Standardised “World Engine” for F1 and WRC?

Cosworth

The FIA is supposed to be working on a new “World Engine” due in 2013 that can be used for 3 FIA categories – F1, F2 and WRC. Max Mosley described the engine as one single engine that could be aspirated and tuned differently for the different categories.

It could be turboed for F1, normally aspirated for F2 and perhaps lightly boosted for the WRC. He added that the project is only in its planning phase and in very early stages. FIA will consult the manufacturers on this matter. The engine will be standard but teams will be able to customise its peripheral areas, such as KERS and other forms of energy recovery such as from the brakes, brake heat and exhaust heat.

“Our basic objective is that the money spent in motorsport on research and development should be relevant and useful to the car industry rather than a highly specialized area which has no relevance to anything else,” says Max Mosley, referring to KERS and other peripherals.

With more and more standardization going into F1, the latest seems to be the engine itself, which takes a big variable and element of excitement out of the sport. There is already going to be a standard Cosworth engine that teams can pick from soon. What do you think guys, will a standard engine take the fun out of F1?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:04 am

Haha…no more Ferrari after this.

• Analyzer on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:22 am

You gotta be kidding me. I'm sure all, and I mean all engine manufacturers wouldn't agree to this. Its just gonna retard the industry. It would have no distinction with A1GP. Max Mosley is becoming more of a communist by doing so.

Conceptually, it's a good idea to reduce spending, but really, what fun is it then to watch teams with the same engine running around a track?

• lewis on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:34 am

if they do go this route it will be the biggest mistake they have ever done. Yes formula 1 is about the drivers, finding the best of the best, but it has also been about team's technology and capability. With a standardized engine, teams like mclaren, ferrari etc will lose their souls if you get what i mean. Who hear agrees with me.

• nabil on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:46 am

wat the hell r thy doing? its like thy are eliminating competition itself………y fix it wen its NOT broke ? bunch of idiots sitting at top making those decisions…

• ambipur on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:56 am

if this is implemented, i would say big teams will pull out. whats the point of formula 1 when everyone uses same engine. i love formula 1, its technologies and everything. but lately it has been a turn off. partly of the night race and newly late starts. its true wat lewis said, mclaren and ferrari will lose their souls. whats the point of motorsports when it is robbed of its passion.

• Andrew on Apr 07, 2009 at 12:11 pm

Stupid decision. The world is getting more and more boring by day.

What's next – speed limit in an F1 racing?

• cmc80 on Apr 07, 2009 at 2:23 pm

I hate A1GP… they are no speed…

If F1 also llike that… I won't watch it anymore…

Use the same things… what for?

• kelvin on Apr 07, 2009 at 3:16 pm

What's next? Make sure all drivers have std weightand height? All spot std hairstyle and dress in a std wear? All these development is definitely in the right direction toward the demise of F1 GP and then we shall see huge savings..That, I believe is what they want to see? Must huge cease the sport immediately..nuts..

• F1 fans on Apr 07, 2009 at 3:27 pm

formula 1 is about race for technology and engineering.. there will be not much to see to it other than that.. already with many restriction for it make the car look ugly. Btw just seen F1 live with at sepang, damn SIC management. you pay rm50 for parking and get parked in the dark and there not even enough shuttle otw back. shame on them with this big event..

• Luqman on Apr 07, 2009 at 3:32 pm

[quote comment="227508"]if this is implemented, i would say big teams will pull out. whats the point of formula 1 when everyone uses same engine. i love formula 1, its technologies and everything. but lately it has been a turn off. partly of the night race and newly late starts. its true wat lewis said, mclaren and ferrari will lose their souls. whats the point of motorsports when it is robbed of its passion.[/quote]

Mercedes, BMW and Toyota announced already, that they will immediately pull out of F1 in this case…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 07, 2009 at 4:10 pm

this will be bad news for manufacturers.

the independent non automotive related teams will not have many issues with this though.

• If that is going to be future F1, why bother ? We have A1GP now. Look, how much excitment this generate ?

• I am in favor of such a move. Basically, I want to see the best driver win.

Imagine in the old days, had Schumacher been in the Minardi team, he would have been a nobody.

Let there be a more level playing field & have the best driver win. Not the best car win.

Another anology, take the 100m sprint in the Olympics. Imagine one runner has access to steriods & he won. Did the best man win?

Currently, the team with the financial clout will get the best or better car. Paupers can dream on.

• wisedriver (Member) on Apr 07, 2009 at 4:38 pm

i dont think its a good idea. BMW, Merc and Ferrari may pull out from the race. Maybe after this AMG, Brabus, Jun, HKS, R3 (possible).. and other tuners will involved in racing

• KeithDuckwoth on Apr 07, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Guys, never forget that Cosworth supplied the DFV engines to nearly every F1 car in the 70's and 80's, except for Ferrari. Colin Chapman debuted the DFV in the Lotus 49 in 1967. McLaren, Matra, Brabham, March, Surtees, Tyrrell, Hesketh, Lola, Williams, Penske, Wolf and Ligier all used the same DFV engine. The DFV went on to collect 155 wins from 262 races between 1967 and 1985, the last win coming from Michele Alboreto in a Tyrrell in Detroit 1983. It was finally retired with the onset of the turbo-era with Martin Brundle being the last person to race a DFV in F1, also in a Tyrrell at the Austrian Grand Prix1985. The DFV was also used to win the the Le Mans 24 Hours twice (1975, 1980) and powered all Formula 3000 cars.

Looks like history might repeat itself. BTW, in 1967, the DFV only cost £7,500 to buy !! Cheers

• the stik on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:06 pm

wisedriver, and also tune by Brother's hehehehe…

• rubbish

• haiz… now F1 car already look so boring with ridiculous long front wing for hard overtaking and mosley want to add another boring factor to the game?

those 'world engine' should not become compulsory but just an option to the team, if compulsory better watch A1 gp lah..

• farghmee on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:34 pm

i don't like the idea of having the same engine for a race category.

is it like the windows explorer issue last time? market monopoly?

cheaper it is, but pride? no.

say bmw won a race, & the spokeperson says,

"our bmw engineers were working hard &

the costworth engine didn't dissappoint us" hehehe

if i'm in the seat of merc, bmw, ferrari, i would suggest that we pulled off from the F1, and make our own racing event :P

• [quote comment="227544"]i dont think its a good idea. BMW, Merc and Ferrari may pull out from the race. Maybe after this AMG, Brabus, Jun, HKS, R3 (possible).. and other tuners will involved in racing[/quote]

just open another gp for the tuners and use this 'world engine' and dont force f1 to use this 'world engine'.

• ReactiX on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:43 pm

ridiculous… max mosley is getting nyanyuk over time….

• theanswer on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:49 pm

bad..bad news. F1..Wrc are the platform for the manufacturers to show their latest innovations..engineering ability..testing filed for their company that can be used for their road cars.

• If this really happen then whats d different with F1 & A1?

F1 supposed to b d pinnacle engineering & technology

of motorsport & this will limit d development of d sport.

Seems like F1 is going backwards instead & if it continues

to b like this then there b less fans, less tickets sales &

less sponsorship. F1 is dying.

• Some want to bring up the A1GP to be par with F1. …I think.

• S-Vee-four on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:53 pm

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    M-O-N-O-P-O-L-Y $$$$$$$$$$$$$$

• bmpower on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:54 pm

max mosley is rubbish and mofo.

btw.. how much did cosworth paying him?

• The Novack on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:54 pm

bla..bla..bla…i dont think that more downgrade should be applied on F1..its kinda better now, just need a more beautiful car.. xD

• This is BAD for F1…imagine a Ferrari with Cosworth engine??? Come on…this is ridiculous…F1 is no A1 rubbish.

• head hunter on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:04 pm

i don't watch formula one to see one type of car. i want to see difference in performance, difference in aerodynamics, difference in team management, difference in strategies and difference in abilities.

if you want to focus solely on driver skill, put them into an olympic category. best driver using the same car wins the gold medal! gullible max, what on earth are you trying to do?

Formula One is about the competition, it's about the passion poured into the building of cars and engines. the passion and glamor of the drivers and the work of teams trying to achieve the best with their machines.

This is oppression of creativity, engines are made to reflect the true soul of the engineers and the hopes and dreams that comes with it.

Support Formula One in it's pure form and banish standard engines!!!!!

Impeach Mosley!!!

• lchan on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:12 pm

if they want to keep cost down, further limit exotic material and make the engine last longer (3 engines the whole season?). In this case, there will be better transfer of technology from motorsports to road cars. then let manufacturers get creative on all other areas (keep standardise body dimension and tires).

• drMpower on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:26 pm

the problem with motoring world, especially F1 these recent weeks can be highlighted to only 2 personals – Max Mosley and Bernie Eccelstone. Bernie last time put up a stupid idea which eventually accepted by the whole community simply because he the holder of the circus's money coffers.

Awarding the crown to the driver with the most number of winners totally redefine the definition of world champ – no more tacticality involve, no more romance involve. its like the chinese, people design cars, they also design cars. but people like pinifarina pen out beautiful and gorgeous curves, the chinese simply put up their rulers and draw scretches of awful lines with no purpose at all. thats how bad the rules gonna be.

then fetish max wanted to introduce a standard engine which utterly nonsense. this idea, if passed, will certainly retard the engine RnD division and limited to only tuning which makes it no better than Ah Long's workshop. F1 is the benchmark of motoring and it should present the competitors the chance to push all the way to the limits, that includes engine designing etc etc.

dont tell me next time they gonna produce everything standard – front wings, back wings – and teams will be allowed to make minimal adjustments and changes. tell max to keep his mask and the belts please.

KERS is, for me, an innovation. thats nothing wrong with saving the energy for another purpose. after all, its the losing energy caused by breaking etc etc. its like charging up something. no problem. but standard engine with limited tunings? come on.

• zulkarnain zainuddin on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:38 pm

I think this is crazy idea on world looking for news development and Max Mosley togerther with Bernie making money as we knows both of them as shareolder on Cosworth. Better dont race , i pretty sure big as Ferrari,Renault,Toyota not agreed or both of them pull off form race.

• Tiadaid on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:43 pm

If this is true, what will become of the teams when all the manufacturers pullout of F1? I guess Max Mosley is dieing, buang tabiat oredi!

• Aniki on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:44 pm

in d future onli one driver can win one championship(new rule probably haha)… no more team manufacturer… slowly people will switch over to A1GP… no more FIA… dey suicide…

• Aniki on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:54 pm

come on la… get back to old system 10-6-4-3-2-1… n prove ur team n driver is d best… nt making news to attract sponsors…

• [quote comment="227526"]formula 1 is about race for technology and engineering.. there will be not much to see to it other than that.. already with many restriction for it make the car look ugly. Btw just seen F1 live with at sepang, damn SIC management. you pay rm50 for parking and get parked in the dark and there not even enough shuttle otw back. shame on them with this big event..[/quote]

i support and agreed about your comment, pay rm500 for the tickets but dont have a seat at the race day in Tower1, water flood at walking area in mall area, damn expensive of food n drinking price, pay RM50 for parking like sawah at PA2, and traffic control like f#*k D*!n Sh*T heavy traffic for 10km from the circuit, i miss starting gid of the race.. congrats SIC for give us all this very2 comfortable facilities

• bmpower on Apr 07, 2009 at 7:17 pm

[quote comment="227587"][quote comment="227526"]formula 1 is about race for technology and engineering.. there will be not much to see to it other than that.. already with many restriction for it make the car look ugly. Btw just seen F1 live with at sepang, damn SIC management. you pay rm50 for parking and get parked in the dark and there not even enough shuttle otw back. shame on them with this big event..[/quote]

i support and agreed about your comment, pay rm500 for the tickets but dont have a seat at the race day in Tower1, water flood at walking area in mall area, damn expensive of food n drinking price, pay RM50 for parking like sawah at PA2, and traffic control like f#*k D*!n Sh*T heavy traffic for 10km from the circuit, i miss starting gid of the race.. congrats SIC for give us all this very2 comfortable facilities[/quote]

It's a God will.. understand?

• [quote comment="227593"][quote comment="227587"][quote comment="227526"]formula 1 is about race for technology and engineering.. there will be not much to see to it other than that.. already with many restriction for it make the car look ugly. Btw just seen F1 live with at sepang, damn SIC management. you pay rm50 for parking and get parked in the dark and there not even enough shuttle otw back. shame on them with this big event..[/quote]

i support and agreed about your comment, pay rm500 for the tickets but dont have a seat at the race day in Tower1, water flood at walking area in mall area, damn expensive of food n drinking price, pay RM50 for parking like sawah at PA2, and traffic control like f#*k D*!n Sh*T heavy traffic for 10km from the circuit, i miss starting gid of the race.. congrats SIC for give us all this very2 comfortable facilities[/quote]

It's a God will.. understand?[/quote]

u also dont understand.. i not blame the God will.. I blame to SIC becoz not give us a comfortable place to park and comfortable place to watch.. its crazy to blame the God will la bro.. i'm complaint that we pay for rm50 for what?? to park our car in sawah ker??? Cakap biar pakai otak la bro.. bukan xleh nak turap wat elok2 tempat parking tu.. Bayar mahal tp xsetanding dengan kemudahan yang diberi…

• [quote comment="227593"][quote comment="227587"][quote comment="227526"]formula 1 is about race for technology and engineering.. there will be not much to see to it other than that.. already with many restriction for it make the car look ugly. Btw just seen F1 live with at sepang, damn SIC management. you pay rm50 for parking and get parked in the dark and there not even enough shuttle otw back. shame on them with this big event..[/quote]

hahaha u dont understand what i mean so dont blame my statement.. i blame SIC becoz give us parking like sawah by paying rm50.. ape salah turap sket..bayar mahal tp kemudahan tahap cipan..

• leonardo on Apr 07, 2009 at 8:16 pm

IMO it's a step backwards in terms of engine technologies. It would be like A1GP, but in this case you have you own chassis design. Mind you, a good chassis design makes a lot of difference, as you can see the case of BRAWN/Honda chassis with the same Mercedes engines as Mclaren. The ex-Honda chassis is easily a full second faster per lap than Mclaren's. As a result, in future all the teams will spend most of their time and money in wind tunnels to create an aerodynamically slippery and efficient chassis since the engines are standard.

The other variable would be the driver's skill, which is maybe just 2-3% difference with the rest. Former world champions Alonso, Kimi and Hamilton are struggling this year becasue their cars are not perfoming as expected. Even their 'skills' don't help much.

• leonardo on Apr 07, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Din,

Is this your first F1 visit to Sepang?

• yes.. this is my first n last if SIC cannot give better accommodation to their visitors

• tHe^CuLpRit on Apr 07, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Ah yes, destroy racing why dont you Mosley. You and Bernie, please just die soon ok?

• mohdjiman on Apr 07, 2009 at 9:16 pm

If this will happen, don't call this Formula 1 anymore. Just join the A1GP. Lumba ramai2.

• tansri on Apr 07, 2009 at 9:51 pm

so what is the point of f1 for ferari, toyota, bmw etc..

we have already A1..

maybe the A1 can be changed to not only country based..

so then we have ferrari-Italy team, ferrari-australia team. malaysia-BMW team, Germany Mercedes..hehe

• Heineken on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Max Mosley and Bernie Eccelstone

these 2 jokers better get sacked.

F1 has lost its glimmer.

Bernie esp acting like the whole world

must kow-tow to his standards.

Time to ship out guys , your time has expired.

Game over.!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:40 pm

[quote comment="227519"]I hate A1GP… they are no speed…

If F1 also llike that… I won't watch it anymore…

Use the same things… what for?[/quote]

it works for A1, coz its a different concept all together.. its country vs country.. not car company..etc against each other.

• lewis on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:41 pm

[quote comment="227538"]I am in favor of such a move. Basically, I want to see the best driver win.

Imagine in the old days, had Schumacher been in the Minardi team, he would have been a nobody.

Let there be a more level playing field & have the best driver win. Not the best car win.

Another anology, take the 100m sprint in the Olympics. Imagine one runner has access to steriods & he won. Did the best man win?

Currently, the team with the financial clout will get the best or better car. Paupers can dream on.[/quote]

actually, if you have been watching formulas 1 teams such as mclaren, ferrari, BMW, all the the teams with a colossal financial back up isn't even close to the front two rows. And the race itself on sundays are full of action. Yeah i agree with nabil, why fix something when it's NOT broken.

• bobdbilder on Apr 07, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Max trying to hard to revive the UK auto industry, or whatever remains of it. Even if they do, where's the multiplier effect for their economy? It'll only make a few blokes rich. And it'll make them walk with a bit of swagger. It's getting to be more of a circus. When was the last time they had a UK engine in an F1?

If Max gets his way, what reason would the manufacturers stick around for? For the same reason, why would the sponsors and fans look out to? I would say there's a huge Team fan compared to Driver fans.

• Bodow on Apr 08, 2009 at 1:18 am

Yeah get al the teams to wear the same helmet , apparel , shoes , use only Petronas fuel . winner can be identified by their IC numbers only haha .That would be fun . Oit Mosley , ppl want to watch unique team like Ferrari agains the rest la …..if you give only one engine type … itu Ferrari apa macam ?

• tokmoh on Apr 08, 2009 at 1:25 am

[quote comment="227596"][quote comment="227593"][quote comment="227587"][quote comment="227526"]formula 1 is about race for technology and engineering.. there will be not much to see to it other than that.. already with many restriction for it make the car look ugly. Btw just seen F1 live with at sepang, damn SIC management. you pay rm50 for parking and get parked in the dark and there not even enough shuttle otw back. shame on them with this big event..[/quote]

u also dont understand.. i not blame the God will.. I blame to SIC becoz not give us a comfortable place to park and comfortable place to watch.. its crazy to blame the God will la bro.. i'm complaint that we pay for rm50 for what?? to park our car in sawah ker??? Cakap biar pakai otak la bro.. bukan xleh nak turap wat elok2 tempat parking tu.. Bayar mahal tp xsetanding dengan kemudahan yang diberi…[/quote]

I think he was just being sarcastic… God's will is a famous quote from Semi Value lor……

[quote comment="227538"]I am in favor of such a move. Basically, I want to see the best driver win.

Currently, the team with the financial clout will get the best or better car. Paupers can dream on.[/quote]

As somebody suggested, better put racing as sports in Olympic if u want to see that.

• julian-lee on Apr 08, 2009 at 1:36 am

cmc80 said,

April 7, 2009 @ 6:23 am

If F1 also llike that… I won’t watch it anymore…

————————-

fyi A1GP is faster than F1

• Beemer Freak on Apr 08, 2009 at 2:15 am

FIA are making an idiot out of themselves. Cost cutting is never for F1. For teams who cant keep up, bug out. Its all about technology, speed and driving excitement. Who says when u are a good car u end up winning. Look at Hekki Kovalainen, even when Mclaren were so competitive last year, he look very much nelson piquet to alonso when compared to hamilton. Bernie ecclestone is another idiot. twilight races, cost cutting, and other rubbish. why should everyone in the sport be listening to one idiot when they can call their own rules. This piece of crap should go for the benefit of F1!!

• mitlanevo on Apr 08, 2009 at 2:16 am

definitely NOT a good move!!

• formula 1 is the pinnacle of motor racing, that's why there are different manufacturers in it, to showcase their own technological advances, and some sort of marketing ploy for their cars, it's about identity. if they go ahead with cosworth engines, might as well not call formula 1. just call it formula cosworth.

• I will QUIT watching F1as i did with A1GP!!!

• lanuncyber on Apr 08, 2009 at 2:46 am

NONSENSE! Enuf said…

What a stupid idea, Max… n u too Bernie… stop thinking bullsh*t! Just take care of yourself on how to get taller, u blo*dy id*ot!

• Kenneth on Apr 08, 2009 at 2:49 am

[quote comment="227669"]cmc80 said,

————————-

fyi A1GP is faster than F1[/quote]

er… since when?

an F1 engine produce between 700 – 800 (+boost) bhp.

an A1 engine only has maximum 600 (+boost) bhp

Though the displacement of the A1GP car is 4.5 liter and the F1 2.4 (both are V8 btw) The F1 engine revs higher and is more efficient, hence faster.

Both A1 and F1 cars weigh roughly the same (about 650 – 700kg) with all fluids and driver in it.

Anyway, I don't foresee MadMaxMosley's plan ever coming to fruition. It will just become another one make race if it ever does. He's really losing it.

• Kunyit on Apr 08, 2009 at 3:23 am

I think Max Mosley should stick to things like improvising his "Nazi Orgy" and bringing it to another level. If they make another drastic change in F1, it will mark the end of a motorsport that we all use to love. Imagine, introducing budget cap in the BPL. Well, I would say top teams would show their middle finger. Same with F1. If the teams are brave enough, Ferrari, McLaren Merc. should threaten to pull out, and as we all know without those teams, almost 70% of the F1 fans would be watching bowling instead.

We appreciate Max with his ideas, but come on! Standard engines?

Ferrari with a Cosworth engine, freaking brand "X" ECU, gearbox and other stuffs.

Have you guys seen the Proton Evo rally car? Mitsubishi Evo with Proton emblems all over the place, rocker cover, and heck, they even replace the steering with a unit from a proton car. The feeling? Exactly the same if F1 indulge in Max Mosley's ORGY!

• Rulered on Apr 08, 2009 at 3:23 am

I think making the high end technologies available for all is the way to go in leveling the playing field. I don't know whether this is what Bernie and Co have in mind and I don't know whether Cosworth have all the technologies possessed by Merc, BMW or even Toyota put together, I doubt so.

In the Olympics, the competitors are not allowed to take any performance enhancing drugs as much as FIA's regulation don't allow the F1 drivers to do so as well, but they are free to use hi tech swim suits or track shoes designed specifically for individual or team. I remembered a Kenyan long distance runner run with 'kaki ayam' and still got a respectable bronze some time ago…. Of course technology helps, so does raw skills.

• lewis on Apr 08, 2009 at 3:45 am

[quote comment="227669"]cmc80 said,

————————-

fyi A1GP is faster than F1[/quote]

An f1 car is much more quicker than an A1 gp car. An A1 gp has a 4.5 liter v8 ferrari engine that only produces around 600-bhp. A formula 1 car on the other hand has a 2.4 liter engine that produces over 750-hp. Plus now they have the KERS systems which adds another 80-hp for a total of around 6 seconds.

• Fridz (Member) on Apr 08, 2009 at 3:45 am

This is a backward step for F1,this will lost its excitement.today also we can see all 3 F1's big name like ferrari,merc and bmw are struggling with thier cars.may say that IF M.schumi was in kimi's car now,he will not as fast as jenson button..

Boring idea from FIA…then we change to watch WTCC laa…(but also boring;only Seat and Bmw M3 racing only

• transformer (Member) on Apr 08, 2009 at 7:48 am

If standard engine really come in, then F1 would never be the same fun as before… teams don't have to work hard to get most from its setup, just rely on driver skill can win…

technology advancement would be stagnant since cost factor would have direct impact…

• newbie on Apr 08, 2009 at 8:11 am

for me, F1 is a showcase of car makers creation to make the fastest and greatest machine for racing. This move for world engine is counter productive.

• wrongturn on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:15 am

I expect lot of disagreement regarding the common engine issue. But you got to remember that ideas and innovation thru engineering can never be limited due to this. Even as if we're using Cosworth engine, there aint still clear cut rules to what extend we can vary or modify its parameters?

Good team whether they are Ferrari or Williams, they will always find ways to tap extra power and reliability from any given situation.

If you give me a Cosworth engine block…i probably use a different turbo or watever than the other team using…for instance! But hey, we dont know yet the limitation and how rigid the common engine rules are!

Even a downhill soapbox cart can be interesting….(the best team still win)

Formula 1 is not about brand or color of your flags or even the amount of fund you got! It is about being the one who pass the chequered flag first with given set of rules agreed by all..

Now the sports becoming for the riches…maybe Proton can send a team if the sport is made cheap enough for all..he he

• LotusLover on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:56 am

WHY NOT?? No problem for standard engine in F1.. they still can do the best setup and search for the best driver… So, who win the race, means who is the best tuner! Thats mean Lotus still can reenter F1!! Lotus is the 1 of the best tuners! :p

• osh_kosh on Apr 08, 2009 at 4:10 pm

whatverer it is the real news was McLaren/Hamilton 'lie-gate' saga.. LOL… i can't stop laughing… stupid McCheater!

• mukhri88 on Apr 08, 2009 at 4:50 pm

What next, OVAL TRACKS like those idiot Americans?

• bmpower on Apr 08, 2009 at 5:09 pm

[quote comment="227778"]whatverer it is the real news was McLaren/Hamilton 'lie-gate' saga.. LOL… i can't stop laughing… stupid McCheater![/quote]

no.. it's not..

it's just about max mosley and bernie just another die hard fan of ferrari, and they both hate hamilton and mclaren so much.

btw, all thing they want just now.. or this year.. just screw up by Brawn GP team!. ferrari just cursed to loose.

• osh_kosh on Apr 08, 2009 at 5:32 pm

regarding the topic.. i can understand the need for cost cutting but Standard Engine use just way too much!!! Please don't do it!! maybe they should stop changing the car rules to much every season to ease the cost… my point is, the engineers need to start from scratch to build the car for this season alone.. so all the references from 2008 cars go to drain?

• osh_kosh on Apr 08, 2009 at 5:39 pm

[quote comment="227786"][quote comment="227778"]whatverer it is the real news was McLaren/Hamilton 'lie-gate' saga.. LOL… i can't stop laughing… stupid McCheater![/quote]

no.. it's not..

it's just about max mosley and bernie just another die hard fan of ferrari, and they both hate hamilton and mclaren so much.[/quote]

oh yeah? so why didn't '5 y.o' Hammy say something? that Ryan 'mis-lead' him to the Stewards after Trulli deing penalised? the World Champ just keep quiet & 'enjoy' his extra point? (no arguement, he earn that place but what he did to 'gain' back his place was just NOT RIGHT!).. LOL… i still laughing… he just being 'sorry' to get caught lying!!!

• mukhri88 on Apr 08, 2009 at 6:52 pm

Hmm instead of 400mil, you only need 200mil now to enter F1. All you have to do is tune the standard engine and work on the accessories and bodywork and youre good to go. Sounds like A1 to me.

• mystvearn on Apr 09, 2009 at 3:23 am

mmm, Ferrari, toyota, mercedes, BMW will not like this at all. F1 is changing more into the indy races in US and that is boring. Downsizing engines are boring enough, and I don't think cosworth make great engines anyway. Last time they entered, was it for Minardi, they keep loosing, so there is no fun in that.

• INDYracer on Apr 09, 2009 at 10:39 am

FIA should makes total revamp on the F1 car design rather than set stupid regulations plus limiting the advancement of technologies.

Best to merge Formula One race with FIA GT championship & compete in a new category as GT-Prototype similar to LeMans LMP1.

Set the regulations of Formula One racing prototype single seater car by limiting the minimum weight of 900kg, 18" wheel size limited max width 16", closed-wheel racing cars with headlights & tail-lamps, open cockpit or close canopy cockpit must have windscreen with wipers. Car dimensions are limited to a maximum fixed value. Bodywork is also required to cover all mechanical elements of the car, so that it cannot be visible when the car is viewed directly from the front, side, or top.

Homologated production car engines, naturally-aspirated biofuel engines limited to 3000cc & force-induction allowed for biodiesel engine limited to 2000cc. No limits on the number of cylinders for any type of engine.

• [quote comment="227549"]Guys, never forget that Cosworth supplied the DFV engines to nearly every F1 car in the 70's and 80's, except for Ferrari. Colin Chapman debuted the DFV in the Lotus 49 in 1967. McLaren, Matra, Brabham, March, Surtees, Tyrrell, Hesketh, Lola, Williams, Penske, Wolf and Ligier all used the same DFV engine. The DFV went on to collect 155 wins from 262 races between 1967 and 1985, the last win coming from Michele Alboreto in a Tyrrell in Detroit 1983. It was finally retired with the onset of the turbo-era with Martin Brundle being the last person to race a DFV in F1, also in a Tyrrell at the Austrian Grand Prix1985. The DFV was also used to win the the Le Mans 24 Hours twice (1975, 1980) and powered all Formula 3000 cars.

Looks like history might repeat itself. BTW, in 1967, the DFV only cost £7,500 to buy !! Cheers[/quote]

The DFV engine dominated the field back then by virtue of its cost effectiveness and not by enforcement. Build a decent chassis, drop in a DVF and you will be instantly competitive even in the face of "grand marques" like Ferrari, BRM and Alfa. The DFV was that good. F1 racing team owners are practical people, if they see a product that can give them the desired result, they will use it. I think it will be stupid for FIA to try to enforce standard engine, if they do it, the big names like Ferrari, Renault, Toyota and Mercedes may just decide that F1 is not worth the trouble anymore and they will migrate to other classes like sports car or Le Mans series, or they may create their own rebel series like they once threatened.

• I missed the days when F1 has qualifying turbo engines and tyres that were built to last only 3 laps. One in lap, one insane pedal-to-the-metal-flame-spewing 1500HP hot lap and one out lap to go back to pit, then junk the engine and tyres. Even the non-turbo V12s can thrill with their violent, aggressive shrieking revs. Ah… nothing entertains like sheer excesses. Socially responsible green tech bores me. F1 is supposed to be larger than life, the cars are supposed to be out-of-this world monsters that shocks and awe, not some soup up hybrids. Sorry for the rant here, F1 is just not the same anymore.