Cute little turbocharged Alfa Romeo MiTo can be yours for RM153,888++

Alfa Romeo MiTo

Think small, expensive but remarkably charming small hatchbacks and only three cars will come to mind – the MINI, and more recently the Fiat 500 and the Alfa Romeo MiTo. As of today, all three are now available in Malaysia. The MiTo offers a much more affordable price compared to the MINI Cooper and Cooper S, retailing at RM153,888 OTR excluding insurance, registration and road tax.

The 3-door MiTo shares the same engine as the Fiat Bravo – a 1.4 litre turbocharged engine producing 155 horsepower, and in the MiTO it is mated to a 6-speed manual. It is the only transmission available in the car right now, so you’ll have to work your left leg a little if you want to cruise around town with style in this particular Italian baby. 0 to 100km/h takes 8 seconds, and the car is rated to drink only 6.5 litres of petrol per 100km traveled.

Alfa Romeo MiTo

There is a decent list of equipment including cruise control, auto clmate control, LED rear lamps, steering wheel audio, VDC with hill holder function (great for starting on a slope if you’re still rusty with the manual’s clutch), a 6-speaker audio system.

There is a little three-position switch near the gear lever which will alter the throttle response and steering assist for three driving environments – Dynamic, Normal and All Weather. This is called the Alfa Romeo DNA system. The MiTo is also equipped with the Q2 electronic limited slip differential, a grand total of 7 airbags including a driver’s kneebag, and finally the chassis is rated 5 stars by Euro NCAP.

Public viewing and test drives are available at the Auto ConneXion Alfa Romeo 3S Centre at Jalan 13/2 Petaling Jaya. More photos of the MiTo available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=440]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:54 am

The fiat 500 is a better looking car than this. IMHO

• wonderful on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:57 am

wondefulllllll

• singh on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:59 am

OMG, the front is so horrible.

• xshiro on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:13 am

look like a bug

• Shiang on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:13 am

Why in manual?

• xenith (Member) on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:14 am

Nice….I saw it at TTDI Plaza, 3 cars to be exact parked near the Ducati showroom entrance. Parked across the entrance is a blue Ford Mustang with white racing stripes…

Soooo overpriced…

• haha, like the penguin from the movie "Batman"

• xenith (Member) on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:19 am

I saw it just now in flesh at TTDI Plaza… 3 cars to be exact, parked near the Ducati showroom. Across the street a blue late model Ford Mustang with white racing stripes is parked…

This car is overpriced…

• KitKat on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:20 am

I WANT!!!!

• scirocco lover on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:22 am

paul, any chance that you would be doing a test drive review soon? and do you have any news when the the scirocco coming out?

• raybrig on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:30 am

nice cute car..i likee

• FERTITA1 on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:31 am

y not ep3 or dc5?

• cloudstrife07 on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:42 am

surprisingly, the interior looks a bit like sitting in a Saga BLM, the curves at the meter cluster.. and the steering just looks like the Exora ones , no?

• This car suppose to only cost bout 10K above satria neo~ isn't it? so add 100% tax this is wad u get~ stupid~

• car fever on Aug 21, 2009 at 9:19 am

in my opinion, i think mini is certainly more overpriced than the rest if u compare it with fiat 500 and alfa romeo mito. Mini Cooper S – rm 239k, at this price u can technically buy either c-class or 3 series or A4… ridiculous

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Aug 21, 2009 at 9:27 am

Cool…

• tHe^CuLpRit on Aug 21, 2009 at 10:07 am

steering looks like Exora's. Not bad a car, an alternative option if you have the cash.

• Worth every cent!!!

• aresun on Aug 21, 2009 at 3:28 pm

syndromic looking car.

• newbie on Aug 21, 2009 at 4:01 pm

very beautiful !

• 154k for a car , even an alfa, so unreal.

054k for a satria neo cps is affordable.

• Zidane on Aug 21, 2009 at 4:10 pm

waste of money for that value and size…

for that cash. an accord, camry or 350z (cost a bit more) would be better choices…

• raptorclans on Aug 21, 2009 at 4:26 pm

That is such an awesome car. Pocket rocket… Wish I could own one… love the overall design, manages to strike a neat balance of cute and macho~

• theGuyOnTheStreet on Aug 21, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Guys, this car was available in other country before Malaysia. About the steering design, don't you think that it was Exora who copied this Alfa Mito steering design?

• theGuyOnTheStreet on Aug 21, 2009 at 4:56 pm

Well, you guys should know who makes malaysian drive overpriced imported car. So please figure out yourself.

• bmpower on Aug 21, 2009 at 5:14 pm

cute? hahaha..

it's very subjective.

but for me.. It's fugly. ;D

however. the engine is kabom. impressive.

• initial R on Aug 21, 2009 at 5:31 pm

scirocco lover said,

August 21, 2009 @ 12:22 am

paul, any chance that you would be doing a test drive review soon? and do you have any news when the the scirocco coming out?

——————————————————————

I think by Quality built & spec it still consider averagely exceptable. But if we think about price & budget much batter to buy Savvy. Maybe if we compare side by side it will look much diff in term of Spec & Style but hey with RM100k++ left in your hand, much batter u buy the house (if u ask me lah) but heck, it's italian Car right ?. For scirocco lover, The VW Scirocco will be in our shore end of this year maybe around October or November. This are info i get from my friend work in VW Cars HQ PJ. But for comfirm much batter u call to they showroom at 03-79543467. happy motoring :)

• It got not very good review so far. like Zidane said, I will too go for a Mini, 350Z, RX8, from Grey importer at similar price range. At least I don't overpay too much lar.

• lchan on Aug 21, 2009 at 5:43 pm

153k…way over priced. Realistic price should be leaning toward 135k or lower.

• SUJAC on Aug 21, 2009 at 5:59 pm

ugly

• whatever on Aug 21, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Never insult an Alfa coz you don't know anything about Alfa! hehehehehe!

• WALASiZO on Aug 21, 2009 at 6:07 pm

this is what UK people says…'the look of 100quid car'.

• roti naan1 on Aug 21, 2009 at 6:20 pm

overpriced. thanks to the govt tax…..

• wak yoyo on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:13 pm

correction..exora steering looks like mito…the mito launching fist before exora..plz check out it…so many cars designer follow the beauty of alfa, it's a fact

• You are arguing with a troll, u do know that right? waste yr time lar my fren.

• carcrazee on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:35 pm

Why not compared to the CKD 308 Turbo with a 140hp(detuned)/ 240nm BMW Mini engine at RM 113,888? Really heartache to pay the import and excise duties in MY.

• sick and tired on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:37 pm

cloudstrife07,

Pls don't insult Alfa by comparing it to a proton. And you must be blind to think that the steering wheel is the same as exora (which btw proton copied from honda civic)

• nabil on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:43 pm

blame the game , not the player ! if u know wat i mean!

• chiewwl on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:11 pm

nice babes.. opp. i mean the car..

• aimdarts on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:19 pm

Shiang said,

August 21, 2009 @ 12:13 am

Why in manual?

Those who driving license only allowed to drive auto, cannor drive this car hehehe

• Ariff on Aug 21, 2009 at 9:55 pm

this car is not overpriced.Even the 308GT is more expensive than this.Quite affordable and it is a cute car.female drivers will love this(like my mom) but manual will make them think twice.hurry n bring the auto~~And can please stop complaining abt the tax??bosan la wanna hear n read that.

• moha774 on Aug 21, 2009 at 10:38 pm

Looks menacing… good.. and I love the stats of the engine…

• azrai on Aug 21, 2009 at 10:40 pm

Haha..Exora's steering wheel.

• bmpower on Aug 21, 2009 at 11:04 pm

anyone comment about tax here.

please go to Indonesia living there.

their tax are far away cheaper!!!!!

but… I just wish you can get a job there. huh!

• milanRed (Member) on Aug 21, 2009 at 11:32 pm

mystvearn said,

August 20, 2009 @ 11:54 pm

The fiat 500 is a better looking car than this. IMHO

I think, we should compare MITO to the Fiat 500 Abarth…, wonder if fiat malaysia is gonna bring it in.?

• Chris Chong on Aug 21, 2009 at 11:45 pm

The stupid thing is that the Fiat 500 ISN'T an expensive car!!! It was designed to be an affordable-yet-stylish city car.

It costs only about 8000 to 9000 Pounds in the UK, which means that it should only cost as much as a Jazz!

Here, it costs about RM130k while the Jazz costs about RM100k. If it were locally assembled, the Fiat 500 could even sneak below the RM90,000 mark.

Dunno whether the Fiat 500's high-price is due to our ridiculous taxes or whether the local distributors are trying to market it as a premium hatchback. Whatever the case, it's really overpriced.

• katak on Aug 21, 2009 at 11:57 pm

italian kancil

• David on Aug 22, 2009 at 12:38 am

Chris Chong,

The problem with the Fiat 500 is that the official distributors of Fiat here had no choice but to price it that way. Government wouldn't allow it to be priced under 100k. So point fingers at the government, not the distributor this time.

• Beautiful meh? Thought the car looks kinda weird & fugly esp the front! Anyway, dis should pose a treat to Mini Cooper!

To me the 3 models are more beautiful. I would rather bet my money on them esp the one on the front right & the one at the back left… Hehe…

• Fiat Bravo has a better look

• Jeffery Chew on Aug 22, 2009 at 12:52 am

Is Exora's steering looks like MiTo, this MiTo launched before Exora in Europe..

• Maverick on Aug 22, 2009 at 12:53 am

No use even considering this car unless u have an AP… :)

• wajapro1 on Aug 22, 2009 at 1:23 am

if u CAN choose auto , pls dont talk about performance car

• valandil on Aug 22, 2009 at 1:37 am

what an ugly Alfa!

• superman on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:14 am

I went to section 13 PJ after lunch to test drive it. Car is well priced. RM159k OTR.

Dimension wise it's between a CLIO & a Cooper. The space inside is good , as I set the front seat & steering (reach & rake adjustable) for myself, and jumped in the back seat (I’m 5 10, 181cm btw). Rear space still acceptable level, unlike Mini. Boot space similar to CLIO

Car is manual, awesome. There's also the Dynamic, Normal & Auto setting for the various electronics. DNA setting is best left at Dynamic as the other settings make the steering TOO light. Power to weight ratio is good hence the 155bhp feels more than adequate.

I was allowed to drive it from Section 13 to Hartamas & back. Clutch is on the light side, but steering is good, and throttle response is nice too. None of that turbo laggy stuff. Acceleration is linear, not frantic like a Type R, but more Golf GTi like.

Didn't get to test it on corners as the test route was majority on highway. One thing though was the steering wobbling, like the column was loose whenever I hit a bump. Yet the ride was nice.

Still as a small hot hatch it seems like good value, unlike the overpriced Mini.

• droll on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:20 am

this car is chippable to about 180bhp easily. that should reduce the 0-100 times and increase fun factor by quite a bit. it's a good thing it comes with a 6 speed manual too! this is the stuff that hot hatches are made of!

i think the price is very reasonable for a car like this.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:53 am

So that works out at around RM1000 per horsepower…

• mingyuyu on Aug 22, 2009 at 3:28 am

FUGLY

• helmi on Aug 22, 2009 at 3:50 am

Italian design like Alfa and Fiat is always 'syok sendiri' punya design.. UGLY.. But at least they have their own identity.

• nOtoplOtoN on Aug 22, 2009 at 4:13 am

how can u compare a ploton and an alfa?the quality and the power can even match this little devil..try knocking plotons dashboard..all plastics!

ohh btw..look at most ploton cars…almost identical to alfas not the other way round…even the neo meter dials is almost identical to 147/156 versions..talking about original design..

• lf the Alfa was Naza-sized the price should be mere around RM120k. Remember the same outfit also responsible for the Mini though as a dealer. BTW it is Malaysia when our leader not really sensitive to their subjects.

• paparazi (Member) on Aug 22, 2009 at 4:55 am

in europe is a turbo Kelisa for them, in Malaysia? treated as super status car and selling price above RM150+++, What the heck are those day? most of the malaysian worked harder to live better but our government tax us like hell….wow lau eh

• paparazi (Member) on Aug 22, 2009 at 5:10 am

sorry not kelisa but is turbo Satria.

• better buy VW Polo…. Errmmm, how much is the price for Fiat 500 eh???

• deyy.. stop talking about tax.. or the stupid steering laa. every post also the same. lets talk about the 3 lads. u think i + the 3 lads in the car, is this mito comfortable enough for 4 adults?

• cmc80 on Aug 22, 2009 at 7:02 am

It's pretty good !

If I had the money… I will get it ^v^

• CARing on Aug 22, 2009 at 7:18 am

I agree that Mini is much much more expensive than MiTO…

I don't have a strong reason but i really really hate Mini…

i dont know why…just my personal opinion.

• lili N lala on Aug 22, 2009 at 7:44 am

fuiyoo… those chicks are so cun!!!

TIGHT CHICKS!!!

Wonder RM150K can buy that 3 chicks?

• Farhat Haniff on Aug 22, 2009 at 11:05 am

We got this car 2 months ago in black for 11,200 Euros (EUR9,999 for basic). Great car to drive, like a mini. Snappy turns, but abit sloutchy feeling, not as nippy as Mini.

But i have to say its strong as a bull. A golf his me at the back and caused little damage, just EUR50 on paint repair, but the golf needed extensive facelift. Not even any damage to the chassis itself. Strong car, but here, its not a chick magnet, its a typical students car.

150K in KL? get a CRV.

• shee chan on Aug 22, 2009 at 12:34 pm

If you look at the photos only, the Mito is just odd. but when I look at the real thing in showroom today, the Mito has Presence. The top of the dashboard is covered in a carbon fibre look fabric. the same material is used on the door panel. It's a very strange feeling cos it's padded like a fabric panel, yet has a textured carbon fibre without the laquer and feels like a snake skin. wonderful touches abound like the padded and stiched leather hand brake lever. absolutely wonderful feeling of a leather momo steering wheel. the car is also fitted with (optional for overseas mrkt) most expensive optioned quality leather better than your sofa in the house. someone said Proton BLM? you mean the circular aircon vents? Proton copied the intent but fail at execution. The BLM's quality is worst than the alfa 33 in the 80s. btw, the circular air vents are alfa's interior design language for many years…

• Jungle on Aug 22, 2009 at 9:24 pm

With RM153, I can find a good recond mini cooper s…

• huhu~ on Aug 24, 2009 at 12:56 am

hey this alfa got exora's stereng wheel..hahaha..

• hisham147 on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:15 am

People, if you know nothing about alfa romeos, better keep your mouth shut. Alfa romeo is a driver's car and meant for enthusiasts. have u driven one before? I'm sure the answer is NO. Instead of wasting ur time giving stupid comments on alfa, might as well u google up and study the heritage of alfa romeos. test drive one even better. Stop giving statements like 'better get a camry/accord/crv/350z/other jappos', these cars are from different league. Alfa romeo has its own group of enthusiasts and these people got money (not like u people pandai cakap duit takde berangan nak pakai 350Z, second hand lak tu) Yes i sound arrogant, but i'm sick of people who only knows giving typical comments on alfa romeos. Tak mampu nak pakai & maintain alfa, pergi duduk diam2 main keta jepun ko tu. IDIOTS.

• hisham147 on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:42 am

Oh ya, i'm sure many of u gonna reply me and againts me to the fullest. go ahead, those who r againts me i would consider him/her the typical Malaysians -Good in giving destructive comments without doing their homework. If we ask about a car's character, they only know to measure the bhp and the top speed of the car (and the car's reliability, cheapo!) go ahead people, go ahead against me. Me and my alfa romeo friends are laughing out loud at u people actually. how pathetic. hahahahahahahahaha Cuore Sportivo!

• Bryan Lo on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:52 am

yes, ever since the first Saga Proton has been tryng to copy Alfa Design cues.

Saga – follow the 164

Waja- 146- Bone treatement

Persona- 156- look at the wing mirrors

Savvy- the 147

• Bryan Lo on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:53 am

oooopps Bonet treatment

• hisham147 on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:15 am

Paultan, where's my 2 comments? why my comments are gone? because i'm pro-alfa? i did not use any bad words. if my posts are insulting, why u let people insult alfa romeo owners? u should play neutral. this is BIAS!

• nOtoplOtoN on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:00 am

u guys think HONDA is not overpriced?…locally built but look at the price tag!..because of VTEC?..fyi all modern cars are equipped with VTEC technology only their names were different…

Mito a 100quid cars in the UK? oh ya the brits called honda there cheap japs crap cars…

hisham147 dont worry..i back u up here eventho i dont drive Alfa but being a conti owners,im sick with typical malaysians sentiment when comes to cars…btw,conti cars handling are much much far better then the japs crap cars..nuff said!

• nOtoplOtoN on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:58 am

i used to love and own honda cars but after i got myself an alfa…i didnt turn back…

till today alfa is my choice…with this kind of price…well..only alfa lovers would appreciate it and get it..and M3 for a whopping RM600k and u think its cheap?go and tell these people to get a Nissan GTR instead and they will tell u go and fly kite!….now tell me u guys think nobody gonna buy it?..only those who believe in that car and the qualities would go for it..price factor..never in their mind..same like us..

so cut the crap about price,tax and looks…u have to appreciate the car to love it not talking crap!

nuff said!

• RunnerUp on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:27 am

[August 24, 2009 @ 10:00 pm] nOtoplOtoN said,

hisham147 dont worry..i back u up here eventho i dont drive Alfa but being a conti owners…

[August 24, 2009 @ 10:58 pm] nOtoplOtoN said,

i used to love and own honda cars but after i got myself an alfa…i didnt turn back…

Are you high or something?

• Saiful39 on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:24 am

All malaysian that comment here about alfas compare to proton really stupid jerk!!

What r u people thinkin?

So Mr hisyam if this people can compare proton or the japanese or the specific words cheap plastic with alfa romeo so u r wasting ur time if there knoe about car character. They just want to drive car only start n drive. Thats all!!

Report from europe about alfa mito is soo great but the malaysian con this mito. So i can conclude that malaysian pandai ckp jer…They all just knoe wahhhh Honda,Subaru,M3???

If want to talk about price, im glad u people cant buy. If u people afford u will crash the car because u people can only appreciate japanese crap.

Eii stupid people pliz reply…i and my friends so entertain with all ur clown comment. so if u post it i can read n judge how stupid u r…. unta pun x de bodo mcm nih

Cuore Sportivo!

• Saiful39 on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:39 am

All malaysian that comment here about alfas compare to proton really stupid jerk!!

What r u people thinkin?

So Mr hisyam if this people can compare proton or the japanese or the specific words cheap plastic with alfa romeo so u r wasting ur time if there knoe about car character. They just want to drive car only start n drive. Thats all!!

Report from europe about alfa mito is soo great but the malaysian con this mito. So i can conclude that malaysian pandai ckp jer…They all just knoe wahhhh Honda,Subaru,M3???

If want to talk about price, im glad u people cant buy. If u people afford u will crash the car because u people can only appreciate japanese crap.

Eii stupid people pliz reply…i and my friends so entertain with all ur clown comment. so if u post it i can read n judge how stupid u r…. unta pun x de bodo mcm nih

Bella Italia!!!

• bryan lo on Aug 25, 2009 at 10:43 am

Hisham147

Like you I am an Alfa Fan having driven and owned the 33, 164, 156 and still have my 146ti

Heck I even owned the Fiat X1/9 and the Punto Turbo and the GTV6.

However your rant against those who criticised Alfas is doing a diservice to Alfasiti. Everyone have their opinion. For you to insult them ( like having no money) is unbecoming and does not belong to those of us who love our Alfas.

It is just wrong to imply that those who owned Alfas got money, because I certainly dont!

• italian freak on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:38 pm

Bryan Lo

I dont think Hisham is insulting, Everyone have their opinion???

If comparing alfas with exora is that an opinion??

Hisham not insulting but if u read the comment line by line u will understand the message..hisham try to say that alfas is for enthusiasts….This people keep on con this alfa till people like us read so annoyed….But malaysian is still malaysian…

btw Bryan Lo i own bertone 2000, Duetto, Spider, old fiat 500 n 600, 156 Gta, maserati Gibli, F355 spider..so im all about italians, and i cannot just stood still by people cons all the bellas…..

So u dont talk about u soo an alfa fans…

Alfa fans not just see people cons n trash our car and we can just stood stilll…

Alfisti!!!!!!!!!

• italian freak on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:44 pm

it is just wrong to imply that those who owned Alfas got money???

ok if this fellas keep on talking n comparing the price with the japanese plastic, Is that rational to u Mr bryan?

I thing u dont understand the message that want to deliver by hisham…

if u dont have money its ok, but dont cons this alfas…

• hisham147 on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:54 pm

'OMG, the front is so horrible.' -singh

'haha, like the penguin from the movie “Batman” -M3

'y not ep3 or dc5?' -FERTITA1

'waste of money for that value and size…

for that cash. an accord, camry or 350z (cost a bit more) would be better choices…' -Zidane

'It got not very good review so far. like Zidane said, I will too go for a Mini, 350Z, RX8, from Grey importer at similar price range. At least I don’t overpay too much lar.'-Ken

'what an ugly Alfa!' -valandil

'FUGLY' -mingyuyu

These are among the insulting comments. Very amateurish and uneducated. What cars are u driving rite now people, Ferrari? Do you know Enzo Ferrari worked with Alfa Romeo in 1920s? Do you know Scuderia Ferrari started as racing team for Alfa Romeo? Sure u don't know, because u guys are no brainers!

What you know is – 'I wonder if u know, how to live in Tokyo, Fast & The Furious! hahahahahahahahahaha Cheapos!

• Saiful39 on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:26 pm

Juz waste of time layan tis typical stupid jerk….

Sham ko lagi nak cite pasal history ferrari ngan diorg nih, aku rase diorg history proton pun xtaw…..

Let me explain somethin, once upon a time proton engineer all driving alfas, and many designer for proton is inspired by alfa romeo….

So thats why all the perdana grill following alfas….So malaysian people open ur damn eyes and see….dont talk like people without knowledge but act like knoes everythin….

advice from me go and test drive the mito then talk….

Bella italia

• VittorioJano on Aug 26, 2009 at 12:00 am

waste of money for that value and size…

for that cash. an accord, camry or 350z (cost a bit more) would be better choices…-Zidane-

>>what a pathetic comment…only dickhead will compare Alfa Mito and Toyota Camry,Accord,350z…these people don't know about cars………..

Sporting at Heart!!!

• Agree my fren!

350Z..ok lar (a bit boring though), Camry and accord, wrong class lar my friend!! To bring kids to school ok lar. On the street, he can’t even see the Mito’s LED back-lite in a blink!

• Bryan Lo on Aug 26, 2009 at 4:56 am

To Italian freak

if calling calling people idiot and having no money is not insulting, I dont know what is.

and what do you mean comparing Alfa and Exora is not an opinion?

both are cars, both have 4 wheels…………………………., it may not be a valid opinion, it may not be an agreeable opinion, but it is an opinion and it DOES NOT make that person an idiot.

yes you may own all those wonderful cars (I am actually looking for a Duetto to restore) good for you but it does give you the right to call other people idiots

To Hisham

I hereby declare that The Mito is the most beautiful car, the best car, the most wonderful car, the most value for money, even better than the Dino, the best thing since slice bread, since roti canai.

So now I must be a genius and have lots of money!!!!!!!!!!!!????????????

BTW I just paid a deposit for the Mito but now have to wait. Blame my wife – I wanted the black, she the red. by the time, she win our argument( she always win!) , the red with cream leather is gone.

• Bryan Lo on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:00 am

Hisham

Since you know Alfa History well, you should also know that Alfa also made the ARNA?

and what do you think about that car?

• Bryan Lo on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:09 am

Saiful

Perhaps you should also explain that following Alfa was the grave mistake that got Proton into the mess there are in now..

ALFA is a brand that appeals to enthusiasts , Proton is trying to make a national car for Malaysians. This contribute to the bad reputation that Alfa has in malaysia.

• VittorioJano on Aug 26, 2009 at 12:31 pm

bryan lo,

plz stop being nice!!…as an Alfisti u should protect and defend Italian cars not attacking other Alfisti…or mayb educate those stupid people bout Italian cars.tell them our car got soul…btw good choice man…buying a Mito.

• Saiful39 on Aug 26, 2009 at 4:42 pm

ALFA is a brand that appeals to enthusiasts , Proton is trying to make a national car for Malaysians. This contribute to the bad reputation that Alfa has in malaysia. -bryan say-

Now u r talking? alfa appeals enthusiasts? on the other hand ur comment at italian freak about comparing exora wit alfa….is that an opinion? for example one guy ask u erm which one is better choice mito or exora? i wondering what ur answer is? bcoz if people ask me i cannot answer cuz to me the question is so stupid and if im rude enough i say wat an IDIOT person ask such question….

About idiot, i already sick n tired this people complaining the price, comparing mito wit camry??, oh the stering like proton? what is this??????????????????????????????

So from the dictonary say people like this call an idiot!!!! dont blame me blame the dictonary…..

I can except if this nice malaysian con this car wit positif maner SUCH AS they hav to improve on the design not eiii the steering like exora…Ada paham ka?

By the way enjoy ur mito,show the malaysian idiot why the price is rm 153K….

Bella italian!!!

• hisham147 on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:23 pm

Mr Bryan Lo, i'm sick of being 'gentleman' when dealing with these people. They just know how to condemn cars by looking at the picture and some basic technical details. for how long we have to tolerate with their stupid comments? btw, who are u to say i don't belong to the alfistis? (not 'alfasiti' mr bryan) are u the president of AROC? are u a member? what's ur membership no?

By 'having driven and owned the 33, 164, 156 and still have ur146ti and even owned the Fiat X1/9 and the Punto Turbo and the GTV6', u said u got no money? u think i'm an idiot like them? u talk as if i don't drive one.

Mr bryan, if they call our wife/gf a 'bitch', should we remain silent as well? oh i forgot, like u said, 'Everyone have their opinion'…

• hisham147 on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:41 pm

Mr bryan lo, i'm upset with the ARNA eventhough it's just a short time partnership with nissan. if i could, i would delete the ARNA from alfa romeo history. Again, u think i'm an idiot like them? are u testing me?

congrats for ur mito, i thought u said u don't have money? send my regards to andrew from sdac.

• firdausasri on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:45 pm

I had a brief drive in the MiTo. I adore the looks, typical Alfa flair but let down by its power delivery (personal preference) and steering feel even on Dynamic. My review is in poconggti.blogspot.com

For those comparing MiTo against Accord or Camry, dude get a life, you're not comparing an apple with an apple. Accord or Camry will be left for dust on trunk road by this cute MiTo

• Bryan Lo on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:40 pm

AT the risk of being boring, I repeat what I said in my first post. by calling other people idiots and having no money just because they dont like ALFA, to me is doing a disservice to the alfisti. why?

Alfa has a glorious history but that was about 50 years ago. Their recent hstory is nothing to shout about. That is why as a car manufacturer, Alfa has to be rescued I dont know how many times. As a result its development resources cannot match othermore efficient manufacturers and ALFa cars has not being able to be the best in their class for a while.

yes, things are looking up with the 159 and now hopefully the Mito – and ( shock – the new head of ALFA is an EX BMW guy).

What ALFA needs is a car not just for Alfisti but to draw buyers away from Nini. BMW & Audi. IT needs all the help it can from the Alfisti- by convincing non alfa owners into the brand

The fact that there are "idiots" around who have an opinion means that they are at least interested. misinformed maybe, ignorant maybe but interested.

However if so called ALFA fans starts juming on them and insulting them only serve to drive them away from the brand, certainly no one want to be associated with a bunch of rude and arrogant "fans"

Bottom lie, a potential sale is gone and less profit for Alfa and thus less funds for research for new and better Alfas in the future.

so if you are real fan and care about Alfa, be decent.

BTW I do not owned all the cars mention at the same time and except for the 146ti, are bought 2nd hand, so I dont have money, otherwise I would have bought the 156 GTA in manual

I have driven the Mito sports Veloce in Australia for a week and I have to say that id we take off the ALFA badge, and viewed it as a car, it is no better than the Mini and cannot beat the golf GTi.

I bought it because it is an ALFA, maybe that makes me an idiot. (like marrying my wife)

• Bryan Lo on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:49 pm

ask me which is a better for me – Mito or Exora? 5 years ago and I would say Exora!

I have 2 kids, a nephew, a 75 year old mother, a maid, and my wife'

Now mother has passed on, one kid and the nephew is no longer staying with us(the wife still is, sadly:)- so if you give me an Exora I will sell it and buy the Mito.

• hisham147 on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:33 pm

mr modest bryan, i've tried to educate this kind of people nicely about alfa romeos before, but they're so arrogantly reluctant to accept my views. they're the ones who're snobbish in the first place. then, i realized educating these people is a waste of time. i don't think they're interested like u said.

those who know about alfa romeos will go after the brand. we don't have to convince the non alfa owners, unless they're really interested into the brand.

p/s : u compared mito with Golf GTI? yes the GTI has more power, but mito has more fun.

• bryan lo on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:17 pm

Fun,

I think my Old Punto Turbo is more fun, if fun means spining more times than I can remember, once it threw me into the bush, and stopped just 2 m short of a 30 foot ravine.! The Mito with its modern electronics has safety engineered into them.The Mito (Mee Too) is miles better and luckily the character is still there

In a way the Mito is a successor to the Punto, both 1.4L turbo, both fun, both cute and pretty, but the turbo lag in the punto and the torque steer has to be experienced to be believed.

• Saiful39 on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:17 pm

Again,do i have to explain??

if u want to compare wisely is for example exora with fiat ulysses…

not mito n exora or compare mito n golf gti….

bella italia

• Saiful39 on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:21 pm

Bro,sumpah gua letih nak skolah kan org…lantak die lah….the most important we enjoying our bellas…..

• hisham147 on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:46 pm

bro saiful, i agree with u. we r so damn tired with them. let's roll to IJN for medical check up. i'm afraid we're gonna have heart attack dealing with these lousy people. at least our part is done, defending alfa romeos to the fullest…

Cuore Sportivo!

• Saiful39 on Aug 27, 2009 at 12:53 am

Agreed to u bro…

We just see wat this jokers want to post comment about mito….

I just wanna see how idiot they r including the people claiming they ALFA FANS…

• hisham147 on Aug 27, 2009 at 11:37 pm

To italian freak, Saiful39, VittorioJano, and everyone who's on my side, thank you…Cuore Sportivo!

• chen tong on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:44 am

Can't agree more with Hisham and Saiful..Italian is all about revolution design,performance,emotion,pedigree.Buy Alfa or others niche continental makes is not use your brain but your HEART. For those who really LOVE,UNDERSTAND and APPRECIATE continental philosophy.

• Ahmad Sahar on Sep 08, 2009 at 9:15 pm

I was lucky to test drive the Alfa Romeo MiTo recently. Would like to thank Mr. Mazmi Syah for his good service.

Driving position feels good but I feel the car is a bit cramped. Understandable, cos it's a supermini. Surprisingly I can still fit at the back but would not want to be there for long period. Slightly awkward to sit at the back.

Before the test drive I set the DNA switch to D. Drive from the showroom to Sri Hartamas and back. The power is certainly there, just press the pedal and off she goes. Acceleration is rapid, brakes feel good, easy to change gear and use the clutch. However the ride is very bumpy bumpy bumpy. Suspension does not seem to absorb the shock at all compared to other cars I've driven and it reduces my confidence to drive the car fast.

Maybe I should have set the setting to N instead of D.

After that I tried the 159 which felt so much better in terms of ride comfort.

Anyway I guess if you just drive the MiTo like a normal car with the setting set to N it would be fine. And it looks unique, like nothing else on the road.

However the ride comfort just kills it for me.

Thanks again to En. Mazmi for his kind assistance.

• sujak on Sep 10, 2009 at 12:20 pm

weird design.

• bella italia on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:14 pm

sujak : shut up….u dont know how to appreciate the italian design so shut up…go piss else where…

• perfect, just test drive at auto conexxion jalan ipoh. i think performance car should only in manual to feel the real performance of this turbo charge engine. this car is awesome. plan to buy it in 2010. hahaha…. i will own it!!!

• This is to Paul

Is it true that this is the last Generation Mito that SImeDarby is bringing in?
    Coz the new gen has got the below extra features:

1) Multi-air technology in their engine to save more fuel
    2) The new 1.4 turbo makes 170HP instead of 155HP
    3) Stop-start feature to save even more fuel.
    4) ‘active suspension’ that according to a writer, ‘Better than the previous model, and that remedied most of the complaints made about the car’s suspension problem”.

I know that they sell both 170 and 155 HP oversea, but maybe they launch both of them at different period of time, and the 155 version gets older spec that doesn’t include the latest ‘Stop-start’ and ‘multi-air’, and better suspension? I simply hate to get an older model. Do you know the full-story?

• pei pei on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:16 pm

mmm…
    wondering where can i get Alfa Romeo MITO car accessories in malaysia??

tHanks Alfa Fans!!

• Zoel Heashem on Feb 05, 2011 at 12:44 am

Ah, an Alfa Ro-me-yo….kicking in 155 horses, turboed and a hot hatch, manual stick and mostly,sticking to it’s classic design .150k+ is no big noise unless it’s a clerk stammering.

• hi i am owner collecter of american jeep C6, land rover ,norton and triumph british bike.
    To get the ferrari and lamboghini and alfa C8 maybe the dream of all so alfa romeo & fiat is next choice. To have the best you must know the best .

Must know the continental ,japanese ,korean and malaysia car and then you can compare. Cannot compare cappuciano , kopitiam/kopi kapal api and japanese coffee
    simple like this cannot compare red wings (usa) ,dr martens (UK), salvatore ferragamo (italy) with bata (msia) .

the best sedan car:mercedes ,bmw
    the best 4 wheel:land rover ,jeep
    the best mini car :you decide base on your pocket money

Ferrari 458,Lambo Reventon is the dream so buy alfa romeo or fiat
    Bentley GT ,Austin Martin is the dream so buy Lotus ,Landrover
    Mercedes SL500 ,Porche Panamera is the dream so buy mercedes masterpiece :)
    KIA,Peugeot is the dream so buy naza

Buy the car that can be the next Legend. you also can ask Jay Leno he is the expert about car.

so buy alfa mito or vw scirroco or mini cooper ..this will be next collecter items..
    less money buy mini savvy or mini myvvi :) our account tells everything unless u r tansri

• ajdar on May 16, 2012 at 2:25 pm

I dont understand why the Proton kakis always say that a certain car look like Neo, Exora, Preve etc.etc
    Wake up!! It is Proton 100% of the time who copies from other car makers. I say this not because i am anti -proton or Malaysia, i am fact i am proud to be a Malaysian. It is because i dont want to sound like a fool if i say otherwise!

• It costs rm55k in the uk after tax, here they overcharge 100k, ridiculous