!

• Hi there,
    can you please asist me. i live in south Africa Randburg i have a Geely ck1 , the brokes parts are finish where can i get a new brokes part. I hear Geely cars are bring mounted up in Midrand but where in midrand.
    your asistance will be highly appreciated.

Thanks
    Rose

• Geelyess on Jan 04, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Finally…. Proton with Geely