All-American USF1 drivers to be Scott Speed and Danica Patrick?

Scott Speed and Danica Patrick

Here’s more details on the upcoming USF1 team! It seems that Peter Windsor and Ken Anderson have confirmed that they’re up to something and were actually surprised that their plans have been under the wraps for several years now. Well, not exactly completely under the wraps, since there was talk of these guys talking to Honda sometime last year, but still, many details have only just recently surfaced.

There is now talk that the team will be making the Charlotte region its home, where the Concord $40 million Windshear race-car testing tunnel is located, and that details on the new USF1 team might surface on the 24th of February 2009. A secondary base will be located in Europe, likely in northern Spain.

As for the drivers? The rumoured duo is a male and female team comprising of American ex-Toro Rosso driver Scott Speed and everyone’s favorite race car driver turned model Danica Patrick, motorsport’s very own Maria Sharapova. Other potentials include Conor Daly, son of former F1 driver Derek Daly and Josef Newgarden.

Peter Windsor said it has not been easy raising money for the team in a recession such as this but the team will adapt to the changing times much like how FIA is adapting F1 rules. He also added that F1 is primarily an entertainment business so every aspect of USF1 will reflect that, which probably explains the extreme appeal of Danica Patrick as a driver – tons of viewers not even interested in F1 could tune in just to see her strut her self before and after the race! In fact, Ken Anderson says Danica is “great and gets alot of press”.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee on Feb 17, 2009 at 9:48 am

lol i seriously wonder if the americans know what they are doing, while most motorsports people pull out, this guys dunk their head in, lol!

• sexy driver like her… could cause accidents!

• nabill on Feb 17, 2009 at 11:12 am

best for them to jus stay out of f1…thy wil become a joke…even more so that what thy are now !

• lambov12 on Feb 17, 2009 at 4:55 pm

hope both of them wont crash into the wall ..

• Leonardo on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Can their drivers drive around chicanes? Do they know what that is? I guess they will be fighting with Force India – for last place.

On the bright side Danica will provide a lot of attention and glamor to the sport. I am sure those macho F1 guys don't like to be beaten by a girl on the grid!

• corolla_KE70 on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:58 pm

danica, you can ride me all day long!!!

• B33MER on Feb 17, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Danica patrick is very the hottie … She can use and drive my gearstick anytime heheh :D

• bobdbilder on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Most people have forgotten one of the lap time record holders for Sepang was Juan Pablo Montoya. He made a lot of Europeans worry. Its easier to bring Americans to F1 than to bring F1 back to America.

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm

I hope Danica stays a model n grace covers of mags. Hardly can 'see' her in full racing gear. Mmmmm……….

• Javanese (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:45 pm

This two will probably the slowest drivers in Formula 1, add that with probably one of the crappiest chassis and engine package… Ladies and gentlemen, i present you Minardi v2.0.

• chrtien (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 9:28 pm

Danica won the Indy 500 – it might just be an oval race, but it's a tough race. Plus, she didn't exactly have a huge technical advantage ala Ferrari/McLaren. Give her a bit of credit, she's definitely faster than most of the paid-for-my-seat drivers in F1.

Just my 2 sen…

• Danica has never won the Indy 500. She was in contention and leading the race a few years ago, but was running low on fuel and had to back off just to finish the race.

• tiadaid on Feb 17, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Danica Patrick won the Motegi 500 race, not the Indy 500…although they're kinda alike…

• nabill on Feb 17, 2009 at 10:56 pm

so its like driving straight without turning the wheel ! in america thy call this a TALENT ! btw , paul could have easily posted a pic of danica in her racing outfit rather than that saucy pic on top !

• Autobahn on Feb 18, 2009 at 12:11 am

i love danica patrick

• kerelbort on Feb 18, 2009 at 12:55 am

paultan oso wanna pancing people to make comment on these USF1.. see last posting.. i think that one receive the less hit.. now this posting has the most hit.. hahaha

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 1:14 am

nabill said,

February 17, 2009 @ 2:56 pm

so its like driving straight without turning the wheel ! in america thy call this a TALENT ! btw , paul could have easily posted a pic of danica in her racing outfit rather than that saucy pic on top !

__________________________________________-

i think we need to differentiate between americans who only drive in a straightline (which are more well known), and the ones who can actually drive around corners.

also, danica has raced in indycars.. and not all the tracks are ovals.. they are also tougher cars to drive lacking in all the tech gizmos that f1 cars have. scott speed is probably the most experienced american currently internationally, having raced in A1GP, and also F1 for a while.

other than montoya, lets also not forget the legendary mario andretti. one of the most well known F1 champions of the past.

• layman on Feb 18, 2009 at 4:11 am

I like to see Danica beats Kimi.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:23 am

Hope Bernie would do more promotion about Danica as it would probably help F1 to attract more viewer! She is Hot!

• veetek on Feb 18, 2009 at 8:26 am

nabill said,

February 17, 2009 @ 2:56 pm

so its like driving straight without turning the wheel ! in america thy call this a TALENT !

_____

funny that you think its easy racing at 350+ kph, even in an oval. and without many of the driver aids that were propping up a lot of F1 'stars' as this past season showed. you ever even been on a track?

• Autobahn on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:07 pm

danica patrick marry me

• KKTE (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:18 pm

The first women to be in F1 car? Interesting.

• ReactiX on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:06 pm

danica patrick is tera patrick sister? XD

• mits27 (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 3:23 pm

Looks like Danica is losing weigh, she looks even better now… and she is hot……

• It's Peter Windsor of Bennetton and Speed Channel and Ken Anderson of everything racing. They know exactly what they are doing. If it's marketing I say it's a good choice of drivers. They have experience in road coarses now with the merge with CART, at least Danica does. Speed has been turning left for years now. He's got some seat time coming though b/c he's earned the right to drive. However, truth be told Juan Pablo Montoya SHOULD be the driver of choice if he can race as a US driver and not a Columbian. He's not too old, has plenty of experience to get the team running and for at least a year he can offer some results. Neither of these other two choices know's what it takes to score points and win championships. If we could just get Lewis Hamilton to expatriate and come to America it would be great. Actually, if we could get Dale Jr. to drive F1 and put some rubber in the wall more people would probably watch. Better yet Michael Schumacher is out of contract with Ferrari as of this year…he could still beat them all. Hmmm….Michael Schumacher….Peter Windsor are you listening!

• Wow, Most of these people are stupid. Do some research on the owners and then tell me they will be slow.