TH!NK Ox Electric Car Concept

Think Ox

The TH!NK Ox might look like what a second generation smart forfour might look like, but its actually an emissions free concept car from Norway company Think. Think calls it the Ox a family of space frame cars rather than just one car, with different variations available including coupe, sports and “MPV” versions of the car.

It may look small but its actually quite a large car – its design disguises this because the wheels are positioned near the edges of the vehicle. Its wheelbase is actually a rather long 2,775mm, putting it between C-segment and D-segment vehicles in terms of wheelbase. Length is 4,120mm, width is 1,814mm without mirrors, and height is 1,650mm.

The Ox platform was designed to be powered by electric motors and allows two different configurations. One is a high stack design with two compartments which allows use of low cost, high range sodium batteries, while the other is a low stack design for sports car or flat low applications – this uses flat Lithium Ion packs.

The TH!NK Ox exterior is unpainted and recyclable while the interior is 95% recyclable. The roof has a solar panel built into it that powers the interior’s air conditioning when the engine is switched off. The solar panel can also be used to power appliances – Think suggests a sound system for a party on the beach.

Powering the concept is a 60kW (80 horsepower) electric powertrain that can take the TH!NK Ox up to 100km/h in a decent 8.5 seconds, up to a top speed of 130km/h. Power can be upped to 100kW for short bursts of acceleration.

The motor can be powered by either one of the two battery configurations mentioned earlier in this post, it depends how much space you want the battery to take up. Estimated range is about 200km on a combined cycle and 250km during city driving. This can be extended to 450km with a larger battery pack.

The concept is designed to be a plug-in vehicle that can be fully recharged in about 12 hours from a standard 230V power outlet. Think says the lithium-ion version can be charged via an off-board fast charger up to 80% in under 1 hour. The batteries alone weigh about 350kg, while total vehicle weight is expected to be around 1,500kg.

View more photos and a video of the TH!NK Ox after the jump.

VIDEO: TH!NK Ox Concept

[cpg_album:3]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ar (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 6:00 am

cool!!!
    i want one.
    no need to worry about the overpriced petrol.
    my everyday car besides a sport car for weekend

• mytouch (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 6:43 am

Cool car…Maybe later the MIT will start giving 20 new “electrical car APs” to their konco-konco to bring it into bolehland?

• azrai (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 7:02 am

Smart Wish for 4. Isn’t it look like one. Pilatupus?

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 9:03 am

Great! But a full 12 hours charge for slightly more than 200 km is still not really practical in M’sia road here. A bigger pack battery would be preferable. Now proton should be putting more effort in making hybrid or electric cars instead of hoping help from the Gs.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 10:50 am

so environment friendly car -with 95% interior content can be reclycable. I

Next time, the manufacturer will make them edible… ehehehe..Good for long trips with kiddies tagging along..

• tinytapir (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 11:25 am

very cool. did you see that doco on “who killed the electric car”? extremely interesting

here’s the youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7Mpe7XfODk>

Of course, electricity also needs to be generated by something and takes some kind of resource to produce … wonder if we will ever go back to smaller cluster communities with less of a need for cars at all.

• ka_one2000 (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 11:25 am

mit. Colt + Smart 4Four = Th!nk OX

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 2:30 pm

We have Smart
    Now coming soon is Think…
    Wonder if Genius ever come out or not?

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 2:32 pm

Hmm.. imagine if i forget to charge the car, i just call up my boss says that i will be late for work.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 3:26 pm

Oh yeah! cute and cool design that packs a punch! :)

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 3:30 pm

And Paul..Its nice of you to give us the original sized wallpapers/pics ..haha

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 6:19 pm

Nice car just to get around. Handling it might be a problem. Wheelbase too far, but then again its an electric car, so nothing much to worry there. Not like its going to go fast

• csv (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 11:02 pm

i think this company also modded smartfor2 to be electric powered too right?

either its this or ZAPP! company.

anyway, imagine if put this engine into a myvi, with lightweight and slightly lesser power, can save on heck load of fuel cost.

but with the approaching increase in electricity cost, maybe still same.

G trying to push us off a cliff here.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 8:26 am

mokkf82 said,
    June 21, 2008 @ 9:03 am

Great! But a full 12 hours charge for slightly more than 200 km is still not really practical in M’sia road here.

Why not? Just because it doesn’t work for you doesn’t mean it wont work here.

Works for me. I drive 25km per day. 200km range = 1 week of driving. So I charge it over the weekend.

We have to understand these electric cars are not meant to be long range cruisers. They are mostly intended to be city bound where polution and consumption matters most (ie. stop and go).

But I agree with you, Proton should stop whining and start doing some work to get hybrid or Full electric cars on the road. What happen to that “Lotus” technology Hybrid in a concept Gen2?

Ox?! Could have thought of a better name maybe? LOL

• rexis (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 9:35 am

Can put more inform about the battery set up? Especially the Sodium version?

Like recharge cycle, life span, cost, how it work, etc.

– – –

IMHO 200km range per charge is perfectly reasonable for a city dweller. You just drive to work, go for some night life, and go back, plug in, and go to sleep. You don’t even need to visit any petrol station.

The 450km range is perfect to go for a KL-peneng or KL JB balik kampung, stop by any quick charge station for a 1 hour coffee break if you are low on power, what else do you need?

Furthermore, a little bit of battery charging time, and cut nearly most of the engine part to maintain, no oil change, no oil seal, no overhaul needed, no air/oil filter, no sparkies, and last but not least, no more petrol pump.

• daze (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 11:46 am

Hybrid car is a good move..
    but.. upgrade and improve the Public transport in all the major cities in M’sia 1st.

Everytime i go in back and forth from S’pore & M’sia.
    i feel so dissappointed when i cross the Woodland > JB causeway..
    is like :
    Hell & Heaven
    City & Kampung
    …-_-“