It’s official – tiered fuel subsidy system scrapped!

Fuel-Wallet GaugeThere were very strong rumors and unnamed sources before this in the papers but now it’s official – the tiered fuel subsidy plan has been scrapped! Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consu­merism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob made the announcement today and also said that there would be no increase in fuel prices for now. I think that we’re going to see is the fuel price being raised slowly and slowly to let us slowly get used to unsubsidized fuel prices.

The highest fuel price we’ve had to endure so far has been RM2.70 per litre for RON97 fuel and RM3.15 per litre for Shell V-Power. This was between the 5th of June 2008 to the 23rd of August 2008. However, there was also a RM625 fixed fuel subsidy issued through Pos Malaysia during that period. You could claim the money when you renewed your road tax. Petrol prices remained high throughout most of the second half of 2008 but was slowly reduced during that period until it settled down to the current prices of under RM2 per litre in December 2008.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Zidane on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:51 pm

a nuisance…

What a waste of taxpayers money…..

• _xXx_ on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:54 pm

this should be used to explain the meaning of flip-flop in Wikipedia…

• :)

• vbkcheng on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:58 pm

So, after testing, confirmed cannot work?

How much sudah wasted on the testing?

And they also say price will be remain for the time been.

I think I better go and pump full base on below 2 scenario:

1) History tell that they say no, but days after naik without warning…

2) Oil price is USD 80 now..

• glacius_25150 on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:07 pm

zidane

how could you say its waste of taxpayers' money? do you own a motorvehicle and feel the burden of high fuel prices? maybe for a single ownership of a vehicle might not feel the pinch but for industries relying on tranport system to get their goods to customers might get a whack on their head if even 10 cent hike of price is introduced…

• Centurio-Cohors Prim on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:09 pm

I c….

• Please show us the entire plan and scrap processes and its financial report.

How much they have wasted our money?

Rakyat Didahulukan, yaya…… wasted our money

Pencapaian Diutamakan…… plan and scrap what they want, never study and plan properly.

With this, really worry GST4% is a must in future in order to gain more money for the gov.

• subhero on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:16 pm

malaysia rules

everyone know.

• Wat a joke!

I second vbkcheng!

Here they said fuel price wil not increase.

Tomorrow morning, news announce due to oil price has over USD80, fuel price will increase and fuel price increase within few hours.

Not even a sign or inform the citizens.

Ya, Rakyat Didahulukan?

Jojo u got the point….. pray more.

Once fuel price increase even 5cent or 10cent. Everything will increase & NEVER goes down.

• Centurio-Cohors Prim on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Luckily we all cant stock up fuel in our house.kalau x mass euphoria brader

• strauss on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:20 pm

They wasted taxpayers money by the systems being developed. Last minute pulled out – would have incurred most of the development costs which will run into tens of millions of ringgit.

• dextrous on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:22 pm

I think that the introduction of GST at 4% will benefit us as the sales tax 5% and service tax 10% will be abolished. For example when you eat at pizza hut, you will need to pay for the price of the food and plus sales and service tax at 15%. By introducing GST, we only pay the food price and additional 4% for GST. so pay less than the current price….

• Ah Beng on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:40 pm

true..true.. developing the system itself would have costed millions. just imagine how even RM1 million can help the poor in many ways. stupid G. better let me run it. hahaha!

• lim said,

March 4, 2010 @ 3:18 pm

Once fuel price increase even 5cent or 10cent. Everything will increase & NEVER goes down.

============================================

very true

• life in the slow lan on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:49 pm

at least the scrap the tier thingy.. ppl still complain. some ppl are born with low IQ, complain about everything. everything must be subsidised. sugar bla bla bla.

petrol price will be 3.60 in may for RON 95. the government will then lower the price of cars. you guys can continue to bicker then.

• Eyesore on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:52 pm

lol… if introduce you bashed n said waste tax payer money…. not introduce also bash and said waste tax payer money…. so which one is it???? Nothing ever satisfy you huh??

• mofaz on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:03 am

just voicing my opinion here, as looking at this issue on positive side.

development cost of hardware (mycard readers and such) is not wasted. it still can be used in other place like gov hospitals, clinics and many other places that require quick registration of patients & customers. so u don't have to spend 10 minutes to fill in forms.

The main reason could be because gov need to absorb the cost to install on all stations, and the implementation is much harder than initially thought. And being Malaysians, we will always find the loopholes to cheat the system. Fake mycard will be rampant, and it's not surprising if someone using mycard belonging to other person, could even belong to someone who already dead.

The easiest way would be as Paul mentioned, to increase little by little until no subsidy. I predict this could be in 2013, when LRT extending and upgrading works completed. This would encourage usage of public transportations, and electric/ hybrid vehicles. Well, Proton Emas should be ready by that time too.

And fuel subsidy would much better used on food security policy.

• plastic surgery on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:07 am

for the time being, rakyat feel safe bcoz the price of fuel didn't rise..but anything can happen..we did'nt know what will happen next..

• mid-income malaysian on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:10 am

It's for now only… not sure about tomorrow..

• gst 4% even shopping buy candy also have to pay

buy car buy house also got?

5% is transparent to us, as it already been top up in the price.

10% not tax at all restaurant, only certain hotel or restaurant have it.

but for gst4% is everywhere, everyone also have to pay.

I dun see it wil benefit us……

• mid-income malaysian on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:13 am

dextrous said,

March 4, 2010 @ 3:22 pm

I think that the introduction of GST at 4% will benefit us as the sales tax 5% and service tax 10% will be abolished. For example when you eat at pizza hut, you will need to pay for the price of the food and plus sales and service tax at 15%. By introducing GST, we only pay the food price and additional 4% for GST. so pay less than the current price….

—————————————————————-

but the goods that is covered by the GST is much much more than those of sales tax.. not sure but that's what they said.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:17 am

This is the method for G to gain pocket money, and the money is from tax payers. Just 5 steps, then can get a good "income", why not?

1st, announce the project to public without detail planning.

2nd, make the public worry and complanning.

3rd, started the project by sucking the blood during this period under table.

4th, announce the project scrapped.

5th, public happy and tot they win in this situation, but actually certain party already get full of pocket money de..

• xavier lert on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:24 am

LRT said,

March 4, 2010 @ 3:41 pm

lim said,

very true

—————————————————————

agreed

• langatian on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:24 am

dextrous,

GST forsurely will burden low and middle income..

The government for implementing 4% GST is a jake. U know what to ensure the rakyat will agree government and after have been implement the GST gov will increase the rate of GST..haha..

Think with brain ma….

• akupunya on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:27 am

inilah kebodohan melampau…

• staff on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:31 am

This is why last time i say, they have to study it properly…

Currently, in their mind is… If hard to do it.. we scrap it…

why dont they introduce it slowly… select several pump station as role model… implement… if got hiccup, obstacle, improve it… not like this, they found it hard, they abandon it… thats why we are SOOOOOO SLOWWW in becoming developed country…

we SURRENDER easily… plus, with RAKYAT knows only complaint…. rather than thinking…

• Ooooo….. make sense.

End up, they keeps figure out how to gain more money.

1Malaysia Boleh!

• Zidane on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:36 am

@glacius_25150

I'm saying the subsidy system which got scrapped is a waste of taxpayers' money.

How much was the research cost? The testing cost? The implementation cost? Where does the fund come from? TAXPAYERS MONEY. YOU AND I PAID FOR THEM!

I bet what pulled the plug is the cost of maintaining the system. We are not talking about 1,000 people. We are talking about 1 malaysia. And i bet the contract would have gone to 1 company that will hike up his charges coz it is being monopolised.

Rather than looking for a way to control the fuel price, why not do something else with the money. Control the fuel consumption. Not the price. I bet the government would be happy to maintain the current subsidised price if people consume less.

A simpler system. How do you reduce fuel subsidy? Improve public transport. More fuel efficient vehicles.

If they don't want to give us subsidy, that is ok. But don't tax us left, right and centre. We are going to have GST, car tax and selling of house tax and what ever more taxes there will be. I remember in going into a Honda showroom in 2002. I cannot remeber the model. But the price of the civic was RM 100k. RM 30k was for the sales tax.

In 1997, i could get a 2 door Honda eg 6 for RM18k in UK. IN Malaysia, It still costs a whooping RM 30k. Who is happy about this? (Ops! Out of topic).

glacius_25150 said,

March 4, 2010 @ 3:07 pm

zidane

how could you say its waste of taxpayers’ money? do you own a motorvehicle and feel the burden of high fuel prices? maybe for a single ownership of a vehicle might not feel the pinch but for industries relying on tranport system to get their goods to customers might get a whack on their head if even 10 cent hike of price is introduced…

• Darius on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:53 am

Too bad, looks like the no-ending topic of "subsidy vs no subsidy vs car tax vs protection vs goverment vs proton etc etc etc" is going to drag on and on…

Well, this will just buy time until they come up with another hair brained scheme or announce another fuel price hike….

Dragging on too long with stupid policy making. Market price for all, then whoever survives and left to comment here will be truely interested bout cars instead of this baloney…..

• davechia (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:02 am

dextrous said,

With GST, means you need to pay RM1.872 for a litter of RON95.

• rexis on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:14 am

Thanks _xXx_ and vbkcheng for the heads-up. Pump half tank first, talk later.

Upgrading LRT? Yea rite, and KTM Touch and Go broke down twice in a week.

And one more thing, whenever they say save any$ down for development, remember this is all bladdy bullshit and not logically possible. Imagine you have no money, and saved RM100 today, how much cash you got now?

• bolehLAND……where everything can change…

• p4k4bu on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:24 am

"I think that we’re going to see is the fuel price being raised slowly and slowly to let us slowly get used to unsubsidized fuel prices."

Yeah… that's must be it. Simple and realistic.

• Mysticmind on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:25 am

when 'they' said 'no increase'… then you all just need to ready for it (increment).

it happen severals time already loh…

• mofaz on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:34 am

Research & development do cost time and money. And depending on the result, they may proceed or scrap the idea.

Since this is a car blog/forum, I would take car development for example, but similar scenario is also happening in engineering and various other industries.

Developing a car involves series of tests. Even in design process, manufacturer spent a lot to build several clay models, do wind tunnel test, then back to drawing board and improvise the design. If those processes are considered to be wasting money, why bother developing anything? This is the process we must do for us to develop ourselves. You may never know the outcome if you didn’t run the test.

And, let me ask you. If you’re in the middle of developing something big and you find the cost is too high to bear due to unforeseen circumstances, or you have find better ways with potentially better result, would you still continue to do what you’re doing? Or grab the better one instead?

• mofaz on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:48 am

staff said,

March 4, 2010 @ 4:31 pm

why dont they introduce it slowly… select several pump station as role model… implement… if got hiccup, obstacle, improve it… not like this, they found it hard, they abandon it… thats why we are SOOOOOO SLOWWW in becoming developed country…

—————————————————————

several pump station as model? then everyone will avoid that stations. and your 'test result' would be wrong.

this is a normal process in developing country. Besides, could be no other country has ever implemented this kind of multi-tiered subsidy for us to learn from. why are you so angry when gov scrap this system now? would u rather let gov install on all petrol pumps then only scrap the idea, so that you have more points to bash the gov? gov could have found better idea/systems to replace this multi-tiered idea. might as well abolish fuel subsidy and reduce import tax, who knows.

• singaterbang on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:55 am

There will be price increase of RM0.09/liter tonight. What are you waiting for, quick fill up your fuel tank.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 05, 2010 at 2:26 am

this gov…..no hope

• pau ahmad on Mar 05, 2010 at 2:37 am

get romour, increase 40sen.

• klaka seram on Mar 05, 2010 at 2:47 am

It's ok if gov want to remove fuel subsidy, but give us EURO 4 fuel as an option.

GST is one of creative way for gov to collect more money from us. You may think u pay less but in fact, you pay more.

TQ gov, we love u

• mohgui (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 3:08 am

actually, from the start, they knew that this plan would never work. and i don't know why they even bother to announce it and then later scrap it. is it because when they announce the plan, their cronies will tender for project? after getting enough of their fill, they then scrap the project.

• glacius_25150 on Mar 05, 2010 at 3:10 am

i pity for those who is in lower income segment/people. They make less than 1k per month, have to travel far to their jobs, and have this kind of fuel price hike which is surely a big burden for them. furthermore, if the gov decided to decreased the car price, then there will be an uproar by 2nd car dealers and banks alike because they will have to reduce their car price and lost a lot. in terms of banks, their revenue will be less from lower loan value; unless they increase the loan interest (still, many customers will complain on this). Therefore, i think the best way is to remain the fuel to be subsidized because the welfare of the people will be affected in many ways and ranges. The government should remain to subsidized if they still want to remain in charge..

• oldman on Mar 05, 2010 at 3:35 am

As many said before;

the tiered fuel price system is the most STUPIDEST idea from Barisan Najis… and cancelling the project make them a GENIUS….

• oldman on Mar 05, 2010 at 3:37 am

the tiered fuel price system is the most STUPIDEST idea from Barisan Najis… cancelling the idea now make them a 'GENIUS'

• never say thanks to robbers that not robbing this time.

Remmember how much tax we paid when we purchase our car?

I love proton but I hate this stupid policy!

• never say thanks to robber for not robbing this time.

remember how much we paid for our car and toll?

I love proton but I hate this stupid policy.

• darkskies on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:08 am

If government wanna find a new income and offset the petrol or diesel purchased by Foreigner, what about to impose an entry fees to all vehicles that entering Malaysia either from North boarder (Thailand) and South boarder(Singapore).

This impose entry fees will be charge according to daily targeted entry, can be calculate during going back to their countries.

Nowadays during Sabturday and Ahadday, I can see a lot of Singaporeans Car flooding Klang Valley and causing some of the trafic jam.

With this kind of entry fees and other fees, maybe this Singaporean and Thais will use our Public transport? Who know? Maybe is a possibilities.

Notes: Also need to improve the public transport altogether

• Squawk on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:15 am

If you were still studying the practicality of the system, please don't come out to say it's a sure thing when you don't even know whether it's workable. It's damn embarrassing.

I really want to know if this will seriously affect any ministry's KPI because it's something that will in the private sector.

• Stupid flip flop Malaysia govt.

• mujin-kun (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:18 am

If government wanna find a new income and offset the petrol or diesel purchased by Foreigner, what about to impose an entry fees to all vehicles that entering Malaysia either from North boarder (Thailand) and South boarder(Singapore).

This impose entry fees will be charge according to daily targeted entry, can be calculate during going back to their countries.

Nowadays during Sabturday and Ahadday, I can see a lot of Singaporeans Car flooding Klang Valley and causing some of the trafic jam.

With this kind of entry fees and other fees, maybe this Singaporean and Thais will use our Public transport? Who know? Maybe is a possibilities.

Notes: Also need to improve the public transport altogether

• Archer on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:38 am

I wonder how much of people's money was spent to make this study including paying off the con-sultans to provide the feasibility study. I wonder what happened to that company that demoed the MyKad reader for petrol pumps, whose crony company was that?

Best way to solve the loss of subsidy money is to stop the subsidy itself.

• Wudan on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:04 am

When GST kicks in 2011, petrol and diesel will also subject to 4% tax.

• rakyat on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:28 am

Itulah rakyat malaysia.. Semua pandai bercakap, cuba korang yg jadi menteri, dah tentu pecah kepala korang memikirkan.. Ingat, bukan semua orang boleh jadi menteri untuk buat semua tue..

Klu korang semua pandai, bertandingla pilihanraya… Klu menang, kita tgk sape yg tak tergoda ngan janji-janji kontraktor untuk dapatkan duit untuk poket sendiri…

Hahahaha… So marilah sokong apa yg kerajaan buat,.. Dah tentu dorang lagi pandai daripada korang… Tak kisahlah sape nak buat ape dan sebagainya,,… Janji negaraku Malaysia aman dan damai… Tak macam negara lain, asyik berperang je..

• jambol on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:56 am

duit subsidi tu boleh digunakan untuk penbangunan lain yang akhirnya akan digunakan oleh kita bahkan anak cucu kita suatu masa nanti.sebenarnya rakyat malaysia mampu beli petrol tanpa subsidi,masalahnya kita dah berpuluh-puluh tahun dimanjakan dengan subsidi dan sukar untuk terima perubahan ini.kalau fikir dari segi positif,banyak kelebihannya.

• gst=4% tax at each supply chain point not at the end. that is why theres a really deep concern whether G can keep their promise that certain commodities especially food is excluded from this.

back to the main topic, we should pressure on the public transportation quality upgrade. the money, the budget promised, the show off of ministers boarding the train. all this oil brohaha is smelling like a smoke screen.

do you seriously think that someone who is sitting behind a fast driven black perdana cutting through traffic jams by policemen shoving commoners to the side is genuinely feeling the hardship of people queuing and standing 1 hour each morning just to board the train?

• MoFaz on Mar 05, 2010 at 8:01 am

that's right, Malaysia has become a charity country. It gives all kind of subsidies which never even existed in other country, even for sugar! the gov effort is kind of backfiring. the subsidy is causing more and more patients with diabetes every year and gov have to treat them. isn't it better for gov to remove sugar subsidy and let the citizen use less sugar, reducing diabetes patients and save more money?

in term of oil subsidy, it's false economy. it giving a sense of 'cheap' but actually not. imagine if malaysia no longer producing oil, or remember when the price jump by 70sen? we have to remove it slowly, for a better and more stable economy.

• valandil on Mar 05, 2010 at 8:06 am

the G should receive a Noble prize since they followed the exact rules:-

create a cure,

create a disease,

announce the disease,

announce the cure.

wa la!

• droll on Mar 05, 2010 at 10:06 am

being smart has got nothing to do with being elected! doh!

i don't think the people are against the removal of subsidies. they are against the wastage of public funds on hare brained ideas and flip flop decisions. doh again!

who's going to pay for the half implemented infrastructure that was meant to support this subsidy scheme? us, the rakyat, via our tax contribution.

sigh……

• 27 (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 3:00 pm

They always has creative way to get the income from us…

However, can say our car tax is not creative but is directive income to gov

Whenever there is some projects, there is some gain from certain ppl…

In Malaysia, it is possible…

• justice (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:46 pm

this goes to show how effective our G is. if you're wondering what the heck are they doing when they're actually working/sitting in their offices, well we're getting the rough idea now. arrive late at office in their expensive cars, yam cha, then meeting for ways to 'improve' our lives further, let out the rumor of planned new system or law, see how the rakyat respond, then judge whether the new system/law would be implementable or not. sounds normal/typical, but somewhere in between the storyline, you guys should know whats in it for them.

anyway, if the idea is to curb robbery of our subsidized junk gas, why not just enforce a stricter law on foreigners where they can't fill up their tanks at kiosks within (insert range) km of the border and simply assign specific kiosks that may sell gases to them at world market price. thats what Brunei did and its been working well so far. Should kiosks gets greedy, passed on a strict law that should shake their underpants before they would think about increasing sales through that 'underground' route.

• Rooney on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:56 pm

This is all "WAYANG KULIT" laa….now he said this BN Government is the rakyat gov, the gov listen to the rakyat bla..bla..bla…shame on them, piece of crap politic….

• _xXx_ on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:01 pm

To those who wanna save a couple of bucks. Top up every 2 days. Next suprise is just around the corner…

• hehe..i wonder how many of you guys pays income tax?

• xavier lert said,

March 4, 2010 @ 4:24 pm

LRT said,

March 4, 2010 @ 3:41 pm

lim said,

very true

—————————————————————

agreed

————————————

that's the true nature of capitalist economy.

• _xXx_ on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Ask yourself 1st. You want to use? Even the Banglas/Indons here oso dowan.

Tunggu sampe itu tahi kencing suda mau kluar itu cilaka punye bas blum mari2

mujin-kun said,

March 4, 2010 @ 9:18 pm

….this Singaporean and Thais will use our Public transport? ….

• justice (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:23 pm

just for the record, this is the second comment which the first i cancelled after reading a similar article in thestar.com.my. last point in the article mentioned the G's ears are finally opened to rakyat. first and foremost, i'm proud and happy to know that but secondly, in regard of this tier thing, i hope the next time they try to conjure up an idea, they would think twice before telling the rakyat of their new plans instead of making a fool of themselves. i don't care and its not like i/we can do anything if they may 'earn' out of whatever schemes they could cook up but so long that scheme implemented would not burden the public from lower to middle income class, i'm fine. some people like myself are just trying to get through life simply and sufficient luxuries and comfort like owning a car, a house, a family and be able to pay off bills and debts sufficiently while retaining some savings in my volcanic bank account.

if anyone of you happen to be in the G body, could you at least bring up the issue of increasing the rakyat's income first before further implementing any schemes that would increase our cost of living any further? with my measely salary, i can't retain even a single piece of hundred bucks in my account. FYI, i fall into the income tax exemption class, living in my parent's house where i pay all the bills which are closely monitored closely to avoid wastage, driving a '95 Proton Wira which i'm trying hard to cure of its old man disease while in the same time feeding it with a controversial substance that easily make up for about 20% of my monthly's salary, at least. i eat 2 meals a day and i shudder to think to feed another 'mouth' in future, so much to say finding the right one. i used to wonder a M'sian saying, the rich gets richer while the poor gets poorer and i'm beginning to see the tail of it.

• If G really want rakyat didahulukan …there should only 2 prices for petrol ie 1 for local and 1 for visitor. Visitor need to record their fuel during enter M'sia and custom to recheck when they leave and charge them any + diff (say > 10% initial amount). Just ideas.

• Jumbsuck on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:37 pm

jamblo:

"duit subsidi tu boleh digunakan untuk penbangunan lain yang akhirnya akan digunakan oleh kita bahkan anak cucu kita suatu masa nanti."

Iye lah tu. Macamlah kita semua tak tahu projek pembangunan semuanya sudah diatur untuk kroni-kroni saja. Kata nak jimat subsidi petrol RM berbilion tapi sebaliknya RM berbilion juga dibazirkan untuk kroni-kroni projek rasuah.

"sebenarnya rakyat malaysia mampu beli petrol tanpa subsidi,masalahnya kita dah berpuluh-puluh tahun dimanjakan dengan subsidi dan sukar untuk terima perubahan ini.kalau fikir dari segi positif,banyak kelebihannya."

Memang mampu. Tapi mampukah kos belanja rasuah dihentikan? Hah!

Kos subsidi petrol dengan kos kebocoran petrol disel yang diseludup di sempadan dan di laut dengan kapal-kapal besar bermaharajalela takde sapa pun kacau, mana yang lebih parah? Kalau mampu bocor RM berbillion ratusan ribu liter tanpa tindakan kenapa kita semua rakyat biasa kena potong subsidi?

Subsidi petrol atau Kebocoran petrol seludup – siapa yang susahkan siapa sebenarnya?

Berjimat tapi membazir, bocor juga akhirnya!

• pomen_gtr on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:48 pm

i agree with him..

vbkcheng said,

March 4, 2010 @ 2:58 pm

just now says no….

means when the date stated by rumours will come true….be prepared…how many time G wants to play cheating on mass rakyat over the same tactics?

• MoFaz on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:58 pm

people would keep comparing saudi and malaysia, why petrol price there is soooo cheap, & why import tax is much lower.

study the scenario below before you jump into any conclusions.

saudi:

population: 27mil, but 5mil are actually foreigners.

oil production: abt 10-12mil barrels daily.

export: 9,000,000 barrels per day (no 1)

malaysia:

population: 27mil

oil production: 7-800,000 barrels/day

export: 600,000 barrels/day (no 23)

import: 3-400,000 barrels/day

effectively, we only export 300,000 barrels/day compared to 9millions barrels/day by Saudi. in a year, Saudi export is 3,097,200,000 (3 trillions!!!) barrels more than Malaysia. Saudi earn much,much, muchhhh more than malaysia. that’s why the Saudi gov don’t have to bother so much about car import tax.

If you keep importing foreign cars, much much more money will flow out of the country, the import would be greater than export and Malaysia gov have to find many other source of income, including GST. We're trying to be global player but our local people don't want to support the initiatives, but keep on bashing instead. Our economy is still very small, soo tiny if compared with modern countries. So, be rational with your demands. you get the idea, right?

• hahahahahahahaha

we all here arguing about this, but some people already got thier money in their pocketssssss….

hahahahahahahaha

the menteris driving MB, BMW, we rakyat drive Proton, Perodua

hahahahahahhahaha

again, some still said 'introduce bash, not introduce bash'.

ya lor, koz it is purposely plan like that one.

well planned G!

This is totally plan to fail!

hahahahahahahahaha

Agreed with NiceCar!

NiceCar said,

March 4, 2010 @ 4:17 pm

This is the method for G to gain pocket money, and the money is from tax payers. Just 5 steps, then can get a good “income”, why not?

1st, announce the project to public without detail planning.

2nd, make the public worry and complanning.

3rd, started the project by sucking the blood during this period under table.

4th, announce the project scrapped.

5th, public happy and tot they win in this situation, but actually certain party already get full of pocket money de..

hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• pEnYeludup MiNyAk di on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:34 pm

hooray!

i can smuggled fuel until die..haha..

before a little bit dissapointed dis melesian gomen want to using MyKad to buy fuel….susah cari makan maa…

but today i can make alot money with it..

RM2000+++ per day…around RM60K(THB 600K) per month…huhu…alongside sungai golok bording malaysia & thailand only 50 meter apart….hooray!!!!

i'm the next thaksin sinawatra in the making…haha..

• sam2288 on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:49 pm

it's our Gov style… always think about "creative" idea then mostly postpone…postpone… cancelled

• Hdriver on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:05 pm

This is how the gov officer make themselves busy and occupy.

Switch our internal combustion engine to an electric motor and this should solve the fuel pricing issue for good?

• now thestar reports that the "Fuel prices set to rise". WTF now…. haaaaaaaaaihs. I really no money to stay alife d!!!!

• hanssen on Mar 05, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Manusia merancang, Tuhan menentukan…!!! Mari kita doa supaya harga minyak turun.

• jojo said,

March 4, 2010 @ 3:11 pm

Please show us the entire plan and scrap processes and its financial report.

How much they have wasted our money?

Rakyat Didahulukan, yaya…… wasted our money

Pencapaian Diutamakan…… plan and scrap what they want, never study and plan properly.

With this, really worry GST4% is a must in future in order to gain more money for the gov.

——————————-

thats y la they scraped..they studi people perception, infrastructure, cost….u go to kfc, mcd pizza hut, some mamak restaurant x…..they charge u 5% service tax check ur resit..with gst 4% n the bolehland G said essential good not included in gst, eg rice, sugar

• _xXx_ said,

March 4, 2010 @ 2:54 pm

this should be used to explain the meaning of flip-flop in Wikipedia…

—————-

bcoz u and me wan it to flipflop….we keep whining

• lim said,

Wat a joke!

I second vbkcheng!

Here they said fuel price wil not increase.

Tomorrow morning, news announce due to oil price has over USD80, fuel price will increase and fuel price increase within few hours.

Not even a sign or inform the citizens.

Ya, Rakyat Didahulukan?

Jojo u got the point….. pray more.

————–

giv me 1 country inform their citizen when oil increases

• Ah Beng said,

March 4, 2010 @ 3:40 pm

true..true.. developing the system itself would have costed millions. just imagine how even RM1 million can help the poor in many ways. stupid G. better let me run it. hahaha!

—————–

does u mean RnD is stupid

• ria said,

March 5, 2010 @ 9:04 am

hehe..i wonder how many of you guys pays income tax?

—————-

im oso wonder who…..

• Rooney said,

March 5, 2010 @ 8:56 am

This is all “WAYANG KULIT” laa….now he said this BN Government is the rakyat gov, the gov listen to the rakyat bla..bla..bla…shame on them, piece of crap politic….

————–

u n me make it politic by saying like that

• justice said,

March 5, 2010 @ 8:46 am

this goes to show how effective our G is. if you’re wondering what the heck are they doing when they’re actually working/sitting in their offices, well we’re getting the rough idea now. arrive late at office in their expensive cars, yam cha, then meeting for ways to ‘improve’ our lives further, let out the rumor of planned new system or law, see how the rakyat respond, then judge whether the new system/law would be implementable or not. sounds normal/typical, but somewhere in between the storyline, you guys should know whats in it for them.

anyway, if the idea is to curb robbery of our subsidized junk gas, why not just enforce a stricter law on foreigners where they can’t fill up their tanks at kiosks within (insert range) km of the border and simply assign specific kiosks that may sell gases to them at world market price. thats what Brunei did and its been working well so far. Should kiosks gets greedy, passed on a strict law that should shake their underpants before they would think about increasing sales through that ‘underground’ route.

———————

this is y we as citizen must working together…by informing the enforcer if they is any breach off law..not just look n say bolehland G not do their work

• 27 said,

March 5, 2010 @ 7:00 am

They always has creative way to get the income from us…

However, can say our car tax is not creative but is directive income to gov

Whenever there is some projects, there is some gain from certain ppl…

In Malaysia, it is possible…

————————

prove it..than talk..

• mid-income malaysian said,

March 4, 2010 @ 4:10 pm

It’s for now only… not sure about tomorrow..

——————–

that is life..if u know tomoro..wow what a blessing..rite

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

March 4, 2010 @ 6:26 pm

this gov…..no hope

——————

the alternative is hopeless

• droll said,

March 5, 2010 @ 2:06 am

being smart has got nothing to do with being elected! doh!

i don’t think the people are against the removal of subsidies. they are against the wastage of public funds on hare brained ideas and flip flop decisions. doh again!

who’s going to pay for the half implemented infrastructure that was meant to support this subsidy scheme? us, the rakyat, via our tax contribution.

sigh……

———————

then limit ur salary below rm2500..no tax

• Archer said,

March 4, 2010 @ 9:38 pm

I wonder how much of people’s money was spent to make this study including paying off the con-sultans to provide the feasibility study. I wonder what happened to that company that demoed the MyKad reader for petrol pumps, whose crony company was that?

Best way to solve the loss of subsidy money is to stop the subsidy itself.

——————-

find n prove it…then u whining no subs….for u maybe can without subs..what bout less fortune one with income less then rm500 who has motocycle to go work…

• oldman said,

March 4, 2010 @ 7:37 pm

the tiered fuel price system is the most STUPIDEST idea from Barisan Najis… cancelling the idea now make them a ‘GENIUS’

———————-

the other side want to increase subs i watch it when Anwar n Sabery debate on national tv…then who is stupid n genius

• win today, tomorrow minyak turun….saper cakap ni ek…..

• Archer on Mar 05, 2010 at 10:06 pm

KZM, I have no idea what exactly is your point making all these snipe comments, you are neither here no there, what is your stance> From looks of it you like situation to remain status quo.

The alternative without subsidy is a hard pill to swallow but it is best way to go, we have to start now to wean away the public from subsidy. Take a good look at increasing the lower income group salaries, continuing subsidy is a complete drain of the tax payer's money not to mention diverting funds that could be used elsewhere example health care, education etc. Wait till we soon run out of our own oil, and we start importing, lets see then where and how the government will off set the loss of tax income with increased pressure to subsidized petrol. We got to start now to wean off the public from this give me, give me attitude and creating an artificial notion of a viable economy. Malaysia is living on borrowed time and if we keep going with subsidy for everything we deem essential the time of doom will soon be upon us.

• Mastermind on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:05 pm

change to monarchi system…..no need democrazy opps democracy….

saudi use monarchi oil price low than malaysia…

brunei use monarchi oil price low than malaysia…..

american n briton use democracy oil price to high thn malaysia

So if u want all low price change political system to monarchi…..so no need to worried bacause just one head not so many head on country,,,…n just one only the rich in democracy all want equal share…so think about it…

Comparison on saudi n brunei totally rejected……

work with ur brain….

• ktas09 on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Better scrap BN first.

• Rooney on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:30 pm

KZM is BN sucker laa…..

• Peter on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:37 pm

Malaysia will need to improve its public transport system. And also with the new Proton EMAS coming up….This will bring the dependcies of fuel down. I think the govt shld also continue the scrapping of old vehicles for old cars and providing them with incentives. Also proton should develop a much more fuel efficient engine. Lastly, the govt should also spent more money into the infrasture and basic development. We are still lagging behind.

• Peter on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:39 pm

* sorry ….

i mean proton should develope EURO 4-5 deisiel engine….Not just only fuel effieicnet gasoline engine

• change the government.. fade-up oredy :)

• open market for both fuel & car prices, use the $$ for education/transport/healthcare…..

but P1 might not survive & must protect cronies (ie vendors) well being. …kekekekekekek

• Ariff on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:35 am

wow!..nice car

• Wak Kordi on Mar 06, 2010 at 3:08 am

next general election is coming…. yeehaaaa

• hehe….thinking that changing the government will improve so much…have you seen the alternative lately?they are a joke…kah kah kah…that kind want to be government?kah kah kah

• Ujang on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:36 am

Yahoo sbb dah cancel…tp minyak mesti naik harga punya…tengok lah nnt…silap haribulan ntah2 sebelum bln 5 hg minyak naik kot…paham2 lah gomen m'sia…tak pernah bg info yg betul, suka2 tukar pastu announce last minute.

rasa2nya sbb CNN jd main sponsor Lotus F1 Racing kot gomen tak jd buat sistem subsidi berperingkat ni…maklumlah 1malaysia…

• oldman on Mar 06, 2010 at 5:51 pm

rakyat said;

"…Itulah rakyat malaysia.. Semua pandai bercakap, cuba korang yg jadi menteri, dah tentu pecah kepala korang memikirkan.. Ingat, bukan semua orang boleh jadi menteri untuk buat semua tue….."

————————————————————-

Kalo dah tau bodo, step down from cabinet…people deserve better… we do not need minister who cannot differentiate between election and erection…who's foaming at mouth defending high fuel price…who bought submarine that can't dive…….

• Squawk on Mar 06, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Yes, I agree that menteri2, EPU staff etc etc need to have substance between the ears. Unfortunately many of our menteri2 etc etc have shown proof that they lack it and don't deserve to be where they are. Yet they still are there. In other countries they'd have been sacked or resigned to avoid further embarrassment.

And yes, in every public office there is temptation. But the system to keep such temptation in check here is very lax. Look at public servants in NZ, UK, Aus etc… even what their spouses do are scrutinized. And if you know HK public servants, you'll know they're 'afraid' of the rakyat. They're proactive and do their job right to avoid getting complained or having reports filed on them by the rakyat.

Over here, we have complaints bureau etc but they make it a hassle for you to file a complaint and in the end many are discouraged from filing one, not to mention that they also treat the complainant like the guilty party.

Anyway, I find this move a little fishy as most of the time, when they wanna do something against the people's wishes their standard reply is "we'll go down to the ground to educate the people about this and they will accept it and get used to it. This is a necessary move. We cannot avoid it". I think this is scrapped as they're afraid of the political repercussion.

• Akmal on Mar 07, 2010 at 12:53 am

B.N. is always doing this type of nonsense . She said one thing but will revert to another nonsense again in a few days' time . Malaysians have been fooled by her since the independence . We have enough !!!

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 07, 2010 at 5:32 am

For me,if PEE ARE took over the leadership,errrmmm…..fight here fight there,is this memperjuangkan rakyat,or menghancurkan rakyat,btw…I still don't believe PEE ARE,after 2 years,I didn't see any improvement,last improvement was 2 years ago,which our current G still hold selangor,penang and kedah.maybe I'm out of topic,but this is the truth.rocket,blue eye and moon with green background can't lead us to a better life

• MoFaz on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:12 am

oldman said,

March 6, 2010 @ 9:51 am

Kalo dah tau bodo, step down from cabinet…people deserve better… we do not need minister who cannot differentiate between election and erection…who’s foaming at mouth defending high fuel price…who bought submarine that can’t dive…….

————————–

you're too emotional la oldman. oldman like you should be wise, but your brain are actually rotten with hatred. let me ask you, would you buy a car if you know the car is going to kaput in 3 months? Yeah, the submarine have technical problem but it’s still under warranty and the cost of repair was borne by manufacturer.

just enjoy the rest of your life peacefully, would you?

• deGonggok on Mar 07, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Euro 4 Technoly will cost a lot of money. The benefit to the current car owner is almost not there. You will only see the benefit with new generation car.

Bring Euro 4 at higher price and have everyone change their car? This is 'brilliant' iideas by some of you.

Guys, invest in yourself and improve.

• Price of oil in the future will always goes up and we can't stop it cause currently it is d only source of energy for our transportation.i think there's should be an initiative for NGV.Gov should encourage people to change for NGV and ask petronas (or even other gas stations) to add NGV stations all over the country while the price of oil currently not over $100.

• another thing,stop complaining and whining about d government without giving any supportive suggestion/critic to them.it's kinda annoying.it's our government.whether it will rise or fall,it will affect our life too.be an responsible citizen,d world is watching.if u know what i mean..