Perodua Nautica 4WD teaser site is up!

Perodua Nautica

A teaser site for the Perodua Nautica 4WD is now up, and it gives us a sneak preview of some features of the upcoming Perodua Nautica 4WD, although key exterior design features like how the front grille, front bumper and rear bumper will look like remains hidden. What we can confirm from the silhouette of the car is that it will be a short wheelbase version of the Daihatsu Terios/Toyota Rush.

Perodua Nautica

The interior shows a clean white on black meter panel design, manual air conditioning (I had hoped for automatic climate control because of its premium price positioning and Japan CBU import status), and an integrated CD player as opposed to the Toyota Rush‘s 1-DIN or 2-DIN CD player, depending on trim level.

Perodua Nautica

The headlamps from the original car have been retained, and the Perodua Nautica 4WD gets the projector lense variant. Only the top spec Toyota Rush has projector headlamps, while the low and mid-range models use reflector headlamps.

Perodua Nautica

An interior with a dark-colour scheme is used, and here we see fabric seats. The short wheelbase version of this car is a 5-seater.

Perodua Nautica

Here we see a 5-spoke alloy wheel design.

There is a counter on the teaser site which counts down 9 days and 10 hours to the Nautica’s launch as of today, so the expected launch date should be on the second Friday of next month, which is the 9th of May 2008.

Perodua Nautica 4WD: official name for new Perodua SUV
Covered up Perodua Nautica 4WD spotted being transported on trailers
New Perodua MPV coming in September 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 2:38 pm

Whats so special about this CBU car?

• Paul Tan on Apr 29, 2008 at 2:42 pm

Nothing much actually, it looks better than the long wheelbase version, but loses the 7-seater capacity, gains all-wheel drive, that’s about it. It’s just a car for those who wants a mini-RAV4 and doesn’t need 7 seats.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 2:43 pm

and pay extra?

• ndmervin (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 2:44 pm

The obvious specialty of this car is that it’s a 4WD, not a 2WD like the Rush.

• ckengyo (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 3:09 pm

the toyota rush offer by umw is just a better avanza. they even 2 lazy 2 put the original 4wd in it. thank god perodua didn’t change the head light like other daihatsu clone. so convert nautica 2 rush wont cos so much.

• mockviper (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 3:28 pm

its more like convert Rush to Nautica, better interior trim id say. prefer black than beige.

• freeze (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 3:28 pm

Looks like no arm rest, no side step.

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 3:44 pm

specialty of this car is that its a cbu.

awd is problably wasted on such a weak engine. kind of like buying a 2.0 impreza.

but cbu quality is something to watch about this car. hope its more upmarket feeling that just in those pics.

• abtm (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 3:45 pm

what makes an ideal 4wd? tough basic body, high torque diesel engine, locking diff, reliable, high ground clearance…like a landcruiser 70 series or defender or G-wagen

• goguncas (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Just like Rush, 90k car with pretensions of sophistication and luxury but fitted with a lorry like LIVE AXLE at the back – it’s hilarious….

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 4:00 pm

ugh… very frustrated every time the price tag crossed my mind..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 4:27 pm

i heard its going to cost more than RM80k. dont know exactly how much though. seems quite pointless actually. they should have just brought it in badged as a toyota.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 4:43 pm

a) Current Kembara = RM50k plus
    b) Nautica = RM90k plus (it’s said to be more expensive than Rush)

u judge.. i know it CBU, plus extra gadgets etc.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 5:08 pm

NOOB car

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 5:49 pm

nothing confirm.. except 1.. “Overpriced”.

• faizfadil (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 6:09 pm

Hmmmm….. Looks promising…..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 6:10 pm

looks like its going to be the first “CBU” national car from Japan or something.

• freeze (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 6:33 pm

I got a feeling maybe Perodua will surprise us all with the. Everyone thinks 90K, suddenly they might reveal only 70K.

• hamster (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 6:34 pm

da interior aint really bad lookin..

• timber8115 (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 7:02 pm

The plus point for this car is CBU.
    As for the price wise, as mentioned earlier it will be more expensive than rush. They will not cross the line between the pricing of toyota and p2. If they cross the line, they will fighting against each other.

• moongrey (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 7:05 pm

this car dont deserve to be called perodua,perodua dont sound like a japanese word to me..ehek

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 8:06 pm

perodua naughty ka?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 8:18 pm

1.5L 4WD auto. 0-100 in 30 sec?

• dr_carz (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 8:45 pm

MAYBE ITS THE UNTUNG SYDROMEH. THEY ARE SO FULL THEY THINK THEY CAN SELL THIS BRICK TANK TO PEOPLE WITH A TAG OF 70K HAHAHA DREAM ON!

U CAN MARK MY WORDS HERE IT WILL NOT SELL!

THE PERODUA CEO SAYS THIS CAR IS FOR SOMEONE WHO ALREADY OWN 2 CARS AND THIS IS THEIR THIRD CAR!

HAHAHAHAHA WILL BE THE FIRST FAILURE FOR PERODUA. SIGH …….

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 8:47 pm

design is very appealing. i wonder if the price tag can add up to the overall appeal or not.

just have to wait and see.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 8:47 pm

I don’t see the point in the Nautica.

Old Kembara yes, it was the cheapest 4wd you could buy. This one, is priced out of its own league.

• hyundai (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 9:04 pm

Yucks!!! t is using the cheap air conditioning control of Vios and Avanza… So disgusting… I wonder what will be inside the mind of those people who will buy this car… Are they crazy???

• szw (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 9:06 pm

kets move on in life and 4get such a thing exist…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 9:23 pm

this car is not permanent 4wd right? Fuel cost a lot now.

• mytouch (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 9:34 pm

I think Perodua car pricing is getting redicoulous since the intro of Viva…90K for a short wheel base imported 4WD car,with simple interior design,waliao!!…but 1 thing for sure,it makes alot of Perodua fans which hoping for new Kembara replacement with same level price tag feel really sad & dissapointed…

• uda_salleh (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 9:55 pm

Test drove the Rush. Quite light and zippy. Seats are narrow… just like the Kembara. Steering wheel is non-adjustable. Bummer

• Goddess (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 10:42 pm

RE: hyundai
    Yucks!!! t is using the cheap air conditioning control of Vios and Avanza… So disgusting… I wonder what will be inside the mind of those people who will buy this car… Are they crazy???
    #############################################

what does this imported car from japan has to do with the designed-for south east asia market’s vios and avanza???
    obviously, you’re a bias thinker. pity… try to balance yourself…

but i agree that this car has no selling point at all with the price range.

• Goddess (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 10:51 pm

RE: freeze
    Looks like no arm rest, no side step.
    ##########################

it is an ideal 4WD…
    you cannot rest your arm on the arm rest…
    coz if you rest your arm, your car go off the off-road…
    so no arm rest needed…
    wakaka~

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 11:23 pm

At least this is a proper 4WD. I’m wondering is there any trade marks issue with the Nautica name?

• csv (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 11:30 pm

for the 90k plus pricing, the equipment level just doesnt seem to attract me enough.

even though its a CBU, the brand is perodua, people wont get that out of their minds and the fact that its a 5 seater suv toyota rush lookalike. i am not too sure if it will sell.

• bmwmalaysia (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:24 am

i heard the price is about rm90k..so, i dont think that the car is worth it.. because i rather buy a toyota rush..

• adil2008 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:34 am

UMW & Perodua now is fighting with each other, come on lar, what is the marketing plan? same model, same platform, same engine, same interior, same capacity. difference…wheelbase and weight.
    Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Kedua..then import the car from Japan, what a redikilious……….oh my god.

• mct (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:38 am

to :goguncas
    live axle???
    hm guess like u dunno the spec for short wheel base rush/terios
    short wheel base rush use a macpherson in front
    a multilink behide
    does not use a live axle la

• mct (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:45 am

difference platform la
    1 use macpherson in front 4 link with coil spring at the back
    the short wheel base use macpherson infront and multilink at the back
    they are very difference platform ………….

• redwings (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 12:54 am

if the price tag is 90k for this naughty ka..for sure is over price…
    Shop around n we got d Suzuki SX4 selling below 90k…CBU with 1.6 engine. too bad, not many appreciate this babe…

• azrai (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 6:54 am

It’s conffirm the price bracket is between RM90k-RM95k. Nonsense Perodua. It replace the RM50k Kembara but double the price?

• King Samurai (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 8:20 am

Perodua will do re-branding exercise in conjunction to this Nautica launch next week. Maybe no longer PERODUA… its gonna be Perusahaan Otomobil Daihatsu Malaysia..PERODAI

• Ashahirnoh (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 8:35 am

I like your comment King Samurai. The Perodua mut do the re-branding as well as using the CBU. Go for PERODAI………..

Still waiting my saga …. BIlalah agaknya…?

• kodok (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 10:26 am

90k for this car???…passsss!

• syedv6 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 11:25 am

this naoutica very mahal lerrr…5 seater also…compare to toyota rush 7 seater. lagi aaa…full time 4wd c/w automatic gear…sure makan minyak banyak lerrr…rush basic manual only 88k, this nautica 90-95k…giler aaaa.

• syedv6 (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 11:32 am

price 90-95k very expensive for such car. 5 seater compare to rush 7 seater. full time 4wd c/w automatic only gearbox + 1.5 cc surely makan minyak punyerrrr!!! What this fellow in perodua is thinking when producing this car…

• sxe10r (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 7:02 pm

Damn ~ Jpn import … worth or not worth ?? the price 88k between 95k ?? maybe they think can sell well like vios ?? or maybe they wan try ?? it is will clone for kembara with 65k ?? oh dream broken only ~ local made mini 4×4 … become import car

• king (Member) on Apr 30, 2008 at 7:10 pm

King Samurai said,
    April 30, 2008 @ 8:20 am

Perodua will do re-branding exercise in conjunction to this Nautica launch next week. Maybe no longer PERODUA… its gonna be Perusahaan Otomobil Daihatsu Malaysia..PERODAI

+++

PERODAI doesn’t sound proper…TOYODUA is more suitable…

• shenzutong (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 12:27 pm

The Perodua CBU Nautica will be in better quality I suppose. I bought a MYVI Ezi in Aug 2006, the Headlamps come with hairline cracks, I didn’t notice it until recently. I called up the Rawang HQ and infrom them about this. They asked me to go to their Balakong Branch for an inspection and the technicians confirmed that this is the manufacturer’s defect. Before this, the Power Window switch was malfunctioning,and the Service centre changed it for me FOC. They concur that about 500 Myvi have this problem.This one again malfunctioned after some time. I told the Balakong people, they said warranty period over now because mileage exceeds 50 thousand km, sorry about that. My arguement is if these parts are regconised as MANUFACTURER’s fault, then they should be replaced FOC whenever the SERVICE CENTRES encounter these problems (I mean the Headlamps and Power window Switch). I thought PERODUA and UMW are under the same boss- the Japanese Toyota Management, and the JAPANESE do not compromise with their quality. Now I have second thoughts. The JAPANESE who run the show in PERODUA seem not to bother about the quality of parts produced by local Vendors. I am very upset and angry, imagine RM50K paid for a new car with DEFECTS. Maybe these so called NATIONAL car producers are all the same. Real PATHETIC. So, be very careful about the PERODUA and UMW cars you purchase. I think TOYOTA has been out-rageously expensive now judging from the QUALITY of cars they gave us.Now I am looking on other companies like TAN CHONG and KAH Motor for a replacement. Grand Livina is definitely one of my choice.

• shenzutong (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 12:33 pm

I have talked to a sales person in the Perodua office, they roughly mention about the price of below RM100K. Judging from the TOYOTA UMW and PERODUA’s marketing strategy, I believe they will price the PERODUA Nautica at the range of RM89,888.88 to RM99,888.88. Whether my prediction is correct or not, we shall see. If they priced it below RM90K, then TOYOTA RUSH’s sale will be badly affected, after all, both belong to the same mother, TOYOTA (Dhaihatsu is also Toyota’s cousin now, I suppose).

• suzanne (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 9:32 am

hey paul… just to recap what were you saying “key exterior design features like how the front grille, front bumper and rear bumper will look like remains hidden” …it not hidden… i just went to the teaser site…found out that there are more pictures… =.=

• tepung_cap_sauh (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 10:07 am

shenzutong,

i have same problem with my myvi sxi (august 2007) power windows..

• shenzutong (Member) on May 02, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Hi, tepung_cap_sauh,

Brother, i met another VIVA owner, he also complained about the same POWER WINDOW malfunctioning. His car is brand new. Looks like PERODUA is producing cars with DEFECTS in many models. And they just keep quiet without showing their sincerity in solving this problem. Real pathetic. Well, these are typical reactions from MONOPOLY business. I think it is high time our country open up the AUTOMOBILE business to all capable international players and reshape Malaysia into the “DETROIT of SE ASIA'” (Thailand has been called the DETROIT of the EAST, very soon they will become DETROIT of ASIA). Lets forget about all the so-called National Cars.

• ah liew (Member) on May 03, 2008 at 10:59 pm

hey! it seems perodua has a few defects in most of their cars & proton has step up with their quality control i guess….
    bassically M’sia essembly cars do have various defects & it depends on your luck too.
    So good luck to all Nautica buyers…

• xylencia (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 2:32 am

oh look! More Avanza like aircon knobbies… and even in absence of that, why would anyone be even interested in this overpriced rubbish?

• AIRUL74 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 1:08 pm

RM9xK?….. Only 1.5?…. Rear Drum Brake? Without side step bar? Without Kanggaroo Bar? Just Forget about it……. Better take Hilux….

• syedv6 said,

surely makan minyak punyerrrr!!! ??? u fool said 1.5 makan minyak?if 1.0 or 1.3cc will save little bit fuil but underpower =.=' make people laught!!!if go for hybrid car lah!!!