Porsche Cayenne Hybrid: less than 9L/100km?

Porsche Cayenne Hybrid

The Porsche Cayenne Hybrid will be unveiled at the 2007 Los Angeles Motor Show which begins on the 16th of November 2007 – that’s this Friday. The new Cayenne Hybrid uses a Full-Parallel Hybrid system that enables the hybrid SUV to comsume less than 9 litres per 100km travelled, a feat for a huge SUV like the Cayenne.

More technical details will be revealed sometime this Friday, but for the moment enjoy more photos after the jump.

Porsche Cayenne Hybrid

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 9:00 am

While its commendable for Porcshe to install the hybrid system in the Cayenne, in all seriousness, if you were REALLY that concerned about fuel consumption and the environment, the Cayenne will be quite far down your shopping list….That goes for most of the higher end hybrid cars.

Mostly will be bought by blokes that does not want to pay special road tariffs…(ie. congestion charges, etc)

• kazai (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 11:20 am

even savvy’s fuel consumption is better i think. 5.3L/100km

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 11:36 am

what an ugly porcshe but if can get one wow so nice lor

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 12:35 pm

i wonder how much is it…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 1:09 pm

lol@Kazai

You are comparing the Cayenne to a Savvy? lol….

• kazai (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 1:45 pm

hehe.i’m compare only the fuel consumption.because savvy doesn’t have hybrid technology.

• reizan (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 2:05 pm

Alright! I will be in LA this Friday. Will drop by the auto show if my wife is ok with….. Looking forward to the show. Thanks Paul for alerting me on the event.

• szw (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:44 pm

does it still have the performance ?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 6:10 pm

The new Cayenne Hybrid uses a Full-Parallel Hybrid system that enables the hybrid SUV to comsume less than 9 liters per 100km travelled, a feat for a huge SUV like the Cayenne.
    ————
    Paul, true and accurate or not, the 9 liters may run for 20km and balance 80km run on alternative Hybrid?

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 7:20 pm

The most sold hybrid car in Japan’s market last month.

1) Prius
    2) Lexus L600H
    3) …Ops sorry i forgot. But i’m damn sure 9 out of the top 10 are Toyota/Lexus made. The only maker other than Toyota Group available in the list was Honda Civic Hybrid at the 9th place…

• transformer (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 9:34 pm

whats good a hybrid can offers when electricity are generated from another source… For example from coal(burning, heat), from diesel(burning, heat), from nuclear(not sure)… when there are a process to turn something to produce energy then there would certainly have losses, such as heat.

So why they(car makers) are selling hybrid in first place ??

Energy loss except kinetic(hydro) and solar but both of these might doesn’t produce enough energy for a single charge!

Go diesel/Ethanol/Methanol & anything truely green!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 1:59 am

Can get some tax deduction buying hybrid cars, sadly Malaysia still has not picked up the idea

• rexis (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 9:04 am

Why on earth people with a porsche would ever care about fuel consumtion anyway? Okay, prolly its all bout the feel good factor.

9L/100KM is really much more efficient then most SUV especially some performance type like this one. But still my 1994 wira automatic will beat it even at city driving.

Hybrid drive train is a unique option, as it can improve its performance without engaging too much fuel pump. Electrical motor has an instant max torque at 0RPM and maintain flat troughout the entire RPM. This make it a really good acceleration booster. Performance type hybrid it is.

• jamsbong (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 5:03 pm

I know 9L/100km is still expensive but that is a large improvement over the 12.9L/km of the normal cayenne. which is more than 30% in improvement.

The only reason why Porsche would attempt to be green is the fact that in California and Europe, the emission regulation is becoming very strict!

I love these developments, I hope to be owning a less than 2L/100km in the future.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 8:42 am

Its indeed a great improvement of 30%. However, obviously porshe cars despite their high fuel consumtion, it is still made of a very small percentage of the total national fuel consumtion. Thurs they wont save too much fuel.

At the present only kapchai can reach that kind of FC. Kancil can touch less then 5L/100KM.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 12:04 pm

kazai..

i dunno la where did u gt the idea to compared savvy with cayene

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 7:53 pm

rich man spend 700k for a car… where got care about petrol neeh.
    this car should aim for power, fight with X5…

hybrid is wrong path to take.
    Unless its aimed to increased power.. not save petrol.
    hai… which donkey think out of these one.