Perodua Nautica front and rear shots revealed!

Perodua Nautica Rear

A day or two after the Perodua Nautica’s teaser site went online, Perodua added two new puzzle pieces of the new 4WD SUV showing parts of the rear hatch and the front grille and bumper. Thanks to readers Hilmy and Suzanne for pointing this out.

Perodua Nautica Front

The new grille can be quite clearly seen here, so now we can probably mentally put together how the Perodua Nautica will look like. There are only two colours available – Medallion Grey which is probably shown in these teaser images or Majestic Black, which isn’t very hard to imagine.

Perodua Nautica 4WD: official name for new Perodua SUV
Covered up Perodua Nautica 4WD spotted being transported on trailers
New Perodua MPV coming in September 2009
Perodua Nautica 4WD teaser site is up!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AlexKhoo (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Nice.
    I think this will be one of my favourite Malaysian cars other than the MyVi, and the Proton Persona.

• AlexKhoo (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 2:15 pm

Nice.
    I think this will be one of my favourite Malaysian cars other than the MyVi and Proton Persona.

• mohdjiman (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 2:33 pm

good good

• zamzam (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 2:38 pm

Very naughty car… very high price. It is not my cup of tea eventhough quite nice looking.

• LHQ (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 2:39 pm

The rear reminds me of a Kia Sportage years ago.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Sound Like –> NAUGHTY-CAR ha ha..

• wrong-turn (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 2:50 pm

by the look of it the car is worth no more than 60k

• White Jack (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 3:08 pm

75K is OK

• OpenMind (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 3:41 pm

I dont think it is fair to judge the price just based on the look, too subjective. Secondly, if the brand is Toyota or Honda or VW (like the same body outlook), I bet you wouldn’t say so….

I think from the back, it looks quite sporty.

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 3:54 pm

It says the ideal 4WD at the front part…hmmm…ideal 4WD at such price?

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 3:57 pm

Did Perodua copied Proton’s new badge? Its black and chrome you see, this is copyright infringement!

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 4:06 pm

OpenMind said,
    May 2, 2008 @ 3:41 pm

I think from the back, it looks quite sporty.
    —————————————————————-

It looks like the new RAV4 though.

• mytouch (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 4:10 pm

Nautica??sounds like Not-this-car,haha!!… :p

• the stik (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 4:11 pm

encik myvikiller, produa guna badge tu bukan sejak long-long time ago laa.. yg color2 tu kancil dulu² ader ler guna.. hehehe..

• the stik (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 4:12 pm

encik myvikiller, produa guna badge tu sejak long-long time ago laa.. yg color2 tu kancil dulu² ader ler guna.. hehehe..

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 4:47 pm

myvi killer…

if u said so…wat abt proton copy alfa romeo grille at thier perdana n waja???any comment???

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 5:30 pm

Eh Guys, I’m just kidding la. Haiyoh…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 5:35 pm

Yeah go and tease us…Like we dont whats it look like.

• elpaciko (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 6:34 pm

Myvi, viva and now nautica.. no more animal names…
    too bad.. or else it will be Perodua Kerbau
    :-P

• mystvearn (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 6:56 pm

Should continue animal names. Since this is 4wd, high, perodua gajah? kerbau also good. Maybe katak, cause can leap over small obstacles.

• pujangga (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Daihatsu Terios

• tanto (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 8:40 pm

from where i come from, that’s daihatsu terios.. looks good actually.. hehe..

• szw (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 8:55 pm

proton doesn’t copy alfa’s grill 4 waja fyi.
    which part looks like an alfa ?
    wats da point of perodua doing such a thing.
    it won’t help coz its not a fresh design .
    we can go check it out in toyota showroom .
    proton in the other hand make it better den perodua.
    btw , isn’t dat perodua copying proton’s way of advertising the saga ?
    anyway , its up to u all wat u all think.
    i don find dis thing interesting.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 9:48 pm

@szw

The Perdana FL definitely resembles Alfa’s armour plate grille, while Waja’s beak resembles an Alfa 14X, I forgot, but it’s the old one during Alfa’s boxy model days.

I thought there’s gonna be a new P2 badge, why’s this the same as others?

Come on P2, enlighten me with your “re-branding” exercise, see whether you can raise my eyebrows on the day of Naughty-car’s launch…

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 10:41 pm

At least it got somemore character than the be-go

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/83/Daihatsu_Terios_2006_vr_steel_EMS.jpg/735px-Daihatsu_Terios_2006_vr_steel_EMS.jpg

• king (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 11:34 pm

elpaciko said,
    May 2, 2008 @ 6:34 pm

_____

should be perodua lembu…kereta lembu…haha

• shenzutong (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 12:16 am

There are lots of nice animals’ names in Malaysia that Perodua can use, like Perodua Tapir, Perodua Seladang, Perodua Hornbill, apa salahnya? Anyway, the price range I guess: RM89,888.00 ~ RM99,888.00. This is based on the observations all these years whereby those Perodua and Toyota fellows will squeeze as much as possible from the Malaysian public, and the NAP is also another culprit for the exorbitant car price. Too bad.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 12:30 am

szw…

how come u said waja didnt copy alfa grille??like tokmoh said…it copied the 146/145 grille n 166 grille…did u noticed dat??

• BW (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 1:23 am

i like the back but i just can’t really imagine how the front looks like… I imagine till like so ulgy like tat.. Dunno true or not this model cost 90k++

• radd (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 10:24 am

what about perodua proboscis? or perodua orang utan?

• osh_kosh (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 12:01 pm

wow… now if 200k still i will buy…

yeah, right…

i dunno know what’s wrong with P2, after their MyVi success they seems to be ‘lost’.. 1st the overprived Viva.. now, the CBU re-badge (i.e not price competative)… sigh.. looks like P1 on a better path..

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 1:18 pm

p2 seems to be over-joy by the success of myvi i think…
    i do admit myvi is their cash-cow now…

• sawqx (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 1:37 pm

Is this hype really needed??!!

• tec96248 (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 4:18 pm

MyviKiller said,
    May 2, 2008 @ 3:57 pm

Did Perodua copied Proton’s new badge? Its black and chrome you see, this is copyright infringement!

–mate, perodua kelisa has black and chrome bagde few years back. copyright infringement??

• superookie (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 5:34 pm

P1 better path? Sorry lo.. P1 design is nice.. But qc put me off.. I rather buy kancil than P1.. what is the point of buying a car which needs maintenance every week? Counting of the maintenance cost can buy u an import car liow (Include ur annual/unpaid leave taken frm work)..

• car_craze (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 7:56 pm

What’s the use of the teaser ad? Evyeryone knows it is just a faclifted/rebadged Terios/BeGo or whatever.
    Anyway the grille on the Naughtycar, i mean Nautica looks twisted. A straight grille would be better IMHO.
    BTW don’t they get sued for using ‘Nautica’ since a famous watch and apparel goes by that name?

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 9:24 pm

nice

• kancildriver (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 9:24 pm

the perodua emblem on the second picture looks a little bit odd. senget sikit. it is photoshopped or what?

• chap_de_x (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 11:38 pm

p2 is slowly become fully toyota…not even close to national car maker title….for this SUV,bcoz i think rush is a crap interior and exterior wise…so this notika is a crap too…even the interior is much better then rush its still crap nobita….opsss notika..heheheh

• pendek (Member) on May 04, 2008 at 3:35 am

osh_kosh said,

May 3, 2008 @ 12:01 pm

wow… now if 200k still i will buy…

yeah, right…

i dunno know what’s wrong with P2, after their MyVi success they seems to be ‘lost’.. 1st the overprived Viva.. now, the CBU re-badge (i.e not price competative)… sigh.. looks like P1 on a better path..

————————————————————–

its must be the boss factor … once the key person moved, they take along all the essential karma with them

• wildthingz (Member) on May 05, 2008 at 8:50 am

this nuty ca will sell around 95k in sarawak someone from p2 told my friend

• suzanne (Member) on May 05, 2008 at 1:15 pm

after seeing the additional pictures…i think the car is quite nice tho… but what i worried it’s just the performance…not too sure what are the specs and performance…what i know is just…THIS IS A 4WD car.. :P

• SY0H (Member) on May 05, 2008 at 4:45 pm

I QUOTE:
    elpaciko said,

May 2, 2008 @ 6:34 pm

“This is very funny man, very lawak one”. Hahahaha :))

• SY0H (Member) on May 05, 2008 at 4:47 pm

I QUOTE:
    suzanne said,

May 5, 2008 @ 1:15 pm

after seeing the additional pictures…i think the car is quite nice tho… but what i worried it’s just the performance…not too sure what are the specs and performance…what i know is just…THIS IS A 4WD car.. :P

“Ehem … Hi suzanne, care to go out with me in my new Nautica Perodua? I let you seat beside me or if you are lucky, I even let you drive.”

• tengasmerah (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 9:58 am

Salam untuk semua, komen ikhlas dari saya walauapapun nilai harga sesuatu kenderaan itu dikemukakan yang pastinya pengguna mahukan kepuasan mengguna dan tidak sekadar bentuk rupa yang menarik dan harganya menjadi bualan ramai tetapi yang penting dibuktikan sejauh manakan kualiti kenderaan tersebut menyerlah untuk kepuasan mutlak untuk pengguna itu sendiri.

• shahrin (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 10:08 am

Perodua = Toyota
    Toyota = Not national car
    Perodua = Not national car

Perodua Nautica…… aku rase perodua cuma tukar logo jek kat kereta tu… Yg lain toyota punya….. Adalah ckit2 yg ditukar. Yg pastinya harga kereta ni confirm mahal…… Korang rase for the future.. mampukah perodua buat enjin senderi?

• rabbit_run35 (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 5:58 pm

I’ve made a stupid mistake because of Toyota has ceated me, I just bought a Toyota Rush past 3 weeks and now i just relize that my Toyota Rush is an “OEM CAR” whereby everyone can put your own name on it just like “Paultica” (I mean Paul Tan for example), I swear i won’t buy Toyota Car anymore in my life. I hope the owner of RUSH can do something on this matters.