Penang will follow Perak’s decision to abandon Perdana V6 choice, but only when time comes

Proton Perdana V6

Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng says when the time comes for the state’s fleet of Proton Perdana V6 cars to be replaced, the new cars will not be Protons. He added that foreign imported cars like the Toyota Camry are an option but the new choice of car will only be evaluated when the time comes to replace the Perdanas.

He continued to say that Proton’s service was “abysmal“, and that even though Penang State Secretary Datuk Jamaludin Hasan had written in an official letter of complaint, it went unanswered. Penang’s Proton Perdana V6 was quoted to be able to rack up more than RM30,000 a year in maintenance costs. Perak quoted RM1 million over 4 years for its entire Perdana fleet, and Terengganu quoted RM1.15 million for the same time period.

From a personal experience, my 7 year old Proton Perdana V6’s gearbox (shown above) just started experiencing problems a couple of months ago and was quickly rectified for a little over RM2,000. Other than a few cases of the suspension arms and bushes wearing out, it’s still serving me well. Sometimes it’s how you drive it and how well preventive maintenance is done. If you intentionally let things go really bad before you fix something, costs can bloat up way over the top.

Toyota Camry: new Perak State official car
ACA arrests 3 men related to Perdana V6 case
Perdana V6 fleet cost Terengganu RM1.15 million in 4 years
Terengganu Perdana V6 maintenance handled by drivers and superior officers
Terengganu will justify E200K purchase in detail
New Mercedes-Benz E200K cars for Terengganu exco
Proton: no warranty claims recorded for Perdana V6 executive that needed over RM100k in repairs

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express skepticism and criticism towards the decision to replace Perdana V6 cars, highlighting high maintenance costs, potential political motivations, and allegations of corruption. Several comments suggest that the true issue lies with the organizations managing the fleet and inflated servicing costs, not the cars themselves. There's concern over the reliance on foreign cars like Camry, perceived as expensive and possibly politicized choices, while some advocate supporting local industry. Several commenters blame political parties for mismanagement and waste of taxpayer money, and some challenge the patriotism of buying foreign vehicles. Overall, sentiments are mixed but largely critical, emphasizing that cost, corruption, and political agendas are at the core of the controversy, with some calling for transparency and better governance.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:30 pm

ALL POLITICIANS ARE BLEEDY SHITS !!!!

NEXT-TIME ALL ” UNDI ROSAK ” !!!!!

PROTEST THE ELECTION !!!!

ALL POLITICIANS WILL SHOW THEIR TRUE COLOURS ONE DAY !!!!

WASTING PEOPLE’S MONEY !!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Lim Guan Eng just stated that Penang also gonna change their 43 EXCO perdana V6 cars to imported foreign cars….. He said they not gonna buy MALAYSIAN cars anymore and also mentioned that Proton is providing “abysmal” service…. What will happen to national automobil industry if the own country’s leader-to-be don’t trust them…. What is happening to them nowadays !!!!! These issues of G changin’ official vehiclas are damn hot in Singapore news portal !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:38 pm

High maintainence cost is a bleedy shit reason !!!! Where is the so-called CAT system that Penang are implementing….. If they think the cost of maintenance is high, go and investigate la why maintanence cost is so high…. If the cost of mainataining perdana is high, i dont think many malaysian would buy it, but it seems perdana V6 sells quite well…. ALL POLITICIANS ARE CORRUPTED NO MATTER THEY ARE FROM BARISAN NASIONAL OR PAKATAN RAKYAT….

WASTING PEOPLES MONEY !!!!

PEOPLE ARE SACRIFICING THEIR HARDSHIP TO PAY TAX BUT U POLITICIANS ARE ENJOYING YOUR LIFE LIKE HEAVEN….

IM SURE THERE IS SOMETHING ‘FISHIE” AS OF WHAT HAPPENED IN TERENGGANU !!!!

GUYZ…. PLZ THINK ABOUT IT !!!!

YOU ARE WORKING HARD TO EARN YOUR LIVING AND PAY TAX FOR IT… BUT OTHER PEOPLE ARE ENJOYING IT TO HEAVEN ~!!~!!!

• whiteeye (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:51 pm

This is a very very good move, this show how’s the quality of national being treat. But this tragedy can’t blame to Proton, just the “person” who use the car without good protection. But on the other hand, this also show how’s the quality of Proton, c who win at the end to blame? Just suggestion if Proton is good enough why need protection anyway by the gov, if it known by international like Mercz, Honda, Toyota and other’s, i don’t c y Proton should be scared or blame other national car maker, unless is another way round……..
    And it’s unfair to international car maker and make fellow Malaysian to buy expensive import car and 1st come to worst to force Malaysian to buy PXoton, i bet if the tax reduce all Malaysian will reconsider to buy their dreams car or more better car.

By the right if the import of TOYOTA Camry just 97k where is the another 70 k had gone to, where the price now is Rm167k.
    If imported Camry just RM97k, than how about other car’s?

Just a guess Toyota Altis should be around 70 or 80 k and not 118k
    Toyota Vios should be around 50 k or 60k and not 69k to 70k

That show how’s our present MR G want the tax so much and make us to buy expensive imported class even they need to add tax need not add until so high, and make Malaysian to suffer!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:55 pm

malaysian malaysia… with japanese car…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:06 pm

im feeling so unmalaysia now. damn, even the australians use their australian cars for their own MPs, its a sad day for malaysia. just hopefully the new proton-mitsubishi waja would be a good solution.

• n8cky (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:09 pm

My Proton uses a week for each month for me to rectify ‘never-end’ issues, which in other word effected my sales 1/4 per annual. I might be the one who source for these problems, well i can’t say the leaders did not too. But still, how good to be a politician. These four years, I had spent 2/3 of what my car cost me four years back, which actually equal to a 55k any cars on the market. Feel sad u know?..

• n8cky (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:10 pm

Well, it doesn’t serve if a car spent most of the time servicing than using it, agreed?
    Btw, is tat ur car Paul?Lol.

• tricycle (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:14 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

December 15, 2008 @ 8:30 pm

ALL POLITICIANS ARE BLEEDY SHITS !!!!

NEXT-TIME ALL ” UNDI ROSAK ” !!!!!

PROTEST THE ELECTION !!!!

ALL POLITICIANS WILL SHOW THEIR TRUE COLOURS ONE DAY !!!!

WASTING PEOPLE’S MONEY !!!

Dude,
    The problem is not about patriotism or whatsoever. Like Paul Tan said, the maintenance cost if done by individual is not that expensive. Something around RM2000 for a gear box.

The real problem is the fleet is managed by some organization. This organization is the main culprit. They charge the state G or the federal G huge. If the state G report this to ACA, ACA cannot do anything because this organization is connected.

What happen to the wrongdoing of Tun DM when it was exposed in the so called Royal Commission? Nothing happen right? Even the royal commission has no power, what can the small ACA with no prosecution power do? So now use your brain, and start thinking.

• whiteeye (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:16 pm

autojohndoe said,
    malaysian malaysia… with japanese car…

If national car so called Malaysian car why need to sell so expensive to Malaysian where the current model saga, persona or waja should be cheaper and not sold to the other country cheaper? and due to the import and international car maker in our country (tax) is just MR G ask from us.

• whiteeye (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:25 pm

Another thing, Perdana is not design by Proton it’s just rebadge of Mitsubishi. So how to called Perdana is our national car? Perhaps the fully international car is just only GEN 2 and PERSONA and yet engine is by Lotus just that they bought it doesn’t mean they create it their own engine.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:29 pm

What a bunch of lies…what do they think they can repeat it again and again people will believe.

Are the Perdanas that expensive to maintain? Why don’t the take up Proton’s offer the examine the cars and the maintenance records? Proton wants to get to the bottom of the problem. Just let them investigate like they did in Terengganu. Remember that? It turns out there was a lot of fishy business going on…

Plus a lot of Perdanas are being used for executive taxis and so on, if they were that expensive to maintain, the drivers would run out of business wouldn’t they?

Come on la.. don’t make Proton the scapegoat…just say that you want to drive a Camry like a BIG TOWKAY…dont lie, people aren’t stupid!

• shamel (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:21 pm

I never had an intention to buy or own a V6, rather prefer an Accord or a Camry for their reliability, after-sale service, modern technology etc.

BUT blaming solely to V6 instead of human factor is beyond my logical. If V6 is so expensive how people earn less than what l’m getting can afford to own the saloon?

I met few V6ers and they admit V6 not that expensive to maintain. One guy “always” replace the gearbox and BLAME HIS DRIVING STYLE instead of the car.

NOW- find out the ROOT OF PROBLEM…

• naz@proton (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:36 pm

all this monkey like 2 waste tax payee money, they talk kok everyday, make noise in paliment, behave like dog n say people monkey like ramasamy tkm p.pinang. mayb he lupa his skin similar . i never trust pakatan anymore. shit u….

• drM (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Terengganu paid 1.15million for its ENTIRE fleet over 4 years. Perak is said to be spending 1 million also for its ENTIRE fleet over the same period.

buying those 2.4 Camry cost like double for the repair cost of Terengganu and Perak PUT TOGETHER for 4 years! unbelieveable.

many decided to punish Proton for the extraordinare cost, but again, it is easy to shoot other man’s foot than yours. as far as foot position is concern, urs the closest to u.

why dont do like this – replace the ENTIRE fleet of Perdana after 2,3 years of service? surely the repair cost will be kept minimum because the working period is being shorten. and for sure the entire fleet of Perdana WILL BE CHEAPER than those 2.4 Camry fleet.

penang is clever. they let the others test water first. and they still asking funds from Federal, despite the huge coffers of Penang port and PEDC. am i talking BS? ask him to reveal all in Penang Port and PEDC.

or will it be DAP’s polling warchest?

• Islandman (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:20 pm

MP from both BN or PR deserve to have a realiable car for their daily jobs. For those heavy users, they should know after 3-5 years the cars are about to change. No big issue on this! I do not think camry 2.4 or accord 2.4 is too expensive or luxury car for our MP.
    If not using Proton have anything with patriotism, Please ask yourself how many daily used item that you used are not made in malaysia! or all of us should only go to Petronas ONLY? Only buy Malaysian’s brand electrical item and forget about japanese and korean brand? How about our handphone? Personaly I am driving Proton’s car only, because this is my choice…. simple……
    Important is how effective the G spend rakyat’s money. Are there any personal agenda behind all BIG and small project? I thinks this is what Rakyat should focus!

• csv (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:29 pm

let them drive their own car to work, think problem will automatically solve.

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:31 pm

If too expensive to upkeep tha why is there still so many Perdanas on the road?Have to agree with Paul Tan….

• claxxion (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:44 pm

I agree with Paul too. The problem is the person driving the car itself, not the car!

I can imagine when their drivers get their hands on those 2.4 camrys, they will drive like ferraris and eventually, they will break down because of the driving style. And camry’s maintenance cost is lower than the v6s? doubt so. It will be more than RM1.15 million for sure.

Just some lame excuse for them to get their hands on those camrys.

• govinda (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:07 am

It doesn’t matter whether they want to buy Cammry, Merc or BMW.
    The most important they must perform up to rakyat expectation.
    If not, next election, just vote them out of government. :)

• mousqy (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:16 am

lead by example
    BELILAH BARANGAN BUATAN MALAYSIA!!!!
    they the politican SHOULD actually support the local car industry
    MY GOD…ini la VOTE lagi the opposition
    now they are showing their true colors

• KatakHijau (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:40 am

huhuhu..
    yahh..
    just let mp us their own vehicles..
    just topup their fuel only..
    hehehe…
    their gaji are enough for them to buy a own car la.. :)
    **Sorry for my bad Engish**

• Prem3377 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:45 am

at first when i read about it..i felt cheated by the opposition but when i did some research to findout why…i think its a good idea…

i m not going to go into details because i am not really sure about the details..

these perdanas were maintained by few companies which has sign contract with the former government i mean the state government and maintenance cost is always high because the drivers,people in the office,the mechanics,workshop and a few other people make some profit when the car is sent for servicing..and the current state G cant do anything about it..

by changing a new car..and not a proton they can escape frm these agreements and reduce cost…

and avoid those previous people who have connections from making money the easier way..

i know a friend of mine who deals with his company cars..he easily make about RM 3000 whenever anyone frm the company send their car for servicing…the workshop guy pays him commision..and his company has only 15 cars..

so imagine how much they would have make out of those perdanas??

but i m against buying those japanese cars by saying proton cars are crap…they should just reveal the truth and let people know why..

but after this dunno who is goin to gain frm those camry..hard to trust politicians…anyway who dont want easy money!!

• ferox (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:46 am

why dont do like this – replace the ENTIRE fleet of Perdana after 2,3 years of service? surely the repair cost will be kept minimum because the working period is being shorten. and for sure the entire fleet of Perdana WILL BE CHEAPER than those 2.4 Camry fleet.

——————————

Please read the article properly. Penang is not replacing any cars right now. They just state that WHEN the time comes for replacing those Perdanas, they will look at other options. That’s all.

• busy_walk (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:48 am

Simple:

wanna save Proton: don’t buy Perdana… buy Waja… also Proton car…

don’t wanna save Proton: buy Civic, Altis, Focus… all cheaper than Camry…

• drgn86 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:34 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX, whatever it is, if you wanna compare BN or PR politicians, please look at who has done the most damage in terms of the time period served (BN – 50+ years, PR – almost 1 year), don’t just jump to conclusion by mixing them up altogether.
    Anyway, do we really want to see our politicians (especially those really honest ones like Lim Guan Eng) be in an old ‘limo’ (Perdanas are really too low in height)? We should be treating them properly also, their welfare has got to be reasonable as they are serving the rakyat (Would you Xx_Ferrari_xX? Because I’m not ready for that, so I have to agree with the Penang MP’s point), not just scrutinizing them on what they use. He also took economy class to fly compared to some celebrity who flew first/business class as reported some time ago. Come on, Malaysians, give those new fellas a break…

P.S. I still remember your mindless comment on China’s stuff…

• GlowJo (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:04 am

drgn86…
    Lim Guan Eng is giving more damage compared to previous goverment.
    Less than 1 year already wasting money by:-
    1.making new road signage.
    2. changing Perdana to Camry…. (if you really wanna save money buy viva laaa – this is not proton car also what??)
    3. If the politician are sincere, they will go to Proton Dealer for changing the gear box. anyway the Perdana gearbox is not made by proton, it was made by mitsubishi… (damn lembu punya susu sapi dapat nama…)
    4. After this Lim Guan Eng will create more projects for his “nepos” and cronos… Politians are 2 x 5…

============================================
    drgn86 said,

December 16, 2008 @ 1:34 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX, whatever it is, if you wanna compare BN or PR politicians, please look at who has done the most damage in terms of the time period served (BN – 50+ years, PR – almost 1 year), don’t just jump to conclusion by mixing them up altogether.
    Anyway, do we really want to see our politicians (especially those really honest ones like Lim Guan Eng) be in an old ‘limo’ (Perdanas are really too low in height)? We should be treating them properly also, their welfare has got to be reasonable as they are serving the rakyat (Would you Xx_Ferrari_xX? Because I’m not ready for that, so I have to agree with the Penang MP’s point), not just scrutinizing them on what they use. He also took economy class to fly compared to some celebrity who flew first/business class as reported some time ago. Come on, Malaysians, give those new fellas a break…

P.S. I still remember your mindless comment on China’s stuff

• GlowJo (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:06 am

Anyway… drgn86…
    Malaysian celebrity paid the ticket for business class with their money…
    not like politician using our money… I pay tax also you know???

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:13 am

drM said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 11:20 pm
    Terengganu paid 1.15million for its ENTIRE fleet over 4 years. Perak is said to be spending 1 million also for its ENTIRE fleet over the same period.
    ————————————————-
    That’s what australia is doing… every two years instead. It’s another way to protect the local car industry.

whiteeye said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 9:16 pm
    If national car so called Malaysian car why need to sell so expensive to Malaysian where the current model saga, persona or waja should be cheaper and not sold to the other country cheaper? and due to the import and international car maker in our country (tax) is just MR G ask from us.

Are you nuts? Go find the ON THE ROAD cost of proton cars in other countries. Trust me, proton cars are always more expensive in other countries*. Google is your friend.

*except some middle eastern states where OTR costs are nil and insurance is not compulsory.

• drgn86 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:24 am

GlowJo, how do you know that Malaysian Celebrity pay their ticket using their own money? They do have their proxies, especially those who know ‘VIPs’. Please tell me, did Koh Tsu Koon not give an UMNO racist in Penang some land grants? Don’t tell me that the former Penang CM is better than the current one, because the majority of Penangites will curse you. For more than decade has Penang already suffered, maybe you are still in dreamland. About the road signage issue, just look at Bukit Bintang area, where it has been already done, and that is more racist than what is being done in Penang (more languages rather than malay and arabic words in BB), not to mention countless others in KL, for example, the Jalan Alor to what-the-heck Kejora incident… Buy Viva? Hahaha, please la, would you be chauffeured in that kind of car? Nonsense, since you are serving the rakyat… Might as well buy kancil, lagi cheap, that’s not the point my friend, the point is that they should have proper cars for them to move around… Changing gearbox at Proton? Sorry mate, i think Spanco has taken that responsibility, and it is controlled by the Federal Government, who can charge however astronomically they want. And your last fact, not at all because you added a future tense there, which is your dunno-what-still-support-BN opinion I presume.
    In a nutshell, total of what LGE wasted cannot be more than what KTK wasted. By the way, LGE would have saved more money already compared to KTK… Of course you pay tax already, unless you have been avoiding and now just wanted to ‘notify’ me…

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:42 am

Why is everyone so jittery about the comments. When the time comes, if he practice the CAT thing, just ask him to make public the calculations as to why the Penang G took the decision.

To me, figures talks.

Prem3377 may have a point….

• mdjqs (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:14 am

hi,
    my dad used to own old perdana not the v6s one…it was ok if not great…he clocked around 150k km in 3 yrs ish….he commuted from seremban to kl pj etc daily… as far as i am concerned the only bill that exceeded his expectations was the gearbox in which was latter replaced….so overall it was a good car…all i can say now is…PR = Penipu RakyaT

In regards to proton…i only knew that the German G also provides or did provide protection to Volkswagen AG so why question our G for protecting Proton? the news on Porsche taking over VW are very hot here. i think the question we all should ask is why the G is protecting the unreliable piece of crap people working in Proton!!!

what do u think guys?

• alihms (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:52 am

Drgn86

Anyway, do we really want to see our politicians (especially those really honest ones like Lim Guan Eng) be in an old ‘limo’ (Perdanas are really too low in height)?

———————

Are you sure Lim Guan Eng is an honest politician? Maybe you should read this article in The Star before passing your judgment.
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/12/15/focus/2808399&sec=focus

Opps.. before I turned this into a political blog. I better stop here.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:00 am

You guys really make conclution so fast.. Did LGN say it already bought the Camry? He just say they will change when TIME! And he didnt say it will be Camry! Maybe he change Kia Optima how? Then later sure ppl will bash say KIA also expensive, parts expensive bla bla bla…

I know some people here are Pro-UMNO & Pro-BN, but sadly the Penang people have choosen a person who have done great things in just a few months time, compare to other people. So before you bash someone like those Proton basher, you are nothing if you dont do some research on why. Everything have a reason and what Prem3377 said is 1 of the reasons..

• sentry (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:07 am

They should have just quote safety as one of the key consideration when buying official cars for the state officer, by stating that ‘standard safety features’ such as airbags are mandatory. I don’t think this expectation is not justifiable. Since Perdana doesn’t come with airbags, it will then be disqualified automatically! :-)

• muryadi (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:29 am

I also agree with Prem3377, it’s not really about the V6.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:30 am

LittleFire85 said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 8:00 am

You guys really make conclution so fast.. Did LGN say it already bought the Camry? He just say they will change when TIME! And he didnt say it will be Camry! Maybe he change Kia Optima how? Then later sure ppl will bash say KIA also expensive, parts expensive bla bla bla…

I know some people here are Pro-UMNO & Pro-BN, but sadly the Penang people have choosen a person who have done great things in just a few months time, compare to other people. So before you bash someone like those Proton basher, you are nothing if you dont do some research on why. Everything have a reason and what Prem3377 said is 1 of the reasons..

bro.. you also always bash without doing research, so please dont accuse others.

Even if they buy a Kia, or a Honda, or whatever, i feel its still the wrong thing to do for any leader in malaysia.

the penang state govt should first investigate, and make public findings on why the cars cost so much to maintain in the first place.. its already published facts that the terengganu perdanas were not even sent to proton to service centres, and also no warranty claims were ever made..

even paul has said its not that expensive to maintain the car, and I have many other friends who also drive a perdana with minimal issues. so whats the real issue here?

to just say, “lets buy something else” is taking the easy way out. wasnt one of their promises when elected, to weed out all the wrongdoings of the past? havent seen them do much of that yet.

• xtrovert (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:36 am

Proton now has 5 yr warranty right? so by calculation there should be minimal charge if any major problem.. unless MP are excuses from warranty..

i agree with “GET THE REAL ROOT CAUSE” thing.. as paul post here, he had the same car and the common problem, but not as high as rm30k per year maintenance.. remove the “root cause” then we could see the real figure..

Paul, I demand a “CAT” scan.. who are giving them the 30k figure and are these Toyota came from the same “salesMAN” ??

as for Proton, it is ashamed that people are having nightmare of it past.. and it has been going in a circle with ‘mitsubishi’ as partner.. but, when this new zenal guy take over.. i could see a glimps of hope and a wind of change in proton.. and why don’t we gave him some chance.. anyway zenal is automotive man of the year’
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/business/13363?task=view

look at USA at current state, I am not a patriot but when the americans are buying from japanese, taiwanese and korean car, billion of dollar are sailing out of their door.. and when the whole economy collapse.. no one win.. even sorry state of proton car now, it keep our money in a loop.. or else we also will have the same faith.. it just US have a bigger market, then the impact come in HD.. so learn my fellow citizen..

when there only few lines of two page manifesto cleared.. there still time for a new car? now who came first in your justification mr MP..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:52 am

BMW,
    perhaps one way to weed out the wrongdoings is to starve them out of existance…

I can accept the argument that the PV6 may not be as bad as they say they are. But getting Camry’s is the lesser of the evils….until Royal Commisions and ACA grows some teeth that is.

Whats the point of bringing things out when nothing can be done?

Paul’s Perdana is probably a low mileage example. These Government cars rack up quite a lot more. Its not so much that the Perdana’s are unreliable, but it’s image is soiled by those that maintain them.

Frankly speaking, one party has been suspeciously quiet in all this. Where are the people actually maintaning these cars? Not going to defend themselves?

• Islandman (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:02 am

Come on… this is just part of those YBs benefit, don mind is from PR or BN. Don make it too big. Why Singapore minister salary so high? Because their goverment wants to attract more capable persons to serve the country and the people. We vote for capable leaders to lead us to improve the country not to suffer like us!

1, How much a Camry or Accord cost compare to those “mismanage”?
    2, Why we paid billions of RM more to purchase the overprice Indonesian Bank?
    3, How many more bukit antarabansa case we need?
    4, How about cracking MRR2 that most KL folks using everyday?
    5, Why we spend RM5k for a RM500 hydaulic pam?
    6, Shold I mention more?

If these quations still can not make us think wisely, Good Luck Malaysian!

• xstan (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:19 am

Hey…the car was taken over by the previous States Exco who trashed the car , since its not thiers.
    U guys havent sat on any of the States owned Perdana …is sooo blooody embarassed. All noise from clanking & banging came out despite several repairs.

Again..The car is taken over from previous, so is in bad condition. Camry gave 3 years free service & warranty. No cost require for further mainatnenace over 3 years is certainly COST SAVINGS.

• mangkuk (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:22 am

Service cntr ‘mark-up’ manyak lorr.
    Tukar brg ‘taiwan mari’ punya.
    Sometime tak tukar pun kasik claim dlm invoice… tats why la cost manyak tinggi.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:26 am

for me, i think that it is a way for the new state gov to say
    “hey ACA, do check the previous state gov expenditure, whether it is true or there was somebody cheating!?”
    since at that time everyone was and still using perdana, so it may seem that the proton is the one to be blame.

enough with politics. just wait & see how the camry fleet will perform.
    unfortunately, it will not be the same because the ex-perdana official drivers will now behave more carefully due to this sentiment.

with proper maintenance, any car will be ok to drive.
    with bad driving habit, any car will not last long.

the issue is
    “WHY THE SERVICING DONE BY THE AGENCY IS EXPENSIVE?”
    not
    “why the perdana maintenance is expensive?”

• theanswer (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:32 am

frequent damage and services to govt car seems to be unavoidable even the car was driven carefully..because govt car mileage always going to be double from normal private car. my dad also use govt PV6..(he’s not a politician..work as a prof in ipta)..throughout his service as a senior lecturer he already use 3 different type of govt perdana(old se, ol v6 and ‘alfa’ v6)..sadly..the worst one is the ‘alfa’. after 2+yrs using it small electronics item already faulty..(side mirror controller, rear sunshade, hon died suddenly, even the car suddenly shut down for a sec while my father was driving). how ‘impressive!’

• carsut (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:34 am

F**KING S**T.. mmg org politik suka bermuka2.. tak kira la BN, PAS, DAP, PKR, and ect… bila daa kuasa lupa diri.. semua nak senagkan diri sendiri.. bazirkan dui rakyat.. aku rase org malaysia ni manyak pakai perdana.. tapi takkan la maintanence kos sampai puluh2 rubu sebulan.. tu semua alasan nak hidup makan duit rakyat.. typical political thingking, money driven..

• overflow (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:49 am

PAKATAN RAKYAT is foreigner in malaysia..they just sampah in here.

• rt (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:01 am

Paul,

Why don’t we put up a company, and offer the state governments a preventive maintenance service for their Perdana cars. (only Perdana cars).

I am thinking of a “free” door to door service, and provide replacement cars while the car is being inspected and serviced.

We could make tons of money every month, but still could charge them less than that 1 million a year :)

While we are doing it, to ensure not many problems, we could put a limiter in the car so that the drivers cannot red-line it..

RT.

• ys1 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:05 am

Hey guys, do take note that many of those Perdanas are the stretched version and they DO cost a lot more then those normal versions. If I’m not mistaken, well over 100k each. Blame that on Proton for fleecing!

A well known fact is that the gearbox is the weakest link in even the normal version. As these stretched models easily weight in at a few hundred kilos more, are the mechanical components like the gearbox, suspension, brakes etc uprated to take in the extra load. Really doubted that, so presumably things do wear out a lot faster then your plain vanilla version. And if these items are upgraded and specially made, it certainly explains the extra cost due to the extremely low volume being sold.

In conclusion, national pride aside, there’s certainly justification to avoid such costly mistakes again. Moreover if the Federal govt has given the same tax exemption [as what they gave to T’ganu state govt for the purchase of the E200k] the opposition-led state would have obtained the Camrys for <100k each!

• rt (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:09 am

Heck,

with 1 million a year, I could buy 10 Perdanas

• rt (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:12 am

ys1,

If that is the case, then they should buy a Proton Chancellor

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:22 am

I QUOTE from:

tricycle said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 9:14 pm

Hai,

Before you start to fueling this forum with another unnecessary-biased hatred towards our beloved Tun Dr. Mahathir please read this articles on the so called “Royal Commission”, I’ll ensure you this would at least open your eyes wide;

http://test.chedet.com/che_det/2008/06/royal-commissions.html

This is all just another drama politicking, before you start shoot first and ask later I suggest you see things from different angle as well. I presume you must be a worshiper of Malaysian Today website (which is known to have strong affiliation with Singapore). Hah! Just dive in both sides of the lake as the sayings go, you’ll see the real reasoning for all this crap. Its very easy to point fingers nowadays. One thing for sure, Tun Dr. Mahathir is Malaysia’s best statesman. Keep your crap out from this forum. Heck, its about Proton Perdana in the first place and its all about the hypocrite Pakatan Rakyat. You can’t cover this mess with another fabricated mess. Heh, amateurs.

• DRC (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:24 am

IF I WANTED to cheat money, I will simply cincai-cincai do maintainence on certain parts and kacau other parts, expecting it to break down in a few months time. I am very sure UMW will NOT do that because I own a Toyota and I know their good service. I previously owned 2 Proton’s car and 1 Perodua.

Perdana is actually more expensive than Camry for that kind of standard; if Toyota were to build a car with PV6 standard, the cost will be cheaper than Proton’s. Please educate me, I don’t know whether the current PV6 has any airbags. And I wonder why PV6 is not found popularly worldwide if we still think it is more worth-buying than Camry.

Again I think it is OK if our G buy only ONE Merc S for Perdana Menteri use. And I will be glad if the Federal/State G buy Toyota Camry or similar cars of equivalent standard/reliability for the use of the rest of their important officers. These cars are NOT hadiah to them and are not their belongings. The important thing is quality.

• DRC (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:35 am

Just a few words to Toyota Management: please do take extra good care to the Perak’s Camry, as it is an opportunity for you to show off. Free advertisement man, even better than BS and OB, if you can let them show figure that you are much more economical in the long run.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:35 am

mahathir is a fucking bastard, all of us have to suffer while he can eat up all the ap money and shove his big ugly old man senile ass in his porsche GAYenne. good move by dap, don buy malaysian cars. oh wait, what malaysian cars?

• ariefemran (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:56 am

The news media is misconceived. I don’t think any one of you owns a Perdana Executive V6. If it was a normal Perdana the costs is not tremendous. However, once the Perdana Executive V6 is used it will be expensive. This is due to the design of the car. The car is not designed for the extra weight. Imagine 2 cars being cut and reassembled together. The gearbox and engine is not changed and only minor tweaks to the suspension. There will be extra weight. The gear box and engine is not designed for the extra weight and extra work load. I believe the modification is not even done by Proton but a third party. Proton itself does not sell these cars and will not cover them under warranty. Perhaps the government should look instead to the chancellor cars as used by the PM?

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:40 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

December 16, 2008 @ 8:30 am

–u should read the newspaper properly before take a jump on to it. and how much u want they do within 9 months time? i guess almost everyone expecting miracles from their leader just by putting a cross on the paper. pity the leaders

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:23 pm

sadly that’s a bunch of idiots still don’t understand what is happening or don’t know how to read and understand what LGE have said and in the news. Some don’t even know what is the normal design criteria or specifications for how long the car to be last or the lowest maintenance should be. i think a lot of people might not even understand why maintenance service or replacing is required either on mileage or years. there’s no moving parts can last forever but we can minimize the cost of maintenance during the period of usage.

Dear Paul
    Is sad that u have to repair ur car of the gearbox. and it cost u RM2000. i don’t encounter gearbox problem with toyotas or nissan even within 10 years olds. mileage is impressive within 200k kms and 400k kms. maybe they don’t encounter gearbox problems with other makes that they make such comment. i like cars and i love the lowest maintenance cars.

• wheregotcar (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:29 pm

personally, I strongly feel that our Govt/MP/politician should be supporting the local brand. One thing, P1 and P2 is neutral and not tied to any political party it is a Malaysian initiative. It is the responsibility of the leaders elected in Malaysia to ensure national aspirations to achieve its target/goals in anyway possible.

punishing P1 due to its poor service and buy other brand (other than P2) does not in ANY WAY help the local car industry.

so, I HAVE A SUGGESTION : why don’t they just lease cars sirectly with P1 than? do an agreement that the cars leased must be maintained by P1, not by shoddy 3rd party. if anything happens to it P1 must bear the cost / replace it with another model. So the MPs need not worry about maintenance etc. price of the agreement should be transparent & justifiable up front, to clear up any misunderstanding

changing to foreign car doesnt us malaysians in anyway, so we must be creative and stringent in ensuring integrity in govt spending. If anyone have been doin fishy stuff, learn from the mistake and take precaution steps to avoid it next time round. Dont be to quick to punish, without the aim to improve

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:46 pm

wheregotcar said,

December 16, 2008 @ 6:29 pm

–can’t agree with ur point of views. lease a car can’t be an options as it maybe more expensive and security reasons too as for ministers or MPs. they also have options on supporting local automotive industries if they are to purchase cars which local assembled. for example Peugeot407 is local assembled and about 40% local parts. it is cheaper than toyota or honda and come with a Porsche’s gearbox.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:37 pm

some ppl complaint on honda civic 1.7 gearbox… i had read it at motortrader i think…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:53 pm

abloish the ap then no more problem. we deserve the right to buy porsche 911 turbos full spec instead of settling for the stupid porsche carrera basic

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:54 pm

buy the stupid carrera basic, put turbo, change the emblem to 911 turbo (add full spec also can)…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:11 pm

my friend had accord broken suspension less than a year.. you know what?
    he blame the JKR and samy vellu! (he not even had broken road to his house)..
    If…. heh!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:48 pm

Apparently my comments have been deleted…hmm…

• catdeco (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:02 am

Penang MP:Nvm lah…penang a lot of rich tax payer.

Perak MP:its ok lah,wat to care for..rakyat pay for it.

everything goes to rakyat.pity rakyat the tax payer

><“

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:04 am

Heh.

1st T’gganu.
    Then Perak.
    Now, Penang.
    More will follow!

People are waking and speaking out. No more suffering under the substandard cars of Potong!

• sohaimizainal (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:03 am

ariefemran, I agree that the maintenance of an Executive V6 is not the same with the normal V6, because of the bodyweight ratio and all.

As that is the case, and if these Pakatan State Governments walk their talk by wanting to be prudent and all, they should go for the standard V6 which costs less than 100K with lower maintenance cost.

My 2001 V6 had chalked slightly more than 300,000km and it is still serving me well. However, I did change my gearbox two years ago. But I put the blame squarely on my lack of maintenance. You see, I did not change the ATF as scheduled (actually, many times, it was way off schedule). In another case, my oil sump filter got clogged up with sludge because again I did not change the engine oil at the designated intervals. But now, I learned my lesson, and keep it maintained well, and the V6 is giving me good service in return with low ownership cost.

In this issue, I (and maybe there are others) suspect that the decision is not just plain RM sense, it has to do a lot more with politics. It is like “undo everything that the BN did or initiate”.

I hope that these Pakatan Government would do a thorough audit on the maintenance and make it public and let the rakyat decide what actually is the ROOT of the problem.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:38 pm

they should use the most reliable car in the world. honda civic.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 3:17 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 1:38 pm

they should use the most reliable car in the world. honda civic.

u must be obsessed with honda…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:22 pm

no, its a fact. as claim from those americanas

• TopGear (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:47 pm

both maintenance cost and resale value for Toyota Camry should be better
    than perdanav6,,, is a known fact….

if perdana is a better car…sure export to everywhere in the world !!!

(Inokom santa fee also not bad….now got offer…warranty 5 years !)

• SuperT (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 10:32 pm

Ceh, Harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi. Once they have power and money they will not think about anyone anymore. As long as they can get good car, comfort to drive, rakyat can go to H*ll. Prihatin kepada rakyat konon… F**KING LIAR.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Believe that most have heard the terms ‘team player’ before. As a Malaysian we should have that spirit too.

With equal abuse & level of maintenance, i agree that Camry is more reliable than Perdana. But to what extend? 5 times more reliable? 10 times? Or only 20% more reliable. Is this purchase matter that much?

And is this the only way out? Buy outside product?

Later when the staff in-house not good enough, employ outsiders to do the job? What about those graduated from USM, Lim Kok Wing or AIMST University? Less quality and less reliable so just dismiss them?

What about building? Our cement & sand is low quality so later need to import from outside?

I’m exaggerating here but this is where we’re heading actually. I agree with some Pakatan policies but this one gets my thumb down.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 9:52 am

Wisdom said,

December 17, 2008 @ 11:36 pm

–what u mentioned there’s people and company are doing so. even u can look at most of our minister and mp. the more u know the more u will get heartache or angry. welcome to the real world. hahahaha….they said camry is just an option and malaysia is in deal of the afta and an asean countries. so what a big fuss. if we buy camry and thailand buy proton is still a deal. hahahaha……..

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:17 am

all,

1) i believe DSZ will do something bout this matter….n i feel there will be perdana replacement soon.i strongly believe..just wait n see.
    For Perak Govt >org tamak selalu rugi..same goes to tganu govt

2)Dear ah beng..n all too

have u read all above comments? u’ll find that if someone support proton..doesnt mean that they will support the federal G or the PR..
    where else in malaysia that things are not controlled by the g? education, food price, fuel n most everything. Same happened to proton. If u have friend from proton, u may heard the words like ‘cronies’, ‘datuk-datuk’- n all thats is something that hardly proton to control….what are proton engineers doing is- working so hard develop the best car to be proud of all malaysians

sometimes i got confused, which party are you trying to blame: the g or proton..ask urself 1st!!

if it was the G..so meet the wakil rakyat and show them what u want. or go to any other political blog..comment everything on what u want from the g

if it was proton…read more book first bout automotive technology, ICE,mechanical/electrical engineering, business, and all related… u’ll find that develop n sell car is not as easy as making ais kacang..

hope someone from proton can invite ah_beng to see what actually proton do…RND, manufaturing process,tanjung malim plant,lotus n everything..pls make that proton open day once again..

3) Sex is wonderful, but it’s like…..**^$$##
    _______

I think u’re alpina#4…anyone agree with me?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:43 am

SuperT said,

December 17, 2008 @ 10:32 pm

Ceh, Harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi. Once they have power and money they will not think about anyone anymore. As long as they can get good car, comfort to drive, rakyat can go to H*ll. Prihatin kepada rakyat konon… F**KING LIAR.
    —————–
    he sounds lik khir toyo

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 11:06 am

tec96248 said,
    December 18, 2008 @ 9:52 am

–what u mentioned there’s people and company are doing so. even u can look at most of our minister and mp. the more u know the more u will get heartache or angry. welcome to the real world. hahahaha….they said camry is just an option and malaysia is in deal of the afta and an asean countries. so what a big fuss. if we buy camry and thailand buy proton is still a deal. hahahaha……..

———————————————————–

its not the matter of heartache or angry.

its the matter of Malaysian economy-ache….
    we know going global is about give and take. but malaysian known to only give and give….
    self destructing behavior. weird huh.

• japankiller (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 1:42 pm

If they do their job well, i really do not mind they have a better and reliable car, just like we do hope to get promotion and pay raise from employer if we work hard.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 3:46 pm

Wisdom said,

December 18, 2008 @ 11:06 am

–is just related to what u had said earlier “With equal abuse & level of maintenance, i agree that Camry is more reliable than Perdana. But to what extend? 5 times more reliable? 10 times? Or only 20% more reliable. Is this purchase matter that much?” . Not that they don’t support locally as it might be other reasons too. don’t u think they deserve a better reliable car? open up ur ind and u will think differently already. hahaha

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 7:10 pm

Nakal said,
    December 18, 2008 @ 10:17 am

———————————–

haha… of course, its him… i dunno why he keep on changing his account name… This is the fourth change but the word “ALPINA” is now missing … hehehe…..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

December 18, 2008 @ 7:10 pm

Nakal said,
    December 18, 2008 @ 10:17 am

———————————–

haha… of course, its him… i dunno why he keep on changing his account name… This is the fourth change but the word “ALPINA” is now missing … hehehe…..
    ———————————
    i follow proton’s motto…dare to change but actual fact nothing to change at all

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 10:51 pm

This shows even the G don’t trust p1 anymore ..
    how about the malaysian ??

Proton should replace their Perdana V6 engine with a more economical straight4 engine ..
    i guess that should make the car more economical ..