Taiwanese carmaker to launch new MPV in 2009

Taiwanese automotive company Yulon Motor Co is set to launch its first 7-seater MPV, marketed under the Luxgen brand sometime in mid-2009. The new Luxgen MPV will be using the previous generation Renault Espace’s platform, with Luxgen’s own styling and a choice of two engines – a 2.0 litre normally aspirated motor producing 145hp and 185Nm of torque, and a 2.2 litre turbocharged motor producing 200hp and 280Nm of torque, both developed by Yulon’s powertrain division.

The company said the MPV project took the Toyota Estima as a benchmark for its development, and the final product will compete with similiar sized MPVs like the Estima such as the GM/Buick GL8 and the Honda Odyssey. It will feature lots of electrical goodies such as cameras located around the MPV to assist with parking and maneuvering, a night vision system, a lane departure warning system, and etc.

Yulon is targetting the Chinese market with this new MPV. “The car segment in China has evolved, where a car has to be more than merely four wheels plus an engine. Any prospective carmaker has to adopt a quality-oriented strategy. Ours is to cull the R&D expertise achieved in Taiwan`s technology industry to build smarter cars, which I think would be feasible in China,” said Yulon’s CEO Kenneth Yen.

There is a split opinion on what the MPV in the images you find in this post is. Some say it is a new MPV from Roewe based on its alloy wheel design, but as the vehicle was snapped testing in Taiwan, another camp says it is in fact the new Luxgen MPV.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 3:07 am

i can tell u thy wil murder anyone form china testing their products in taiwan…!

thrs this hystyrical rivalries between them…

anyway the estima being a bench mark hopefully not the driving side of it..bcos estimas are terrible to drive…a normal bend wil make the who car lean so much its scary…

• samsung (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:04 am

– anyway the estima being a bench mark hopefully not the driving side of it..bcos estimas are terrible to drive…a normal bend wil make the who car lean so much its scary… –

exstima is an MPV, this vehicle featured here is oso MPV, as WE ALL know, how MPV shud be driven, off cos when compare to normal sedan cars their capabilities on taking a sharp turn is not in par la..
    something like saying – dun buy normal sedan becos only 5 person can sit inside, better buy nissan vannette..more roomier..
    – Dun buy Lotus elise becos it can only sit two people inside
    – Dun kancil becos it not fast as Civic…
    hehehh..every vehicle are build to meet it purpose..

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 10:14 am

I strongly believe… one day..
    they definitely will beat japan and continental car maker.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:38 am

samsung…dont rush to generalize n shoot ppl la

honda stream is NOT like that…and most low slung mpvs are proper to drive..even toyota wish is abit decent…

• samsung (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:44 am

hehe..sorry..not shoot people..but the statement your made is too general..but again..its up to the readers / buyers to decide..peace bro!
    China is a huge market..even though they kenot sell outside china due to some restriction – NCAP la..emission la..Fuel efficient la…but sell only in china alone will create huge profit

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:53 am

i believe the Taiwanese can do great in automotive sector as what they did with semiconductor…..just wait and see.

• dzat46 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:10 pm

samsung said,

exstima is an MPV, this vehicle featured here is oso MPV, as WE ALL know, how MPV shud be driven, off cos when compare to normal sedan cars their capabilities on taking a sharp turn is not in par la..
    something like saying – dun buy normal sedan becos only 5 person can sit inside, better buy nissan vannette..more roomier..
    —————————————————————-

Well said there samsung….ppl dun buy full size mpv due to its cornering prowess/0-100kph performance …..

Rgrdg the odc…have u notice that its more cramp wt lower roof due to its performance bias compared to estima/alphard/even honda elsion..etc…anyway, us spec odc is bigger due to its size emphasis…..yep, every vehicle are build to meet its purpose

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:12 pm

bmpower said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 10:14 am

maybe they can beat japanese, but not continental !!!!!!!!!!
    by the time taiwanese try to beat continental cars, continental cars will go damn infinite far beyond from them !!!! so theres no way 4 taiwanese automobil to beat them !!!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:18 pm

looks like they copy from the japanese toyota alphard !!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 4:13 pm

dzat46 said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 12:10 pm

samsung said,

—————————————————————-

Well said there samsung….ppl dun buy full size mpv due to its cornering prowess/0-100kph performance …..

Rgrdg the odc…have u notice that its more cramp wt lower roof due to its performance bias compared to estima/alphard/even honda elsion..etc…anyway, us spec odc is bigger due to its size emphasis…..yep, every vehicle are build to meet its purpose

———————————

whilst true that people dont generally buy an MPV for its ride and handling, it should still be an important consideration to think about when buying an mpv. R&H is a very important aspect of active safety.. better to avoid the accident than have to rely on passive safety items after you’ve actually hit something. Considering most MPV’s will be used to ferry our family around in, I’ll rate R&H as a very important part of my shopping criteria when buying an MPV.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 4:13 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 12:18 pm

———————–

definitely not, its not boxy enough ;)

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 5:11 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 4:13 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 12:18 pm

———————–

definitely not, its not boxy enough

well…yeap…. the front part is not that boxy according to this blur picture….. but wad do u tink about the rear ….. i tink it luks similar to alphard….

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 5:16 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

October 29, 2008 @ 12:12 pm

bmpower said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 10:14 am

maybe they can beat japanese, but not continental !!!!!!!!!!
    by the time taiwanese try to beat continental cars, continental cars will go damn infinite far beyond from them !!!! so theres no way 4 taiwanese automobil to beat them !!!!!!

——-

R U sure?
    That was back 10 years ago when United State do nothing with china product.. You know what? It’s flooding in their market now until give them problem too.. Their local supplier closed shop also because can’t compete anymore with product of china.

So why not automobile too later?

1 – they have hell cheap labour cost.
    2 – their internal market also strong.
    3 – high competition brought up more creative people fast = technology.
    4 – and so on..

If their economy growth steadily for upcoming 10 years.. I BET all this will be happen earlier than expected.

Quality? Don’t worry.. they can make it better far than toyota if they got right price and profit.. They all already known ‘great china businessman’ since decades ago.. I won’t deny that fact.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 7:46 pm

taiwanese cars? god please..the only good thing ever to come out of taiwan was jolin tsai and cindi wang

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:37 pm

The turbocharged engine looks good on paper…mmm…200 horses… =D

• csv (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 2:12 am

wah, pretty nice engines eh.

• Realeyes (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:27 am

I’m not sure about Taiwanese cars, but I like the girls though.. ;)

• moha774 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:50 am

Nice silhoutte… and good selection of platform (if they go the Renault Espace way)… but the engine will still be fresh from the oven. Hope it will be reliable enough to pull the car… anyway MPV will still be MPV, in disguised, it even looks like Proton MPV testing in Taiwan but this time in white trim.. hahaha

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:47 pm

Realeyes said,

October 30, 2008 @ 8:27 am

I’m not sure about Taiwanese cars, but I like the girls though.. ;)
    —————————————
    totally, god they are hot

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 9:57 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    October 30, 2008 @ 6:47 pm

Realeyes said,

I’m not sure about Taiwanese cars, but I like the girls though..
    —————————————

hahahaha….. if your wife see this comment, then it will be more hotter !!!!…. hahaha….sure die !!!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 2:04 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

October 30, 2008 @ 9:57 pm

Realeyes said,

—————————————

hahahaha….. if your wife see this comment, then it will be more hotter !!!!…. hahaha….sure die !!!!!
    ———————————
    no worries, no wife

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 3:59 pm

October 31, 2008 @ 2:04 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

Realeyes said,

—————————————

———————————
    no worries, no wife

——————————————————

hahaha…. in that case, you are free to comment la dude, Chill Bro !!!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:56 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 1, 2008 @ 3:59 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

Realeyes said,

—————————————

———————————
    no worries, no wife

——————————————————

———————————————-
    if they got jolin tsai to be the spokeswoman for this car, i will buy it

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:07 am

November 3, 2008 @ 11:56 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

Realeyes said,

—————————————

———————————
    no worries, no wife

——————————————————

———————————————-

———————————–

how about Hannah Tan as malaysian spokeswoman ???? Hotter rite ??? hahaha….

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:10 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 9, 2008 @ 11:07 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

Realeyes said,

—————————————

———————————
    no worries, no wife

——————————————————

———————————————-

———————————–

———————————————-
    hannah tan, hot but the type u only want to sleep with and nothing more. find her like a bit of those desperate type

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:44 pm

November 9, 2008 @ 12:10 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

Realeyes said,

—————————————

———————————
    no worries, no wife

——————————————————

———————————————-

———————————–

———————————————-
    hannah tan, hot but the type u only want to sleep with and nothing more. find her like a bit of those desperate type

—————————————————–

Lol…. seems like u stick badly to jolin tsai….. errmmm, she’z not bad…. but when it comes in term of hottness, haha, how about japanese ???? They are more than desperate enough , somewhat like in those chicks in Tokyo Drift!!!! haha…..

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:33 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 9, 2008 @ 11:44 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

Realeyes said,

—————————————

———————————
    no worries, no wife

——————————————————

———————————————-

———————————–

———————————————-

—————————————————–

Lol…. seems like u stick badly to jolin tsai….. errmmm, she’z not bad…. but when it comes in term of hottness, haha, how about japanese ???? They are more than desperate enough , somewhat like in those chicks in Tokyo Drift!!!! haha…..
    ————————————
    japan girls the best. but then it seems as though all the girls there they have a sort of national service which makes it mandatory for them to act in a porn movie

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:53 pm

November 10, 2008 @ 11:33 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

Realeyes said,

—————————————

———————————
    no worries, no wife

——————————————————

———————————————-

———————————–

———————————————-

—————————————————–

————————————
    japan girls the best. but then it seems as though all the girls there they have a sort of national service which makes it mandatory for them to act in a porn movie

—————————————–

well, japan is already well known 4 its ancient perverted stuff regarding girls and porn !!!! Almost most of the japanese releases are perverted….. I think they are trying to break a new record for porn against western countries !!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:27 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 10, 2008 @ 7:53 pm

November 10, 2008 @ 11:33 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

Realeyes said,

—————————————

———————————
    no worries, no wife

——————————————————

———————————————-

———————————–

———————————————-

—————————————————–

————————————

—————————————–

well, japan is already well known 4 its ancient perverted stuff regarding girls and porn !!!! Almost most of the japanese releases are perverted….. I think they are trying to break a new record for porn against western countries !!!!
    —————————
    well , thier porn is much nicer than wester porn, prettier girls too. yea, should get a japanese gf, then can act out all the scenes in the movie

• dr_farnz on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:41 am

hihi..I have a photo of this mpv meter cluster..