E30 nicely racking up the bills – rust, cracks and worn bushings to be fixed up

e30-coupe-1

Think it’s time to post something new on the progress of fixing up the BMW E30! When I got the car, it was quite driveable but it looks like before I purchased it, it had not been driven for a long time (continue reading after the jump).

e30-coupe-3

The small little niggles with the suspension quickly deteriorated thanks to our horrible roads and before I knew it, the rear of the car was running pretty much on springs only with the rear shocks being completely dead. There are also various rust spots that I’ll fix up with a proper full treatment and paint job when I can afford it.

e30-coupe-2

So off the E30 went into the shop to fix up the various issues that I’ve spotted so far with the car, mainly being the suspension. The radiator was leaking a little so that was replaced. The exhaust rear muffler has also been repositioned properly to be a little higher – previously it was mounted pretty low and was scraping against the ground when I went up steep ramps.

e30-coupe-4

The exhaust manifold leak has been fixed by using a good used from the E34. Couldn’t find any convenient E30 manifolds. Of course there had to be some mods to be done for the E34 manifold to fit but that was taken care of.

The car is still in the workshop. Alot of bits have been replaced – the rear two shocks, various bushings, mounts, gaskets, etc. Once it’s out I’ll be back with a full list of stuff that has been changed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• saylitazzi on Oct 07, 2009 at 10:30 am

did you change the caliper or u just paint it red?

• Paul Tan on Oct 07, 2009 at 10:37 am

It was painted red… not by me.

• ezwann on Oct 07, 2009 at 10:56 am

the 3rd pic shows a clear good black areas…

• Kevin Lee on Oct 07, 2009 at 2:26 pm

damn, its pretty expected when you want to restore a classic. im racking up my bills too, spending over 5k in parts purchasing. my hubcaps cost 1.6k!

what color are u gonna paint on ur 3? just curious

Paul Tan says: Maybe same colour. Maybe some kind of grey.

• Dingo on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:19 pm

Why are car enthusiasts so fond of modding old beemers?

• Ng Yam Boon on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:31 pm

Hi Paul,

I admired you for taking all those troubles to fix the car. I used to have an old 320i about 15 years ago. I finally gave up fixing the car as the things seems to be breaking down all the time . Never ending trips to the workshop. After that, I bought an old mini and enjoyed fixing & DRIVING it. Good fun too !!

• azrai on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:42 pm

You could sandblasted the whole car and get a new Ultimate Black Opal paint. Wow, can we get that colour here in Malaysia.

• pulge on Oct 07, 2009 at 4:40 pm

Good luck with your E30 Paul! ^^

• hows the chasis? still firm n strong? no rust and no sign of disintegrating?

Paul Tan says: The car has rust but it's the kind that are manageable. The E30s from this particular range of years did not have galvanised steel.

• ccl68 on Oct 07, 2009 at 5:04 pm

I look forward to the progress of your E30 rebuild. Brings back fond memories. Having had 3 E30s before, I must say that this is one of the best over-engineered cars around for amateur restorers, to learn about Automotive Engineering and appreciate the sound German Engineering it inherited. Keep up the good job!

• cool girl on Oct 07, 2009 at 5:22 pm

paul, how much did you spend? please share with us…

Paul Tan says: I will, in the next post. I bought the car for 14K.

• longjaafar on Oct 07, 2009 at 5:38 pm

The rear spoiler somehow 'spoils' it's looks. Don't you want to do away with it?

Paul Tan says: Leave it first, get the car mechanically sound then only decide on how I want it to look.

• d next thing to chg is d wheel….

i think with a 18" 5 spoke design will look great on tis classic e30

Paul Tan says: 18 inch is a little too big lah…

• Lots of time spent at Gary's place I see. :D

• one of the problems with buying a second hand car (especially conti) is that you will definitely need to put in money to do it up.if it is a car that you are passionate about like your E30 then perhaps it is worth the trouble.

I disposed of my s60T even though I liked it very much cos the gearbox was giving me problems(pity the new owner….RM30K for new one) and I was stranded while trying to get to the hospital for an emergency.

now I am using a "boring but dependable" honda and toyota.

• worth to buy the car like this?

• Badrul Ikmal on Oct 07, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Nice… I'm currently building up my E32.. Its a lovely feeling but puts a big dent in the pocket..

• droll on Oct 07, 2009 at 7:07 pm

paul, i have to hand it to ya – such passion and dedication. you have my respect!

• bmpower on Oct 07, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Paul Tan said,

October 7, 2009 @ 2:37 am

It was painted red… not by me.

haha.. cool.. it thought it was by you.

so that's mean, the previous owner is a youngster? :D

slap on it a set of 18" rim faster paul! :D

Paul Tan says: My mechanic painted it red hehe.

• Kerelbort on Oct 07, 2009 at 7:43 pm

nice update. maybe u could tell us how much it will cost to replace all those things not to be judge but for information onli… for future E30 enthusiast.

• Juan Wei on Oct 07, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Aaaahhh… reminds me of when I was doing up my E30. I spent 20+k doing up the car. 100% stock original except for the steering wheel and rims.

I've owned 12 types of cars and the E30 is still among the most fun to drive though I can't say the same about its reliability issues.

I'm sure you enjoy driving your too.

• nabill on Oct 07, 2009 at 7:53 pm

how abt spare parts price and availability?

• How many owners before you? Sometimes, the more owner the car has, the more abuse the car takes.

Paul Tan says: I am the third owner. First was a lady, second was an uncle.

• how did u get the black areas so clean and look new?

• ahmad norman on Oct 07, 2009 at 9:49 pm

good luck on your project car…dreaming getting one myself the ci series

• Vezeroth on Oct 07, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Hey paul, how much did you buy the car for?

Maybe you can include a cost list into your journal.

Paul Tan says: I mentioned this in the first story. RM14k.

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 07, 2009 at 11:10 pm

LoL, Paul. I always break into laughter whenever I read or hear someone says 'bush/bushes' when referring to their vehicle. Know what a bush is? It's an alternate loo. We pee in the bush, get it?

Those rubber bits we find on cars are called BUSHINGS, definitely not bushes. I don't blame you, Paul. Even qualified automotive engineers (with years of experience) refer to them as such.

All the best with your Beemer, come rain or shine! CIAO!

German-made. My favourite type of cars.

Paul Tan says: Sorry, fixed :P

• mystvearn on Oct 07, 2009 at 11:38 pm

Paul,

Keep all receipts and manhours spent on the car from start to finish. I wanna see how long it takes and how much it costs to get it running again.

Paul Tan says: Will do.

• edwindudley2003 on Oct 08, 2009 at 12:39 am

Kudos Paul!..Great passion you have for this mean machine!..thats what car ownership is all about isnt it.

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 08, 2009 at 1:20 am

I see that you had made the necessary correction, Paul. Now I got to go answer the call of nature. Now where's a bush when I need one…..

• nighttrain on Oct 08, 2009 at 1:22 am

Rear shocks are new.. that's why they're black. Read, why dontcha.

• initial R on Oct 08, 2009 at 1:35 am

Paul…. Look batter if u painted in metallic Red. The black part maintain but change to black matt finishing. Rims change to 16 just nice already. Also maintain the chrome part. After all ready, u take picture under the open area…. Pergh…. I see the best E30 shine again….. :)

• chrisytc (Member) on Oct 08, 2009 at 1:51 am

Nice E30! i own a E30 323i 1984. Spent ard 30k so far but never regret!!! E30 is really a nice car to drive!!!

• I was re-reading the first post on your E30 and i fail to see how the design of this car is "timeless".

Just looks like a late 80s car.

I suppose the only reason anyone would get an E30 would be only because they want an E30.

Pardon my ignorance for the classics.

Paul Tan says: I guess when it comes to design things are always somewhat personal.

• syamness on Oct 08, 2009 at 4:34 am

waaaa… i wanna do this kind of project too, on my dad's old '84 Mercedes 230E (after he gets his new car la..). Anyone can suggest any good workshops who can do a full fix-up (creaking suspension, engine, interior too!) anywhere in the KLang Valley?? Paul, which workshop u sent the car to?

• Kevin Lee on Oct 08, 2009 at 4:59 am

syamness,

you can send to a workshop in subang hi-tech, around shah alam area, pass the federal highway toll. the shop is called millenium merz, i sent my w202 for repairing over there and they did a good job. they specialise in pre 1990s merc

• better check your driveshaft too. if the moutings and bushings are detoriated, i expect the driveshaft to be no better either.

anyway, good post!

• zafedz on Oct 08, 2009 at 6:12 am

Keep it up…looking forward to know the progress…Hopefully to maintain all original spare parts from BMW and never swap any from japanese other models..

• bobdbilder on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:02 am

I wonder if it would make business sense in Malaysia to open up a workshop for drivers to fix up or service their cars…they have that in UK coz labor (manpower not the party) is expensive.

Paul Tan says: There are some, like Heritage Garage, Jag's Classic Automobile, etc.

• Paul Tan on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:17 am

I've replied some of your comments above.

• matjadi on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:55 am

mr paul.mine is e30 year1985,in good running condition.advise me where can i get e30m3 half cut

• Paul, im so interested in classic cars but too bad im still a student. probably i'l get a celica st, minor 1000 or a any late 40's-50's ford model like escort.

• the write-up is nicely done. very informative. paul, we r hoping to have more info about this kind of articles, especially those who r doing moddy thingy of a car, regardless of the nationality of their car. i m pretty interested of wanting to read and to have those articles related to N13 Sentra, B14 Sentra, SX8 City, EC/ED/EE/EF Civics, CB1/2/3/4/7 Accords and AE101 Corolla.

• http://www.xn--22cjb on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:49 pm

how much did you buy paul? and how much for rebuild?

• Paul Tan on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:16 am

TEC: I am driving a B14 Sentra now, courtesy car from mechanic. The seats are horrendous!

• osh_kosh on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:49 am

can't wait to read/see your progress on the car in the next thread… anyway Paul, where's your Perdana?

• DeVaL!aN on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:53 pm

bro, why not scrap the whole car and repaint it and building it up again?

i see those old school car.. there is sometimes the rust here n there hidden. if service part by part, next time will still have a lot of trouble. at least u get the chasis done right by scrapping all those accessories and strengthen it. then those part later on.

trying to rebuild an old skool 260z.. but still lots of things to go. since it is 35 years old now. better to have a good chasis at least. n finding for best alternative engine around still…

• Hi Paul, pardon me for not knowing your background: how many car u own now?

yes, i used to own b14 sentra manual year 1995 when i was at the age of 25, sold off 4 years ago due the look did not appeal to me, and high maintenance on its chasis (lots of 'klok'klok', klick klick sound). but i like its fuel economy, and powerful drivetrain. Also a little odd exterior (high boot, small corner lights, stretch of red emblem in between lights) makes it stand out as compared to the rest of Japanese and Malaysian made cars. yes, it reminds me the 1996 Saab by Swedish. still missed the car very much and hence, request to have more articles on it for the benefit of this forum's readers.

i m now a SX8 type z City pround and satisfied owner. It's even more fuel frugal, less maintanance and less problematic compared to b14. Honda really makes gud and practical cars.

• starlet on Oct 10, 2009 at 1:00 am

keep on good work paul…i'm driving kp-61 starlet…many things to do but i always patient …

• Hey Mate,

Even consider to plonk a 1JZGTE to your E30??

haha!

• E3sixer on Oct 12, 2009 at 3:04 pm

Hi Paul,

I own an E36 myself, and im closely following on your E30's progress….very interesting.

On your next update please do also indecate the grade and price of the parts you changed aswell. As far as i know, there are 2 different qualities.

• allan on Oct 16, 2009 at 9:59 am

way to go. E30 has my respect. just get it back to original. imho, stick with bmw engines, not jap ones. you'll be proud with the end result. salute.

• Dear Paul

Am a E30 m40 owner here, would like to know if you mind to share on the work shop that you send your E30 for repair, as i am looking around for a good, resonable and genuine workshop.

Thanks

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:51 pm

how much?