Kumho unveils 22 inch ultra low profile tyre!

Kumho 15-Series Tyre

These tyres are definitely suited for the kind of pimped out rides that are making its debut at the SEMA Show in Las Vegas this week. Kumho has just unveiled what they claim is the world’s first 15-series profile tyre for 22 inch alloy wheels.

The Kumho ECSTA SPT KU31 comes in a 385/15ZR22 size. Kumho says it has used computer simulation technology to optimise the ultra low profile sidewall structure in order to prevent the formation of standing waves or ripples.

These problems can occur due to heat build-up at high speeds. Kumho also says the tyres have semi-run flat capability, though they did not go into detail what exactly semi-run flat means.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hybridmind (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:23 am

Wah look at the size.. 22 can’t even fit to my gen2, if it do how can don’t have money to buy oil any way, that oil eater for me.
    Nice information really, it may be used for drag race. As always Thanks PAUL

• jamsbong (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:40 am

I think semi flat means the tire can tolerate low pressure. So you can use the tire even when it is almost flat. like 10psi or something, it will still work.

Hard to imagine this will be good for performance as the tire is bound to be heavy due to the thick walls to ensure strong structure and the huge (thus heavy rim) is gonna bog down the car speed.

Moreover, it will be a bumpy ride….

Definitely only for pimp rides.

• Paul Tan on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:45 am

I think they’re meant to be used on pimped out SUVs.

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:01 am

I agree paul… SUVs can usually tolerate large wheels :P

• armandd (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:47 am

i bet later they’ll use 5mm thick rubber for 24inch rims, haha..

• maxtek (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:14 am

Yea, but even on SUVs, the wheels seem pretty “thick”, scary… lol…

• Jaybond (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:20 am

Possibly this tire is meant for supercars with superfat rear tires like Lambo Murcie, Ferrari Enzo, souped-up Porsche GT2 and so forth..

• hybridmind (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:20 am

I think that was big, but while I read autoblog just now, i was moved. There are Hummer H2 using Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico 315/30R30. What a big wheel. don’t know why it was made for…

• rexis (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:30 am

I looked hard to find the edge of a 2nd tire before i realized that its one tire.

Drag race specialized tire, thats it. Wonder how it will affect turning ability.

• qozhx (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:32 am

not suitable for malaysia road….
    even 40 & 35 series u’ll cry if you hit a pot hole…
    to many pot holes & uneven surface of d road…
    just like our VIP’s faces….
    ngehngehngeh…

• torque (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Massive nyer but only 15mm thickness?! Anyone slap those tyres in Malaysia is crazy wan…sure gonna bengkok kaw kaw their precious rims if hit pot holes! I used to put 40mm on my 17″ TRD rims pun boleh bengkok!!

p/s: Paul, what about my suggestion on the ‘Tyres Reviews’ segment?

• pirate (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 12:50 pm

Hmmm, wonder how this new UHP Kumho overcomes aquaplaning tendency seeing its super-wide section and ultra-low profile dimensions…

• bolo (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 1:31 pm

might as well make tyres by painting the rubber on the rim…that will be mother of all the low profile tyres :)

• theanswer (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 1:47 pm

better wrap any rims with postmen rubber band..

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 1:50 pm

what the…

Get ready for 50’s next time.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 3:07 pm

Not practical in M’sia road condition la. One step to the “super” path holes, the whole Tyre & Rim gone! Boleh buang……!~

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 4:21 pm

super firm ride i guess

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 4:46 pm

my god……. just 15, terrible…

• csv (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 5:05 pm

semi run flat as in, will run ok for a while, after that EXPLODE.

or, in our case here. run over pothole, those expensive rims are gonna go to scrap.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:14 pm

seems like this tyre is not designed for normal cars !!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:20 am

looks very wide

• davv (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:22 am

ya..it should be for SUV since Mazda CX-9 already using 20″ rims…

• richard67 on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:12 am

amazing technology by Kumho.

• jessie on May 12, 2014 at 9:55 am

Can those tires fix on a 2000ford must n what size tire fix n eill be the best tire