Toyota Camry: new Perak state official car

Toyota Camry

The Perak government has purchased a fleet of Toyota Camry 2.4Vs, a total of 16 units worth RM2.7 million, or about RM167,000 each. Apparently they had to pay the full price for the cars because the Federal government allegedly refused to provide a tax exemption for the purchase.

Had they got an exemption, the purchase price would only have been RM97,000 per unit according to Senior State Executive Councillor (EXCO) Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham. The tax would have gone back to the government anyway, but the only difference is it’ll be channeled to the Federal government and not the state government.

I wonder if the Terengganu state government got a tax exemption for its Mercedes-Benz E200K purchase, since RM3.43 million for 14 cars is only RM245k each, well below the retail price of the E200K, though apparently such deals can even be gotten by people like you and me, though the cars will be pre-registered.

Reasons cited by the Perak government to justify the purchase are the usual ones – the high maintenance cost of the existing Proton Perdana V6 fleet. It seems the cost of maintaining the state’s fleet over a period of 4 years came up to more than RM1 million.

I don’t think Toyota Camrys are an excessive purchase but this move sends some wrong signals. Firstly, was the justification for the 2.4 litre model? If they had picked the cheaper Toyota Camry 2.0E model priced at RM141,109 instead, the total purchase cost would only be RM2.3 million for 16 units, a savings of RM 400,000, which is quite a substantial amount and can probably be used to fuel the fleet for an entire year!

Secondly, as I understand there is a policy to purchase locally assembled cars, probably for reasons of supporting the local manufacturing industry, why pick a CBU car when there are CKD alternatives such as the Honda Accord and the Peugeot 407?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 2:10 am

toyota is certainly for old people and politicians choice… for me i prefer Honda Accord…

• kkleefx (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:00 am

AFTA is a common market, gomen shouldn’t discriminate against products from member countries.

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 4:26 am

haiya.. dont know which dato kids getting big profit now.. haha.. check see the where the car purchase from… kakaka

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 4:28 am

talk about honda accord… i bit disappointed by the car…
    still having gear problem.. and now less than 6 months, the front 2 disc rotor have to be change (still under warranty)… waiting spare part to change it coming week from honda service. so fast KO already.

• ty2ls (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:35 am

Peugout 407?? Isn’t that buying from the crony??

• ^o^ (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:51 am

duh! as long as the money does not go back to dato kid like father and son in law corp can d la. enuf said.

• kucau (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:59 am

kkleefx,

its not about AFTA , its about supporting our local industries . Paultan specifically mentioned about local CKD alternatives

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:01 am

Are maintenance costs for Perdana’s really that expensive or someone is profiteering from it. Probably the justification is to nip the rice bowls of these profireering from the government PV6 maintenance contracts.

• alihms (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:08 am

Just goes to show that PR government is no more credible than BN. Wasting public money in this trying time. If the maintenance cost is high, then go for another workshops. They must be plenty around willing to take over with much reduced cost.

By the way, didn’t they realize Proton City is in Perak. Buying Proton cars will DIRECTLY help the Perak economy as well. Someone may say Perdana is assembled in Shah Alam. Do note that Shah Alam is also in PR gov. controlled states.

• arch747 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:11 am

Ya PR, pls justify the 2.4 over the 2.0

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:13 am

i think i said it once, it would prove more sense if they chose a honda accord and a peugeot 407 since its locally assembled, the perak government would look unpatriotic to choose a thai-assembled car, it would leave room for the BN govt holes that it could fit and make hell of the PR govt. i only wished that the PR govt have better advisers in the automotive segment

• shamel (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:18 am

Yes, if they still wanna change to more reliable Toyota they should opt for 2.0G the most instead of 2.4. Kind of bergaya using people money. Or l guess better get locally assemble Accord in 2.0 form. SOHC engine good for politician use.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:25 am

politicians are all the same.

the so called 1 million maintenance bill mentioned by perak, was actually during the BN period.. what PKR should have done, was to call for an investigation into this to find out why it costs so much, since there were some “fishy” things going on with terengganus perdanas. This definitely goes against their so called promises for more transparency, and to investigate all wrong doing..etc. blah blah…

what did they do? go out and buy a higher spec imported camry for themselves.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:27 am

Actually this action proved that Proton is unable to improve and to built more better cars… No new Perdana…

It is also a move to shoot back the G that, even Toyota cars can have better durability, more comfort and safety then our local Proton cars..

As you can see above, the federal G dont want to exempt the tax on the car.. So the current BN G also want to untung from the people of Perak also.. So even you buy Proton is also BN cronies.. See the big picture?!?

Anyway this move if they specified the car model and warranty, maybe i can accept. Rather then the stupid Merc 200k in Terengganu.. but i think the Terengganu Merc is a bit cheap then market price.. Hmm.. Tax exemption for BN states?!?

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:46 am

Aiya ….

this prove again that Proton is quite useless …

I think wad Toyota can do now is to show some statistics that their cars are more economical and practical in long term than Proton V6 …

If Barang Naik govt want to say the Perak govt is not patriotic, pls rethink again you dumb bastard Barang Naik …
    The PM escort are using XC90, X trail ..
    Y dun u all go and buy Perodua Nautica …
    IDIOT !!

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:58 am

alihms said,

By the way, didn’t they realize Proton City is in Perak. Buying Proton cars will DIRECTLY help the Perak economy as well. Someone may say Perdana is assembled in Shah Alam. Do note that Shah Alam is also in PR gov. controlled states.

===============================================

ahlims,

You should be educated enough to know that the profits made by Proton goes back to the Federal Government and not the state government. Why? Simple….. simply because Proton s a GLC. Please take note.

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:01 am

Totally agree with lambov12. Well said, man!

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:06 am

Ralliace said,

December 15, 2008 @ 8:58 am

You should be educated enough to know that the profits made by Proton goes back to the Federal Government and not the state government. Why? Simple….. simply because Proton s a GLC. Please take note.

glc or not….all company must pay tax to g…

• tikus (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:07 am

Paul, went the Japan Afta will be sign said this month,no news pun?HOW?

• xstan (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:18 am

I ‘m not Proton basher but then each time my exco friends came over to visit me….I will definately know if they have arrived coz its Perdana is extremely noisy. U can even hear the cranking sound of the gear change. Its so baaaad.
    Even one have experienced of his car been tol back mid way. So embrassing..

So its right to source for Jap’s car. Dont understand why some (state opposition) go against thier decision to change thier car. Calling this Camry ..LUXURY Cars. What brainless & illiterate opposition?

• mayor81 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:19 am

Patriotic or not, they have their reasons. A car is only good if it’s not giving headache to the user. In terms of safety, which one is better? The 2.4V or the 2.0E/G? In terms of fuel consumption for long journeys? They have already discussed this with people from UMW (they don’t have to buy from agents – they go straight). Mind you which will have better resale value 2 years down the road? A V6 or a Camry? – (savings for the state government) This cars are subjected to heavy traveling all year long. A 1 year old EXCO car can chalk 100k++ mileage easily. 2 years of their use can be equivalent to 5 years of our usage. Think again….

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:21 am

Definitely agree, they should have opt for the Camry 2.0E …..

That’s why ….. a lot of people are so excited about PR govt ….. you see not much better than the former ….. however having said that, maybe they are still new that is why they are still not as bad …… let’s see what they have to say …..

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:22 am

lambov12 said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 8:46 am

agree with you. There even more Toyota Fortuner used by all the G agencies. Still say Perak G not patriotic ka?. Tax exempation also only for BN? what kind of administration BN wants to show? macam budak2 la. ingat cam gula2 ape.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:25 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 8:25 am

politicians are all the same.

the so called 1 million maintenance bill mentioned by perak, was actually during the BN period.. what PKR should have done, was to call for an investigation into this to find out why it costs so much, since there were some “fishy” things going on with terengganus perdanas. This definitely goes against their so called promises for more transparency, and to investigate all wrong doing..etc. blah blah…

what did they do? go out and buy a higher spec imported camry for themselves.

————————————————————-

Read my earlier comments. And to inform….its the direct service centre that charging enormous sum..& this perdana trully masuk workshop every week. No joke.
    Furthermore..purchasing Camry & at this period will ensure them 3 years free service & warramty. Under promotion. Soooo much cost savings.

Again…the Perdana (took from previos BN)_ is complete problematic car. The Exco (even I) is so embarassed to seat or drive the car.

• p1basher (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:34 am

they opt for toyota reliability, nothing wrong for me.

But why 2.4l? so that some ppl may earn more money? they could spend more petrol? showoff?

• biggie (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:36 am

The money GLC paid to its workers as salary are to the rakyat of Perak and Selangor. The same money is being used to pay for shopkeepers/warong/etc in Perak and Selangor. All the Workers who live in Perak and Selangor pay land duty/door tax/city tax to the state govt, as also the owner of warong/sundry shops/ etc… How may ppl profit ? Who got the tax money?

Now the only one that making profit are the few anak Dato who import and get maintainance contract for the Camrys (must be the same anak Dato who import for S’ngor govt as well). Maybe thats what PKR/DAP wants … same type of politicians

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:39 am

I too am quite dissapointed with the PR. If they had really wanted to save money, get just max 3 so-called “Big Cars” as the State Offical Cars. The Camry 2.0 is suffice, no need for a 2.4L car.

For the rest, just get a City / Vios or at the max, a Civic / Altis. After all, these are actually State Civil Servants, at max Civic / Altis is already very good. Only when they need to ferry “foreign investors”, they need the big car.

MB of Kelantan, stil uses his own very old MB, heard its like 20+ years old. But for official functions, he will use the State official car.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:45 am

somehow i think that behaviour of G-owned perdana drivers should be look into. are perdana really that bad?
    is the car service was done according to the schedule?
    is the car was driven like a ferrari?
    is there “atas angin untung” due to excessive markup by the service center?

in other pt of view,
    i think proton could do a thorough post-mortem on their flagship perdana.
    proton should take this as a challenge. hire more car-passionate workers (assembly man, technician, engineer, manager) rather than typical worker with “asal boleh” mindset.

most important thing,
    the perak state gov. should be more “telus” to tell the rakyat what are the justification of buying those camry.

• nyawere (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:51 am

This is just my 2 cents, soo please dont bash me…!!!

Tka kira laaa, what car is better, Merc or Toyota, the fact remains that these cars are not Malaysian cars. Malaysian leaders should be patriotic and support their own product. If they are all about Malaysia and not their self, they will not use anything else but Proton..!!!!. Look at to Japan. The leaders will never use anything else but Japanese. Same goes to the Americans. All govet cars are American cars.

Sooo, bottom line is, despite all the cash involved (which by the way we must overcome, but by not changing to another brand) the leaders of Malaysia must buy Malaysia product, even when it is not goo enuff..!!! Or do not become leaders. You people can become businessman…!!!

Support Malaysia..!!

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:57 am

yes, a honda accord is ckd but its more expensive. a peugeot is too frenchie and might not adhere to the target of saving maintainence cost. still, i hate toyota’s but i think its a good move. as long as they don’t buy protons.

• DRC (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:06 am

Certainly people within certain class should drive cars of certain class, as they frequently meet people of similar class.  Imagine if you yourself a senior specialist doctor and head of Department, will you drive Kancil to work?  If you see a lawyer who seemingly only drives a Proton Saga and you got an important case, will you let him handle?  PR did not buy Merc or BMW.  It is just Toyota Camry, and it is below RM100K, the rest is because of TAX.  To me a chief minister of a state driving a below RM100k car like Toyota Camry 2.5L is reasonable, afterall the rest of the money still go back to Government.  Why not buying an Accord or Peugeot?  If I were them, I will not also;  simply because Toyota is more reliable and more durable (you can add Merc specs into Proton and sell it RM20 000 cheaper than Toyota Camry 2.0E, I will still be reluctant to buy, specs is not equivalent to quality).  So I see this move is actually money-saving.

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:12 am

Its a different story when Japanese and Americans use their own Japan / USA cars.

Firstly, thay have so many choices / modesl to chooses from whereas we only have Proton, unless you want a MyVi as a offical car. Here in Bolehland, its only the Perdana V6 or Waja. The Perdana is already more than 10 years old and the Waja will approach something like 6/7 years.

Secondly, the Americans / Japanese actually make decent cars.

I remember the late Lady Diana, her fav car was her Benx, she too got critized for not driving a British car.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:14 am

nyawere,
    betul gak ape ko ckp tu.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:17 am

Toyota is more reliable than Honda (and definitely more than peugeot!)
    Toyota has statistically proven lowest maintainence costs. Also, they would get the 3 yrs warranty provided by Toyota.

I don’t agree with them buying 2.4l but then again, at least they didn’t buy Mercs. Also, if the blardy G gave taxexemption the price would be <RM100k, not that excessive at all. I don’t blame them though for not driving Potong. The Perdana sucks, the gearbox is a piece of crap that breaks after 30-50,000km (many have complained, just check any auto forum), the SC is notorious for overcharging and staffed by incompetent idiots, and the Potong people don’t even understand the basic definition of “customer service”.

Hell, even Mahathir don’t wanna drive his Perdana, and he is the founder of Potong – rather be chauffered around in his VW Phaeton (until thye make him give it back……..lol!)

And for those who claim only a few “anak datuk” benefit from this, well, whose policy allow it for them to be this way? None other than the G.

I am not PR supporter (don’t trust Anwar either) but better them than the current corrupt G with a crap auto policy. Hopefully no more of my money go to Potong to bail them out.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:17 am

Hai,

Just another drama politicking. When Terengganu’s BN Government wanted to buy Mercedes cars (foreign) due to high maintenance of Prerdana, Pakatan Rakyat bash them blindly all of the sudden. Not to mention, the PR’s hardcore fans bash even more. Yes, the sweet of victory. But there’s more untold tale about it.

When Perak’s Pakatan Rakyat Government wanted to buy Toyota cars (also foreign) and come out with similar excuse like Terengganu Government, everybody believes them blindly. Eh guys, can you see, I told many people many times before, Pakatan Rakyat is a hypocrite from day one. PR is worst, being an opposition, they have the advantage of “putar belit” stories, can’t be helped, DSAI himself a well known spin-king.

As for the cars, I’ve chat with few government drivers before, it turns out the issue is not entirely about car maintenance and etc., but its the behavior of some drivers themselves. Some of these government drivers totally abused the cars to the maximum. Pressing the gas pedal to the floor, cruising average 140~200 km/hr, breaking all available road regulations and keep on doing it for daily basis until the car breaks down (some of these drivers claimed they can drive from Ipoh to KL in just 1 hour). I wouldn’t be surprised if the maintenance cost is on the higher side of the bill. The drivers told me Perdana’s gearbox has always cause problems. But from technical point of view of a mechanic, the actual reason for the Perdana gearbox to fail prematurely (less than 5 years) is due to this inconsiderate style of driving of these drivers. With this kind of driving style, perhaps our government should buy the versatile and durable Humvee cars for the VVIPs or Datuks. Maybe the Humvee’s gearbox can tolerate with these driver’s lust for speed. Somebody needs to bash these irresponsible drivers as well.

Politicians either they are from the government side or the opposition side couldn’t be trusted entirely. We the Rakyat should carefully weight all the Pros and Cons before giving out our opinions and comments. They shouldn’t be any hardcore supporter. We are all neutral and humble Malaysians wanting the best from the government, that’s all.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:19 am

In between 2.0E & 2.4V, have you guys did a comparision? 2.0E dont have VSC and a lot of safety features, besides that it only have 4-speed auto, compare to 2.4V 5-speed auto. So in the long run, 2.4V still better in-term of FC if always running on highways. Even for toyota sales person, if you prefer safety, is either 1.8G Altis or 2.4V camry becoz of the VSC and more safety features. So if the EXCO is very safety cautious, i think 2.4V is the best to go.. Even those old uncles driving 2.0E are regreatting of not buying 2.4V.. You ask them underpower or not.. lolz

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:20 am

@nyawere:

“Sooo, bottom line is, despite all the cash involved (which by the way we must overcome, but by not changing to another brand) the leaders of Malaysia must buy Malaysia product, even when it is not goo enuff..!!! Or do not become leaders. You people can become businessman…!!! ”

what rubbish.

So many Proton salesman register to comment on this site?

Who teach you that Msian MUST BUY Msian product even when it sux? If they are both the same then maybe patriotism may be considered. But when it is far, far, far, far, far(x100) inferior also must buy?

No thank you.

I am as patriotic as anyone, but no thanks, I don’t believe in giving handouts and crutches. Stand on your own two feet, or don’t bother stand at all.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:22 am

Anyway SY0H, this is not a politics blog. If you want to talk politics talk at other especially your Pro-UMNO blog. As we normal Malaysians we just want to live in a fair & justice country just like what our first PM tunku adbul rahman promise..

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:24 am

@SY0H:

Did you also know many personal (non-G) Perdana owner also experience gearbox problem? And need to fork out thousands to fix?

Did you ever visit any malaysian auto forum before where got people complaining about Perdana gearbox?

How come none such issue arise for Camry (even older models?)

Or you mean to tell me each and everyone of the Perdana driver is gila-gila?

• muryadi (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:29 am

I think they should at least having Volvo S80.

I do really trust on them and they are really doing their job very hard.

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:39 am

Did you also know many personal (non-G) Perdana owner also experience gearbox problem? And need to fork out thousands to fix?
    Did you ever visit any malaysian auto forum before where got people complaining about Perdana gearbox?
    How come none such issue arise for Camry (even older models?)

Im suspecting two reasons:
    1) Camry owners are more likely to service their cars more regularly.
    2) …and use the specified (as in the manual) gearbox fluid.

The perdana gearbox is known to fail when:
    1) A higher viscosity (than specified in the manual) auto trans oil is used. Some owners think it’s better as it’s more expensive, but in reality it’s not suitable.
    2) When it is not serviced for long periods.

> I’d contend that the perdana is more reliable than most continental cars. Has anyone had experience with both a perdana and a continental sedan?

The perdana gearbox in govt fleet cars is known to fail when:
    1) AhBeng’s and AhMad’s at the subcontractors who maintain them want to buy their kids a PS3.
    2) The use of substandard parts sold at prices of new parts to repair the fleet…so they break down more frequently and get more money making maintenance.
    3) Heck, it’s not their car. Leave the damn overdrive off. Redline it on “2” on the roads… you dont know the abuse cars can get.

• alihms (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:44 am

Ralliace

——————————–

True – the tax goes to Federal Gov. But don’t forget my main point is it is located in Perak. This means the workers are from Perak (and Selangor if we’re to be nitpicked). Living and spending money in Perak. A bulk of Proton suppliers are at Proton City in Perak – so are their workers and families. Businesses such as supermarkets, hotels etc have been set up in Perak to cater for them. The town is alive with activity because of them. The multiplier effect on the economy is there.

Even when the tax goes to the Fed Gov. It’s a whole lot better economically speaking than getting a CBU cars from Thailand. Less money outflow and such. Besides patriotism, it also shows an element of political maturity. Politically matured state governments thinks about the nation as a whole – including those from other states which did not vote for them.

This issues just goes to show PR is no different from BN. Indications are there that two other PR led states (Penang and Kedah) are going in the same way – ditching their Perdanas on the ground of expensive maintenance.

• TheDuck (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:45 am

I think its a wiser move to buy the camry. Although its more expensive, as compared to the Perdana. In the long run, its certainly cheaper to maintain.

On the other hand, why 2.4? and not 2.0?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:01 am

I think the BN & PR is 2 different group, as they bought different car also.. BN = MERC, PR = Toyota which 1 superior..

Anyway if you go see Tun Dr. Mahathir, i think foreign cars are more then local cars in his back yard.. Especially his son.. lolz..

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:04 am

not_ah_beng said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 10:24 am

I do not understand your argument and I believe because you do not understand mine. Perhaps it is your part time hobby to harass other forumers for your self-indulge intrinsic lust. Its obvious you’re a type that read things lightly and blind bash heavily. Kind of Mr.-Right-and-all-others-are-wrong-type. Read it carefully bro.

It is clearly stated above there, I quote,

“… As for the cars, I’ve chat with few government drivers before, it turns out the issue is not entirely about car maintenance and etc., but its the behavior of some drivers themselves…”

Notice the sentence “NOT ENTIRELY” and “SOME DRIVERS…”. I don’t speak excellent English, but at least it is still a decent English which is enough for a kindergarten kid to understand. I don’t remember posting all drivers are need-for-speed-lust-demons. And my argument only limited to SOME irresponsible government drivers that drives Proton Perdana which is a very common issue to begin with. And why you’re some damn pissed off and sensitive? You’re having PMS? I thought only woman having those difficulty? The argument up there is very common and vague. I didn’t object the government to buy Mercedes nor Toyota. Just that the people will need to consider human factor as well other than worshiping certain car brands.

Owh yeah, I once owned a Proton Perdana, and there’s no problem with the gearbox. So I consider your claims is still debatable. Enough said.

• n8cky (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:10 am

so good to be a politician~

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:13 am

LittleFire85 said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 11:01 am

There’s nothing wrong for politicians to buy imported cars. There’s no law that prohibits any Malaysians not to buy one. If you have the cash, why not? At least Tun Dr. Mahathir used Proton Perdana for daily commute between house and office. How about Opposition Leaders? Are you trying to tell us that only Opposition Leaders can drive Imported brands. Your argument as usual, LittleFire85 has always been non-substantial and full with imagination. Enough said.

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:16 am

Buying a foriegn car doesn’t make you less any patriotic!

People choose makes of other cars simply because of quality and reliability. Can the Proton Perdana match the Camrys in terms of quality and reliability? If you guys know a thing or two about cars, I would suspect your answer to my question would be quite straight forward.

Why no one made noise when our PDRM decided to purchase Evo 10s? Why didn’t you people make the same noise then and hoped for the PDRM would remain using Protons?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:29 am

Ralliace said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 11:16 am

Buying a foriegn car doesn’t make you less any patriotic!

People choose makes of other cars simply because of quality and reliability. Can the Proton Perdana match the Camrys in terms of quality and reliability? If you guys know a thing or two about cars, I would suspect your answer to my question would be quite straight forward.
    __________________________________________________-

End of the day, my biff is against the PKR govt. for doing things that they themselves promised they wouldnt do. And someone said this is not political?? this has everything to do with politics.

The facts are, PROTON is a product of the government. In a way, the govt forced many to buy proton’s (which explains all the angry people in this blog) by overtaxing foreign makes. Now they themselves do not even want to buy proton’s, but still continue to expect malaysian’s to buy them.. so whose fault is this? definitely not Proton’s, they have no say in this matter.

• adil2008 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:46 am

Both BN or Pakatan wont think for the people, why?
    1. why the federal goverment dont want to waived the tax?
    2. why state government need to spend extra RM400K like paul said?
    final conclusion is both of them is think for them self, dont talk about “for rakyat”.
    save the money and help for those who needed.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:58 am

SY0H, i dont want to mess with you. But i think BN terengganu are even worst..

Are you sure you saw Tun Dr. M be4 or went to his open house? his kids business & the fleet of imported cars at his house seen is believing! Even he sit on a Perdana to work, that is just G car he can claim from the G but how about his own cars?!? You know Taib Mahmud of Sarawak? I think he is sitting on a rolls royce to work.. BN cronies earn more then a bunch of Perdana sitting at thier own back yard. If PR state buy Toyota is wastefull, then just vote them down. So what? Since you decide on the vote. If you think BN ppl wont wollop more money then PR, then vote for BN. So what? In the end, is your choice! This is a car blog, not Political blog please keep it clean.

• biggie (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:11 pm

Why the federal govt do not want to waived tax?

Look at my earlier response, for the price paid without taxes if it is locally made cars then it will benefit thousands of ppl (working direct or indirect making the car). If its not local then the benefit goes elsewhere.

The tax paid for imports will still go to the rakyat. So why should waived them?

PDRM use evos for specific reasons. Why politicians want to use evos? The need to go from home – office – parliment etc. A Saga should do the job.

At least every time it goes to the workshop to replace parts then some rakyat will benefit from it.

Private citizens are free to choose what they want, however the what the G do (either opposition or BN) need to benefit the rakyat. It seem that as opposition you can get away with everything but not BN.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:33 pm

well said biggie

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:33 pm

I think the move to buy Camry is a good choice. In fact I think the MBs should travel in Volvos in the country can afford them. Saga? Total crap, like my saga 1 yrs old sudah kemek sana sini. But I am not an important person, the MBs should deserve better.

• onzetool (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:35 pm

My opinion is:
    CAKAP BIAR SERUPA BIKIN….WALK THE TALK
    PR JADILAH CONTOH!!!!!

What I got fr the media is that the main issue of the replacement is the current V6s are all junk now. Very unreliable and ‘unrepairable’.
    Proton is still making new V6s, so lelong the existing & buy new one!!! I think it’s that easy.
    You are govt people, if you don’t buy, than who else???

Ok, existing cars might have been gone thru many abuses, be it by the driver or the ‘unpro’ crony w/shop.
    So forget the existing cars and LELONG them!
    Buy the new one and take what GOOD care you told other people (BN govts) should have done!

AGAIN, CAKAP BIAR SERUPA BIKIN LA….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:36 pm

jeanloo said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 12:33 pm

I think the move to buy Camry is a good choice. In fact I think the MBs should travel in Volvos in the country can afford them. Saga? Total crap, like my saga 1 yrs old sudah kemek sana sini. But I am not an important person, the MBs should deserve better.

————————-

how did you car kemek? if you got hit, or hit something.. any car will kemek. its got nothing to do with the car.

and btw, MB’s are there to serve the people, not the other way around. Technically, an MB only needs to get from A to B to do his job. he doesnt need to be in the lap of luxury during that time.

if a saga is good enough for the thousands of malaysians out there, it should be good enough for an MB as well.

but the facts are far from the truth of course.

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:46 pm

I think the reason the PR govt. chose Camry is for PR (public relations) reasons. They know they’d get creamed if they wanted to buy a Mercedes, so they chose the Camry because it’s befitting the standards of what a politician should be driven in, but not expensive enough to cause anger from the rakyat. Personally, I think that many of the of the politicians, being human after all, would have loved to get a Mercedes.

Anyway, the gearbox on the Perdana is sourced from Mitsubishi right?

• pippen (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:48 pm

Auto-industry is one of the culprit to malaysia’s economy situation. Proton, or Camry, it is all down to the same problem, the whole nation is being ransom by the G to sell us car in higher price than it’s value (any car selling in the country except tax excempted place are over price).
    It is very simple, the banks, the distributors of the cars, the repair shop that got the contracts dealing with the G has all the connection.
    Only a true open market competition will eliminate or minimize such situation, and our hard earn money will not spend in 7 years car loan.
    What is the cost of a car in a normal house-hold family total income?
    It’s very simply, that people have been using the same AP, car-tax strategy to earn money does not benefits the normal people like you and me, the only way is abolish the unfairness of the market competition, and only then inflation, and price of the product will goes down. The G only knows how to control resources to earn money, but this will not help to economy since inflation CANNOT be controlled. It’s the market that determine, and without open market competition, the price will not drop.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:48 pm

SY0H said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 10:17 am

Hai,

Just another drama politicking. When Terengganu’s BN Government wanted to buy Mercedes cars (foreign) due to high maintenance of Prerdana, Pakatan Rakyat bash them blindly all of the sudden. Not to mention, the PR’s hardcore fans bash even more. Yes, the sweet of victory. But there’s more untold tale about it.

When Perak’s Pakatan Rakyat Government wanted to buy Toyota cars (also foreign) and come out with similar excuse like Terengganu Government, everybody believes them blindly. Eh guys, can you see, I told many people many times before, Pakatan Rakyat is a hypocrite from day one. PR is worst, being an opposition, they have the advantage of “putar belit” stories, can’t be helped, DSAI himself a well known spin-king.

————————————————————–

I dont agree with u.

Helloooo….the Pakatan Rakyat didnt critise fully the Terengganu. Perak PR also agree back then to change the vehicle (which they took over from previos over already 3 years old ) to not MERCs but Camry. So is Penang. They complaints why would they prefer luxury cars ..cars like Camry will do.
    cerainly u don do u homework..blast PR like any Umno’s hypoC.

Like I said..I’m no Proton Basher but certainly the Perdana left overs are sad very SAD state. Bloody noisy with clanking noise. It even needed to be tol while breakdown. Is sooooo embrassing sitiution which I would also embrassed to be seen with the car.

Remember, SC here in Perak would not want to service their cars only after they settle thier long debts accumulated by the previous EXCOs.

oooh…I see u must be one of the govt rasist member.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:48 pm

@SY0H:

Not really, if anyone had PMS, its you my friend. When caught out in a lie. As you also said this:

“But from technical point of view of a mechanic, the actual reason for the Perdana gearbox to fail prematurely (less than 5 years) is due to this inconsiderate style of driving of these drivers.”

This is incorrect. Since MANY other personal Perdana owners also experienced this issue (including reader on this blog and posters on forum) so its clear that you are wrong, unless majority of PV6 driver has “inconsiderate driving syle” – which is not true. In fact, this is a very common problem in PV6, just ask any mechanic in Proton service centre and they will admit.

So please do admit your mistake like a man ok? Don’t learn from our MPs like Bung Mohktar. :)

And for your own example – well, no one cares. This is the Internet, anyone can said anything with zero evidence. I rather believe the FACTS from the many thousands of PV6 drivers who experienced this problem.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:56 pm

@BWM:

“and btw, MB’s are there to serve the people, not the other way around. Technically, an MB only needs to get from A to B to do his job. he doesnt need to be in the lap of luxury during that time.

if a saga is good enough for the thousands of malaysians out there, it should be good enough for an MB as well. ”

I partially agree.

But Saga is not reliable. And not-nice la, gotta make the MB wait for tow-truck when it breaks down, or open his door to collect toll ticket because, you know, power window rosak again. Hehe.

Now, is better to support a more effective national car manufacturer in P2. Myvi is a better choice. Quite comfortable too due to spaciousness.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:56 pm

BTW..is Camry categorised as luxury car…u sure??

But certainly Mercs is.

certainly u don expect they drive Saga.

Its cost effective if u own realiable Camry with 3 years warranty & service fee , rather then service a 3 years old JUNK with bill exceeding more then a price of Camry. hey RM170K / 3 years = RN56K/annum is deemed comfort.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:07 pm

offtopic>>

for me,
    *patriotic is doing good for the sake of country.
    *consumer has the right to choose what they are going to buy.

if person A has to choose between product B or product C,
    let him/her buys what he/she likes.
    because consumer has the right to choose.

however
    if either product B or C is not up to par with standard,
    i think the manufacturer of product B or product C is the one to be blame.
    patriotic in this sense is to provide a product so that the nation would be proud of.

for the camry&merc case,
    let see what the toyota&merc could offer.

as for proton,
    learn what toyota&merc are doing to satisfy the customer.
    implement that in ur system.

to the drivers of gov vehicle,
    treat toyota&merc vehicle as proton vehicle:
    drive them as u drove proton before.

• xg9 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:10 pm

jeanloo said,

———————————————

agreed with you bro.. they deserve it. and i think pm should travel in maybach. even though i dont quite like him..

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:12 pm

obviously u dun drive a saga. the 20 years mitsu engine is fine for me, but the car is built like pasting paper over a frame. anyway, you go get elected then you ma can sit free camry lor, y make so much noise, if no ppl elect for u then prove u not good enuf lor.

• isharestuff (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:16 pm

I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ said,

December 15, 2008 @ 4:11 am

at least thus has big butt to fuck the v6 hard until it honk out loud like the japanese pornstars

——————————

Direct injection, double clutch shifting, double airbag, wow… it’s even more extreme than Kamikaze Girls and Gold Angels series. Wahahahahaha… :-P

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:18 pm

jeanloo said,

———————————————

Kemek? How’s that the fault of Proton? How the heck did you drive the car? Like a tank? Any 1 year old car will kemek if you drive like crap, even Mercedes, even Maybachs, even Bentleys, even Volkswagens, even Volvos, even BMWs…

• abtm (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:19 pm

i’ve no complains that they pick the 2.4 instead of the 2.0…at least they didn’t buy stupid mercs

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:19 pm

Lets guess what model of car and which states of Gov is the next…haha.

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:20 pm

Toyota is not a luxury car, it’s a full size realiablr sedan car. Toyota is the world’s largest car manufacturer known for making good reliable car with a reasonable pricing. Period

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:21 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 12:56 pm

Now, is better to support a more effective national car manufacturer in P2. Myvi is a better choice. Quite comfortable too due to spaciousness.

——————————————————-

Effective? As an ASSEMBLER of OTHER PEOPLE’S CARS! You won’t learn anything if just copy! Just like at school.

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:23 pm

Camry or mercs, we don’t have to argue. If the public transport is good, then everyone should just take the train or bus to work, instead of spending many frustrating hours stuck in jams everyday like in kl.

• biggie (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:42 pm

A quick one here, during this lunchtime.

If a politician cannot support our own industry, just let all of us tanam jagung and keep on buying from overseas.

It does not matter how the car is being made, whether as assembler (CKD), rebadging (Perodua/Naza), Licensed (Perdana, Wira) and Designed (Waja, Gen2 etc). But as long as it is made here then more rakyat can benefit from it, rather then CBU where none of us can make any profit from.

• layman (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Now Camry is good enough for PR, BN should professional enough to explain why they need a Merc.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:48 pm

@tiadaid:

“Effective? As an ASSEMBLER of OTHER PEOPLE’S CARS! You won’t learn anything if just copy! Just like at school.”

At least, it is a good car (for its price and our national market, although not so good overseas).

I rather drive a good car that is assembled or “copied” than an “original” (LOL) that is problematic, unsafe and plainly a lousy car. Most Malaysian agree as well. :)

• ingolstadt (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 2:11 pm

First of all, the reason the Terengganu government bought Mercedes E200, is to highlight the issue of excessive corruption going on with the previous government (BN also), as if a ‘hidden’ smear campaign for the previous corrupted MB, and highlighting this embarrassing issue to the people, to show that’s how ‘easy’ it is to trick the people’s money. Of course what they intended initially is to have some sarcastic play to the government, however being Malaysians, most of us are too stupid to not see this obvious move, and concluded that Perdana’s are rubbish that needs a few millions in maintenance, and begin bashing the TRG government for wasting money.

Perak however, was a less politically motivated move, from what I see here, its just some government contract won by Toyota. Of course like some who pointed out, the 2.4 is a justified purchase over the 2.0. The funny thing is, the so-called tax exemption not being given.

FYI, all thailand made vehicles had long been voided of any tax from some rebate structure, however the government wouldn’t wanna see Honda or Toyota cut their prices to Proton levels as well, as that would practically meant the end of our national automotive industry, thus quietly, the Japanese were ‘allowed’ to rip us off HUGE profits. – As basically maintaining their selling price would’ve been enough for their business plans over here in Malaysia.

If you’re the head of a business unit or division, you’ll understand its not necessarily a good thing to suddenly have your revenue grown by 200-300%, as that would practically meant you’d have a hard time the next year to do better. They’re enjoying their ‘slow’ gradual increase of profits like no other time before.

• ferox (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 2:27 pm

In conclusion, close Proton down. Where’s my apology letter Proton? ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 2:33 pm

ingolstadt said,
    Perak however, was a less politically motivated move, from what I see here, its just some government contract won by Toyota.

___________—-

its only a contract won if there was a tender right? or they just decided, and bought the camry? looks like the latter.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 2:56 pm

Firstly, I don’t think the Camry’s are excessive. There are obvious differences to justify the move from 2.0L to 2.4L. After all, the 2.4L is just a regular family sedan (view upon anyone elses eyes outside malaysia). The additional cost per unit is negligable if your spread it over the 3-5 years it will be in service.

But I would agree, with this economic climate, it might be the bad timing garnering it bad publicity. Nothign more.

In the case of T’ganu, did they really need Benz’s? Can’t a Camry or Accord do? Thats the difference.
    Though I find it odd if they didn’t get the Accords if CKDs were the only reason they were denied taxes.

And against the PV6? the PV6 Executive isn’t cheap, actually if I’m not wrong, should be even more than the Camry (if you remove taxes).

Lets face it. Proton has nothing to offer…unless you seriously consider the Waja Chancellor as being a contender LOL. Same engine and gearbox as the PV6 so that don’t help its cause.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:02 pm

none of my (our) business lah, even if they get themselve Maybach or Rolls-Royce…..

Gov buy Camry, u guys bashing about Camry pulak, SWEAT~

• Infinitt (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:13 pm

To all Perak politicians : This really bullshit, if you all really want Camry or else please buy yourself. Not to use state budget. I dont care what cars should be either proton etc..the important is not to use our money to show off your ride car..otherwise you drive yourself then i know…

• xstan (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:17 pm

1st PR unable to source for good support from its Proton Service Cntre due to accumulated debts from former State Govt.

So Proton is out of list…thus perak Govt looks for realibility with 3 yers or longer warranty. Present Toyota offering 2/3 years servie free…see no worry for the 3 years & is indeed cost saving to own 1.

Imagine Perdana repair bill coming up to RM100K p/mth as against 3 years woorry free. Dont u think is cost saving?? Cost saving for the Rakyat….smart move then having acquire Mercs.

• whiteeye (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:34 pm

This is a smart move by Perak gov to replace proton, how they spend to maintain the Perdana until million’s?

This also show how unfair is it when the Federal Gov still under the ruling of BN against PR where

Mercedes-Benz E200K Rm 245k each X 14 units = 3.43m against
    Toyota Camry 2.4Vs with exemption Rm 97k x 16 units =1.5 m
    without exemption Rm 167k x 16 units = 2.7 m

where Toyota Camry is much more cheaper with or without exemption than Mercedes-Benz a total of 1.93 million save, it is totally half had been save.

Consumer also need to buy that price becoz of the tax wondering how BN can calculate this kind of math? Truly their Math is very good. What to do this is Malaysia where next general election hope the PR will get the federal Gov. This also means tat where state under BN now will get all the cheap things, where our MR Pak lah said don’t blame the landslide over the previous state gov, this show you how unfair is it under such ruling un-responsible gov, and suck people’s money over all the tax (food tax, car tax, import tax, income tax) all hard own money of the nation just grab that way and use it more unnecessary projects! And the furl price already drop and Malaysia just drop until Rm1.9 wtf!

If next general election choose BN = Mati or
    If next general election choose PR = They will be a NEW HOPE!

• xstan (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:36 pm

Glad to hv present Perak Governace…instead of the previous who loose out all our rakyat duit over all fail project. Any1 game for fish skin underwear..the no-brainer project. So many fail & yet lose making project in the past.

this time the Pk Govt are working people with BRAINS.

hey..wat do u mean Camry a luxury car..bark at the wrong tree izzit Adun Pangkor.

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 4:26 pm

xstan said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 3:36 pm

i agree with you. The previous state G even uses state money for their own this and those. The people who were in government even didn’t know how to justify own’s money and people’s money. PR at least do study and justification before doing something.

• erichigc (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 6:41 pm

Rumours
    Heard that Toyota Management would like to have a large promotion with price reduction for most toyota models in Malaysia. Unfortunately, it was stopped by someone.

Anyone else heard of this news?

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 6:41 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 1:48 pm

At least, it is a good car (for its price and our national market, although not so good overseas).

I rather drive a good car that is assembled or “copied” than an “original” (LOL) that is problematic, unsafe and plainly a lousy car. Most Malaysian agree as well.
    —————————————————————

I doubt your comment about most Malaysian agreeing with you. If so, why then is the Saga selling like hotcakes? You say that because you’re biased against Proton for its sins in the olden days, when they were just finding their way with the Waja and the Gen-2. But what about the Persona, Satria Neo & Saga? Many said it is a step in the right direction. And furthermore, with Proton creating cars on their own, it’s an excellent base for our engineers to practice what they’ve learned. You can’t do that if you just assemble the cars.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:22 pm

This purchase shows few things;
    1. Is the perdana v6 really crap? .. I think its nearly there. Proton must do something about this soon, if not other people will follow buy Toyota’s and honda’s to replace their cars. I only suspect that state governments can get away with it not some government department.
    2. Will send the wrong signals to other people-they will also will not buy proton.
    3. I thuoght there was the 2.0 executive version of the camry’s, here opposition shooting themselves in the foot if they want cheap executive cars, go for 2.0, not 2.4.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:43 pm

What a bunch of lies…what do they think they can repeat it again and again people will believe.

Are the Perdanas that expensive to maintain? Why don’t the take up Proton’s offer the examine the cars and the maintenance records? Proton wants to get to the bottom of the problem. Just let them investigate like they did in Terengganu. Remember that? It turns out there was a lot of fishy business going on…

Plus a lot of Perdanas are being used for executive taxis and so on, if they were that expensive to maintain, the drivers would run out of business wouldn’t they?

Come on la.. do make Proton the scapegoat…just say that you want to drive a Camry like a BIG TOWKAY…dont lie, people aren’t stupid!

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:47 pm

“Politician issssssssssss politician.. ”

no matter what, they are still politicians.

“Silent politician is no politician” as Lim Kit Siang said so..

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:57 pm

Rumours
    Heard that Toyota Management would like to have a large promotion with price reduction for most toyota models in Malaysia. Unfortunately, it was stopped by someone.

Anyone else heard of this news?
    =========================================
    can u go to other people market and try to kill local industry? i dont think so, it was normal that each gov not allow import car to be damn cheap then local made/local owner car. Each gov protect local industry. India will protect maruti, indon will protect toyota, cruel, but that life…. :|

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:17 pm

Im speechless overtime….
    i agree with some of you here……
    no matter whoever party they are still the same….
    ALL POLITICIANS WILL SHOW THEIR TRUE COLOURS ONE DAY !!!!
    haizzzzzzzz………..

next-time malaysians must protest election by making “UNDI-ROSAK”….

Letz vote for no one !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:24 pm

Paul , why u havent’ mention about Penang Government yet…..
    Lim Guan Eng just stated that Penang also gonna change their 43 EXCO perdana V6 cars to imported foreign cars….. He said they not gonna buy MALAYSIAN cars anymore and also mentioned that Proton is providing “abysmal” service…. What will happen to national automobil industry if the own country’s leader-to-be don’t trust them…. What is happening to them nowadays !!!!! These issues of G changin’ official vehiclas are damn hot in Singapore news portal !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:26 pm

ALL POLITICIANS ARE BLEEDY SHITS !!!!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:48 pm

i agree with u all… haha..

quite weird with not ah beng comment… when he gives comment he usually will stated something that malaysian will fully agree with his comment… no offense not ah beng… it just i want to know if u read thousands of totally different comment posters at the other site or just some hundred?

malaysia has nearly 25millions ppl… say like u just read 100 different ppl comment… it is 100over25million… ok la, its too much… if only 20,000 ppl owns PV6 give comments, that it is only 1/200 comment… still not reliable…

so, pls dont say things means MANY PEOPLE AGREE WITH ME… and again, no offence just ur statement is usually overdefined….

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:56 pm

btw paul, u own a perdana rite?

any comment?

• naz@proton (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:08 pm

pakatan rakyat perak datuk ngeah intentions to buy camry actualy is a dap idea, those day ronie liu dap exco frm pakatan selangor also interested to drive camry, why they behave like monkey if bn do this they will bashed to death. Anyway one more monkey g.eng also interested to suck tax payee money to drive camry. Dont bull shit to safe cost…….. All of u r the same cari jln to sucks……….go to hell lah. Byk ckp dr kerja.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:15 pm

All I can say is…
    Malaysian politics =BULLSH*T

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:58 pm

I think what they should do is learn a bit more about the cars they’re driving or being driven in. If you don’t know what goes on under the bonnet, some dishonest mechanic can easily trick you into paying a fortune for a faulty cable or a worn bushing.

On another note, I reckon we need more oil-burning passenger cars in our beloved country. As we all know, diesel engines have come a long way since the days when they were notoriously noisy and sluggish. In the UK, turbodiesels are quite commonly found in cars ranging from small cars and family cars to executive and luxury sedans. I remember driving a rental Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTi from Liverpool to Aberdeen, with 150bhp under my right foot, effortlessly cruising down the motorway at 140mph (~225km/h). And you’ve GOT to love the instantaneous surge of the 320Nm produced by the turbocharged lump!

Okay that was somewhat off-topic… =P

• csv (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:19 pm

eh, why didnt they consider nissan sylphy? cheaper, and maintence also good.

but the core problem is probably the drivers.

make them pay for their own cars la, best.(thats what our neighbouring country does) then we can see lots of wiras-bmws turning up.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:44 pm

I bet.. the past driver of BN MP .. are money $ucker..
    they are the one those kawtim with workshop to up the price.. the top-up one going into their pocket..

Yeah.. i know that…

*And current perak G , just refer to the previous state gov bills? How stewpid they are? I thought they were smarter.. but now… they are also rubbish!

I’ll vote Parti Cap Kunci for upcoming election..

Anyway… i dont ever believe in what all they said, either terengganu one.. and perak one.. The P- V6 was never THAT expensive as that to maintain..
    It wouldnt ever be 16K per year!.. but if 4 – 7K are reasonable.

unless ‘masuk poket driver or Private assistant (PA)’.. I knew… Many YB PA are cheaters too!.. They are more a$$hole.

Ok fine… now I get other reason for that..
    Ngeh Ho Kam and Perak MB are Toyota Fanboy.. same as Trengganu MB too.. Japanese Syndrom.

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:25 am

Look at what the G and the system has done to all of us. For far too long, Malaysian motorist have been cheated. We were forcefully asked to back the so called National Car from the start. They dished out rubbish cars for us to drive. whilst some cronies rakes in the millions from us. I agree, not entirely Proton’s faulty, it is the suppliers that is twisting the arm.

So now, after 20 plus years, many motoring public seemed to think the standard for cars is Proton. It is no wonder, why most people view the CAMRY as luxury cars. The sooner we wake up and realise that the G has robbed us of our rights to good and safe cars for our families, the G will continue to set the standard for cars. ie Proton

As the world progress, we get stuck in our shell thinking Proton is a good car.Unless, the definition of a car remains as a 4 wheeled engine vehicle changes to something that includes safety features as standard, we will be left behind in our own minds.

To me, the Camry 2.4 just about meet the minimum requirements of a modern day car.
    I think Toysrus sells better 4 wheeled engine vehicle, if we call them cars.

• RM (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:19 am

I’m so so tired of Proton and now its about patriotism.

• Cire (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:42 am

Rather put my patriotism to good use by being a productive citizen, pay tax on time, help each others and the rest, than to put hard earned monies on dismay products.
    It would be a laughing stocks for the country if Perak were to take a new fleet of perdana on the other hand. Everyones talking about high maintanence on PV6, and to go head on and be patriotic, this I am sure will get the same long lashing as this tread goes..
    never ending…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:21 am

Seriously, I think this is even more patriotic to save precious resources to be channeled into the state….even if the lopsided Federal government isn’t helping. With reports (true or not is another debate) of these PV6s racking tens of thousands in maintenance bills, the Camry would pay for itself over the service life.

Look, PR isn’t stupid. They know this will garner very negative press from the UMNO-BN camp. But they went anyway with the camry’s knowing full well this is going to get blown out. I would say they have gone full well into this knowing the benefits of the Camry.

The question is, why would they have not chosen the Accord 2.4 which is CKD that may have gotten a tax exemption. Anyone bother to ask maybe even with CKDs the Fereal Government was not too willing to give the tax exemption as well to oposition states? You know how twisted they can be.

But seriously, not too long ago, some of us still remember that the Corona (the Camry’s predecessor) is just a regular midsized sedan, one step up from the Corolla.

Its just that our rapidly slipping standard of living has pushed what was a regular sedan into the luxury realm in the eyes of the public. Guess who can we blame for that. Hell with the Camry, most people can’t even afford a Corolla….and even worst, even the Vios is beyond the reach of some.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:42 am

hhmm…I now understand that some forumers are still not mature yet with brain size if a pea..nut. C’mon guys be wise ..having free service + warranty is definately cost savings.

Guys should bashed Terrengannu for buying mercs instead. Those racist BN is simply money minded & biggest con. Still remember public outcry that the govt shld replace with Camry then Mercs..

Many here simply bark at the politicians instead of weighing reason. One young 7 racist guy is simply Nas@Proton. He shd know how much did the past Cronies owe to Ipoh Eon for thier Perdana till the service centre tak layan & blacklisted this car.

Note..the service centre do not even want to service this present Exco’s car..so they are in dilema. Wise choice..go get Camry.

wonder if Nas@Proton is from hell inviting guys to join him.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:39 am

not_ah_beng said,

December 15, 2008 @ 10:20 am

@nyawere:

“Sooo, bottom line is, despite all the cash involved (which by the way we must overcome, but by not changing to another brand) the leaders of Malaysia must buy Malaysia product, even when it is not goo enuff..!!! Or do not become leaders. You people can become businessman…!!! ”

what rubbish.

So many Proton salesman register to comment on this site?

Who teach you that Msian MUST BUY Msian product even when it sux? If they are both the same then maybe patriotism may be considered. But when it is far, far, far, far, far(x100) inferior also must buy?

No thank you.

I am as patriotic as anyone, but no thanks, I don’t believe in giving handouts and crutches. Stand on your own two feet, or don’t bother stand at all.
    —————————————–
    got, since primary school pendidickan moral teach already, jikalau anda membeli kereta buatan malaysian seperti proton wira atau perodua kancil bermaksud anda cinta akan malaysia. and this crap goes on until spm.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:57 am

To Perak state govt DRIVERs:

Please abuse the Camry as you guys normally do. No offence. We just want to know the reliability. Thanks.

• Ilove_lamborghini (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:19 pm

No hard feeling to everybody. Just imagine if we don’t have the Proton and The Produa, we should be paying at least 40% of the current car price. Just imagine the impact to all the Rakyat.

If we open the car market, do you think all the major car manufacturers will set up the factories in Thailand, where they have manpower probelm, people who do not speak English and Thailand do not have the downstream industries to support the automotive industries. Imagine how much Malaysia have been losing for all these years……………………
    Just calculate how many Toyota imported to Malaysia per year, multiply by the value of the car. Then you will know how much we are losing. We are talking about Toyota only. If you include Honda, BMW, Isuzu and others, the losing amount per year can actually buy out the toll companies in Malaysia in a year!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:56 pm

what about mazda 6, that car is nice.

• Mavmanuel (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 8:53 am

Camry’s are NOT luxury cars, Bangkok uses Camry’s as Taxis.

In Malaysia, because of the taxes imposed on Japanese cars, Japanese cars are overstated as luxury cars.

A Merc, BMW, Audi are luxury cars… what is there to ponder further?

• Mavmanuel (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 8:59 am

Ilove_lamborghini said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 12:19 pm

Not a news flash but totally agree with you…
    It’s such a shame; I envy those who gets to buy a Vios for the price of a Saga.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:38 pm

Mavmanuel said,

December 17, 2008 @ 8:59 am

Ilove_lamborghini said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 12:19 pm

Not a news flash but totally agree with you…
    It’s such a shame; I envy those who gets to buy a Vios for the price of a Saga.
    —————————————
    the saga is rubbish.

• samsung_lj (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 12:34 am

SY0H, i dont want to mess with you. But i think BN terengganu are even worst..

Are you sure you saw Tun Dr. M be4 or went to his open house? his kids business & the fleet of imported cars at his house seen is believing! Even he sit on a Perdana to work, that is just G car he can claim from the G but how about his own cars?!? You know Taib Mahmud of Sarawak? I think he is sitting on a rolls royce to work.. BN cronies earn more then a bunch of Perdana sitting at thier own back yard. If PR state buy Toyota is wastefull, then just vote them down. So what? Since you decide on the vote. If you think BN ppl wont wollop more money then PR, then vote for BN. So what? In the end, is your choice! This is a car blog, not Political blog please keep it clean.

Car blog huh? What kind of hypocrite are you? You come into Paultan’s blog everyday cursing the government no matter what they do and supporting PR like they came from heaven to serve the rakyat. Atleast the other members here agree or disagree with the government once a while but not you, you will always support PR no matter what. Why don’t you just admit that you treat this blog as a political blog because most of your arguements involve politics! If you treat this as a car blog, then i dont want to see you comment anything about politics anymore because im sick of reading your one-sided comments.

• samsung_lj (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 12:35 am

btw the msg above is for Lil fire 85.. forgot to add it..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 1:06 pm

this gov is disgusting

• Car Fan Toshi (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 10:10 pm

Think again. What MB Nizar is futuristic idea for Perak. I drove 2.0E Camry is a bit disappointing performance due to 4 speed auto transmission. 2.4V Camry is 5 speed auto car. So what they doing is to achieve a lot of savings. I drive my BMW 528i E39 which is 5 speed auto. The fuel tank remain same from Rawang Toll to Gopeng Toll unlike 2.0E Camry which is 4 speed auto almost achieve half tank of fuel at. Perak is a big state. Think again and I comment later.

• Car Fan Toshi (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 8:07 am

What I talked about high speed driving with fuel economy about more than 180 km/h.

• Car Fan Toshi (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 8:16 am

Exco cars are different than civilian usage due to their duty need to move anywhere. What proton offer is the warranty or service free is based on civilian usage which some of them using same car for 5 years but the mileage really low not reached 10000 km like what I did. I’m owned Proton Wira 1.5 GL almost 6 years but the mileage is 17000 km. Exco always move anywhere and need a reliable car which is a different spec from civilian model. Think again and I comment later.

• Car Fan Toshi (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 8:25 am

The reason is there is no competition market in Malaysia. Perodua produce kei-car due to agreement with Proton and Malaysian Government that no other sedan produced except Proton. If Perodua produced sedan. The car is badge-engineered from Daihatsu Altis (another name for Toyota Camry produced by Daihatsu in Japan).
    Salute for MB Nizar which lead to future savings.

• 5 V6, the SV and SL are similarly optioned in equipment level, with the major distinctions being wheel types and tire sizes, in
    addition to availability of paddle shifters. You can either go with all of the same type or mix and match.
    If you are seeking web cam chat with hot Asian cam girls this website might be of use to you.