No changes to fuel and gas prices for now!

Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi says there will be no changes to the fuel and gas prices in Malaysia for the time being.

“Whatever the present price, we have to live with it,” said the Prime Minister at the Invest Malaysia 2008 conference. Light sweet crude oil currently trades at USD 100.35 per barrel on the NYMEX. In a Malaysiakini article, the PM adds: “When we make the announcement (on fuel prices), it is hoped that the situation would have change.”

RM43.4 billion was spent in 2007 to pay for subsidies of fuel and other essential items. Can the government afford this? And for how long?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nmh (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 7:22 pm

BN = Barang Naik, umNO turun

• nmh (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 7:24 pm

PM says Point Taken…..what point?

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:10 pm

good news for now only …

• aliBaPa (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:31 pm

I don’t mind 10sen increasement, but cannot 30sen!

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:44 pm

How do we know govt is really so generous subsidise RM43 Billions ? Could it be only RM30 Billions, the rest masuk pocket ?

• faizfadil (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:44 pm

Why isn’t the government focusing on hybrids, diesels and bio fuel?????? If petrol is such an issue, why the hell do they do sumthing about it??????? Kononya pandang ke arah timur (face on the east side)…………

• lchan (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:47 pm

i say the government should cut subsidy on fuel because it is bleeding the government dry. i rather have the subsidy completely remove and the money put into education, health, public transports, remove car tax, reduce personal tax, etc. The problem is, will the money saved be well spent?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:57 pm

Are they trying to win back our votes?

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:13 pm

what are we waiting for…? lets go racing & burn some tyres!

Cheap Fuel = Racing :)
    Fuel Hike = Stay at home :(

• nmh (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:50 pm

Just let rakyat use our own petroleum, just like other oil producing country (like middle east 30cent/litre) and no more import petroleum which based on the world current price (played by US). And we rakyat dont care if govt want to charge 1.00/litre. Yes Petronas will gain less profit but it still profit.

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:52 pm

THE GOV SHOULD GIVE THE RAKYAT MORE CHOICES,

1. ALL PETRONAS STATIONS MUST HAVE ONE PUMP FOR GNV
    2. LOWER THE ROADTAX FOR DIESEL CARS UNDER 2500CC
    3. ALL HYBRID CARS ARE FREE OR MINIMAL TAX
    4. UPLIFT THE PRVATE TRASPORTAIONN (NOT JUST KL BUT SMALL TOWNS TOO)
    5. SPEED UP THE BERKEMBAR RAILWAY

THE DOCTOR HAS SPOKEN

EHHH KALAU I JADI CALON BEBAS 2012 U ALL UNDI TAK ??

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:53 pm

EHH MANA KOMEN AKUUU

• transformer (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 10:01 pm

for motorhead, we only concern about petrol price and car price…

but does anyone know all other neccesity items already price hike??

From Flour to Rice to Bihun to Maggi Mee to Milo to Eggs and the list goes on………. Ask your mum or spouse and they’ll tell you what they could buy with Rm30 today!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 10:10 pm

nmh said,
    March 25, 2008 @ 9:50 pm

Just let rakyat use our own petroleum, just like other oil producing country (like middle east 30cent/litre) and no more import petroleum which based on the world current price (played by US). And we rakyat dont care if govt want to charge 1.00/litre. Yes Petronas will gain less profit but it still profit.
    —————————————————————-

Hey, do you know that the oil produced here are high octane fuel, only suitable for aeroplanes. If you want to try it on cars then the insurance company tutup kedai lah…

• nmh (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 10:21 pm

We Petronas ppl know our stuff lah, what happen inside there. Nothing we can do bcoz we are controlled by govt. Petronas dont mind loosin some profit for rakyat.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 10:47 pm

The government can increase the price of fuel, subject to they lower the ridiculous taxes & duties for new cars.

Some more, our fuel quality (petrol & diesel) do not even reach the Euro-3 or 4 grade. What a pity.

transformer, you’re right. Rate of inflation increases y-o-y, yet most of average joe’s salary increment don’t proportionately increase, slowly it reduces our purchasing power. The basic needs of the human being: food, shelter (home/property) and well being (insurance & healthcare), all have becoming far than affordable for all of us to live a quality life.

just speaking out my mind.

• want_diy (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 11:22 pm

then we ask petronas staff to help us lah.if govt too..their salary was very big ma…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:12 am

I’m not too concern abt petrol price increase. however I am VERY afraid the increase price of daily neccesities, indirectly due to petrol price increase.

I can save petrol by doing lesser trips in my car, but I can’t cut down food consumption.I mean, My kids need to eat. I can’t tell them —

“Roti price increase oredi, so eat 2 slices of bread instead of 4 slices ar…”

• Prem3377 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:33 am

Ichan,

the government is not running dry because of petrol subsidy man..
    they want us to think like that..thats al..

the higher the fuel price..the higher earning we get..we are still net exporters…we gain profits from not only from petroleum..tin,gold,rubber,timber,palm oil, and other natural resources..

imagine the countries without all this natural resources??how can they make money to survive…we should venture in more businesses..we should generate income by many other means and not only blame petroleum as our main enemy to drain out the G money

we built the most modern and one of the most expensive airport in the region..
    we built advance lrts in the country,we hosted commonwealth and built world class sports facilities…we built sepang F! circuit,we sponsored a team,we built kl tower then twin towers…

we started proton and perodua..we did so many other thing with money from petroleum…and yet we paid about rm 1.10 to rm 1.32(when petrol was about rm 60 per barrel i guess)…

and now there is no major development and yet we are paying rm 1.92…so where does the money go??

ok forget all this…u know something..each car you buy besides proton,perodua and some naza models…you are paying about rm 20 000 extra minimum..that is….imagine..just the 10 people who buy a toyota vios contributing about rm 200000 to the G…imagine 1000 ppl buying vios…the G is making 20 million…

if you use about 300 litre of petrol per month…the G is only giving you rm 180… and RM 2160 per year..(based on 60cent per litre subsidy)..even if you use you car for 7 years..the G has a profit of RM 5 k…..and when you buy another new car..the cycle continues….

so why do they even complain petrol subsidy drains the GOV money…

even rm 1000 extra we pay for a car..we are paying RM 20 extra for our loan..so when you buy a toyota vios..you dont just loose the RM 20000 for unwanted tax..but about rm 33600 on interest rate alone(based on 7 years alone)

so owning a car at the price of rm 80000 make you lose so much…drain away your a year a half salary of you sweat for nothing…so in what way do you thing fuel price should not be subsidies??its our right…its not easy to live in this country as how you think..

the G should find ways to make revenues..make money through business deals…or USE money for R&D and create new business ventures…each year sepang F1 alone brings the country about rm 500 million revenue..so in 10 years we made about rm 5 billion….

build a disneyland here in malaysia…tourism industry will gain millions..

build good proton and perodua cars and malaysia will make million

not simply wasting money building own engine with rm 100 mil plus and frame it in petrosains klcc

use the money smartly and wisely and we wont drain the G money…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:36 am

Not sure how the gov can afford to subsidize it. The subsidize was made back when it was ~70 USD per barrel. In UK you have to pay 35p tax to the government for every litre of fuel you buy. Its now just over 1 pound/litre =Rm 6.3x. Maybe some other corridor plans will be shelved elsewhere

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:48 am

Whatever the world market price now,G will not set a price hike because of the election result.Proton was sucks the people stop buy then after that we get better proton, The G sucks we dont vote for them,after that we get better G..huhu malaysian are becoming more matured now thinking like first world rakyat.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:53 am

another thing…we are given good medical benefit by the G..rm 1 for G clinics and hospital…but they are so limited and waiting time is too long..so we are forced to choose private clinics…and at night unless u dont mind bearing the pain or driving with pain and drive to the NEAREST hospital..you rather go to a private clinic..

we are given good education with the cheapest rate(public U) but have to sacrify our ambition(we don t really get the course we deserve and some get what they dont) and about 60 to 70 % seek private colleges and private U…

we get the best and modern public transport to travel around..but only for the people who stay near the bus stop,lrt station, dont mind waiting for extra few minutes without knowing when exactly the bus will arrive or waking up at 6 am for a 9 am job….get the benefit of public transport…..

we get the cheapest water rates in the world…but without buying a filter you can never drink it…and the billing rate differ all the times since you never get a good average monthly bill…

we get the cheapest electric/current rate but but no matter how little you use the bill never change and if you use aircond in the tropical weather here in our country…you will be scratching you head end of the month looking at the bill….

free broadcast channels…programme and series you watched when you were a kid still going on as they feel people never get bored…no useful channel such as discovery or geographic channel where kid will never know the world or create thinking and knowledgable individuals who can latter fuel the country’s growth and not paying certain amount of money and being a space tourist..

we should really deserve more…whe pay tax..we pay unwanted tax..we pay more tax… and we all what a good citizen should..but what we deserve???so i rather get my fuel subsidy rather than waiting for education system,or health and public transport to improve!!

i bet many malaysian feel the same!!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 1:01 am

yup misterBenjo…our malaysians have started thinking like a first world rakyat…good….we even voted beyond skin colour,and race…the malays have voted for chinese,the chinese for indians..the indians for both..this is what we call TRUE BANGSA MALAYSIA…and hope THE G will LET US REMAIN AS BANGSA MALAYSIA and dont break us apart….just do you job right..or next election its gonna be worst

p/s Paul did the G ppl approached you??i heard they are finding for famous bloggers…hope they wont pay you and ask you to write flowery ting about the G…or Proton and perodua cars…hehehe

Paul Tan says: I think they just want to talk to political bloggers like Rocky. Cars all they don’t care lah.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 1:13 am

MyviKiller said,
    March 25, 2008 @ 10:10 pm

nmh said,
    March 25, 2008 @ 9:50 pm

—————————————————————-

Hey, do you know that the oil produced here are high octane fuel, only suitable for aeroplanes. If you want to try it on cars then the insurance company tutup kedai lah…

hey wrong info bro…its low on sulphur…so it higher value…not high octane..crude oil is the same…quality may differ…but the octane is determined by the process…airplane uses kerosine…so its different process…i mean higher temperature process..

• wong (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 4:38 am

Prem3377 said,

March 26, 2008 @ 1:01 am .we even voted beyond skin colour,and race…the malays have voted for chinese,the chinese for indians..the indians for both..this is what we call TRUE BANGSA MALAYSIA…
    ==============================================
    Besides that, one question,how do we define Bangsa Malaysia? If we watch Astro,we have Malay channels,Chinese channel,Indian channels,Arab,English…etc…so which one is Bangsa Malaysia Channel?What is Bangsa Malaysia food?Mamak shop?All I know bangsa means race or ethnic, not “rakyat’…

• abtm (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 7:01 am

trying to win the ppl’s heart back after the election results…

• azrai (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 7:11 am

That’s truly our power as rakyat to vote. Remember what they said? BN=Barang Naik. Now 5 states under the barisan rakyat + maybe Terengganu will come soon, it gives clear signal to the BN government. 1 thing for sure, our Singaporean counterpart has a doblu price of petrol compare to us, but our income is just 1/5 of theirs. Simple calculation RM5,000 income for RM5 petrol compare to ours RM1,000 income for RM2 petrol? That’s a ratio of 5:5000 (1/1000) against ours 2:1000 (1:500). Sigh..Thank god our people becoming more aware and educated nowadays.

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 7:41 am

Prem3377, I support your text :)

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 7:50 am

Prem337,

Nothing good comes cheap these days, and nothing cheap comes good.

Speaking of taxes paid to the government, compared to other developing countries, our income tax is not considered a significant burden to the average rakyat earning RM2K-5K. Others have taxes of 50-60% from the gross income. That’s why our average salary figure is not that high.

Still, the government has failed to managed properly the funds collected from the rakyat. When they spend or procure via tender, they pay 50-300% more than what the original price of the good/service really is. The education ministry is purchasing thousands of laptops (used by teachers nationwide) for more than RM3.5K, when the original cost is only RM2K. I believed you all have guessed who their suppliers are and where does the money goes. Say, 100,000 laptops X RM1000 unneccesary profit margin= RM100 million rakyat’s money are wasted in a year to the corrupted hands.

When talking of subsidy, its true enough that government has spent a lot, but they also must know how to save their cost of procurement and run an cost-efficient government. When they save more, the benefit is then passed on to the rakyat (sustained subsidy & development). Everybody wins. Its different situation right now, as the current winners are only some privileged few.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 8:33 am

I don’t mind fuel prices going up. However that said, there must be an equal if not more re-investment of the monies saved back to public hands. Health care, Education, Public transport and the like.

So far its been just hot air from these politicians.

They may boast that we have the best of such and such, but in reality, our infrastructure is no where near as good as the government would like us to believe. The rakyat have been raped by the government for all these years. We sent the message loud and clear. lets see what the response is.

However that said, the petrol hike is inevitable…just give the rakyat options like cheaper more fuel efficient cars, public transportation on par with Singapore or any major city. For crying out loud we export biodiesel grade oleum so why can’t the government spend some money to develop it for local use?

• farghmee (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 8:58 am

if hybrid car was cheaper..
    if i got the money, i’ll buy either prius or civic hybrid.
    if cars can take on palm oil, then hasten the development of this technology.
    reducing the oil subsidy is only a short term solution :(

• sharkfish (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 8:58 am

the gov must improve public transport..then all people must use public transport
    to go to work or just live and work in same place..then we dont even use any transport anymore..just walk for short distance and our earth will safe without pollution from vehicle..make a long plan solution for our better life tomorrow..

• hamster (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 9:29 am

mixed emotions on da issue..1 way i dont wanna pay..another way..I DONT WANA PAY !! prices wil continue to go up..i think da whole thing wont b tat bad if da mideastern country can cut da crap sayin tat they gon cut thier manufacture..tryin to takin da entire world in hostage..

• xstan (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 9:31 am

Yes…agreed with Prem. We should educate others who wasnt aware that we are oil exporter. Price increase …nation earns generous margin. Why would the Govt kept the earnings into DEVELOPING thier Castle & financial position. They should subsidise the nation from the ernings.

It will be fair if they insist to abolish the subsidy thingy…they should abolish other unrealistic taxes ie. passenger cars, commercial vehicles, tol, food..hint.Pizza Hut. Indah water (now to use the loo u gotta pay), equal individual taxes to races (not on few races) etc.

think..if fuel prices increases …other FMCG, foods , things all goes up. Even utilities. They need oil compund to process plastic resins, fuel to run boiler to produce food, fuel for distribution & logistic matter..all this will trigger chain reaction. Worst our inome still downright low. Result Inflation.

Think!! Think!! Not clouded with artificial excuses G feeding..

• hazri99 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:00 am

fuel price is global problem.. cannot decrease but can increase.. if can decrease price all rakyat will happy..

• Alifz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:00 am

I make my comment very simple.

Fomer Prime Minister, petrol was at most RM1.13, diesel at most 65cents, Petronas profit at most RM30bil.

Current Prime Minister, petrol price RM1.98, diesel RM1.50, Petronas profit RM80bil.

Which leader is actually CARES of the RAKYAT…?

• Alifz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:04 am

Addendum.

Don’t compare our fuel price with Singapore,Thailand,Indonesia,Philipines.

Compare it with Brunei,Qatar,UAE etc. (we produce oil as these countries)

As Former Deputy Prime Minister said “Jangan bandingkan harga DURIAN di Malaysia dengan harga DURIAN di JEPUN…………bodoh…….”.

• epep (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:33 am

You people trust our sleepy-eyed PM ah? Wasn’t he the one who vehemently denied that parliament wasn’t going to be dissolved for elections, and then guess what happened the next day?

Personally, I say get rid of the fuel subsidies because
    1) subsidies create an artificial economy that cannot sustain itself as fuel price goes higher and higher
    2) it encourages fat, lazy and wasteful Malaysians to use even more fuel
    3) who do you think pays for the subsidies? The government? Petronas? Yes to a certain extent, but the money also comes from us the taxpayers!! Our taxpayer’s money goes into paying the subsidies!! We are actually paying a higher price for our fuel.

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 11:09 am

Ya, reduce subsidi, increase fuel price to encourage careful use of petrol. Some people just want to buy milk and onion only then they drive to Giant to get it. What a waste of petrol and never do grocery planning. And some people drive all the way just to get a newspaper.

Furthermore, this will reduce traffic jam on the road !

and of course… improve other things. G said spending how many Billions to improve public transportation, where is it ? I didn’t see any improvement. LRT stations still the same number.

• wildthingz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 11:38 am

If there is Pak Lah people around here plz tell him to hear what rakyat says and what rakyats want not just do wht the cabinets says

• scottloeb (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 11:42 am

LRT station is not like bus stand. To buy the bloody train you need proper planning. The systems, electric, the wayside and such. You don’t just simply pick or else, lemons is what you’ll get. Also there are issues of land, tunneling and the car (train) itself. Do you know that our PUTRA train is sourced from Bombardier based in Canada, one of the world best train maker (mind you, they built planes too) and the system is one of the most advanced as well? We don’t do maglev as China as the system is still untested but we use LIM, and the casualties rate is quite low to be honest. Expect to see the changes somewhere in 2009-2011 as new things will crop up (esp jam when they start to build the station in the middle of cheras simpang).

However, you must remember, Malaysia is not all about KL. What about Kudat, sarikei, dungun, kota Setar or Gerik? so these people also need the taste of “saved oil money”. So how?

• ganz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 11:55 am

hahahaha.. funny..

the things is that.. everyone require their own station in front of their house….than everybody will satisfied..

bus slow due to traffic jam.. people using car due to traffic jam.. traffic jam due to lots of people using cars.. a very complicated math equation..

i think.. i fully support if Government staff the first one to use Public Transport to go to the office.. why?? their working time is almost fix.. not like us who work in private company.. and also.. why not let the Ministry or top JUSA people to use public transport.. taste it//

anyway… just to add info.. malaysia LRT (putra system) is the similar train system used in several other country in the world(or this world. :D)..

the thing is.. it up to “orang klang valley” itself to use it or not..

• figo (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:00 pm

1. You people trust our sleepy-eyed PM ah? Wasn’t he the one who vehemently denied that parliament wasn’t going to be dissolved for elections, and then guess what happened the next day?
    Personally, I say get rid of the fuel subsidies because
    1) subsidies create an artificial economy that cannot sustain itself as fuel price goes higher and higher
    2) it encourages fat, lazy and wasteful Malaysians to use even more fuel
    3) who do you think pays for the subsidies? The government? Petronas? Yes to a certain extent, but the money also comes from us the taxpayers!! Our taxpayer’s money goes into paying the subsidies!! We are actually paying a higher price for our fuel.
    Quoted by epep:
    ——————————-

Very naïve straight forward mind from epep. How are you able to interprete the “subsidies” term if you are the net exporter of petroleum. The higher the petrol price the better for Malaysia, right! From 30bil profit to 80 bilion profit for petronas is consider subsidies? You are dreaming, Man. Please got and studies the economic before provide the logical opinion.

Please read to understand more Mr epep
    ———
    Baru baru ini dalam akhbar tempatan, kerajaan telah keluarkan satu statistik kononnya harga minyak di malaysia adalah yang paling rendah di rantau ini.Kemudian mereka membandingkan harga minyak malaysia dengan hargi minyak di Thailand, Singapore, Filifina dan vietnam.Persoalan sekarang apakah asas perbandingan tersebut sedangkan negara negara tersebut bukan pengeluar minyak?Hujah seperti inilah yang di gunakan oleh barisan nasional untuk memperbodohkan orang kampung.

Ok, disini fakta yang semua orang kena tahu.Pertama sekali sila lihat perbandingan harga minyak malaysia dan negara negara pengeluar minyak yang lain:-
    Negara Harga minyak seliter (dalam RM)
    Malaysia RM1.92
    Iran RM0.29
    Venezuela RM0.16
    Turkemenistan RM0.39
    Arab Saudi RM0.19
    Mesir RM0.81
    Dari data di atas, membuktikan propaganda kerajaan adalah palsu dan tidak benar.Kesemua negara pengeluar minyak di atas, harga minyak adalah di bawah RM1.00 seliter.Ada sesetengah alasan mengatakan keluaran minyak kita tak sebanyak arab saudi yang mengeluarkan sejuta tong sehari.Menurut kerajaan, pengeluaran minyak kita adalah dalam lingkungan 700 ribu tong sehari.Oleh itu kalau berdasarkan ratio pengeluaran minyak antara arab saudi dan malaysia 1 juta : 700 ribu, sepatutnya harga minyak malaysia dalam lingkungan RM0.30 sen sahaja.Kenapa arab saudi boleh kekalkan harga minyak pada 0.19 sen seliter tapi malaysia pada 1.92 sen?Bukan kah jauh bezanya?Bagaimana pula dengan venezuella yang jumlah penduduk hampir sama dengan malaysia boleh kekalkan harga minyak pada 0.16 sen seliter sahaja?Ini menunjukkan ada sesuatu yang tak kena dalam menguruskan hasil minyak dalam negara.
    Ketika dato seri anwar ibrahim menjawat jawatan menteri kewangan malaysia pada tahun 1991-1998, harga minyak di kekalkan pada 1.10 sen seliter.Bagaimana beliau boleh mengekalkan harga minyak selama lapan tahun sedangkan harga minyak dunia naik mendadak ketika perang teluk di iraq?Pada masa yang sama juga pembangunan dan projek projek banyak juga di jalankan dalam negara tanpa perlu naikkan harga minyak.Tapi pemimpin kerajaan beri alasan untuk naikan harga minyak supaya duit tersebut dapat tampung projek pembangunan. Masalah sekarang projek pembangunan untuk faedah siapa?Rakyat atau kroni?Berepa kerat orang yang dapat faedah dari koridor pembangunan di sana sini?
    Subsidi minyak yang di tanggung kerajaan mencapai 35 billion setahun.Barisan Nasional bersungguh sungguh untuk mengurang kan subsidi minyak ini kerana kalau harga minyak tidak di naikkan dengan segera ianya akan mengganggu peruntukan kerajaan bagi membangunkan koridor koridor di seluruh negara yang bernilai ratusan billion.
    Yang orang asyik berhujah ialah harga minyak perlu di naikkan kerana harga minyak dunia telah naik.Ada yang mengatakan ia masalah global.So yang kita kita fikir ialah kenapa nak risau tentang harga minyak dunia yang melambung naik kerana sepatutnya sebagai negara pengeluar minyak, malaysia seharusnya gembira kerana bila harga minyak dunia naik, pendapatan petronas jadi berlipat ganda.So apa masalahnya?Walaupun malaysia ada mengimport minyak dari luar untuk kegunaan tempatan, tapi bila dah net off dari pendapatan export, masih untung besar lagi.
    Adakah negara akan bankrupt kalau turunkan harga minyak??
    Sudah tentu tidak.Sila lihat statistik di bawah:-
    Allocation untuk mega projek:-
    Koridor utara : RM17.5 billion
    Koridor timur : RM112 billion
    Wilayah iskandar :RM47 billion
    Koridor sabah :105 billion
    Koridor Serawak :107 billion
    Bila kerajaan membuat pelan untuk pembangunan projek di atas, sudah tentulah kerajaan mempunyai wang yang banyak.Jadi, jika kerajaan sanggup membelanjakan ratusan billion untuk projek pembangunan seperti di atas yang hanya boleh di manafaatkan oleh segelintir rakyat sahaja, kenapa nak tampung subsidi 35 billion setahun pun tak mampu?Mana yang lebih penting?Mana yang perlu di utamakan?Kebajikan rakyat atau projek mega?
    Bila menteri menteri beri komen tentang ekonomi, semuanya berkata yang bagus bagus, tapi bila bercakap soal subsidi minyak, dah cakap lain pulak.So kalau Dato najib kata turunkan harga minyak akan buat negara bankrup,bagaimana projek ratusan billion di atas? Tak bankrup kah negara dengan projek ratusan billion tersebut?Perlu di ingat bahawa di samping pendapatan hasil petroleum, negara juga mempunyai hasil dari sumber lain seperti getah, sawit, taxation, balak dan lain lain.Pendapatan tahunan negara kalau di ambil kira harga minyak yang melambung naik bakal mencecah 200 billion setahun.Dari jumlah tersebut susah sangat ke nak sumbangkan 50 billion untuk beri subsidi pada rakyat?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:09 pm

before goverment can reduce fuel subsidy, they must overhoul all the public transport in the country with the lembah klang as the priority. this is because people living in lembah klang (I think)is more than people in perlis or maybe other negeri. how much people in lembah klang consume petrol everyday for using their vehicle to go to work?anybody have the data or percentage people in lembah klang using public transport compare to thus use own vehicle?I think that why our goverment must focus to overhaul the public transport in lembah klang quickly.if public transport is efficient + more people use – less use fuel = less subsidy to spent + less frequent to increase price. At the end,people in village can buy cheaper fuel + people in big city have very efficient public transport which I think can satisfied both parties.

• ganz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:17 pm

if u are the CEO of the company.. which one will u choose :-
    1. take care of your staff, no VSS, bonus, security of the job even in economy down turn..

2. or.. Profit oriented, maximize profit by.. VSS, no bonus, insecurity of the job since mgmt might VSS u at any time..

some of u might thinking of abolishing the subsidies on petrol.. well. u might lucky enough to have luxury to bear that..

but how about people who don’t have that enough money to bear the actual cost?

honestly.. after 7 years of working.. i’m still not paying any income taxes..why? my boss do not pay me enough money that eligible me to be a tax payer.. but still i have to move around to work..

if G removed the subsidies?
    do my company increase my salary?
    do my company revised milage claim?
    do anything change..

one thing i know.. price will hike up..

my dream.. give a petrol-thirsty-car a very hefty road tax.. or only subsidise to only required

• sharkfish (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:21 pm

Just increase the efficiency of public transport..no wide highway..decrease the pollution..the end..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:30 pm

scottloeb said,
    March 26, 2008 @ 11:42 am

LRT station is not like bus stand. To buy the bloody train you need proper planning. The systems, electric, the wayside and such. You don’t just simply pick or else, lemons is what you’ll get. Also there are issues of land, tunneling and the car (train) itself. Do you know that our PUTRA train is sourced from Bombardier based in Canada, one of the world best train maker (mind you, they built planes too) and the system is one of the most advanced as well? We don’t do maglev as China as the system is still untested but we use LIM, and the casualties rate is quite low to be honest. Expect to see the changes somewhere in 2009-2011 as new things will crop up (esp jam when they start to build the station in the middle of cheras simpang).

However, you must remember, Malaysia is not all about KL. What about Kudat, sarikei, dungun, kota Setar or Gerik? so these people also need the taste of “saved oil money”. So how?

we all know its hard to build lrt and etc in a day..or a year..but 5 years you can…atleast show us the proper plan!!if cant why promise us last time??to shut our mouth for fuel hike??

yah true…dont just think of people in kl…around malaysia…the only way to help is reduce the FUEL PRICE…simple yet effective…if fuel price goes down..everything else will….we are not even asking it to be as cheap as the middle east or as other places given by figo…just about rm 1.50 will do…is that so hard??

the corridor is pure bullshit…its like getting a large piece of land and asking people to invest on it by providing basic infrastructures such as roads,elertric,water and waste managment…the IDR dont even have proper roads…In sarawak they say it suppose to be GREEN industrial corridor…but why coal power plan??is that the greenest powerplant the G can think off??

too much of bullshit…on paper,the news…and everywhere(except here and few other blogs)…pity us…

• ganz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:53 pm

plan on LRT.. basically has been openly discussed by newspaper…the basic new route, extension of existing route, additional purchase of exeisting fleet, increase number of the buses, integrated terminal and so on..

on the matter of detail.. well it hard to said.. what if we know future devlopment in certain area.. and definately the prce of the land going to be increase… it speculated issue..

• freeze (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Can somebody tell me why this issue exists.

Malaysia has its own petroleum and they export it. World oil prices increase, so malaysia gets more profit from the oil it sells right???

Just like gold prices go up, we get more money if we sell our gold.

Why is it different for oil? Who is pocketing all the profit? Or are we selling our oil cheaper?

• xstan (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 1:33 pm

read this guy:- why Trengganu MP’s seat on the grab

One thing that Malaysia Today would like to raise is the matter of Terengganu’s oil royalty which we hope Mahathir will address on 28 July. Since the mid-1970s, Terengganu had been enjoying a 5% royalty on all the oil and gas extracted in the state. That is what is provided for under the Petroleum Development Act. In fact, not only Terengganu, but any state in Malaysia where oil and gas is extracted they would enjoy the same. However, in 2000, this royalty was withdrawn and converted to Wang Ehsan (goodwill money). Suddenly, the RM800 million or so a year that Terengganu was supposed to get as its 5% share of the oil and gas revenue was transferred out of the state and into the hands of one man, Idris Jusoh.

the saga continues…so u know if it was not subsidised ..guess where all the money went into..

• figo (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 1:38 pm

If the G is sincere to take care of the rakyat then they should provide:

1) Abolish the AP – This only benefit the cronies and without the revenue to the G.

2) Open tender for project to all Malaysia – This will address the wastage of fund to channel to the cronies and create few “towering people”. We don’t mind to provide the privilege to bumi and award a contract 5% higher than the non bumi. At least, we can minimize the crony’s percentage on tender that cost 30% above from the actual construction cost and able to obtain a fair tender.

3) Entry requirement to university – abolish the matriculation system and let all Malaysia have a fair entry requirement. This matriculation will denial good student to gain entry to university and parent will send them to oversea thus they will no longer coming back to serve the country.(brain drain – we need prevention rather than cure. When this happen. How the G get revenue from the income tax to this intelligent citizen?)

4) Improve the transport system – we don’t mind to tax the car higher than the present rate but please provide alternative for rakyat to choose if they opt for public transport. Can you imagine all new township area like cheras,PJ, Rawang, Bangi, Klang, kajang, seminyih area without bus route.

5) Healthcare system – all the G hospital located so far from the residence area and how many time of appointments in order for you to meet the specialist. If not mistaken, u need to visit the hospital few time in order to get the appointment to see the specialist and the cost to travel to the hospital will kill the low income group of rakyat. (die first before getting treatment from G)

6) Safety – Improve the overall safety to the country by helping the poor regardless of races and control the illegal immigrant. (Preventive better than cure) and make the police accountability for the crime.

7) Built less ICON project just to benefit the few cronies.

8) Built more low cost housing at the good location to benefit the poor rakyat.

9) Abolish the 30% bumi equity – which investor wants this policy. Without investor how the G get revenue?

10) and lot more…etc

Otherwise, Just another PM slogan as below ”CAKAP TAK SERUPA BIKIN”

A) “I’m listening to you”. – before election
    B) “Emphasize on human capital development” – BN manifesto before election but the policy on education system marginalized other and force u to go oversea to get your education.
    C) “Thank you to correct me, I ‘ll do my best for the future”. – When BN fail after election.
    D) Increase on petrol from RM1.62 to RM1.92 save RM 4 bil for G and we will improve the public transport.
    E) “Fight corruption” – manifesto for 2004 election but most of the corrupt leaders still having a good time.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 1:44 pm

freeze,

Much of the oil money goes to Sepang F1 circuit, Petronas twin towers, Putrajaya, IDR and other corridors development… all in the name of ‘development’.

But the truth is, most of the rakyat doesn’t benefit much from them. How come only now PakLah realizes it? (as per newspaper today- point made, point taken).

• Niv (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 1:46 pm

Hi all,
    In my opinion, i think managing a country not as easy as we people say,
    sometimes a person’s decisions may change due to environment changes.
    for wat i know about the Lrt, its quite sometime i heard from my area,
    Gov tried to extend the LRT to USJ area until puchong even Cheras.(not sure)
    but the citizen opposed that project somehow, so the G doesnt execute the project. I myself is from management profession, I know that projects itself might take up some time to make changes to plan. especially G, and country like China, they set focus in their cities more than other places(to answer why our G development only focus in KL). Im not a financial guy so i donno calculatings on subsidary. and I doesnt involve “makan duit” or “corruption” in my concern for this comment.
    I do agree that fuel hike does make most of our malaysians a heavy burden.
    as what i know, our fuel will be finished in like 5 to 10 years. (not really sure,but definitely gonna finish) so i think G might take as, make as much money as they can to make reserve for our country because our country don hav so much reserve like singapore.especially now the fuel hike means more profits.maybe bio-fuel and hybrid can solve the problem but everything also talk about money and there goes our salaries. and hope our new ministers can make more changes inorder to let our life better before the next election.
    TQ

• desparil (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Prem,

This is what’s called a Resource Curse. We need to lift this curse ASAP!

• ganz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 2:21 pm

Niv.. thanks for your clarification on how project should go…

few voices doesn’t represents all…some people want lrt to built into their area.. but at the same time.. concerning about noise pollution, dirt during construction or the possibility if his house taken by G …maybe some said that.. introducing LRT might effect the area.. attract lots of people , area become popular.. thus become congested, social problem,,well.. it not easy.. (i watch “How they built: smart tunnel” and start to understand..)

on behalf of terengganu issue on oil.. monsoon cup.. it a waste.. n i fully agree on that esp on how waste.. BUT just look a little bit on bright side…. frankly speaking.. during Monsoon cup event… all hotels in terengganu were fully book (one whole week).. lots of tourist come.. and of course lots of KEROPOK sold also, as well as Kedai Payang …

• nmh (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 2:21 pm

Barisan Rakyat (BR) which is us VERSUS Barisan Nasional (BN) current corrupt gov

• nmh (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 2:23 pm

Guys…lets discuss about Malaysia as oil producing country…compare with the oil price of other oil oil producing country. Thats the point

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 2:33 pm

I also not agreed with our G. However, they are the DURIAN & we are still a CUCUMBER. Normaluser! You’re talking like you know everything hah? Where did you get all that facts? Prove it! This thing, that thing, bla…bla…bla. Like you just cut and paste whatever the the words from anywhere. But surely not from your brains. Please don’t try to be a wise guy la. Only a mental problem persons thinking like you. Another thing, you should shut off your mouth in this blog. Busy body and you know something, you really are a big jerk. Ok Mr. Paul. I’m finish and I’m outa here. Puas hati aku.

• wong (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 2:45 pm

Prem3377 said,

March 26, 2008 @ 1:01 am .we even voted beyond skin colour,and race…the malays have voted for chinese,the chinese for indians..the indians for both..this is what we call TRUE BANGSA MALAYSIA…and hope THE G will LET US REMAIN AS BANGSA MALAYSIA and dont break us apart….just do you job right..or next election its gonna be worst
    ===============================================
    Since the term ‘Bangsa Malaysia’ is widely used nowadays,what is it actually?Is it the same as the old term ‘Muhibbah’?Let me see,bangsa means race or ethnic,and when I watch Astro,there’s Malay channel,Indian channels,Chinese channels,Arab,English etc…is there any Bangsa Malaysia that can viewed equally by all races?That’ll be in English of course,..can a Malay become a CM in Penang,or an Indian CM in Kelantan or a minority Serani be a CM?,politicians sometimes remind me of salesmen selling the same product with a “new package”,sounds familliar?To both BN and BR,time to “WALK THE TALK”!!…cheers…

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 3:26 pm

ganz said,

March 26, 2008 @ 11:55 am

hahahaha.. funny..

the things is that.. everyone require their own station in front of their house….than everybody will satisfied..

>>>Hahah, u mean do it like in Futurama, that tube thing to travel to everywhere?

Thing is though, I feel like subsidies shud be abolished, car users sakit la, bt at least that’ll kill any reason to smuggle fuel to our neighbors anymore.

To balance out the pain of price increase for car users, I think road tax shud be abolished/further reduced (and perhaps restructure), and the rm40billion saved shud be used to subsidise toll pula (say TAK NAK to those greedy highway concessionaire!!), how’s that? Shud also use it to give incentive to household products manufacturer so that price of flour, rice, etc can remain the same. Or even better, be reduced.

• I my (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 3:32 pm

easy just cut the corruption down to min level… then the G sure can get more then RM43.4 billion to spend.

• gonggok (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 3:56 pm

They should just raise the price…come on the people who benefit the most are smugglers and people driving big 4wds. I’ve changed to a small used car for my daily commute to save fuel but it pisses me off the see these buggers still driving big cars all by themselves.

Even a lot of fisherman don’t even catch fish anymore, they just fill their boat to the brim with diesel, go to sea and sell the diesel to thai/indon fishermen! Easy living…

Now we have oil but what to do when it runs out? If the Govt do not raise the price gradually we are going to be in for a shock in a few years.

• crasher7 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 3:57 pm

great news… for now…

• KL Stray Cat (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 4:30 pm

http://www.jeffooi.com/2006/03/najib_watch_your_back.php

Anyone knows where the RM4.4b went?
    Appreciate the information if you do know!

• Alifz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 4:46 pm

Hey guys over here….We’re discussing about FUEL price here, not about Political Issue…this matter shall be resolved by elected leader. Please give good advise for our own sake.

I just want to add, in my opinion the major issue on fuel price is the DIESEL, as this is major contribution of price of goods, where any hike of this fuel will affect the price of goods.I’ve heard some comments of all my Malaysian (all races) opinion this is the major thing that resulted to recently election, where we all scared if the current leader doesn’t care about this diesel hikes, soon the economy will slowly decrease as profit of the business is decreasing, and the business will close shop. Just like what happen to Fisherman now selling subsidize fuel to forgein parts, businessman also will switch business where they think is much more profiting and I’m afraid the business they will go is towards illegal type, as this business have less commitment such as taxes and levies and this will promote social illness.Just see now how social illness have make the national securities threatened.

That all, from my 2 cents.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 4:54 pm

Yeah yeah yeah, subsidy US. Pui!

They took our taxes, and here goes:

Buy submarines from Mongolia (For what I dunno) and Najib makes 400 million comission – Single highest commision paid in the world in 2006.

Build Putrajaya (Yeah that was from Mahathir’s era, but then the cronies who profit from all these government contracts are still spending OUR money for whatever; and Putrajaya is still a beautiful ghost town with hundreds of empty un-utilised buildings

Send a dentist to space – What the phark are they thinking? Pride of nation? Pui! They spend our money to buy fighter planes from Russia and Najib makes commission again.

Petronas shows record profits – Because our government use our money to pay Petronas, in which the pharkers in our government had shares and earn those money thru dividends into their own pockets.

And how bout all those sub-par road works, SMART (Stupid Malaysian Always Rosak Tunnel), The WORLDS BIGGEST COURTROOM, Istana Zakariah, Naza ? All these are draining our people’s money.

Let’s hope the opposition takes over the country, jail all these cronies who had been sucking our money like nobody’s business, force all government tender projects to be handled by an open tender contractor who only holds 30% of the investment, where the rest 70% of all these mega projects will be held by all rakyat who’s monthly income lesser than RM1k. So we can remove the stupid NEP which in fact did not help all our poor malay friends, but only makes those Barisan Nasional cronies super rich.

RM 1.92 is not great news, if our country stop wasting money, cut all corruption, we will be damn rich; nonetheless there’s still hope for Malaysia. Let’s all jail Abdullah, Khairi, Najib, Hishamuddin, Rafidah, Mahathir, Samy, Ong Kar Ding, and all BN cronies, then use the money saved up to appoint elites from Japan, Singapore, HK, China to help plan for our country’s revival into one of the top countries in the world and at least, become a second world nation by year 2020.

• spidermutu (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 5:10 pm

Good for now,Should reduce the price, Abolish road tax,no more tolls,cheaper rates for water and electricity,free Penang bridge from toll,free books for ‘all’ students,no income tax for 60k per annum and below,abolish Nep,AP(not anak perempuan,ok)and bumiputra quotas,built cheap apartments for the poor with a fee of less than 20rm p.month,lesser pay for all politicians,no more Mega projects because we already had enough…Gov will loose money?Not my problem anyway…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 5:29 pm

then use the money saved up to appoint elites from Japan, Singapore, HK, China to help plan for our country’s revival into one of the top countries in the world and at least, become a second world nation by year 2020.

————————————————————-

oh my god, i think u over reacted here? let foreign countries rule us again?
    I dont think we are starved of good leaders, just need to choose wisely and kick present leader out.

• bryanlee79 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 5:29 pm

Niv,

I am disagree with you on the statement that the ppl are opposing to have the LRT project to be extended. I am not since when ppl saying or you just looking at the local paper saying it exactly like the Johor bridge case that the Rakyat do not want it so we cancel it.

The govt should know how to play the game right. The govt should look at the way on how to bring more FDI into Malaysia so that the money will eventually well spend back to the ppl. We understand that the world’s fuel prices keep on increasing, but what i see the respond from the govt is to increase the prices, but never look way on how to get more money pouring in. Managing a country is no easy thing, but all this while our govt also never intend to manage the country as a business. We Rakyat is a share holder. Bring more oppurtunity and innovation to Malaysia. Never lost the share holder’s money.

• redliner (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 6:55 pm

In my opinion, govt. should be more transparent on how monies are spent. if they claim that RM43 billion was spent on fuel subsidy, then they should show the public the mecahnism of the subsidy so that public will understand the impact of increasing / maintaining / reducing the subsidy. they should table this in such a way that public is aware of the impact of maintaining fuel price at the current level and how much would the govt. loose for the subsidy and would the public be impacted by this high subsidy at the end of the day?involvement of NGO to determine the subsidy level would be appropriate. apart from that, i also think that the govt has to eliminate corruptions immediately.

• Niv (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 6:57 pm

I am disagree with you on the statement that the ppl are opposing to have the LRT project to be extended.
    said Bryan.

Hi Bryan,

When the extend LRT project was talked about. It go through the residential area of USJ. The Owners themselve are opposing it, because LRT itself have a very serious noise pollution. and the space of land they are taking somehow doesnt acceptable by the people. I do understand that people been wishing LRT station around Cheras, USJ 13(deeper section of USJ area) Puchong want to have the station near them. not all support and not all oppose.
    back to the fuel topic. The Fuel price increment is unavoidable. Some say to decrease this, abolish that will finally make something increase. because when an amount of value go down, some other value go up.

TQ

• spidermutu (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 7:04 pm

ingolstadt said,
    March 26, 2008 @ 4:54 pm
    Let’s hope the opposition takes over the country, jail all these cronies who had been sucking our money like nobody’s business
    =============================================
    Depends on how ‘effective’ the new Selangor State Gov is,I’m a “Selangorian” and still waiting for all promises to ‘materialised’,maybe in 1or 2 years time,which is a bit too long or wait for a new manifesto in 5 years time?New MB says no need timbalan at the moment,Where is the Bangsa Malaysia spirit?Not a good start so far…

• lchan (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 7:21 pm

Prem3377

I partly agree with you, but regardless, subsidies will always drain a government sooner or later among many other things. Subsidies will always slow a country down economic and social progress in the long run.

Being a net exporter is not the issue, but being a importer is. Money saved from removing subsidies can always go into many areas to better Malaysia economically and socially. At the end of the day, these monies also needs to be well spent. Mega developments/projects are not important. 40 billion a year is savings can do wonders (corruption aside). Better wages for Government Servants, Improving health care system, education system, HSE, etc…These are primary factors that will contribute to, like you said tourism for example. Mega projects dont necessary means bringing tourist to our country. There are many other means of achieving it.

You have to look at the big picture not just today. Today benefits you, but tomorrow doesn’t benefit your children.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 9:04 pm

Spidermutu:

I did not conclude that the opposition is GOOD, at least before they did any bad, perhaps they can lock those who HAD DONE BAD stuffs, just because they weren’t from the same gang.

MisterBenjo:

Hiring outsiders to run our countries doesn’t mean we’re ruled by them, we’re merely using them for our benefits. The same case is happening where our elites go serve other countries for their benefit.

Can you imagine if our government hired Lee Kuang Yew as advisor, imagine how he can turn Malaysia into another miracle. Singapore can do it, why can’t we? With so much more advantages god given.

Come to this, I felt like slapping Pak Lah when he mentioned don’t compare a good apple and a good orange. MY GOD!?!?!?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 9:10 pm

i do agree with you lchan,

someday the petrol subsidy has to go..but we are not prepared for the some day yet…

let put it in a simple way…the G always say we are living is an artificial enviroment..where fuel and other food stuff are given subsidy and etc…

but dont you thing the NAP is also a contributor??it artificially price cars..so we pay more..the bank and G gain super profits..

yet we pay high interest for loans..

so when you buy a car or a house..you spend a big portion of your salary paying up for it…we cant live without a house or car for many in the cities…

next,our salary..its artificially low too..in my company..the fresh graduates are paid about rm 2000..without allowance..when my senior joined in 1993…he was given rm 1900 as a basic salary..so the increase is so little..just 5 %..thats all..do you get the point??

the G has train us to live in the artificial enviroment since the early 1980’s..so after 20 years plus…how can it be taken away just like that??

and it should be a balance…if they increase the fuel price…reduce taxes..reduce interest,reduce duties…reduce everything possible to match a real world situation and increase our salary too…then i dont mind paying for higher petrol money…

they should prepare us for everything…build better public transport and make sure it works perfectly…i was using the LRT for 2 years before the G took over…and not even a day any breakdown occured..even during heavy rain, a five or 10 min delay…but lately…almost once a week..so how can i rely on public transport??

when my bro broke his leg after a futsal match,i took him to a G clinic..we waited for 3 hours before they even X ray the leg..how can someone in deep pain made to wait for 3 hours??atleast a pain killer injection should be given if they know its goin to take long..so how can i rely on G hospital??

and petrol subsidy reach every corner of malaysia…forget lrt or buses…if petrol subsidy is abolished food price will automatically increase..how do they control it??

even country like India..where there is 1 billion population,basic neccesity are subsidies and rationed..where we are in natural resource rich with 27 million population only complaining about draining the G money…its our money for god sake..

so if you look far into the future…you should built it from the present…my hse area is already 16 years…but no public transport yet…so how can i survive without a car?many here do face the same problem…do you think we choose to drive in the jam?wasting rm 300 plus on fuel and 1000 plus for car installment??and few hundred for maintainence?

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:01 pm

kakilubuk said,
    March 26, 2008 @ 2:33 pm

I also not agreed with our G. However, they are the DURIAN & we are still a CUCUMBER. Normaluser! You’re talking like you know everything hah? Where did you get all that facts? Prove it! This thing, that thing, bla…bla…bla. Like you just cut and paste whatever the the words from anywhere. But surely not from your brains. Please don’t try to be a wise guy la. Only a mental problem persons thinking like you. Another thing, you should shut off your mouth in this blog. Busy body and you know something, you really are a big jerk. Ok Mr. Paul. I’m finish and I’m outa here. Puas hati aku.

=============

kakilubuk,
    I speak based on my experience working in a public listed company and I handled clients which involved in government contracts, with value reaching millions of ringgit. I know exactly what am I talking about and its up to the readers to judge my comments. Believe it or not, its your call.

I dont want to waste my time talking to a brainless empty talking person like you (always post childish comments). Go back to university, and get a real degree. I hold no grudge againts you, but you seem to act like a kid by bashing me without any proper justifications.

OK back to the topic.

Prem says:
    but dont you thing the NAP is also a contributor??it artificially price cars..so we pay more..the bank and G gain super profits..

normal user says:
    I don’t agree when you say that bank gain super profits out of car loans or mortgage. Banks borrow money from the money market (rates determined by underlying OPR by Bank Negara), and use them to disburse loans. The spread is not that much as ‘super profits’ if you factor in NPLs and liquidity costs.

About the G makes money.. actually its the corrupted assemblymen, MPs & excos, ‘close one-eye’ authorities, political lobbyists and greedy govt vendors. Taxpayers money are drained into the coffers of these lunatics, instead of being used for the rakyat’s benefit. Its sad to see the government didn’t address much on transparency & integrity issues as the factor which contribute to their worse ever election performance.

• herman (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:18 pm

PM says: NO, I will not get married soon

—>marries Jean Danker Abdullah

PM says: NO, Parliament will not be dissolved tomorrow

—-> Parliament dissolved next day

PM says: NO, that Ahmad fella cannot be Turtle Land MB, unconstitutional!

—-> That fella now MB

PM says: NO price increase for petrol so soon

—-> You say leh? Must be soon lor!

• bmwm5 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:27 pm

I don’t see anything wrong with normaluser. Let he says what he wants, as long as he got some facts to support his comments.

kakilubuk, you’re such a nuisance in this forum lah. Everywhere i see your post, i feel irritated. Meaningless & not facts at all.

• bmwm5 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:29 pm

What can u expect from our beloved pak lah. A seasoned politician should know how to cakap pusing-pusing. If not, he’s not a politician. ‘A silent politician is no politician’. hahahaa!

• bmwm5 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:38 pm

Agree with normaluser. The lesser the corruption, the more better the funds can be channeled to the rakyat.

herman,
    A seasoned politician should know how to goreng-goreng la. If not, then he’s not a real politician. “A silent politician is NO POLITICIAN”. hahaha!

kakilubuk,
    A simple word to describe your postings on this forum. Crap (in another post about fuel cells, you ask about hydrogen bomb??), brainless (no facts) and childish (emotional).

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 10:45 pm

@spidermutu

The Sultan didn’t want to appoint the deputy MB, u still wanna harp on abt it? You want another Utusan headline with “PKR Biadap terhadap Sultan S’gor” ? How abt the fact there’s 5 non-malay in the S’gor exco? 4 women out of 10? That’s not Bangsa Malaysia and better fairness to the female gender enuf for you? Why can’t you have more faith in the state gahmen? Cuz they’re inexperienced? Well then allow me to quote my area’s statewoman, Hannah Yeoh: “Yes I’m inexperienced. I’m inexperienced in corruption.”

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 11:00 pm

@herman

Read any recent NST news? They quote pak lah:

“The result of the elections was a strong message that I have not moved fast enough in pushing through with the reforms that I had promised to undertake.

“I thank the Malaysian people for this message. Point made and point taken,”

So yes, it’ll be veeeeery soon. Then it’ll no longer be abt “concerned abt rakyat’s burden”, it’ll be abt “I’m digesting people’s message for me to move faster”.

Now if anyone thinking I’m contradicting myself abt my earlier post of wanting the subsidy abolished, just do remember I’m all for it with the condition that it’ll be balanced out with lower road tax/toll/whatever etc. NOT for cronies to build more istanas, become AP king etc.

• AvE (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 12:02 am

Orang2 besar/atasan will always enjoy top class lifestyle without worrying about price hike…orang2 bawahan/rakyat will always worry about price hike…and yes ofcos…suffer…

• leedehao (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 12:16 am

Petrol in Malaysia is cheap if compare to what we pay in US for fuel. However, cars in US are much cheaper compared to the ridiculous price that we pay in Malaysia. In short, with the Malaysian government making billions from proton on top of the extra taxes that they exhorbitantly charge and profit from Petronas itself, I don’t think the RM40b of subsidy is really that much after all.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 12:41 am

what use is public transport when the citizens dont even feel safe in thier own homes. let alone risk themselves everyday to getting robbed/stabbed to take a crowded public transport.

by the way, LRT is for KL only. doesnt have jack poo to do with the rest of malaysia.

fix up crime while focusing on fuel. fuel in malaysia should be dirt cheap. esp with high car prices. even more so.

• spidermutu (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 12:50 am

tokmoh said,
    March 26, 2008 @ 10:45 pm
    The Sultan didn’t want to appoint the deputy MB, u still wanna harp on abt it? You want another Utusan headline with “PKR Biadap terhadap Sultan S’gor” ? How abt the fact there’s 5 non-malay in the S’gor exco? 4 women out of 10? That’s not Bangsa Malaysia and better fairness to the female gender enuf for you? Why can’t you have more faith in the state gahmen? Cuz they’re inexperienced?
    =============================================
    How old are you actually?20, 21? Did I ever mention anything about a particular race or gender?Why is the term ‘non-malay’ oftenly used when we are all Malaysian?BN or BR, they are politicians and I can say whatever I like about them, thats my right isn’t it?

• wong (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 1:04 am

#
    bmwm5 said,

March 26, 2008 @ 10:29 pm

What can u expect from our beloved pak lah. A seasoned politician should know how to cakap pusing-pusing. If not, he’s not a politician. ‘A silent politician is no politician’. hahahaa!
    Chua Jui Meng said that,am I correct? hehe that’s a good one…

• wong (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 1:23 am

normaluser said,

March 26, 2008 @ 1:44 pm
    But the truth is, most of the rakyat doesn’t benefit much from them. How come only now PakLah realizes it? (as per newspaper today- point made, point taken)
    maybe because he was too busy attending ‘bersama rakyat’ functions…he just discovered blogs and sms..what a discovery….

• Prem3377 (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 3:10 am

we should not be like the G always give reasons to right their wrongs or defending whatever they do…once beaten twice shy..

we should just think of ways to keep the oil price at whatever rate it is now and find ways to make the 43 billion or more some how..

besides cronies,corruption and all here…we cant find a better way to think how can we make enough money to keep the subsidy..

why dont we suggest some ways on how the G can make some money to susidies the fuel….atleast it will be helpful for pak lah..since he is listening now…(so he meant he wasnt in the past??)

i pity him lately(even if i hate him from day one)…no prime minister has faced what he is facing right now..he is just a broken man..

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 7:08 am

WHAT A STUPID PM. the stupidest in the world, i think. why the hell pm compare price with countries that bought petroleum (etc, singapore, thailand..) of course the fuel price will be high. compared it with petroleum-producer country la…(etc, brunei, kuwait..). the price is far, i mean far more cheap than ours. DAMN STUPID!!!!!!

Menyusahkan rakyat. ingat rakyat kaya macam dia ke!?!?!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:03 am

MisterBenjo:

Hiring outsiders to run our countries doesn’t mean we’re ruled by them, we’re merely using them for our benefits. The same case is happening where our elites go serve other countries for their benefit.

Can you imagine if our government hired Lee Kuang Yew as advisor, imagine how he can turn Malaysia into another miracle. Singapore can do it, why can’t we? With so much more advantages god given.

—————————————————————-

As i said before i dont think we are starved of good leaders.Just need to choose wisely.I also dont want this country to become like Singapore,be proud of ur own people fren.

• biggie (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:46 am

wan@auto
    Have u been to Brunei and Kuwait?
    What kind of industry/business are there? Nothing…. thus the amount of subsidised fuel consume are minimal, as compared to ours where we have a big and vibrant economy with various industry. All consume energy, thus the subsidy is bigger.

Remember Pertamina is doing fine when Indonesia do not have much of an economy to shout about, however it nearly went bankrupt when the nation try to industrialised itself under Suharto.

Sometimes when one accuse somebody else there is another 4 finger pointing back at oneself.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:49 am

to faizfadil…

AFAIK there’s a few plant producing bio-fuel in Malaysia (from palm oil)… & all of them losing money if running… so if u ask why gov not keen in bio-fuel then it’s simple… production cost is higher then the petroleum fuel itself..

unless they can make cheaper bio-fuel then it’s diff story…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 10:46 am

Agree with norlmaluser, get your facts straight first. View situation from a wider angle before making comments or end up looking like a fool. Think outside the box and make suggestions, not komplen oni.. cetus idea, ya know.. dayum, keep it real, homeys.

Anyway, keep the comments on motor issues, let’s not stray into politics too deep, so boring. Just go to other blogs for hardcore politics.

• sintiansai (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 10:54 am

Before any stupid people starts another comment pls take a look at this statistic first

http://www.irintech.com/x1/images/jean/gasprices.jpg

Do not complain about price hike, because it is inevitable. Instead of complainning, you stupid people should think about how to earn more money.

Desperate for more money?
    1. Get more than one job.
    2. Use brain, invent something.
    3. Be creative, be valueble to your company, your boss will pay you more to secure your service.
    4. Open many mamak stalls larr.

• sintiansai (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 11:03 am

Here is a clearer statistic that has malaysia in it.

http://www.kshitij.com/research/petrol.shtml

Imagine if malaysia has no subsidies for fuel and do not have its own fuel source I assume the price will be around USD 8$ which means every malaysian has to pay around RM25 per litre or RM750 full tank for a medium-size car… erm every week maybe?

again I assume 90% of malaysian will commit suicide…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 1:48 pm

government=stupid n bangsat….pak lah=sleeping beauty,bangsat…eh paklah..u think u work bloody hard???rakyat think u sleep bloody well…go to hell…

government alwiz think dat we(rakyat) fool…alwiz compare our oil price with the non-exporter country…actually they are fool…

• nmh (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:30 pm

Pak Lah says: Point Taken

WHAT POINT?

Rakyat Says: The point is RESIGN

and then you can sleep, nobody will kacau

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:44 pm

comparing,,,,,,
    campro 1.3 iafm,
    although the same torque figure,
    campro has 10hp extra,

same pulling power, but campro is happier engine,

• marvel (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:46 pm

mukhri88 , agree with you,too much much politics is unhealthy and boring..the Selangor new MB already said,accusations must based on facts and not sentiment….let the politicians argue and compete…we just make sure we’ll benefit, we as rakyat can ‘demand’…….

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:46 pm

oops sorry,
    its compare to maruti swift sedan

• marvel (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:49 pm

proton GL said,
    March 27, 2008 @ 2:44 pm

comparing,,,,,,
    campro 1.3 iafm,
    although the same torque figure,
    campro has 10hp extra,

same pulling power, but campro is happier engine,
    ========================================
    hehe,bro..wrong topic!!

• electron (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 4:38 pm

Point to ponder:

If the world oil prices came tumbling down to record low prices, would we still be paying RM1.92/litre or LESS? Or (gasp!) more?

Hmm, this is a tough one..