Government to review tolled highway traffic volume

HighwayThe newly elected Works Minister Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamed says the ministry will be conducting a toll review at 22 highways nationwide to measure traffic volume. This will be completed in the next 3 months.

According to Datuk Mohd Zin, if traffic volume is sufficient, concession companies should not have any reason to increase toll rates. Other factors to be looked at include financing of loans, maintenance and operation costs. He added that this may result in a reduction of toll rates, or at least no further hikes.

This brings us to a question: does this mean that before this, when the concessionaires want to increase toll rates, the government has never conducted such an investigative check on whether their requests are reasonable or not?

Datuk Mohd Zin also mentioned that buying back the highways from concessionaires is one of the options that the government may consider in the future.

Related Stories:
10% expected toll hike on January 1st 2008
Toll Hikes – it looks like a load of crap – story by Bala Joe

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 2:23 am

If want answer must go ask Sammy Vellu…

• drebar (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 2:36 am

we shall all listen first…

and then wait and see the outcome…

like anwar said..sudah kena tipu 50 tahun…mau kena tipu lagi ka?

• charles27 (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 4:34 am

u ask vellu about this question.. he going to bring your answer to petrol, then to subsidy, then back to ipoh, then round back to JB and then ship to kuching.. and finally, he will tell you its weather factor that the hike is require… he cant control it. haha…..

had been listening to his belit belit and belit reasoning for years, and glad it ends for good.

well, for toll rate, its not wise to increase almost every year, and the contract keep extending. Hope the next step is to revise the contract as well, and giving rakyat a fair treat.

if goverment really intended to buy back the toll, as rakyat we dont mind to pay toll back to goverment. Its much better if we paid to own people, rather than some foreign investor backed by some datuk son company that takes the most profit. Right?

• mdjqs (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 5:35 am

Thank you TDM! looks like they r eatin’ their own ***t!

• Danny Archer (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 6:10 am

It is not Samy Vellu’s fault, he is just a scapegoat, the finance minister that approved it during the construction of the highway should be liable, why did the finance minister agreed on the loop sided agreement?

• azrai (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 7:02 am

Yes it is true that the government has never conducted such an investigative check on whether their requests are reasonable or not to increase toll rates. They just stick to the original agreement (which is under OSA). Every 3 years got increament. The G should make the concession longer like 100 years and lower drastically the rates. This will work. For the fuel subsidy, is till think it is better for the G to have a non subsidies pump for both diesel and petrol and just give in monetary form credited into Malaysian above 18 account. if the manage to give RM600 per person, it is RM40billion something and much lower than to give direct subsidies which can be used by the foreigners. Beside taht, who don’t like cash money right?

• jimbet (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 7:25 am

Don’t just disseminate empty promises, we want it to be done.

• junky_man (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:11 am

take the RM400 million for the proton distributors’ aid, and pay the toll cost!

• lembagatanah (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:26 am

like anwar said..sudah kena tipu 50 tahun…mau kena tipu lagi ka?

anwar is also a penipu, i don’t believe him as he is. he was once a member of those he called bad today.
    i see this as good step. donno the outcome yet, but if it does, sure good for everybody.
    as for samy vellu, very difficult to say. but logically, if somebody can at least make an effort that he couldn’t, then this samy velly should be regarded as a not so good minister, right?

• Alifz (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 10:10 am

HAHA…

BN KANTOI…

• longjaafar (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:14 am

The toll agreements is a cruel and shameful piece of our history, where the people subsidises big corporates to enahnce their bottom lines.
    When coffee shops and taxi drivers ask for a few sen increase due to increasing costs, they will be scolded and “stern” action taken against them. But when toll operators ask, NOT because of increasing costs, but because of the lopsided agreement, it will be approved alsmost immediately.
    Such is the unfairness. What more can I say?

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:20 am

Review this, review that, then last-last —-Semua OK!!

• xsaraloeb (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:46 am

Review ???? why the need now anyway..maybe just gimmick and empty promises again…anyway..most of the goons already lost in PR12 so padan muka la.

• armandd (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:53 am

i think the traffic volume has increased at least 2-3 times since the last 15 years. there’s no other excuse for the concessionaires to continue increasing the toll except greediness. the highway project was supposed to help the rakyat and the economy, not the other way around!

• ec (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 12:33 pm

proove it and not jsut a mere talk.

we will wait for what “good news” after the 3 month studies.

• shamel (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 12:37 pm

Our rakyat also stupid and the government is culprit as the toll company is their own company (read BN-putras).

No wonder when some quarters complaints about:

1.unnecessary toll things,
    2. high taxes, extravagant expenditure/projects,
    3. corruption here and there,
    4. our authority was questionable,
    5.jungle or Burma-style policies (see our Proton, heavy industries, submarine, Navy ships and vessels project, PKFZ etc)

Do our rakyat during good time (remember when USD1=RM2.5? or when getting share from PLCs so difficult?) really BUY into these? NEVER NEVER NEVER and accused we malaysian just complaint.

If the government and toll concessionaire really REAL there’s no lopsided agreement will reach. Imagine when you negotiate with your vendor? At least win-win situation.

What they think most of time is HOW TO GETTING RICH from rakyat through public projects. P license not probationary to new drivers but merely unnecessary way to pocket money from rakyat. SO do with the taxi license for company and forced cabbie to pay huge amount relative to public for their cab though cab is tax-removed.

If we not short-sighted and good memory: all sekolah and makmal runtuh, MRR, National Services, etc just how plain ways to siphoned rakyat money (through heavily taxed Malaysians: your car one of the most taxed in the world, toll, relative wage to car/house we’re simply oppressed until last breath.

But mostly stupid malaysians forget easily. Not the government problems actually, we’re.

• electron (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 12:46 pm

In a year there will be about 400 – 500k new cars on the road. Obviously there will be an increase in car volume on tolled roads. The way i see it is that, if there are more cars hogging the roads and highways each year, why increase the toll rates? Shouldn’t it be REDUCED!

• mokkf82 (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 1:08 pm

This is just some trick they do to let u know that “i’m the new datuk” i will do this, i will do that..blar blar blar.
    So let see what’s the outcome lo. But seriously, any body care about the outcome? We just know there will be an increase toll rates again after they did this stupit test. So why waste time doing so? Just increase the toll then…

• Bebelon (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 1:59 pm

kalau tol tiadak naik, kita kenea bayar rrugi tauhu tak??? by sari ellu…
    greedy highway operators…seems he very concern about the profitability of the highway company rather than our people and wondering how much he pay tax each year to malaysian government???

• GlowJo (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 7:52 pm

So Shamel i do agree with u somehow.. So how about this… I believe that u r from private sector like me. We used to work hard and get hard cash… but those government servant (not all) who just come to office.. punch card… go to canteen.. chit chat etc and after 11 then they begin their ‘work’. Samy and the gang alone is not the only party that should be blamed for their slow action. So let us stop shouting to Samy… complaining here and there…

Let’s look at our neighbors… at least you could change one man a week… may be in years we can change our government way of life…

• nonengko (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 8:16 pm

Dont forget, change your lifestyle was the advise when petrol up 30sen, then said the subsidy of billions will be put to use for road infrastructure………….now dunno what happen…what infra? What structure? Gua tak tau…………

• mystvearn (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 10:02 pm

Next 3 monts, include raya period? School holiday periood? Chinese New Year? Given that major exams like SPM, STPM, etc it will effect the volume of traffic on the road.
    If ask SV also no use, if he burned all documents like “that” person. Malaysia really needs all kinds of consumer watchdog to monitor things going on by the government and private sector.

• kingglim (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:44 pm

Nah, this is likely just trick of new minister try to create publicity…likely talk only lah, unlikely it can be done.

Even if it is “done” likely just gimmick trick. Toll agreements are legally binding…if govt want no toll hike or even toll reduction, govt will have to compensate the toll companies, either in cash or in extended toll period or by giving the companies more tolls.

• ckcheong (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 4:48 pm

This is politic la.
    Do anyone think that this kind of review will happen if BN have had a clean sweep in election just like 2004 election?
    Do anyone think that local fuel prices would have increased should BN have a clean sweep in election.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 19, 2008 at 9:37 pm

ckcheong..

HELL NO…if dat happen…they will be more buncit2 n dun care of rakyats…all of them are idiot pig…