Is the new 510hp Jaguar XF-R an M5-killer?

Jaguar XF-R

We definitely don’t know if this new high-powered version of the award-winning XF can trump the BMW M5 as a driver’s car, but it’s definitely got the soon to be outgoing E60 M5 beat in the horsepower and torque department. The new Jaguar XF-R is powered by the new AJ-V8 Gen III engine that supercharges 5.0 litres of displacement in V8 configuration to produce 510 PS and 625Nm of torque.

Jaguar XF-R

Now this is definitely less than the twin-turbo RS6, but according to our track tester Harvinder who had a go at the RS6 on Sepang recently, the Audi offering is rather pudgy on the track. What will the new Jaguar XF-R be like? Will it be both nimble and quick or will it be an autobahn cruiser designed to go in straight lines very fast? We already know it does the whole straight line thing very well as Jaguar has officially announced the XF-R as the fastest Jaguar ever, as it can reach a top speed of 225mph, which is approximately 362km/h.

Jaguar XF-R

The top speed run was tested at the Bonneville Salt Flats in Utah using a Jaguar XFR prototype using a a remapped ECU, a modified air intake and exhaust system and revised supercharger settings. No internal engine components were changed and the 6-speed auto was kept standard, including the gear ratios. The standard production car will be limited to 155mph (250km/h), but you can already expect a slew of tuners who will have products to unleash a few horsepowers and Newton meters from the engine as well as get rid of the top speed limiter.

Jaguar XF-R

The Jaguar XFR goes from 0 to 100km.h in 4.9 seconds, but more importantly it has some decent overtaking abilities as 80km/h to 110km/h acceleration time only takes 1.9 seconds. The R car is equipped with a quicker steering rack, uprated brakes, and a new electronic Active Differential.

Check out a photo gallery of the new XFR after the jump as well as a video of the car’s Bonneville top speed run.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=75]

Video: Jaguar XF-R

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 12:09 pm

wow… from the output figure… seems astonishing…. But they shouldnt have the top-speed limiter… this car seems very gud looking but i hope the give a revised-facelift for the front part !!!! The rear is nice !!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:01 pm

by the time this one is out…the revised m5 will be out oso…rumoured to have 550hp of the same 5.0 v10 engine….got few spy shots oso online if u wanna see…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:32 pm

very nice, but i think i prefer the rims on the sv8

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:39 pm

when TATA will make a powerful lorry like this.. ahaha

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 5:35 pm

beat M5?
    if see on hp output alone it might be..
    agree with e-nabilll = “by the time this one is out…the revised m5 will be out oso” .. maybe new revised M5 can get up to 550hp.

but honestly .. i don’t think it can beat M5 handling and others thing instead off only HP.. M5 is not just about engine output. :D

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 5:37 pm

M5-killer… sounds like MyviKiller, tsk tsk…

• gajen (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 6:19 pm

very very very beautiful car…however the interior isnt sporty enuf…wow fastest jaguar…225mph..faster than XJ220..cool

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 7:22 pm

nice, but I want to see new car under TATA, not same chasis

• mytouch (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 9:46 pm

wow,what a sexy car,niceeeee…………

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:04 pm

m5 is not the benchmark for horsepower, the benchmark is the audi rs6

• csv (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:51 pm

wow, sounds like jet engine. fum!

• charles27 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:25 am

a 7 series killer. :) cool

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 7:56 am

the car is so GOOD LOOKING !!!

with 362 km/h, you can go from KL to Penang in 1 .5 hour …

provided no road block and the toll booths ..

hehex ..

• Jaybond (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:06 am

No doubt this car is capable of at least matching BMW M5 for handling prowess. Only letdown is standard auto, hopefully can also comes with automated manua trans.

• BB (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:02 am

i hv seen the real thing, it is a stunning machine! but i just concern on its qc as jaguar used to score poor in quality?!

• szw (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:32 am

in terms of engine , its running very close
    in terms of styling , flat
    in terms of driving dynamic , don’t know , lolz !!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:49 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 19, 2009 @ 11:04 pm

m5 is not the benchmark for horsepower, the benchmark is the audi rs6
    ———————–

in my opinion, its easier to build straightline speed as apposed to building a dynamic, good handling chassis.. which is why i suspect audi, and mercedes are so embrolied in a HP war, likewise with this jaq, whereas bmw is not interested at all.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 1:11 pm

yeah..pretty good…..but if they could just fit on the c-xf front,sigh……

• gods twin (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 1:29 pm

WOW, wat on earth was jaguar doing all this while…. If they knew how to do this… Well my personal opinion, an old saying that goes, ” rome was not built in a day” so is M5. M5 will always be the class leading car. Horsepower alone will not take you anywhere you unless you tie the horse in an arrangement.This is where the M5 excels. .

“power without control, is a disaster” = Mercedes SLR.

In terms of hp and torque benchmark, currently its the Mercedes and their subsidized boys, Brabus and AMG. – Mercedes CLS Brabus SV12, fastest production saloon in excess of 1000+ torques.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:08 pm

BB said,

January 20, 2009 @ 10:02 am

i hv seen the real thing, it is a stunning machine! but i just concern on its qc as jaguar used to score poor in quality?!
    ———————————
    proton quailty so bad also no problem, so whats the worry

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:39 pm

Who can beat a Jag?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:43 pm

kei9 said,

January 20, 2009 @ 3:39 pm

Who can beat a Jag?
    ——————
    a cheetah