Fairuz Fauzy clocks 76 laps in Barcelona

Fairuz Fauzy has added more laps to his Formula 1 portfolio this time at the Circuit de Catalunya in Barcelona, Spain. Fauzy was part 11 drivers from 11 different teams. Both USF1 and Campos have yet to be part of the test list as the former is negotiating with the FIA to enable it to miss the first few races of the season.

Fauzy managed to register a total of 76 laps and his personal best time was 1:28.002 putting him in the final position. The team revealed that it was a very productive day as the team managed to conduct some engine Lambda running tests as well as evaluated various control systems on the car.

The fastest time was set by Red Bull’s Mark Webber with 1:21.487. The Australian was ahead of Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg and Mercedes GP Petronas’ Nico Rosberg. Virgin Racing’s Lucas di Grassi finished ahead of Fauzy by almost a second. Jarno Trulli will take over the driver’s seat for the next test session later today. Continue reading to view some high-res images of the test session.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=872]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Alan Wong on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Keep trying!! Keep learning…

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:03 pm

good job lad.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Ya, keep trying! Malaysian will always find urs ranking from the Bottom.

• l3 l i t z on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Nice, but what is the white stuff at fairuz fauzy's sideburn in the last picture. There are some on his face too.

• pelams on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:40 pm

good luck fairuz!

• nabill on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:40 pm

godness me about 7 seconds difference between 1st and last….not have a good feeling about this …dont tell me fuel load difference and setup difference , thy wont make a 7 seconds difference….

• Waiora on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:46 pm

last picture? or 5th picture?

its balaclava..

• umno juara tipu raky on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:59 pm

the more laps in ur belt the better u will drive fairuz!..keep on improving and malaysian will always behind u

• l3 l i t z on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Oh, 5th picture then. Sorry, my mistake ;]

• LightsStar on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:53 pm

I belive they dont test the car in the windtunnel, they have admited that they dont have good down forced that maybe the cause of the 7 sec diff…..anyway good job Fairuz….

• and alex yoong was ranting about petronas' decision of going with mercedes gp over lotus…….

• 7 seconds different?? is he racing or makan angin?

• pakkas on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:17 am

He's a test driver and he do what a test driver does, which I believe doesn't include setting the best lap time.

• middels8088 on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:18 am

Good job for a noob team, car and noob engine supplier…..

• Not A Typical Malays on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:29 am

very good FF.. Bravo.. At least U show to the world that you managed to dive deep in the same level with them.. Not like our previous so called F1 driver.. ;p U r able to improve level by level.. And to Umno Juara Tipu Rakyat, please use other nickname.. This is not a political site.. Even if I hate current gov, I still can consider which part and place I should voice my opinion..

• Malaysia Bulleh! said,

February 26, 2010 @ 2:13 pm

————————–

badminton men single world no 1

squash women no1

bantamweight sazali no1

boling padang some no1

hockey about no20

and some other sport

• Ferruccio on Feb 27, 2010 at 2:30 am

Too bad yesterday was his last taste of the car. He will not be in the cockpit again anytime unless Jarno or Heikki gets hit by a bus and can't drive

• acerman on Feb 27, 2010 at 2:52 am

Malaysia Bulleh! said,

—————————————————————

I don't think this guy like sports very much.

• Annihilated on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:01 am

pakkas said,

February 26, 2010 @ 5:17 pm

I 2nd you on this.

• World tittle

Track Cyclist – Mohd Azizulhasni Awang (1)

Badminton – Datuk Lee Chong Wei (1)

Squash – Datuk Nicol Ann David (1)

Bodybuilder – bantam weight – Sazali Samad (1)

Lawn Bowl – Safuan Said (1)

Silat – Dato' Meor (1)

Tae Kwon Do – over 73kg – Chew Chan (19)

Drifter – Tengku Djan Ley (5)

Others..?

Fairuz Fauzy – ??

• Lotus aero package is bad. Luckily engine wise cosworth is fine as demonstrated by hulk Williams's time.

• Diablo on Feb 27, 2010 at 8:08 am

Syaz said,

February 26, 2010 @ 10:01 pm

World tittle

Track Cyclist – Mohd Azizulhasni Awang (1)

Badminton – Datuk Lee Chong Wei (1)

Squash – Datuk Nicol Ann David (1)

Bodybuilder – bantam weight – Sazali Samad (1)

Lawn Bowl – Safuan Said (1)

Silat – Dato’ Meor (1)

Tae Kwon Do – over 73kg – Chew Chan (19)

Drifter – Tengku Djan Ley (5)

Others..?

Fairuz Fauzy – ??

2009 World Series by Renault – Fairuz Fauzy (2)

2008/09 A1GP – A1 Team Malaysia [Fairuz Fauzy] (6)

2005/06 A1GP – A1 Team Malaysia [Alex Yoong mostly] (5)

• I'm hopping that Fairuz will success, not only for his career but for our country as well..

• lewis on Feb 27, 2010 at 10:52 am

zero, i wouldn't say that the aero package is bad, lotus admitted their design was a bit conservative, the car needs to be developed further seeing that the potential is there (apparently)

• anonymous on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:30 am

wah 7secs behind the fastest guy

i dunno wat to say, just hope that this team will safeguard the Lotus's name

• awg1031 on Feb 27, 2010 at 3:00 pm

nice effort there to come out with the list..good!

personally i don't support the lotus f1 malaysia..but i do support this fairuz guy. he's good and not a show off like our previous driver, n even the young ones..duh~

• Green Fuel on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:28 pm

I wonder if they will burn more fuel than the other teams as the aero kits are not perform well. As the new regulation will not allow for refuel during the race, hope they plan big enough fuel tank to support their fuel demand.

• down the drain we are going!!

• p1basher on Feb 27, 2010 at 6:46 pm

7s? try copy top team chassis and aerodynamic design. dun go too conservative. why race if we can only eat dust.

• alldisc on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:17 pm

try remove the naza sponsored rear spoiler. its too heavy….

• MoFaz on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:25 pm

People tend to criticise a lot, and they think we shouldn't venture into F1. What I can say to those people; stop being a chicken! You wouldn't move forward if you're too afraid to walk.

Our former PM had a vision of modern Malaysia by 2020. Among the first few steps to achieve that is by creating high-tech industries, including Proton. It does bring tremendous growth in short time! Even rubber-tappers are happier than before, as price of latex was increasing day by day, due to increasing demand.

Yet, we now hear people criticizing proton, saying that proton should never be created, and we should become assembler of foreign cars instead.

Do you know that US become such a giant in economy by creating industries? And do you think that by just assembling cars we could achieve our current growth? Look at Indonesia, look at Thailand. What have they achieved? Well, foreign companies will invest in cheap (labour & raw materials) countries, and if the cost is not cheap anymore, they will close factories and causing the country to suffer due to job losses and declining exports. Well, is that what you want?

If you still have the mentality that we shouldn't venture into anything due to your phobia, we will not grow. We will always a baby, spoon-fed by foreign technology and abused by their system. Even babies are stronger than you, they learn to walk one step at a time and finally they could run. You, just sitting there and never even stand up, as you’re too afraid to fall.

• Tezza on Feb 27, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Mofaz…

Lmao..This has nothing to do with anything related to your so called"phobia" segment,in fact, in reality we are just like the baby that's just 3 month old and amusingly we are so desperate wanted to learn walking before anything much we known about ourselves, the f-1 racing world is that ruthless,can u look properly into the fact that even all those giant automobiles;Toyota, Honda,Bmw are pulling out themselves from this world fatest money burning sport games ascendingly. Frankly, as a malaysian,Im utterly more than happy to see that our country could set up a f-1 racing team by giving the condition that we are technically and most importanly financially highly qualified for the event, what's that for if a team more often than not taking the lame execuses like" we are actually the team that's lack of funds for the game and hence the slowest result that's left far behind from the 1st place was seriously under our expectation, Is that what we want? Im really guessing on if this 1 malaysia lotus f1 team could be another Minardi f1 team thats long forsaken and disgraceful? Who knows,Probably 2 or 3 seasons later from now,the team would officially annouce that we are leaving from the game as well due to the naza and tune group no longer able stand with the massive maintenance cost for the team,bear in mind that until now we are still unable to find any strategically multinational partners for sponsorship,If this really does happen in future, it's really disgrace to everything and it could lead to be another international jokes of f-1..

• kanasai on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Those claimed 7s is a nightmare pls go and register youself as a F1 driver, if you think you can outperform Fairuz.

We Malaysian not supporting our own athlete, then who will?

Stop the childish and stupid comment and try put youself into others shoe.

Think maturely before say anything.

• faisal on Feb 28, 2010 at 12:58 am

good job FF!! good job Malaysia!! Malaysia Boleh!! Don't be weakened by all those -ve comments!!

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 28, 2010 at 3:49 am

k??z said,

February 26, 2010 @ 5:29 pm

Malaysia Bulleh! said,

————————–

badminton men single world no 1

squash women no1

bantamweight sazali no1

boling padang some no1

hockey about no20

and some other sport

—————————

out of topic……but i believe if that those stupid americans had not so much bias influence in the olympics. some of these games could be in the olympics and our chances of winning gold medals would be much higher

• MoFaz on Feb 28, 2010 at 11:06 am

Tezza,

Lotus was once one of the best team in F1, so technically they should be able to do it again. Even though this new team is not the 'real' Lotus, who knows that they might outperform their legend. And it's a good training ground for our local engineering team. Please, give them time to learn. Would you punish your baby when he/she learn to walk? You would be very much supportive, wouldn't you? We’ve been building parts for Boieng and Airbus planes, and who knows we could even build our own turbine engine in the future…

Management wise, I have no doubt that Dato' Sri Tony Fernandes is the best person to run this team. He's been managing a company much bigger than Lotus F1 for years, and transformed aviation industry in Malaysia. When he started (take over) Air Asia, everyone criticise him, everyone thought that he had gone crazy, predicting that the company would fail miserably. Air Asia now worth billions of ringgit and is the world's best low-cost airline.

Sponsorship may come any time after you’ve proven your worth. Just think, would you get scholarship from big companies like Petronas or Shell to further your studies without excellent result in SPM? Similarly, big companies wouldn’t put their money into a ‘baby’ team which is just 5-6 months old. But smaller companies might do so, just to be ‘seen’ in F1.

Where there's a will, there's a way.

• Ferruccio on Feb 28, 2010 at 11:59 pm

MoFaz said,

February 28, 2010 @ 3:06 am

Tezza,

Lotus was once one of the best team in F1, so technically they should be able to do it again.

Your very first sentence does not make logical sense. There is 0% link between Team Lotus and Lotus Racing. Therefore no technical benefit to be derived from the old team. This new team is 'Lotus' in name only. It could have been named Proton Racing,Naza Racing or Fernandes Racing and it will be exactly where it is now.

However you are right that they need time to prove themselves and we should at least give that to them. Minardi is now Torro Rosso and they are no more a backmarker team although the team itself is pretty much the same Minardi people.

Time will tell. So far from the technical operation side of things, Gascoyne's operation looks alright. he's doing all the right things. I'm actually more concerned about the team's management (commercial). It's very different to running a budget airline and they have already made plenty of mistakes from the outset but Tony seems to be a quick learner so hopefully they get better quickly.

• lotis f1 racing supp on Mar 01, 2010 at 6:57 am

as we can see…

we didn't put high expectation on this team..

but what fauzi have show us…

although we r still new in F!

he manage to make samting dffrnt from the former drivers…

i'm very proud of if….

keep on trying fauzi….

• apexg2 on Mar 01, 2010 at 5:29 pm

my opinion…

in test drive session, they are not running to be the fastest man on track but they try to make the car as good as they can…best time is bonus for them…the race still not begin…dun just judge by the last result….if u see schumacher oso in 7th place…then u can say that schumacher is not good la???

then, please remember, lotus f1 is a new team and if u wish it will beat the monster team, think again, but sometimes miracles come..who knows? like brawn gp done last year…like i said they are preparing and not racing yet…wait n see the 1st race then we can speak…just my opinion..