Subaru turbodiesel to debut in Legacy and Outback

Subaru Legacy

Oil burner versions of the Subaru Legacy and the Subaru Outback will be unveiled at the 2008 Geneva Motor Show, and it will feature Subaru’s new turbodiesel boxer, which has so far been displayed as an engine with specifications released.

The aluminium alloy inline-4 boxer common rail turbodiesel puts out 150 PS at 3,600rpm and 350Nm of torque at 1,800rpm, with relatively lag-free operation thanks to a Variable nozzle turbocharger (what other manufacturers call VGT or VTG). Installed in the Subaru Legacy, it produces 148 g/km of CO2 emissions.

The new turbodiesel boxer is one of the smoothest diesels around thanks to the horizontally opposed design, as the right and left pistons negate each other’s inertia. In the Legacy and the Outback, it is matched with a new electric power steering system and a symmetrical all-wheel drive system.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sah147 (Member) on Feb 10, 2008 at 10:33 pm

Is the engine a boxer or inline-4? I thought that they are different piston layouts?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 10, 2008 at 11:19 pm

nice :-)

• szw (Member) on Feb 10, 2008 at 11:19 pm

the new turbodiesel unveil…

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:54 am

i hope motor image will bring diesel engine option rather than thinking how bad we have our diesels here. its business here…

guys, the turbodiesel is 2.0L right???

• maxrev (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:10 am

hope its as good as the petrol version..
    though they should make a STi version in a diesel..
    now that is going to make controversies….

• maxrev (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:11 am

i hope that subaru can make the Impreza STi in diesel version…
    now that is going to make a hit!!!

• petulance (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 7:05 am

nanashisan said,

February 11, 2008 @ 12:54 am

guys, the turbodiesel is 2.0L right???

————————————–

Yes, the boxer diesel is a 2.0 litre engine producing 110kW of power and 350 Nm of torque. Autocar magazine (UK) has a glowing review

http://www.autocarmagazine.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Subaru-Legacy-2.0TD-R/230393/

So does Top Gear

http://www.topgear.com/blogs/drives/146-subaru-legacy-diesel/

As a comparison, the Legacy (Liberty) in Oz is currently offered in three petrol versions, a 2.5 litre turbo, a 2.5 litre N/A and a 6 cylinder 3.0 litre N/A.

2.5 litre turbo 184 kW / 339 Nm
    2.5 litre N/A 127kW / 226 Nm
    3.0 litre N/A 180kW / 297 Nm

Heck, if I had a family with 2 kids, I would be driving a Legacy wagon. Good enough to drop the kids off at school, lots of practical space for kids/family stuff in the back and a great car to drive.

• fyzal (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 9:51 am

front looks : persona wannabe (headlamp bn grille radiator)…hehehehe

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 9:55 am

Wow a DIESEL boxer! I’d really like to hear how it sounds!

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:32 am

Woah, very nice, have always like the car, especially the 2.0GT with TMIC, and now its turbodiesel too! Cool!

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:39 am

I think Subaru makes good cars…I’ve driven one b4, forgot the model but it was a damn good drive, all-wheel drive system is awesome, the suspension was equally impressive. I wonder y it doesn’t sell well here…no-one bringing in the cars? Expensive bc of taxes?

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:45 am

HAAAAHHHH………why the front portion is PERSONA-LOOK-A-LIKE…….??? Sniff sniff……….

• brutus (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:45 am

when will car manufacturers bring in more diesel variant to the Malaysian market?

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:49 am

YAA LAH WHY LOOK LIKE PERSONA? ITS A CUT AND PASTE AGAIN. INI SEMUANYA BERMULA DARI UNIVERSITI. OUR STUDENTS LIKE TO COPY AND PASTE THEIR ASSIGNMENTS. !!!!!

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:49 am

Is our diesel grade compatible with this car?

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:51 am

Dunn wanna end up with police/jpj saman!!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:58 pm

Persona look alike…hahah…right.

Come out from under your coconut shell, and look around…….not everything with wheels on them look like proton products.

Wondering if you know this came out in 2004………..

The 2.0 Boxer diesel would be nice. Unfortunately we dont see a lot of small modern diesels. I drive a 307 diesel when I’m in Europe. Damn good engine. Somehow the french make very good diesels, even better than VW.

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:23 pm

YAA LAH WHY LOOK LIKE PERSONA? ITS A CUT AND PASTE AGAIN. INI SEMUANYA BERMULA DARI UNIVERSITI. OUR STUDENTS LIKE TO COPY AND PASTE THEIR ASSIGNMENTS. !!!!!

wakakakkaa yesss i aggreeee with u even medical student that i handle always caught by their lecturer bcuz cut and paste if they become the doctor sure they cut and paste our body too wakakkaka this car and persona who cut who paste huh can anyone answer……this car sure keluar asap manyak design ok but pollute the air or its have filter….

• petulance (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:38 pm

Proton Pesona lookalike? The Legacy has been around since 2003/2004 … they changed the front grille last year where the 2 chrome lines became more V-shaped. An ugly face lift if you ask me.

I’m worried about the next-gen Legacy as Subaru are doing their best to make their cars look ugly (see the new Impreza and Forester).

• harry potter (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:33 pm

IIHS Subaru Legacy

www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=358

NHTSA Subaru Legacy

www.safercar.gov/Cars/4360.html

• harry potter (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:35 pm

IT`s A very safe car to drive.

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:11 pm

yea.. had to agree..
    this proton persona wannabe :p

anyway.. does 2.0 turbo diesel equal power with 1.6l petrol?
    as known, diesel engine got less power and HP than petrol engine..

Subaru? not sell well around the world.. except imprezza.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 8:33 pm

I don’t know where’d you get your figures from…

Subaru IS popular car, and not just the impreza.

Like I said, look beyond your own front yard when you comment on other brands. Ask anyone that have lived in a cold, snow bound country and they’d tell you how popular a subaru is.

You dont see many of them because for the same size class, subaru’s are higher priced due to more content like AWD…. They are a niche player. They are priced very near the premium end of the market, with usual top spec cars even out pricing entry level BMWs.

Obviously if you compare to the giants like GM and Toyota, they are not even near, but last checked they were pushing over 1/2 mill cars a year. Thats a big achievement when you only got main 3 models (Legacy, Forrester, Impreza) in the major markets…

Modern 2.0 turbo diesels will very easily out HP 1.6 petrol engines….AND more importantly have 2 times the torque.

• petulance (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 6:17 am

bmpower said,

February 11, 2008 @ 4:11 pm

Subaru? not sell well around the world.. except imprezza.

Maaate …. the Forester is Subaru’s best selling car in Oz. And the Outback / Legacy station wagons are popular family cars. And the non-turbo Imprezas are popular as a no-nonsense realiable car (I drive one myself). In fact, the non-turbo Imprezas are more common than the turbo (WRX) versions.

Subie make practical, reliable cars that you can drive to the snowfields in Oz or out on country roads.

A fully specced Liberty (2.5 GT or 3.0) offers more value for money (and probably a better driving experience) than a similarly priced entry level Beemer. In fact, the only reason you would get an entry level Beemer over a Liberty is the snob factor. Which probably explains why you see more Asians in Oz driving entry level Beemers than Libertys. It is all about “face” and showing off …

• poster (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 12:38 pm

no comment

• redliner (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 6:20 pm

why proton is not developing diesel engine? now a days, diesel engine is a efficient as petrol fueled engine and furthermore, will cost drivers lesser RM to move around.