New Chevrolet Cruze and Chevrolet Epica to hit Malaysian roads in 2009?

Chevrolet Cruze

Hicom-Chevrolet Sdn Bhd has announced that it will be launching two models this year, which are believed to be the Chevrolet Cruze and the Chevrolet Epica.

The Cruze (photo above) is a nice compact car which will replace the Optra Magnum in Chevrolet’s line-up. It will be launched sometime either in late July or early August 2009. It’s a rather good looking car (from the front to the side at least, not too sure about the rear styling) with an appealing interior, as long as photos do not deceive of course because most of us have never seen it in real life.

The new Cruze measures 4,600mm long, 1,790mm wide and 1,475mm tall with a 2,685mm wheelbase which will provide decent interior length, falling short only of the Civic and Lancer’s which are class-leading. It was launched in Korea late last year with a 1.6 litre ECOTEC engine producing 114 horsepower at 6,400rpm and 152Nm of torque at 4,200rpm. A Malaysian line-up could see this engine plus the 1.8 litre engine from the Optra Magnum carried over.

Chevrolet Cruze

But what we’d really like to see is the new ECOTEC Turbo engine slotted into this baby, but I don’t know if it’s going to be very likely even when the engine is finally out because of cost issues. It might be an Europe and US-only option, but it would be nice if we could get it too. The Ecotec Turbo will be a 1.4 litre competitor to Volkswagen’s TSI, Fiat’s T-JET series and Renault-Nissan’s new 1.2 litre and 1.4 litre turbos. The small displacement engine can use turbocharging to provide power outputs equivalent to 1.6 litre, 1.8 litre and even 2.0 litre engines, with loads of torque to boot.

The Chevrolet Epica on the other hand, is a D-segment competitor to the likes of the Camry and the Accord. It was recently refreshed (and launched in Singapore) with various technical and design updates such as a new 6-speed GM 6T40 automatic transmission, replacing the old 5-speed unit. It comes with either a 143hp 2.0 litre inline-4 motor or a 2.5 litre inline-6 with 156hp.

Look after the jump for more shots of the Cruze.

Daewoo Lacetti Premiere

[cpg_album:135]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• narrowband (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 5:19 am

Wait a minute, isn’t that the F02 BMW 7-series’ new backside? lol… a baby version. Anyway nice exterior… the front looks looks mean!

• azrai (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 7:16 am

Looks macho enough except the front is Camry’s face with Civic’s butt. It looks nice though. Nice job to the koreans. Malaysian market? Sorry, we have bad perception on Koreans cars. We only love anything with ‘T’ or “H’ badge only. Is it true?

• michly (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 7:59 am

this is do darn chun. !!

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 8:17 am

The good looking Cruze has a real chance of breaking the (korean cars are no good compared to japanese) mindset malaysians have.

The Epica? Not so sure, rode in it a few times (in the middle east), it’s huge but looked and felt cheap. Hopefully the facelift improved things..

• hyundai (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 8:21 am

Don’t forget that Sylphy is the longest car in the class!!!
    This is such a great looking car… If the price is about 100k… It will be a great deal conpared to those Japanese…
    While the Epica should be a hard-to-sell car… The sales is so poor in Singapore despite the cheap price as most people go for a Sonata…
    Next, hope that the Kia Forte will come alongside Cruze and let people start changing their mind towards Korean! Cheers!

• vivio (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 8:32 am

very civicish

• lambov12 (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 9:27 am

the cruze really looks like honda civic

lacetti … perhaps the replacement for the current chevvy .. ??

• mayor81 (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 10:03 am

Bro Lambo,
    Just because it’s better looking than the Civic, you are saying it looks the same? :)
    I beg to differ. It has totally different lines to the Civic. I drive an Optra and this car is what I’m looking forward to upgrade to. People who owns a Pacific rim / European GM car appreciates these cars simply because of their smooth drive, good built quality and great handling. I can vouch on that.

• tec96248 (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 10:13 am

this car is nice and look more on western styles instead of jap style. preferred this look.

• mayor81 (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 10:20 am

And I miss out one more thing-It’s cheaper than the H&T most of the time….

• msian (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 11:34 am

looks solid…looks beautiful…..the tail lamps reminds me of the civic…

• smerah7 (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 11:37 am

levis style dashboard, tail light just rotate civic 180 degree, then u got this! lol

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 11:51 am

Nice design. One of the more pleasent ones to look at.

And no, it doesn’t look like the Civic or Camry. If you must compare its design language, its closer to miniture Infiniti that to any other marques (note the upswept headlights, smooth and fast roof profile and the aggresive interior design).
    If Nissan rebadges this as a new edgier Infiniti G20 no one would be wiser. Fits right in.

I would say its in good time to replace the ageing Optra…which is what? 7 years old now (launched in 2002…)?

• nikanasz (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 12:32 pm

imho, hicom-chevrolet should consider bringing in the Cobalt SS coupe, 2.0T, 260hp, 350Nm, 5speed manual. with a competetive price, it should give us more options.

just my 2 cents :)

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:33 pm

big and clumsy

• kimi_ (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 4:31 pm

some angle from the front and side looks like lexus l

• gods twin (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 7:15 pm

To be honest, the chevy makes better cars conpared to H&T, The thing that makes many skeptical bout this brand is the spare parts availability. I have twice driven the optra magnum and 5. Have to say it, was far better than its jipun rivals.

• chiinok on May 06, 2010 at 2:24 pm

FYI, Naza has taken over from DRB Hicom so imho spareparts won’t be an issue anymore since they have good practice after taking over Kia

• 20v_ke35 on Feb 12, 2009 at 9:31 pm

OMG!!!…. The designs are so DAMN CUN! I might consider to buy one, ….if the price is right.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 3:55 am

nice

• shun2u on Feb 13, 2009 at 10:48 am

nice..I like the red 1. ;)

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Looks ok, but parts, brand name, reliability will make people think twice before buying it.

• nazakia on Feb 14, 2009 at 1:55 pm

Got ploblem buy part or accessories

• Better than proton ^-^

• Bodow on Mar 30, 2009 at 3:21 pm

The interior is very refreshing … i once got a lift in a Chev Optra …LOL better than any Jap B models . i'll certainly consider this one as a next purchase/upgade

• nikolo98 on Mar 31, 2009 at 3:26 pm

If this car comes into our shores as Daewoo, I think it'll be harder to sell. I mean, if Kia or Hyundai then not so bad but Daewoo? Its been a long while since I last saw a Daewoo car on our roads (maybe I've not been noticing, but I feel pretty sure about it). I think Chevy should just badge it as a Chevy when this baby comes in to our market because it will improve on Chevy's branding strategy in msia.

Paul, I didn't notice in the pics, the 6-spd tranny you wrote about, got "shiftronic" technolgy? I'm pretty sure should have right since like the new City pun sudah ada :)

• nikolo98 on Mar 31, 2009 at 3:29 pm

Whoops!! I just saw Paul's comment on another thread. ActiveSelect is what they call it. Thanks!

Imagine if this baby comes in below Rm100k. Possible?

I'd buy this car only if I know that the spare part is going to be easy to find and not going to cost like a billion dollars….. ;)

• Guys….believe me this….Chevy is a great car! it is underated bcos of the big japanese car market….i owned an optra magnum 1.8 ss n its a great car. the price after looking around is still much cheaper than a H or a T.

When the Chevy first came back, yes there are problems with servicing and spare parts…now you can get them at an abundance!, they can even modify and facelift for you!

i must agree that the engine is built in korea but it is definitley according to the american spec, loud engine etc is what u will get in any american car. unlike jap cars are more quiter in that sense…but to me its a pussy car if it doesnt make noises! japs themselves makes lots of noises on the bed, why not their car?? hehehe

malaysians are not too adventurous into change i presume, you guys should go out there n try new cars like Ford n stuff! even kiasu people in singapore ride better cars than we do! why? bcos they try anything!

• mirul on Aug 13, 2009 at 10:19 am

any1 knows when its going to hit malaysia?

• Ronald on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:34 pm

i heard from my salesman, is after raya. coz they change the distributor from hicom to naza

• H2otan on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:19 pm

Y some of you treat this Cruze as Korean Car? Then you all should call Some of "T" car as Thialand car…..Most of them are made in Thai also wat….. M i rite?

• zaff1984 on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:33 pm

agree !!! at first I confused why some people keep relate Chevrolet with korean… then..ooo its engine build in Korea….

• johnson on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:33 am

hope they bring in the manual version to malaysia

• reena on Feb 01, 2010 at 12:17 pm

When is this car going to launch? I’ve waited since last year.

• Woosa on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Well.. It's coming for sure! Is the 1.8 from ECOTEC range of engine?

• NightC on Jun 05, 2010 at 12:17 pm

if we think of cruze competitor, the H is made in Malaysia. T is made in Thailand. None is from origin country anymore.

• Chevy Man on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:59 pm

@NightC – I totally agree, Cruze powertrain is by GM
    @Woosa – Yes, Emission COntrol TEChnology range of engine
    @reena, Ronald, mirul – Official launch Thursday, 10/6/2010 at KLConvtnCtr
    @johnson – Only 1.8 Auto LT variant available now. 6 speed + manual o/ride Shiftronic
    @H2otan – Yeah, u r RITE
    @nikolo98 – Indicative price on sneak preview is RM98,888-00. S/parts MO MAN TAI. Comes under Chevrolet badge
    @Bodow – For your next upgrade email me at [email protected]
    @nazakia – Spare parts no problem
    @shun2u – Our test drive unit is RED, come over
    @20v_ke35 – I suppose below RM100k is enticing enough

• Don’t buy any chevrolet cars in Malaysia till they are sure to be able to repair and sell the parts much cheaper. Otherwise please buy local cars or other Japanese cars. Better buy a BMW which cost almost the same to repair like the chevrolet. I don’t trust GM motors, they are con men, have change the agency 3 times. The car is good but the people who sell and service it are failures