Naza Sutera now on sale in Singapore

Naza Sutera
Dato’ SM Shalahuddin SM Amin, President of Naza Group of Companies and Mr John Ng, MD of Nascar Pte Ltd at the launch of the new Naza Sutera in Singapore on 5 January 2008

The Naza Sutera is now on sale in Singapore for S$41,999. The 1.1 litre compact car is known in Malaysia as the Naza Forza. It is distributed in Singapore by Nascar Pte Ltd, the official distributor of Naza in Singapore. Nascar Pte Ltd is a subsidiary of The J & J Royal Group Pte Ltd, which also distributes Perodua, and TD2000.

The Singaporean specifications list include 14 inch wheels, a 6 speaker sound system with a MP3/CD/AM/FM head unit, and fabric upholstery. It does not have the dual SRS airbags that we have in our market. It also does not have the alloy wheels and fog lamps shown in the photo above.

Its 1.1 litre DOHC engine is mated to a 5-speed manual transmission, with 64 horsepower and 88Nm of torque which peaks over 3,000 to 3,500rpm.

The first 50 customers will get a 42 inch LCD TV.

Naza Forza 1.1 Manual Short Test Drive Report
2006 Naza Sutera 1.1 Manual

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 12:36 am

Hope singaporean are smart enuf bout car

• sad....to cryyyyyyyyyyyy on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:50 pm

i’m car owner of JJ**7** this carrrrrrrrr……….spare parts is not efficient it is difficult obtain in malaysia, they have to order from china also, my body side fame (rear Q/panel) untill now till unavailable………… !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 12:56 am

That’s a car that seriously needs a peekaboo gimmick. You don’t want them Singaporeans to know what they are buying. Just tell them it’s got something to do with NASCAR.

• droll (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 1:13 am

LCD tv?! wow this car is expensive in sg!

• ah liew (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 1:21 am

I don’t think it will do well in S’pore coz the price of the COE is the same as p 1.5 cars & above. Unless the buyer is fuel precautious, then he/she might be interested to own one. But our Potong Wira had done quite well for the past few years in S’pore coz it’s the oldest antic running around asia. hee! hee! lucky it had been scrapped! for good….!

• accordmania (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 1:43 am

NAZA IS VERY BRAVE AND STUPID

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 7:14 am

Singaporean now more desparate due to pressure from life ?
    Need smaller, cheaper, fuel efficient, easy to park car :)

• altis_fan (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 9:04 am

I don’t like this car.
    I don’t like its backside design.
    I don’t like its small size.
    So, I don’t like to comment more.
    I just don’t like.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 9:16 am

I wont see why singaporens will buy this car. The Getz is even cheaper starting from about the high 30s to 45k.

The COE for the car should be about 14k SGD now.

The only reason the Wira sold well is because of availabiltiy of cheap parts.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 10:45 am

Yup, especially JDM half-cuts from Japan are a lot for Mitsubishi. Anyway this small car are expensive without air-bags being sold in SG. I smell another failure product..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 10:54 am

The Naza Sutera is now on sale in Singapore for S$41,999.

HUH?!!who the heck wanna buy a china car with that price?

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:25 am

when naza can change the rear light n signal light for this Forza, always upgrades cosmetics n change the name…..design is blur!!!!

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:36 am

Good job Naza!

• bavarian (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:59 am

will it sells ????????????????????

• wsoonlye (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 12:12 pm

The price is so terrible……NAZA are you OK?? The car is a failure in Malaysia and now it will be worst in Singapore…

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 12:15 pm

hahahhaha…
    ok…for once, i can laugh at singapore’s car price…
    SGD41k for a NAza Sutera…

ROTFL…. wa kakakaka…hey…seriously this time, i’d rather recommend savvy or maybe even recommend a cheaper Iswara….
    :)

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 12:28 pm

Desperate for sales?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 12:30 pm

42″, the cheapest in in SG may cost SG 3K “Chap-Pa-Lang” brand, so it is not a big deal?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 12:32 pm

These pure biz middle man import Chinese car, rebranded it and expected to sell it at 2 to 3 time the price sold in China.

• armandd (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 12:53 pm

S$41,999 ? that’s about RM97k!!! and that’s for a compact chinese car? i can’t believe it, typo error maybe?

• AmiR (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 1:37 pm

hahaha..it only makes me laugh actaully…

do wat ever NAZA, U going down…Proton is back….Saga Neo is going to KILL u..xD

• mytouch (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 1:51 pm

The price is damm high,i think Singaporean will be smarter enough to fall into this piece of jokes…$41K,i rather buy a Getz…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 2:06 pm

armandd said,
    January 6, 2008 @ 12:53 pm

S$41,999 ? that’s about RM97k!!! and that’s for a compact chinese car? i can’t believe it, typo error maybe?
    ———-
    In China, this car shall be sold below RM 20K, so it is 4 or 5 time.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 3:27 pm

why 41,999? can’t be a lower?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 3:39 pm

haha bet u can still be the one of the 1st 50 customers even after 1 year. So many nice kcars here to choose from. Eg., Subaru R1 or R2, Mitsubishi i (turbo) etc etc. All sold at $40k+ too.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 3:44 pm

42″ Samsung LCD – $1688 one piece at Courts! Chaparang brands all below 1k.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 8:56 pm

Maybe they will paint it up funny colors and designs like they did the picanto to make to more sellable? …or unsellable. lol.

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 9:26 pm

haizz… they gonna die la… savvy and myvi is a better buy

• mofo (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 9:49 pm

Paul,

Please tell us, its a joke or typo error S$14,999.
    If not, I’ll list it on my Top Ten JOKES for YR08

• pekan (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 9:56 pm

dump the car.. just use the LCD instead..

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 10:39 pm

pekan said,

January 6, 2008 @ 9:56 pm

dump the car.. just use the LCD instead..

————————————–

if like that, u r the smartest than average bear, better than pedobear. hehehe
    41k for LCD, better buy laser tv with cheaper price.

on topic,
    i wish naza goodluck n bring more money to malaysia.
    we need to appreciate RM even it is just a fraction of 1 sen.
    this is just business
    anyway, is there any naza car on sale in SG??

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:19 am

i really want to know the guy who buy this car in s’pore…

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 11:33 am

Apparently, the China model that Forza is based on is already in Singapore market. It’s called Hafei Lobo and imported directly from China.
    I’ve taken this excerpts from the other quto thread;

“The Naza Sutera will challenge the Hafei Lobo, the model from which it was adapted, in the Singapore market now that Naza has begun selling it there. While the Lobo is imported from China, the Sutera comes from a Malaysian plant in Pekan, Pahang, and because of the increasing localization of parts, quality would differ – with observers saying that the Sutera is better.”

But it doesn’t state either Forza or Lobo’s selling price in Singapore. And Of course being a Malaysian, I’ve also support malaysian business entity who’s doing business overseas (read P1 in Thai, now Naza in S’pore) well, as long as these companies are competitive, if not only bring bad names to malaysia and malaysian in international scene if they failed. Just like a few malaysian construction companies in middle-east which I should not mention here.

• whodz (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:00 pm

curse the forza.

• zanggief (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 3:51 pm

According to my friend…since she is lucky enough to get one that can stop suddenly on the way and can’t restart, also the clutch got problem as you unable to gear your car forward…This are the problem where my friend face…so the who will be the lucky Singaporean to get such a car…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:06 pm

The low grade car of the malaysia , even worst then old P2 kancil :P … naza sutera , should ask about the feeling of the sutera owner … can this car can be sell in singapore … i don;t think , after they buy this car the 2nd day ppl wanna sell it …complaine water leak in , a/cond not cool …. mp3 player use more then 1 weak can’t play . low power & no pickup …

• nuzzary (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 6:22 pm

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?id=com.tms.cms.article.Article_524ee6fa-cb73c03a-39060b00-f395a4f6

engine got input from lotus engineering?

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:28 pm

sxe10r, the old car had some strange looking player in the car. probably that’s y it failed. the new one has a blaupunkt. lets wait a few months. i’d like to hear some comments from real owners. those comments are on the sutera. not the forza lah.

also, for your kind information, i picked up the phone and called some singapore distributors to get the comparative prices of the forza’s competitors in Singapore (by the way, the hafei showroom is just a few doors away from the forza showroom).

lobo – 37,999
    getz 1.1 – 43,699
    picanto (facelift) – 42,999
    spark 1.0 – 41,388
    qq 1.0 – 34,999
    savvy – 38,988
    kenari – 40,700

in view of the competitors pricing, i’d say the forza or sutera as it is known there is not priced out of the range. and, if you think the lobo is similar, i’d like to invite you to the hafei showroom in singapore and see for yourself what i saw and then only comment whether the forza is worth the extra sgd4k or not.

hmmm, one more thing. if it is sold cheaper than in malaysia ppl will say it is being subsidised by malaysians!

mr benjo, i don’t think that the car is below the chinese made cars in singapore. it’s way better in quality. i guess naza chose to launch the forza there at this time (still known as sutera) as they’ve probably fixed most of the sutera’s shortcomings. probably that’s y they did not sell the earlier version there. possible? just a guess.

also, yeah, the saga is back but then, i remember the first saga also faced lots of problems when it was launched… like the 1.3 overheating up gentings and so on and so forth. even the new lancer 2.0gt faced problems on one media organised drive… for a car worth more than 100k! well, competition is unavoidable and i guess naza would probably need to adjust their strategy to attract people who have different needs.

i really hope that the forza is able to prove itself as a much better successor to the sutera.

• ob8 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:33 pm

owner of forza/sutera, u dont hav to lock ur car. haha. thts why u hav to pay more. kui kui

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:20 am

Well lowprofile,ur done a great job in the research.

But still a lot of percentage of sutera parts are from china,ex.Body and engine.Parts from naza are mostly exterior,i think the price have to be lowered.Pity the singaporean have to pay much more than us for a car.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:40 am

i know now it is in the price range.But whats so special bout this car that it is better than picanto,getz and savvy?

lobo – 37,999
    getz 1.1 – 43,699
    picanto (facelift) – 42,999
    spark 1.0 – 41,388
    qq 1.0 – 34,999
    savvy – 38,988
    kenari – 40,700

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:36 pm

Clone can be better than original, must be interesting!

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 8:33 pm

It is too expensive… This car got no airbag so i dun think ppl will buy it!