Chevrolet Cruze set for July 2009 Malaysian launch!

Chevrolet Cruze

The Chevrolet Cruze will hit Malaysian roads in July 2009 and it will be imported from Korea as a CBU model. The Cruze is a C-segment sedan in the same class as the Civic, Corolla Altis and Focus.

Under the hood will be a GM-Opel Powertrain sourced 1.8 litre DOHC unit while in other markets the Cruze is also available with a 1.6 litre ECOTEC. This new 1.8 litre unit replaces the older Holden-based engine that our market’s Optra comes with. The new engine will have DCVCP or Double Continuous Variable Cam Phasing and produce 140hp and 175Nm of torque at 3,800, so that’s quite a torquey mid-range there.

Chevrolet Cruze

What’s most impressive is the Cruze will be a class leader in terms of transmission as it will be equipped with a 6-speed transmission, something that none of its rivals have. The closest is Honda with a 5-speed auto.

The Cruze is generally a rather good looking car and it has a pleasant interior as well. It has been touted over and over that this car together with the upcoming Chevrolet Volt will be the new global car that saves GM. Unlike previous GM C-segment offerings where the Americans got the Cobalt while the rest of the world got the Daewoo-derived Optra, the Cruze is one single model that will serve the global market.

Another new Chevy will come later – the D-segment Chevrolet Epica. Look after the jump to view a full featured high resolution interior & exterior photo gallery of the Cruze and its Daewoo-based version, the Lacetti Premiere.

New Chevrolet Cruze and Chevrolet Epica set for 2009 debut
Chevrolet Cruze finally launched as the Daewoo Lacetti Premiere

[zenphotopress number=99 album=204]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wow! such a wonderful car!! I like the dashboard pattern!! such a Ford Fiesta!!

I want to buy one later!! Yahoo!!

• libralcl on Mar 29, 2009 at 8:02 pm

If they price it right, its going to be a challenge for C-segment here.

• Black Horse on Mar 29, 2009 at 8:05 pm

Nice design

• jasonwcy on Mar 29, 2009 at 8:06 pm

good looks… cant wait for test drive.

in my dreamcars list.

• MyviKiller on Mar 29, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Sounds like the Persona which saves Proton.

• sick&tired on Mar 29, 2009 at 8:17 pm

why must everything be connected to proton! That aside this is a nice looking car which could take on the class leader Honda Civic. In fact I think it looks better. Hopefully the price will be below RM100k.

• phelix on Mar 29, 2009 at 8:42 pm

this car is selling only below RM50k in Korea..

WTF…

• The problem is will it have the same spec when they arrive here ?

• Paul Tan on Mar 29, 2009 at 9:16 pm

HICOM Chevrolet says the Malaysian spec Cruze will have 1.8 and 6-speed auto with ActiveSelect manual shifting.

• Izzat on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:35 am

Hi Mr Paul,

I dont know much about cars, just want to seek opinion about this car interms of maintenance, durability (with our country climate) and the specification..is it a good buy…?…appreciate if you can give opinion on this matter…Thanks…

• MyBoy on Mar 29, 2009 at 9:31 pm

The more the merrier. Let see it undercut some jap models.

• telstar on Mar 29, 2009 at 9:38 pm

6 speed auto?.that is great selling point.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 29, 2009 at 10:07 pm

Now, any word if a wagon version is available? Thats where my money would be at.

• mayor81 on Mar 29, 2009 at 10:24 pm

Maybe you can add there Paul, the price should be somewhere around the 1.8 Civic. It will be a seller here.

• MyviKiller on Mar 29, 2009 at 10:29 pm

[quote comment="225245"]why must everything be connected to proton! That aside this is a nice looking car which could take on the class leader Honda Civic. In fact I think it looks better. Hopefully the price will be below RM100k.[/quote]

Both are in the same situation dude… abeit the GM is in the bigger scale.

Sick&tired? Get some rest bro…

• MyBoy on Mar 29, 2009 at 10:37 pm

[quote comment="225256"]6 speed auto?.that is great selling point.[/quote]

Yeah! it comes with 6-Speed Auto while most others (e.g: so-called Si-Fu) still proud of 4-Speed and dare to boast/say that their 4-Speed have no shortcoming at all.

• tolan on Mar 29, 2009 at 10:45 pm

which one would we get, the one with daewoo grill or with chevy grill? wonder which one nicer..

• Noname Takadanama on Mar 29, 2009 at 10:57 pm

I love that interior!

• Oh my god, i dig the interior! exterior looks if not better, as good as the accord and camry! engine with 140hp sounds decent, 6 speed auto is added bonus, price wise i'm sure it'll be slightly lower than civic and altis to penetrate into this market. This car is perfect, until now, theres nothing that i can complain about. I WANT ONE!

• YaH…yAh… no Proton here, Korea car should be connected to Naza.

How much Naza want to sell this car in Malaysia?

Should it compare to the sedan Persona?

• 80k?

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 12:13 am

is that reasonable-priced car at top gear ??

and i quite like the brush aluminium or brush plastic design ..

• _xXx_ on Mar 30, 2009 at 12:44 am

[quote comment="225245"]

…why must everything be connected to proton

[/quote]

Yes, no one will relate it to Proton when the review is about a casket wagon.

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 30, 2009 at 12:47 am

I preffered one with Daewo grill style compare with Chevy grill… Only me.. :)

• mystvearn on Mar 30, 2009 at 2:08 am

Finally GM makes cars that people actually may want to buiy. Looks like American needs to change their taste and see what the world is doing

• Dreamcar on Mar 30, 2009 at 2:29 am

WOW! looking at this car just make me more desire to get a new car even it had to make me a very poor man. I would prefer the Daewo grill. Btw Chevrolet should open a branch in Ipoh too also give more freebie in order to attract sales lah. My proposal 5 years warranty is a must plus 2 years free service also and most important don't give discount like no body business. 1.5k to 3k is ok not up to 10k to 15k. Then the 2nd value of this car will be like shit

• Noname Takadanama on Mar 30, 2009 at 3:47 am

[quote comment="225306"]I preffered one with Daewoo grill style compare with Chevy grill… Only me.. :)[/quote]

I agree with you. Somehow the front-end treatment on the Lacetti looks better.

Nevertheless, the Americans are gradually coming to their senses. And I bet everyone's looking forward to July now – more choice for us Malaysian motorists! =)

• Zaff1984 on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:10 am

nicest interior in c-segment. interior look like luxury cars.

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:14 am

If I'm looking for a new car.. I wouyld rather wait for till end of this year…

Maybe Chevrolet Malaysia will offer 9 years instalment with 0% interst by then… Better still got several goodies some more…. :)

Nevertheless, I have to admit this car look gorgeous…

• It is still a Daewoo.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:39 am

[quote comment="225266"] It all boils down to handling, driveability, smoothness, spaces and stability for car that level….I do like the look, not the rims at this moment.[/quote]

people tend to forget about branding.. end of the day, features alone don't sell a car.. do you think people who buy toyotas care if their car came with a 4 speed or 6 speed? it might impress and cater to a smaller niche group of buyers, but im guessing the majority of buyers will stick with their hondas and toyotas.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 7:23 am

[quote comment="225268"][quote comment="225256"]6 speed auto?.that is great selling point.[/quote]

Yeah! it comes with 6-Speed Auto while most others (e.g: so-called Si-Fu) still proud of 4-Speed and dare to boast/say that their 4-Speed have no shortcoming at all.[/quote]

aiyo, that so-called SIFU is just a clown around here….

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 7:26 am

[quote comment="225348"]It is still a Daewoo.[/quote]

wow, as if Wira drivers will say: still a Mitsubishi…

and as if Kancil drivers will say: still a Daihatsu….

SWEAT…..

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 30, 2009 at 7:52 am

Nothing wrong with Daewoo brand what… Yes, they bankcrupt before.. soo what? Doesn't meant that Korean can'y make a good car like Japanese…

If you can accept Asean car from T & H, why you can't accept Global car from GM… sigh… poor guys who are too obsess with T&H….

By the way, I'm using Korean and Japanese cars now… and I can say that both of them having their own good & joke….

• Maserati on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:13 am

Yeah,this is what I am talking about! 6 speed auto?Awesome interior! WOw,fantastic! And this is the first time I am saying this to an American CAR!

Hopefully it will be priced reasonably well and could in fact be GMs' saviour this year!

Proton should be coming up with these kinda cars instead of dabbling in ELECTRIC CARS!

• gopotter on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:56 am

oh, back lamp almost 100% copy civic 8th generation….

no second hand value…..

• ah loong on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:03 am

i prefer the chevy grille, daewoo grille looks so cheap n china-made..

the chevy grille doesn't suit bright colours like red, but it suits the gray one perfectly..

n to ppl who dun like 4 speed, buy la car with 6 speed, like mitsu evo.. dun bash Si-Fu..

hav respect to ppl please..

n do understand that proton's aim is to make AFFORDABLE cars to the mass market..

of coz proton can put 6 speed, but 4 certain high cc models with low monthly sales la like the perdana. imagine proton saga 1.3 with 6 speed, what a joke!

• White Jack on Mar 30, 2009 at 1:23 pm

Hi Paul, is it CVT ?

Paul Tan said,

March 29, 2009 @ 1:16 pm · Reply with quote

HICOM Chevrolet says the Malaysian spec Cruze will have 1.8 and 6-speed auto with ActiveSelect manual shifting.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 4:24 pm

[quote comment="225370"]

Proton should be coming up with these kinda cars instead of dabbling in ELECTRIC CARS![/quote]

i think you better go back and read paul's article properly before commenting again. proton are not building or "dabbling" in electric cars..

they are selling platforms and doing contract manufacturing for detroit electric. those cars will be sold as detroit electric cars.

and to those that say nothing wrong with korean brand.. i agree. and korean cars are certainly up there with the japanese now. but in malaysia anyways.. at that price segment, brand still plays a huge part in the sales.. and the sales figures speak for themselves. they will definitley need to work hard on their branding and marketing.

• mukhri88 on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Is Kia Forte in the same segment? Is the Forte coming to Malaysia too? If yes, then more choice for us. Erm folks, don't bash si-fu.. He's a good kid. He tries his best.

This Cruze is an example where you design something for global scale. A design where you know that the basic design will sell no matter where you put it, in any continent. Maybe some difference in variants.

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:22 pm

[quote comment="225387"]Hi Paul, is it CVT ?[/quote]

No, it is a REAL 6-speed auto with planetary gears and a torque converter.

• mayor81 on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:32 pm

zool said,

March 29, 2009 @ 9:30 pm · Reply with quote

It is still a Daewoo.

Are you here on earth my friend? The car was totally designed in GM facility in Germany and engineered in Korea where it is GM's Global Auto Technology Center. Don't say "Ahhh it's a Daewoo…." It makes you sound like you know something but you are perceived as an idiot. BTW, have you guys ever driven a GM-Daewoo car before? I bet most who talked about GM-DAT cars never tried it before. Look up TopGear Malaysia's review on Toyota Altis vs Honda Civic 1.8 vs Optra Magnum. If you love cars and driving, why bother talking about second hand value? Cars are like razors – you just get rid of it after you are done with it. If it can still fetch some worth, consider it as bonus. I'm not being arrogant, but if you want your money back from a used tool, get a prostitute :) Cheers!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 6:17 pm

[quote comment="225433"]If you love cars and driving, why bother talking about second hand value? Cars are like razors – you just get rid of it after you are done with it. If it can still fetch some worth, consider it as bonus. I'm not being arrogant, but if you want your money back from a used tool, get a prostitute :) Cheers![/quote]

unfortunately in Malaysia, the majority of people who buy cars, dont "love cars and driving". thats a fact. and 2nd hand value is always one of the things on the top consumer minds when buying a car. we cannot ignore those facts, and just speaking from ones personal point of view doesnt mean its the view of the majority.. in fact, the majority dont even go online.

the fact that zool said "It is still a Daewoo." proves that they have an image problem which is an issue of branding. This is something chevy in malaysia will need to work hard on. end of the day, people couldnt care less if the engineering was done in germany.. likewise with proton. the fact that their cars have "lotus ride and handling", most people dont care either. A proton is still a proton, and likewise a korean car is still a korean car.

japanese cars used to have the same problem.. and it took them a long time also to change perceptions towards their products.

• CFA28 on Mar 30, 2009 at 6:19 pm

Its priced too close to the Civic / Altis (RM1K difference only). For that price, most Malaysian would prefer to stick with the tested / proven Civic or Altis.

Does not matter if its 5-speed / 6-speed or even 7-speed. If buyers don't have confidence in the realibility and serviceability of the gear box.

But if its priced below RM100K, than for that price difference, buyers might be willing to take the so-called risk / gamble and go for a different brand.

• Em,wonder why people bash si-fu since this is not proton cars forum. i think that si-fu never say that 4 speeder it the best but he just want to justify why when proton came out a product, so many people questions about it but when the 'others' manufacturer, never question but proud to own one. by the way, this cruze is a nice one, so the forte. whay dont we bash toyota even honda because they also outdated with 4 speed or 5 speed auto???? i think we should because we said proton is outdated, so honda and toyota not to mention nissan that still rely on 4 speed and 5 speed auto. adios amigos

• MyBoy on Mar 30, 2009 at 8:08 pm

You must be new here to say that people do not bash Toyota for only come up with 4-Speeder. Any 4-Speeder is outdated even if it is as 'good' as the one in Proton. :D

• Littlefire on Mar 30, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Nissan new Sylphy is using CVT, no more stupid 4-speed auto…

• Redwings on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:08 pm

[quote comment="225439"]Its priced too close to the Civic / Altis (RM1K difference only). For that price, most Malaysian would prefer to stick with the tested / proven Civic or Altis.

Does not matter if its 5-speed / 6-speed or even 7-speed. If buyers don't have confidence in the realibility and serviceability of the gear box.

But if its priced below RM100K, than for that price difference, buyers might be willing to take the so-called risk / gamble and go for a different brand.[/quote]

Agreed. If chevy would like to steal more shares in this c-segment, the price need to be below rm100k futhermore, 308 is selling RM96k, they must work carefully on the pricing strategy.

The chevy resale value just got sucks… Those chevy owners must getting nightmares and wouldn't go for the same brand again..

• afroiq on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:00 pm

ahh bloody hell with 4, 5, 6 speed thingy..the car is damn cun..140hp is enough for me for overtaking and cruising along hiway..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:04 pm

[quote comment="225456"]Nissan new Sylphy is using CVT, no more stupid 4-speed auto…[/quote]

CVT also has its fair share of problems. its a good gearbox though.. i remember audi planning to use it in a big way, but eventually abandoned the idea.. likewise with honda, who are also now turning away from CVT.

i honestly dont see whats wrong with "stupid 4 speed auto". it suits certain markets, coz of many reasons.. cost..etc..

• niGht kiD (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:31 pm

the Cruze will be RM1,000 less than a Honda Civic 1.8 which means it will be about RM114,000 or so.. from Motor Trader website.

• Littlefire on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:56 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, u need to brush up your automotive technology…

First of all why a lot of manufacturer like European marques apply 5-speed above auto's?

Even manual also 6-speed standard on most cars!

More gear ratio means you can get the most optimum gear change for different road condition. Besides that, most of 6-speed gear ratio can have the best of high and low gear ratio which help better pick-up and better crusing rpm. When you can reduce rpm in crusing & help the car faster pick-up you reduce fuel consuption, that why they can cut emission with more gear ratio.

Honda still using CVT in a lot of small city cars, you can still check their official website in Japan. The problem that CVT got is the acceptance of it, a lot of people dont like it as what we call "Rubber band" feel. CVT need special lubricant and not the normal ATF fluid. People need educated to know that the newest technology and what the advantage and disadvantage of it. If 4-speed auto is good, why other's going for more? Time to move on, not stall and still live in dinosaur world…

Besides that, Nissan slyphy CVT or Nissan X'Tronic is one of the best CVT in Japan. Audi decided to ditch CVT due to CVT is unable to handle high torque / horsepower engines. Somemore VW DSG are more superior compare to CVT, why want to waste money on something which cannot handle their powerful engine and not efficient compare to DSG?

That why you can see most CVT only use for smaller cc cars. They have a limitation, while the conventional gearbox are more durable. There are newer CVT gearbox nowadays, not only using metal chain to move they are using direct pulley to drive it. Oh yeah, new F1 cars also using the new CVT gearbox to drive it. :P

• Littlefire on Mar 30, 2009 at 11:08 pm

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/gearbox/…

You can see the next generation of CVT, which Nissan called Extroid. This CVT is almost similar with F1 new CVT gearbox. Inside they also explain the Audi metal CVT also.

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/tech_transmission….

"Why More Gears Matter

Torque is what gives an engine its get-up-and-go power and the peak (maximum) torque isn't at the top engine speed but somewhere in the middle, often between 2,000 and 3,500 revolutions per minute on an engine capable of 6,000 RPM. The more gears the car has, the more likely the engine will be operating at its most efficient and most powerful speed. Automakers say that with each added gear, you get 2 percent to 5 percent more economy."

http://www.progressive.com/auto-tech/do-more-gear…

• MyBoy on Mar 30, 2009 at 11:10 pm

[quote comment="225482"][quote comment="225456"]Nissan new Sylphy is using CVT, no more stupid 4-speed auto…[/quote]

CVT also has its fair share of problems. its a good gearbox though.. i remember audi planning to use it in a big way, but eventually abandoned the idea.. likewise with honda, who are also now turning away from CVT.

i honestly dont see whats wrong with "stupid 4 speed auto".

it suits certain markets, coz of many reasons.. cost..etc..[/quote]

But not with Nissan (Jatco) CVT. Nissan managed to implement it in a big way.

• MyBoy on Mar 30, 2009 at 11:59 pm

[quote comment="225495"]That why you can see most CVT only use for smaller cc cars. They have a limitation, while the conventional gearbox are more durable. There are newer CVT gearbox nowadays, not only using metal chain to move they are using direct pulley to drive it. Oh yeah, new F1 cars also using the new CVT gearbox to drive it. :P[/quote]

Actually William F1 did conducted testing for CVT (Steelbelt type) on its more than 1000HP F1 car in 1993. The result was too impressive that prompt FIA to ban the technology even before its first race.

• Maserati on Mar 31, 2009 at 12:45 am

This is what i am talking about ! Yeah,6 speed auto ! Fantastic! Good interior.

Hopefully it will be priced competitively.

Proton should be producing more cars like these instead of dabbling with ELECTRIC CARS!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 31, 2009 at 1:49 am

[quote comment="225456"]Nissan new Sylphy is using CVT, no more stupid 4-speed auto…[/quote]

but the fact is, conventional auto is better than CVT…..

• Littlefire on Mar 31, 2009 at 1:59 am

mitlanevo read the link i posted… conventional auto is going to be replace by DSG & CVT gearbox due to better fuel consumption & cheaper to produce..

The link is just above you. Thanks.

• quak58 of AUssie on Mar 31, 2009 at 3:01 am

I just had a chance to sit in this car a month back. It was interesting that despite being heavily publicised not many people were interested in this car. Though the interior looks very shmick, its build quality is questionable. It just feels cheap inside. The high curve lines on the exterior give it more pressence as a large car, but one again when you are inside it just doesn't feel that way too. This car is meant to compare with the likes of mazda 3, civic, lancer, focus… the C segment bunch. Holden has imported a couple of Daewoo cars and rebadged them as thier own. Not one of them has had a huge success. The only reason why people buy them is because of their cheaper price. Having said that in todays market you basically get what you pay for. By all means if you are interesting in the car, check it out and take it for a test drive. But I would wait for the new gen mazda 3 before spending my hard earned cash.

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 31, 2009 at 4:00 am

[quote comment="225486"]the Cruze will be RM1,000 less than a Honda Civic 1.8 which means it will be about RM114,000 or so.. from Motor Trader website.[/quote]

RM114k for imported CBU from Korea….Reasonable??

I'm not so sure about this coz I think Lancer 2.0 CBU from Japan also at this price range…

• Looks OK, still think the recent Kia styling is better, except that its material looks way low spec.

Malaysia is one country that is so difficult to change customer perception.

A 0% interest Optra and a good looking interest free Optra 5 has not much of people looking for it. That makes a below 5 years old Optra selling at so affordable price. Where its first owner have to fork out extra cash just to get away from finance tight up.

Really puzzle how they manage to made a Korean rebadge American brand to charge at least 10% extra margin over the same category, same quality others Korean car in Malaysia.

Electric cars, hybrid or alternate energy is the future, like it or not, it will be the fact that all of us have to start accepting from now. Proton is just awakening on the importance of electric cars….. for what it should have been started much more earlier with its advantage over huge tax rebate on research and development. and good sales.

• slimershine on Mar 31, 2009 at 4:52 am

aiyoh! the rm6000 yamaha ego scooter is using cvt lah. whats so proud about it?

• slimershine on Mar 31, 2009 at 5:01 am

what are you yelling about? my cheap yamaha ego scooter is using cvt. please dont fool yrself can you?

• Littlefire on Mar 31, 2009 at 6:31 am

I am not yelling anything, is just that a lot of people out there dont even know what is CVT. Just to educate them with the link above. You already mention scooter and long time ago small cars & scooter use CVT is for better FC and easy driving. Just a lot of ppl dont know… How sad..

• Dreamcar on Mar 31, 2009 at 6:47 am

I personally like the CVT fell it was so smooth and FC is very good. Unfortunately many bad comment in CVT especially Malaysia. I heard Malaysia had the most complaint on older City due to wrong CVT gear oil being used by Honda Malaysia. This meant the problem is not design but technology is too new and advance as Honda Malaysia didn't catch up.

Btw just wondering whether the current problem in GM will affect the launch date as I read GM in US might be bankrupt. Is Chevrolet part of GM???

• MyBoy on Mar 31, 2009 at 6:59 am

[quote comment="225510"][quote comment="225456"]Nissan new Sylphy is using CVT, no more stupid 4-speed auto…[/quote]

but the fact is, conventional auto is better than CVT…..[/quote]

What do you mean by 'conventional' auto? 4-Speeder like Proton boast about? :D

• well if we wanna compare the gearbox, the sylphy's cvt beats the 6 speed auto because it has Unlimited gear ratios, so to speak.

bottom line, we're comparing apples to oranges.

cvts are renowed for their smoothness, and quiet noise while some people here think that cvt are easily spoilt, do take note that Nissan was one of the pioneers of the CVT tech back in 50s. and besides, the cvt tranmission can handle the murano's 3.5 litre engine so it should have no problem handling 2 liters.

as for a 6 speed auto, hell yeah, driving gonna be fun and economical though nowhere near the cvt. its a proven fact. although some people prefer the stepped changing of a conventional autobox rather than a rubber band like gears of a cvt.

so, to each his own.

• Arise on Mar 31, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Toyota has super CVT now.

• me.yahoo.com/a/OnqaO (Member) on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:05 am

can it change the history of chevy in malaysia. i doubt it.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:32 am

[quote comment="225577"][quote comment="225510"][quote comment="225456"]Nissan new Sylphy is using CVT, no more stupid 4-speed auto…[/quote]

What do you mean by 'conventional' auto? 4-Speeder like Proton boast about? :D[/quote]

simple, coz it has got gears, not artificial ratios….

• mitlanevo on Apr 06, 2009 at 1:17 am

[quote comment="225577"][quote comment="225510"][quote comment="225456"]Nissan new Sylphy is using CVT, no more stupid 4-speed auto…[/quote]

What do you mean by 'conventional' auto? 4-Speeder like Proton boast about? :D[/quote]

u want the future? try twin clutch automated manual, that's the future, boy oh boy….

• racerX on Apr 07, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Info from HCSB is saying that this is Korean manufactured model but not designed by Daewoo, design based on Opel Astra – Germany (engine & transmission)

• Hi All,

Im planning to buy a new car ,bugget around 100k. My Choise is : Peugot 407 / Honda civic 1.8 / Chevrolet Cruze & Mitsubishi Lancer. Which 1 is better ? Pls advise.

• quak58 @ Aussie on Apr 10, 2009 at 3:44 am

[quote comment="228290"]Hi All,

Im planning to buy a new car ,bugget around 100k. My Choise is : Peugot 407 / Honda civic 1.8 / Chevrolet Cruze & Mitsubishi Lancer. Which 1 is better ? Pls advise.[/quote]

It really depends on what you are looking for. Personally I would leave the Chevy out of the equation (really cheap feel). The Pug is actually in a totally different segment all together then the Civic and the Mitsu. It is bigger and more luxurious. The civic is boring and the mitsu has a cheap interior. Best you test drive all of them and then pick one. =)

• bobdbilder on May 14, 2009 at 7:17 am

[quote comment="225571"]I personally like the CVT fell it was so smooth and FC is very good. Unfortunately many bad comment in CVT especially Malaysia. I heard Malaysia had the most complaint on older City due to wrong CVT gear oil being used by Honda Malaysia. This meant the problem is not design but technology is too new and advance as Honda Malaysia didn't catch up.

Btw just wondering whether the current problem in GM will affect the launch date as I read GM in US might be bankrupt. Is Chevrolet part of GM???[/quote]

They say GM in Asia has different P+L than in the US. What kinda BS is that? Its the same thing. If you have to buy American, get a Ford coz its smart enough to have the Focus/Fiesta.

I for one, cannot believe that a local Honda franchise would make such an obvious fault. Yes, let Malaysian be the sacrificial lamb for the holiness of the Japanese. Yes Virginia, there is something wrong with a car that humms to life. Name me a good CVT equipped car. I'll show you a 211 with Sadev sequential grearbox with traction control that really works and will beat the living crap out of an X Bow.

• hey…i cant wait to upgrade fr my old AVEO…..anyway my aveo always be my baby..it's a great car and never had a single problems..so im looking forward to upgrade to new Chevy…chevy for life…..

it;s a great car to drive with proud….

• this is holden cruze!!

• TheTitan on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:52 pm

it really nice but we don't know about the spare part,is't easy or hard to find? and i afraid with this car brand becoz a lot of my friend and the owner said it's really sucks

• wiseman on Jun 10, 2010 at 12:13 am

come on guys… if you want something worth your penny then get an old junk for RM2000 and use it for the next 5 years. You want something nice, PAY for it. You’ll be living with it and $$$$$ is gonna come out from your pocket. Get something nice… something you like… doesn’t matter who said what unless that a**hole is gonna pay for you. If you’re old enuff to be INTO cars then i’m sure you have the brain to think……. or not!

• The car will retail at RM97,888, excluding insurance and regulatory fees, and will be available in blue, white and red colours.