Leaked Honda CR-Z screencaps and brochure!

Here are some screenshots of a video featuring the production Honda CR-Z, which is due for a February 2010 launch in its home market. This green reincarnation of the CR-X comes with a hybrid powertrain that combines a 1.5-litre four-cylinder i-VTEC engine with an IMA electric motor.

According to Honda’s official brochure that has also found its way online, the engine makes 113 bhp at 6,000 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,800 rpm. The electric motor meanwhile produces 13 bhp at 1,500 rpm and 78Nm at 1,000 rpm. Unusually for a hybrid, the CR-Z comes with a six-speed manual transmission in place of the common CVT, which better suits its sporty positioning. The sprint from 0 to 100 km/h will take 9.7 seconds. The steering is an EPS system.

We also now know the CR-Z’s dimensions. Length, width and height is 4080 mm, 1740 mm and 1395 mm respectively, while the wheelbase is 2435 mm long. To give you an idea of the CR-Z’s footprint, it’s a significant 315 mm shorter than a Honda City, but is marginally wider by 25mm.

Look after the jump for the screenshots and scans of the official brochure!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=708]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the leaked Honda CR-Z highlight mixed reactions to its design, with some praising its sporty and concept-like interior, while others find the exterior unappealing or strange, especially the grille. Many express hope for its arrival in Malaysia, emphasizing a desire for affordable pricing and hybrid fuel efficiency. There is optimism about its potential success if properly priced, but some fear it might not reach local markets. Comparisons to models like the RX-8, Civic Hybrid, and others indicate interest in the car's aesthetic and performance. Overall, the sentiment is a blend of excitement for a hybrid sports car successor and skepticism about its design and market availability.

• Fahmiyafeii on Jan 02, 2010 at 9:33 pm

I think this car will get production….

• droll on Jan 02, 2010 at 9:36 pm

hmmmmmm will this ever reach m'sia??

• faris on Jan 02, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Awesome!! will it be in malaysia??

• 1st ?

Very nice car :)

• any chance this will come to our shore?

• Cool!! Rejuvenate of the CR-X legend… with hybrid!

• coolguru on Jan 02, 2010 at 9:56 pm

This is super cool… do you think we'll get it from Honda Malaysia first or gray import? If the price range is under RM200k, it'll be a good deal..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 02, 2010 at 9:57 pm

it looks fantastic

• beautiful! what this needs is a 2.0L vtec or type r version!

• how about the safety?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 02, 2010 at 10:04 pm

It's nice to see the CR-X sucessor is still alive and kicking.

Hope to see really great driving characteristics on this like what its predecessor had.

• Ha Gnih on Jan 02, 2010 at 10:28 pm

1st !!

Nice

• between wow and weird…

• karipap on Jan 02, 2010 at 11:03 pm

depan looks volvo

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 02, 2010 at 11:13 pm

nice, the interior looks like the ferrari 459 italia

• gaijin on Jan 02, 2010 at 11:17 pm

yeargh,very cool… got some minor changes compared to the prototype showed in the last Tokyo Motorshow…like the side mirror..

lets pray it will come to our shore.. n hermmm,hopefully the government will not easily increase the import tax.. since it's still a below 2.0 hybrid car

• Beautiful. A real head turner machine.

• yay! Audi rocks!

• direct look in front not so nice, but nothing a bodykit can't fix ….

the hybrid system will jack up the price by 30%.

i don't mind a 1.5 (M) on this baby.

lightweight is the key !

• Tee Lim on Jan 02, 2010 at 11:51 pm

hope Honda produces one with a K20A :P~

• c14man on Jan 02, 2010 at 11:58 pm

a 3-door Insight?

• mitlanevo on Jan 03, 2010 at 12:06 am

AWESOME !!!

• TURBOfans-VW FANS-An on Jan 03, 2010 at 12:38 am

YES VW rock!!

• wow, the interior is so concept-ish, nice car

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 03, 2010 at 12:51 am

ermmm….so Honda refreshes the original Insight and sticks a sort of recycled name on it

I don't know, A sporty but rather underpowered green car? Sounds like an oxymoron.

I know, I know….the original CRX HX was supposed to be sporty and economical…… but still…

• sashi on Jan 03, 2010 at 1:00 am

this car looks freaky..

• andersonC on Jan 03, 2010 at 1:06 am

The front grill looks like RX-8.

Hybrid hot-hatch form Honda, Cool!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 03, 2010 at 1:12 am

Front plate number ruining that grille. Maybe they can make it thinner?

• Alpha on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:05 am

lolz.Mugen mz be doing somethg to spice up this baby!!i'll take the one in orange,plz!!

• shawal on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:06 am

they have a brochure ady, of coz its meant for production…

it looks awesome , if it sips fuel…it'll be a success for honda then in asia

in europe…not sure, bet the car will be a bit heavy n not so fun to drive

• shawal on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:11 am

yep the interior is like thee 458 italia , no doubt.

we have a couple of hybrids here…HOPEFULLY HONDA malaysia will bring it in

and hopefully the price will be around honda civic hybrid n not prius

• Rrrrr on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:37 am

Look ugly from rear..

• acerman on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:46 am

Why is it everybody is following the Audi R8 front end?

• I like the dashboard very much….very nice….

• Gajen on Jan 03, 2010 at 3:51 am

nice car but the front looks like rx 8

• kuatmain on Jan 03, 2010 at 3:53 am

DRB….we are waiting eagerly & keeping our fingers crossed

for your announcement !!!!

• Mufasa on Jan 03, 2010 at 4:24 am

what is target market? definately not for me

• Urgly interior….

• Mazda 6 MPS on Jan 03, 2010 at 6:03 am

crettttt!!!!

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 03, 2010 at 6:05 am

could it possible 4 this car to reach in m'sia?

• Kamyongkai on Jan 03, 2010 at 6:17 am

another dugong.. what's with japanese car manufacturers and dugongs these days?

• Kamyongkai on Jan 03, 2010 at 6:18 am

forgot to mention.. its a smiling dugong. hahaha!

• dont u think it look like the Rx8 front?

ghmmmm…

honda huh! not my tea of cup.

they are not that awesome car.

• KickingDust on Jan 03, 2010 at 7:37 am

Kamyongkai said,

January 2, 2010 @ 10:17 pm

another dugong.. what’s with japanese car manufacturers and dugongs these days?

You must have be joking !! I have seen this car myself in Japan… and its far off from what you're thinking.

Its very sporty and with sharp features in front with wide slanted open grill and its rear tinted glass hatch resemblence to the previous CR-X.

Wait till you see its front & rear LED lights turned on.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Jan 03, 2010 at 8:14 am

so much nicer than any proton cars

• B!7CH please on Jan 03, 2010 at 8:25 am

Hah, these guys commenting are so full of bs.

Actually, the theoretical figures on paper seems that it will be a peppy city ride. Nothing much to shout about, but it looks like it will offer spirited driving within the city. I guess it all boils down to the weight it has on.

Actually, Honda could've made a pure gasoline variant of a similar displacement.

Then again, that could hamper the Hybrid drives that Honda is pushing for. Hmm, offer an amazing looking car but dont offer it with regular gasoline version. Its sort of like forcing you into getting this and entices you with its looks.

A bit of a lolfactor.

• smiley dugong better than dugong vios lol

• odi862 on Jan 03, 2010 at 8:53 am

Very good looking car……geared towards economic and 'green'. If this car do reach our shore, it sure will sell well. Since this car has 1.5l engine, perhaps the next generation Civic maybe will be equipped with 1.5 engine also.

• skiborne on Jan 03, 2010 at 9:37 am

it looks messy, but i still like it, haha. the outer door handle resembles 360 Modena

• altimate (Member) on Jan 03, 2010 at 10:02 am

If it was Nissan who came out with such car, everyone would have called it ugly..

IMHO, it's ugly, backward styling with an ugly huge grille.. interior as usual looks sophisticated though.. nice

hope the next gen civic does not inherit those.. keeping my fingers crossed

• Kamyongkai on Jan 03, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Regardless, its still an ugly smiling dugong. I agree with altimate on this. That huge ugly grille makes me want to puke. It would have been awesome if it looked more like the HSV-010 Super GT.

• another honda insight version

• wallstreet on Jan 03, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Looks like Honda also following Mazda footstep of making happy car too!! This is not smiling, its laughing!!

• meteoraniac on Jan 03, 2010 at 7:51 pm

i think it looks awesome, could be a replacement candidate for my caldina .. bye bye toyo hello honda …

• the front grille looks weird.. like an alien.. hehe

• lusipah on Jan 03, 2010 at 10:32 pm

itu keleta ada wiper kat atas…

so, what is that wiper for? glass panoramic roof or it will somehow bend in such way so it will wipe the rear window?

• pulge on Jan 03, 2010 at 11:30 pm

More like gasping instead. Sucking more air for the engine from the large front grille. I think the dash look nice, better than the Civic.

I doubt this will make it here. Maybe fun to drive in the city, but not for fast driving. We'll see.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 04, 2010 at 1:23 am

crx legend

• front view look abit like rx8 but i like the car design

good job honda

• ZouleHCo on Jan 04, 2010 at 4:48 am

The front light just like the City.. i think the front bumper can be used in City.. :-)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 04, 2010 at 6:14 am

this should have been the honda city instead of that arrow inspired crap

• Proton, please learn from Honda, please…

• karipap on Jan 04, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

January 3, 2010 @ 12:14 am

so much nicer than any proton cars

Ini bodoh punye orang! tak pasal2 drag proton dalam article ni…

Argument yg langsung tak relevan! Orang2 camni sume dalam hati busuk…

Anyway, superb car from Honda! Aku suke! :)

• backbencer on Jan 04, 2010 at 5:53 pm

hopefully this car's FC can beat the city i-dsi.

• pekan on Jan 04, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Why is this Honda not in Malaysia??? Why…????

I demand for this Honda in Malaysia NOW…!!!

• Looks ugly. Yuk

• pulltea on Jan 04, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Last time, it was called CR-X, now should be CR-Y, instead of CR-Z.

• my name is on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:04 pm

lucky… the name on the designed car is honda…

I bet, if malaysian car… sure will be cursed to hell…

For me… weird design… not MY taste… and no money for it… i am no designer… i am more to simple looks… such as mazda 6…

• Ronaldo on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:12 pm

The front grill look uggly shet………..

• nighttrain on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:50 pm

What's the dimension of the original CR-X Si? Is the previous one larger?

• nighttrain on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:55 pm

will it be priced in the same bracket as the previous CR-X?

• Alex Toh on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:51 am

if below RM150K…then i think it will get HOT in Malaysia

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:45 am

i doubt it would be cheap

• I-HATE-GG889933000-I on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:07 am

You would expect if HONDA malaysia bring it here… the inside will be 'empty' a lot ~

Trust me!!

stupid HONDA malaysia!

VW rocks!