Do you prefer the Impreza hatchback or sedan?

subaru-impreza-hatch

The latest model Subaru Impreza has been in our market for quite sometime now, but I don’t know about you but I have yet to see one on our road.

Perhaps I’ve just been in the wrong places at the wrong times. The previous generations on the other hand can be seen nearly once a day and it’s a joy to hear it burbling past, thanks to its turbocharged boxer engine.

subaru-impreza-sedan

The Subaru Imprezas that we get here in Malaysia is unique in the sense that they are European spec models brought in from Europe instead of the JDM models that the grey importers bring in. This means no speed limit!

But I’m just curious on why has the takeup of the Impreza been slow compared to its arch-rival the Lancer Evolution? Is it because the Impreza has traditionally been viewed as a hot rally-going sedan instead of its current hatchback incarnation?

[polldaddy poll=2049346]

There are of course sedan versions of the car. Personally what do you think – do you prefer the sedan variant of the Impreza WRX or the hatchback version? Do vote above and share your opinion in the comments section – I’m pretty sure the people from Motor Image are watching.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Caddilac on Oct 01, 2009 at 2:28 am

The design of Impreza is quite a failure in this generation…

• Paul, Impreza vs Evo ?

One word… Aesthetic.

Good design always sell.

• Tiadaid on Oct 01, 2009 at 2:44 am

The new Impreza is not as good as an Evo, and doesn't look all that good. But for me I don't care bout looks. If it was as good as an Evo, I'd buy it.

• invectus on Oct 01, 2009 at 2:53 am

i prefer sedan because it has tht fierce look. maybe because i'm not into hatchback to me its more girlie. my personal opinion peace!

• josh88 on Oct 01, 2009 at 3:10 am

Both looks uninspiring, and it will only satisfy hardcore Imprezza fans I guess..please dont fool msians by another of these wallet puncturing overprice junk!!

• Shawn on Oct 01, 2009 at 3:16 am

Paul, do you know what's the latest number of unit sold for Imprezza vs Evo? The last time I checked (2-3 months back) was Evo outnumbered Imprezza. I did ask the guys in Mitsubishi though, they said it's due to number of units that been taken up by the PDRM. Not sure whether that is relevant or not.. just sharing the input.

• nuajon on Oct 01, 2009 at 3:34 am

prefer sedan, handsome.

• John Doe on Oct 01, 2009 at 3:35 am

personal speaking,

i dont like both (eventhough im a impreza fan)

i agree with Caddilac..this generation impreza doesnt do well n im sure that many ppl will turn to evo….

• Sedan version is what makes the Evo and Impreza unique as compared to the Europeans which are mostly Hatchbacks.

• tkaira on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:04 am

at my place i often get to see a white wrx passing by every now and then..id go with the sedan…

• fredo on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:17 am

I like the hatchback for the racer boy image, the sedan looked like those korean made chevrolet and very dull.

• fredo on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:21 am

Tiadaid said,

September 30, 2009 @ 6:44 pm

The new Impreza is not as good as an Evo, and doesn’t look all that good. But for me I don’t care bout looks. If it was as good as an Evo, I’d buy it.

————————————————————————————————————–

in other words, you like them because of the brand name. Hey i got a Tiara that can cucuk an Evo, i guess you will be likely to buy it.

• Imprezaza on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:31 am

This Impreza doesnt Impress~! Since this is a product full develop by Subaru not after the merger with Toyota. Its forgiven for such a scrap yard designed car

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:39 am

Actually, the current EVO is one of the worst. Maybe it will be better when the EVO 11 launches…just like how the EVO 8 was a massive improvement over the disappointing EVO 7

• boleh! on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:49 am

Actually, the current EVO is one of the worst. Maybe it will be better when the EVO 11 launches…just like how the EVO 8 was a massive improvement over the disappointing EVO 7

—————————————

evo worst compared to….mazda 3 mps?

• painsama on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:54 am

>>"But I’m just curious on why has the takeup of the Impreza been slow compared to its arch-rival the Lancer Evolution?

It's the bonnet scoop. Ugly for some, but it's the trademark.

Personally I prefer the hatchback over the sedan. The sedan just looks like a normal car.

• keluangman on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:24 am

The actual reason why there's hardly anyone buying Subaru's from Motor Image is due to the horror stories owners encounter when they try to claim warranty from MI. Suffice to say, when you're buying a brand new subaru from MI it's as good as getting one from grey import(at least grey import willing to entertain your warranty claim) instead. They will try every trick and ways NOT to entertain your warranty claim. You can chk it out at Subaru owners forum.

Oh and did I mention how ugly new Subaru looks nowadays?

• lowprofile on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:51 am

i prefer the sedan. singapore has had the sedan for some time already. wonder why motor image never brought the 3-box shape here. even the poll shows that more prefer the sedan.

• Anonymous on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:22 am

Hatchback = Feminine

Sedan = Muscular

That's all I want to say

• Leonardo on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:39 am

Hatchback = Loud Boy Racer

Sedan = Quiet Macho Man

That's all I want to say….(hey, where did i read this?)

• BeemeFreak on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:54 am

Price matters. just like the Mazda problem. Mitsubishi done well to price the lancer 2.0 under rm120k. Motor Image should learn the same trick. and saying their cars are fully imported is also not an excuse, our lancers here are fully imported from japan as well.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:10 am

why the belakang look like suzuki sx-4? i prefer the hatch. at least it's something different from evo.

• mystvearn on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:25 am

sedan reminds me of honda city

• kentank91 on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:36 am

aku lebih suka sedan r…

lagi macho beb..huhuhuhu

• Salamander on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:37 am

I love the hatchback. Then mod it to looks like Ken Block impreza.

• mycar on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:40 am

to me Impreza hatchback is like Audi RS6 estate, OMG what a waste! i still like the previous model better.

• pokiboys on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:45 am

subaru failed ,

u taking european version means 2500cc.

just the timing belt cost at least rm1800.

evo should be rm500.

• evo selling because looks better.

the current generation impreza's seriously looks like shit.

i very much prefer the previous gen. and i know alot of people have similar views.

• sedan's version looks more preserved, while the hatchback doesn't fit into racing category. yet people here in Kiasu-land still buying it due to cheaper price, and its ready-to-modify's body. however i can see more Evo / Lancer on the Kiasu-Land roads. even the Cerato are selling pretty well currently.

• Well, referring to the mentioned "no speed limit" for european models, I have to say this:

My 6 month old non-turbo Impreza 2.0R bought in Germany is electronically limited to 197 km/h (measured by GPS) which means it'll cut off power at 5500rpm in 5th gear.

But I suspect the WRX or STI models are not limited that low.

Oh, and hatchbacks are more practical!

• Paul,

Where is the story on the latest news in F1? Go Alonso! Kimi is over-rated, just like Hamilton.

• always prefered hatchbacks, it's a personal thing.

• but do please, cut down on the pricing . . . . it's beyond affordable for us unlike kiasu-land.

• dejavu on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:10 pm

Stil prefer d 3 box design.

Current Euro version reminds me of d ol Rio form d side n some seriouly mixed up kid when comparing d front (2sublime n grown up) n rear (sophisticated n modern wit tat love-or-hate flair).

• ALPINA_BMW on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Typical dumb Malaysian will buy based on look. They think sedan is macho when actually the WRX sedan is more girly and the hatchback is more garang

• Ezwan on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:18 pm

alonso join ferrari??dayme

• droll on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:37 pm

oh my god. the sedan's rear does not look anything like an aggressive rally bred car!

it reminds me of a toyota axio's rear :(

• pulge on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:37 pm

In terms of aerodynamics, the hatch is better as it helps with air flow and better handling. Usually sedan is heavier than a hatchback. My personal view.

• pulge on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:45 pm

One more thing, Malaysian is more common with sedan for so long, hence why many would prefer this body type. Plus, we hardly see any hatchbacks or even wagon/estate cars on our roads although they are virtually more practical than a sedan due to its bigger boot space and roomier interior. Besides, sedan usually look nicer compared to a hatchback or estate/wagon. Though there are many hatchbacks here that is rather small in boot space and interior.

• arian on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:14 pm

Sedan has better looking than hatchback for this one.

But…overall i must agreed with most of the guys here that mentioned this gen. subaru is lack of stylish design, i definitely will go for evo rather than both of this impreza.

• sedan may look more understated but i think the hatchback shape was to appeal more to european markets and yup, i do agree with droll that the rear looks like an axio… but i still like it :)

to me the impreza started life as a sedan and it should always be that way. the hatch can be an addition but the sedan makes an impreza what it is.

by the way, even mitsubishi is trying to appeal more to the europeans with their lancer sportback.

• barca on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:17 pm

gotta agree with alpina here. and while we're at it, why don't we also add the "value-for-money" or "second hand value" nonsense talk which applies to the typical dumb malaysian. :)

most contis and several japanese (note: other than T/H/N) offerings are nothing short of superb in their on ways. the enthusiasts themselves know what they want in cars such as the impreza and willingly fork out no matter how dated the car's design or what the amount may cost them to get it.

however, the problem starts when you have non-enthusiasts / wannabes discussing / considering buying these superb cars and spouting "ooh so ugly", "overpriced", etc.

to the non-enthusiasts / wannabes, you're just nothing but pure spoilsports.

ALPINA_BMW said,

October 1, 2009 @ 8:12 am

Typical dumb Malaysian will buy based on look. They think sedan is macho when actually the WRX sedan is more girly and the hatchback is more garang

• p1basher on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:21 pm

impreza looks fugly.. admit it..

no one who got the money would dump their money into tat. they would opt for vw or ford hatchback or evo.

• Ah Beng on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:22 pm

I like the hatch of course,, i am a huge fan of hatch.

Whichever cars/MPV model (except Van),, as long as it's hatchback,, i'll like it.

That's why even sharing the same platfoorm/engine with City,, i pay RM20k more to own a Jazz.

before that,, i own a 1982 Honda Civic (5 door hatch).

Did mention i am a huge fan of Honda too. ; )

• initial R on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:44 pm

By the design, now impreza not lure my eye at all but sedan is much batter thant hatchback since the first day i see it in s'pore it's looks more like estate@wagon not as hatchback. However i prefer new Evo rather this new dooms impeza coz by the looks & handling is much fit with my driving style. :)

• xavier lert on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:03 pm

no to both ugly car doesn't deserve to live…..only ugly people with ugly taste feel this car is hot….

Sarah Jessica Parker = impreza

• Ultraman on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:38 pm

keluangman said,

September 30, 2009 @ 9:24 pm

The actual reason why there’s hardly anyone buying Subaru’s from Motor Image is due to the horror stories owners encounter when they try to claim warranty from MI. Suffice to say, when you’re buying a brand new subaru from MI it’s as good as getting one from grey import(at least grey import willing to entertain your warranty claim) instead. They will try every trick and ways NOT to entertain your warranty claim. You can chk it out at Subaru owners forum.

Oh and did I mention how ugly new Subaru looks nowadays?

Yeah MI sucks, even changing the wipers will void your warranty, what a joke..

• mitlanevo on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:04 pm

huh? hatchback or sedan???

i prefer my lovely mighty powerful Evo X, thank you :-)

• LoveBoxerEngineEvoSk on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:28 pm

EVO!!! EVO!!! EVO!!!

Impreza has been losing its touch the past 5-6 years oledi.

Sayang, the engine very macho and scary to hear but the appearance getting worst every new version.

Maybe should employ Mitsu's designers kot…

• mouse on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:39 pm

love hot hatch.. my vote goes to …. u know what

• current imprezza looks bad… current Evo just looks OK (due to too many normal Lancers OTR, the Evo dont really stand out)…

but anyway… i prefer a sedan anytime over hatchback… sedan looks more 'low profile', not like ah beng…

but considering headache, heart attacks, disappointments etc, i would go Evo with proper sales support, unless Subaru distributor can improve… those health problems could worth at least another RM100k…

• mouse on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:09 pm

DC, r u trying to say that VW MK6 and Scirocco is for bengs? how about wira-lusion and waja-lusion. Is all personal preference and you simply dont understand what is ah beng and what is not. Sedan is more executive where hatch is sporty.. u dont call it bengs! Just say that you like sedan more then hatch, end of story….

• nuajon on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:10 pm

yes, hatch look feminin…sedan its mucho!

• osh_kosh on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:34 pm

my vote: Sedan… & i don't want to say why coz we all can argue all day long without any conclusion coz everyone has a mind of their own.. tq

• sedan looks is far more muscular then the hatch…

i love the sedan from the old one… continuing the legend of speed… wrc..

subaru rocks!!!

• er, have you guys voted in the poll above? the percentage doesn't seem to be moving anywhere.

• Han!h on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:58 pm

i think b0th sedan & hatchback versi0n are nice.b0th l0ok aggressive, b0th l0ok sp0rty & b0th are 0dd tu…h0wever,i prefer Evo.. =D

• torque (Member) on Oct 01, 2009 at 9:20 pm

Always admire the Subaru especially the version 9 and it's special S204 but this new generation is rather dull COMPARED to the previous version…still, the question at hand is which do we prefer in this current generation. My vote goes to the hatchback as I see the new sedan is quite ugly especially from the rear. Oh ya..the only thing that SUCKS is Motor Image!!!

• Ladiesman217 on Oct 01, 2009 at 10:03 pm

one glance on sedan's rear and first thing in mind….Hyundai or Kia! the rear light profile just doesnt seem right and something is missing too..the spoiler, yes?

• pulge on Oct 01, 2009 at 10:13 pm

I also don't like the current Impreza's grille. Maybe Subaru is trying to churn out their own corporate identity but somehow failed. I think…

• RH PumpkinKing on Oct 01, 2009 at 10:28 pm

I prefer the hatch back model. The sedan model looks awkward..

• Soo… the easiest answer to which Impreza Malaysian prefers…

hatchback or sedan…

the answer is Evo?! <— Truly Malaysia… in a weird way, im soo proud to be part of it :)

• MI = Tan Chong ? same mentality ar ?

• here compare sedan or hatch ok.. not compare impreza and evo lor.

• skyyarif on Oct 01, 2009 at 11:51 pm

I missed the typical trademark of pillarless doors fitted to the prev subaru imprezas, why were'nt they fitted on these two? hmmm

• mitlanevo on Oct 01, 2009 at 11:58 pm

to CK:

most of us know exactly what u mean, but its hard to separate Evo and Impreza when either one of them is mentioned…. they both are very same and also very different at the same time….

its like when u say C-Class, ppl's mind will pop out 3-Series (or even A4 for minority)….

anyway, EVO RULES ALL THE WAY !!!!!!! hehehez, peace~

• Apernie on Oct 02, 2009 at 12:32 am

Subaru Design/Styling Department…they are going backward I think.

Entah ape-ape entah…even some new Hyundai/Kia look better.

• MR.anderson on Oct 02, 2009 at 1:01 am

ermm beter prefer hatchback like ford focus rs .. any news to bring it to malaysia . it more garang then the subaru .. (just opinion) mitsubishi is in my heart

• lowprofile on Oct 02, 2009 at 1:08 am

yes, i love doors without window frames!

• Rulered on Oct 02, 2009 at 2:59 am

Subaru Impreza WRX that took part in WRCs around the world was glorified by the sedan versions before, therefore it has become sort of printed in everybody's mind that the sedan is better looking. For the sake of argument in terms of looks for the current Impreza, I think it still goes to the sedan version, not because the sedan one is better designed but more because of the hatchback is awfully designed. WRC cars are never good looking whichever brand it is, it's purely hardcore performance car.

• wanfumi on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:12 am

Subaru at its worst. Not sure if this subaru looks better than Satria Neo. Hrmmm…

• Barca is right…

wait till u drive the 'dumb looking' impreza (or evo)….and u will definitely dump your so hebat civic and city…

————————————————

barca said,

October 1, 2009 @ 9:17 am

gotta agree with alpina here. and while we’re at it, why don’t we also add the “value-for-money” or “second hand value” nonsense talk which applies to the typical dumb malaysian.

most contis and several japanese (note: other than T/H/N) offerings are nothing short of superb in their on ways. the enthusiasts themselves know what they want in cars such as the impreza and willingly fork out no matter how dated the car’s design or what the amount may cost them to get it.

however, the problem starts when you have non-enthusiasts / wannabes discussing / considering buying these superb cars and spouting “ooh so ugly”, “overpriced”, etc.

to the non-enthusiasts / wannabes, you’re just nothing but pure spoilsports.

ALPINA_BMW said,

October 1, 2009 @ 8:12 am

• Hadi1975 on Oct 02, 2009 at 6:29 am

The hatchback looks kinda butt heavy……

• for this ver I go for the hatch!!….

• Sedan. Period.

• pomen on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:14 pm

no lah…in term of sales in malaysia mitsu outnumbered subaru because of malaysian knows mitsu closer than subaru since the birth of proton…

i wonder if proton was made of subaru model…it could be mitsu-what?? as nothing to us…

• Kevin Lee MK on Oct 23, 2009 at 6:00 am

I m driving a impreza 07, version 9 sedan, it looks 1000 times better than the new one. But the interior of the latest one is much more spacious n comfy. the new one is more towards the older generation i guess. looks apek.