Citroen C6 luxury sedan launched in Malaysia

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen’s new Malaysian distributor Brooklands Motors Sdn Bhd has launched the new luxury D-segment Citroen C6 in Malaysia last week.

The C6’s 3.0 litre V6 puts out 215 hp DIN at 6,000rpm and 290Nm of torque EEC at 3,752rpm. It really looks quite different from any other car out there thanks to the notchback-like convex boot and the overly long front overhang. The doors are also frameless which make them quite sexy, something usually only found on coupes.

There are also a few technologies goodies in the C6 which sets it apart from the rest of its competitors, and just how the interior looks makes it fit to be called a gadget person’s car. It has a dual-mode active silencer which maintains serenity under normal conditions and improves performance under load.

Citroen C6 LCDA in-car entertainment system called the Citroen NaviDrive displays key information such as entertainment, climate control and navigation on a large 7 inch 16:9 widescreen LCD.

A heads-up display projected onto the windscreen displays key driving info such as driving speed and can also display navigation data. Citroen says HUDs can improve motoring safety as moving your eyes to look at traditional displays for this info can take up to 0.5 seconds of time at at speeds of approximately 110km/h this can mean 15 meters of travel or an average of 3 cars’ lengths.

The car also features the Hydractive III+ suspension system, which is an electronically controlled suspension which can vary different settings like damping and height. For example, the car’s height will always remain the same no matter how many passengers or luggage are loaded into the vehicle. Height is also automatically adjusted according to speed and road condition to optimise comfort, ground clearance and fuel consumption.

A Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS) warns the driver via vibrations in the seat if he accidentally leaves his lane by monitoring the white lines marked on the road via infrared sensors built into the front of the vehicle.

Priced at RM398,000 it offers an alternative to the likes of the “mainstream” A6 the E-Class and the 5-Series. The other luxury D-segment competitors are the S80 and the Jaguar XF.

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen C6
Click for hi-res photo

Citroen C6

Citroen C6

Citroen C6

Citroen C6

Citroen C6

Citroen C6

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• baldwin (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:54 pm

another French beauty…too bad its lifespan is always the main issue.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:02 pm

1st photo is alright but omg look at the butt..
    400k! I would still choose an Ultimate Driving Machine, or a S80 if I’m a very practical person with a price tag of only 250k.

• cyborgx (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:12 pm

I dont like this car. The design is wayy too unique, plus the center console (buttons) is too boxy. Rear exterior looks stupid and front looks like steroid’ed gila monster. Reminds me of Venom in Spiderman movie.

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:26 pm

wow..another mobs~
    is tat a illustrated speed meter on the wind screen?

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:38 pm

ok what this car..not bad lah… :)

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:46 pm

a bit too pricey for the french car. but the peugeot 407 is the one u would buy. for 400k, u could buy lots of other cars. im sure the evo X would be worth 300k for its technological gadgets too

• ignas (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:00 am

cool technologies + weird looks

• WXX8XX (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:11 am

if only i got rm400K… i will difinitely get an Audi.. hell not this car!!.. eventhough it full of techies and can turn into robot. Aihh.. why so ugly. Waste of technology..

• kimmy (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:12 am

I hired this car when on holiday in europe last year. What I can say is that it is an extreamly softly sprung car. In other words its very very comfortable. It just glides over bumps and potholes. Not a sporting drive though, lots of body roll even when the suspension is in “Sport” mode. Not a very intuative dashboard either, after a week driving it around I was still pressing the wrong buttons. Interior has loads of space though (feels much much roomier than a 5-series).

but 400K for a Citroen….hmmmm

• Topper (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:14 am

ugly car eh? i kinda like it…

• csv (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:18 am

400k? no thank you.

i’ll take an audi anytime with spare cash to spend!

its not gonna sell because it’s price too high, despite having the technologies that can make german counterparts blush.

but drive it out the showroom and its gonna depreciate like mad.

and parts are gonna start falling off piece by piece.

• kevin62 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:43 am

you pay the price of RM400k for the comfort only. this car can compare with maybach for comfort.

• jehutyz (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:52 am

A very unique design from French which i think local unable to take it.
    Side view is nice to me but the rear light design is not really special enough.
    With the 400K price tag, this will be a very RARE car to be seen on the road.

• blazerSST (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 5:18 am

I would actually buy it because it looks so unconventional.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 7:50 am

it does look good and exclusive, but they would struggle to sell it even at half the price

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 7:56 am

Again, it takes too long to reach here. How come ah?

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:00 am

it’s the worst design of the decade… saw it in uk since around a year ago in real… and in the motorshow… I can say it’s the worst design of Citroen in the whole range at the moment…. C5 is totally stunning… not the C6… yucks…

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:02 am

oh by the way… I only saw once on british roads…. after so long… how ‘popular’ is this C6 here…

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:05 am

Omigosh… simply beautiful… French definitely have it coming with their quirky design. This one’s looks sets it apart from it’s competitors. :)

• Jaybond (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:29 am

Body proportion reminds me of the legendary Citroen DS.

High price possibly because of the trick suspension system, unless it’s equipped with the conventional system.

Exterior styling is unique which suits Citroen very well, should stand out in the sea of German exec. cars. Interior a bit dull though.

People will buy it, for the style & the ride comfort.

• alpha0201 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:01 am

Quintessentially French. A big comfortable automated sofa on wheels. I don’t thinks this car is meant to be driven, since it’s not a performance car.

It’s meant to be chauffeured. This is Citroen’s flagship.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:09 am

Ya, price is a bit on the high side, but considering the comfort and techies it offers. Love that suspension system in it. Definitely a needs to cope all the discomforting road condition in Malaysia.
    Hei, Paul, why all the pictures showing the girls at front? They are blocking the view la!

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:27 am

It is way too expensive. I love this car very much but not at this price. 250k is ok to me. Citroen doesn’t worth this price although it has many special thing.

• moonier (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:08 am

this car suspension platform far more better than BMW 5series.. u can see test & review by Top Gear at youtube… so impressive

• xenith (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:12 am

Is this the car Fifth Gear used in a mafia drive-by shooting stunt? The one they shot using an MP5 or something like that…

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:19 pm

same central console unit including audio and air cond controls as 407!!

• davv (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:22 pm

saw the car in RSC…one of the ugliest car around…400k some more…

• Jaybond (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:47 pm

Yes, the car breezed through the rough & muddy roads (where BMW 5 Series was subject to some tail-happy moments) while being chased by some crooners. Just to showcase its suspension capability.

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:50 pm

Revolutionary designs in following of its predecessor. However seems to have tamed down with only the rear screen being revolutionary. At that price, its not much of a serious alternative to BM and Merc, similar to EU countries where BM, Merc and Audi remains the fore runners for luxury. Therefore another irrelevant car in Malaysia.

One gripe though, Paul, where can’t i enlarge the pics of the Citroen babes?
    :P

• awak (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:53 pm

promoter or show girl should wear suit, to match the occation of citroen C6

• CatDawg (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 2:32 pm

Apart from the love-it-or-hate-it design, the design will definitely look dated very fast. Yes, teknologi canggih, sensor here and there, infraredlah…hydraulic there and herelah…when something small get screwed up, the whole car will stall completely and you’ll wish you had something simpler. More techs more headache! Don’t get too hyped up by the gadgets and overlook the maintenance and repair costs. But I guess one must be a real big fan and a deep pocket to own this one though…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 5:01 pm

love the girls, and this car is very very comfortable, a good alternative to the s-klasse and 7er if not for the lack of rear leg space

• pekan (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 6:26 pm

car? what car..?
    I don’t see any car….?

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:48 pm

You know that convex/concave mirror at the rear has a flaw. When you brake, at night, you cannot see outside because the rear brake light inside the cabin gets reflected back to the screen resulting in partial blindness when viewing behind. Not sure if they removed/place the brake light somewhere else now

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:03 pm

well, i agree that many will not accept the design of this car, but for me, C6 is very cool, especially the interior and all the equipments…

• so nice…but people will alternate to other cars with the same price tag..

• nishant on Aug 07, 2010 at 4:38 am

exclusivity is what i kill for

and man this one is Xclusive with a capital “E”

• ashrin on May 21, 2012 at 2:38 pm

horrifyingly expensive….. but different from the rest of the pack….. kinda like owning a
    Saab….