Alfa Romeo Mi.To – new baby Alfa hatch

Alfa Romeo has revealed three teaser images of their new B-segment hatchback, recently christened the Alfa Romeo Mi.To. Not Junior, not Furiosa. The name Mi.To is short for Milano and Torino (Milan and Turin), cities which host the Alfa Romeo and Fiat headquarters respectively.

The Alfa Romeo Mi.To will be 4060mm long, 1720mm wide and 1440mm tall. Under its hood will be the same family of Fiat engines ranging from 90 horses up to 155 horses, and all petrol and diesel variants will be force inducted. What’s new would be a new range of dual clutch transmissions, replacing the trademark Selespeed.

It will be equipped with a system Alfa calls DNA – Dynamic, Normal and All-Weather. DNA settings will adjust the responsiveness of the throttle, steering, brakes and gear shifts for sporty, city or slippery roads.

Two more photos and a video after the jump.

VIDEO: Alfa Romeo Mi.To

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zet_ex (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:12 am

Qute car!!

• holy_cow (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:39 am

Now that Alfa is switching to double-clutch, I’m waiting to see what I’ll hear from those Alfisti who always claim that Selespeed is actually the best system in the world, but nobody knows how to use it properly.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 5:30 am

ugly and weird …

• xenith (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 5:40 am

Beautiful…

• 707 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 7:21 am

beautiful and ugly at the same time.

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 8:54 am

Love it

• maxtek (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 9:14 am

Not to be annoying, but don’t you think, the front end looks like the recently facelifted Kia Picanto? Not the one we have here…

Check it out…

http://www.autoalgerie.com/IMG/jpg/kia_picanto_2007_01.jpg

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 10:06 am

OmG… gorgeous… finally, a baby Alfa reruns… This should bring some excitement to the MINI-Fiat 500-VW Beetle-Audi A1 segment

Wondering how much it’ll cos cause I really want one!

• local (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 10:26 am

weird but cute…

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 10:37 am

err the front looks ugly to me. But side and rear profile is okay.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 10:58 am

For those who loves Italian, go ahead!

• ilmondo (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 12:43 pm

i’m in love again.. hope it retains alfa’s character while being more civilize. muacks! however, cars like tis, i can only afford to c.. or maybe wait for 2nd hand lar after graduation.. haha!

raybrig85.. wat do u think bout tis alfa?

bella italia!

• szw (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:58 pm

mi.to ?
    such a cute name , haha !!!

• lchan (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 4:07 pm

most like to be using punto/bravo engines

• wakwai (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 4:34 pm

It looks more like a the new Bravo than the Grande Punto, especially from the rear. Anyway, it’s just georgous…..

• transformer (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 7:10 pm

VERY NICE EXCEPT its time to change their signature grill ! (which also appeared in Perdana V6)

Can “art director Theo” do something with it!

• jimbet (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 7:41 pm

Alfa has never failed producing beautiful cars. I read somebody call it ugly. Yes, you’re entitled to your own opinion but it’s certainly not true if you can appreciate art which Alfa is really good on it.

Is this a replacement for the 14X line? or just filling the gap between 14X and 15X lineup?

• chap_de_x (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 8:09 pm

rear and side design is beautiful…but front its hard for me to accept….its acceptable but a little bit weird in my opinion

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 8:26 pm

smooth line of design
    it gonna be classic
    even thou is weird looking

• jedkoh (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 8:46 pm

This new Alfa reminded me of this car:

http://tanakatire.web.infoseek.co.jp/505_8/VERTEX_VEROSSA.jpg

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Possibly a direct replacement model for the outgoing 147 model?

Anyway, how CUTE it is to be loved by you!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 10:30 pm

Cyberkayu said,
    March 16, 2008 @ 8:26 pm

smooth line of design
    it gonna be classic
    even thou is weird looking
    —————————————————————-

Yeah, it’s a future classic. The reincarnation of the classic Alfasud, hope it won’t be a rust bucket like the original one.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 11:49 pm

ilmondo…

stunning n sexy…dats my words…hahaha…i wish i could hv 1…bt i dun want to replace it with my 147…i adore n really2 luv my 147 n planning to keep it 4 a long time…my 159…still didnt gt it yet bt will gt it soon…its enough 4 now jz keep 3 cars in my garage…

i wish dis car will done well…i think it is sexy than the mini coop..the side profile follow the cues frm its big brother…8c competizione…absolutely beautiful…

jimbet…

dis is nt a replacement of the 147…dis is d baby alfa where it will b the youngest siblings in alfa line-up…147 will b replace by the upcoming 149 model where target will hit by next year or else…

im sure dis car will cost below 150k n above 100k…arnd mini one or mini cooper price tag…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:30 am

not bad, very CUTE…..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:49 am

cuter than pokemon. Every kids in the street will love it!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 1:03 am

ilmondo said,

stunning n sexy.
    —————————————————————-

Yeah, Italian girls are sexy as well…

PS: No offense please.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 1:42 am

very weird design. Cannot say if its cute or plain ugly

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:51 pm

love the body and curves..but the front end is decidingly ugly…its a frog..its a toad..no, its alfa romeo

• KL-ATR (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 1:01 pm

Nice shape, since it’s based on the Punto but that face… makes me wanna reach for a monster sized bug swat! I’ll go for Punto really.

• Car Freak (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 6:21 pm

when cute meets luxurious

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:14 pm

That’s the Competizione 8C front melding its way into the hatch. Well at least that is for certain for future Alfa design… I guess. Not too sure whether its likeable or not. It has this teutonic feeling about it. Especially the back portion. Maybe its trying to win some Germans.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 4:23 pm

likes its cutting, but unlikely to own one,

satria neo is ok though,
    more or less simillar in cut,

• dzat46 (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 12:01 pm

Damn nice car….typical alfa style…weird/ugly and beauty at the same time…as usual, alfas styling got character/soul!

Alfas had always been my dream machine, other than sportsbikes…, but not enough $$ to throw around,..so had to be practical & stick wt safer generic Japs car instead…

: (