Petronas sponsors ESPN Star Sports 2010 F1 broadcast – watch Schumacher and gang in HD!

After an off-season full of drama, Formula 1 is back this weekend with the Bahrain GP. Supported by Petronas, which is also the title sponsor of Michael Schumacher’s Mercedes GP works team, broadcast of “the pinnacle of motorsports” returns with live coverage of all 19 races. In addition to covering Formula 1 across its TV, online and mobile platforms throughout the region, viewers can tune into the new ESPN HD channel.

STAR Sports will broadcast more than 600 hours of F1 content in 2010 including pre and post-race shows Race Day and Chequered Flag hosted by Paula Malai Ali and Steve Dawson. STAR Sports’ coverage will also be bolstered with the addition of former Jordan chief designer and technical director Gary Anderson, who will add technical expertise to the live commentary team comprising veteran commentator Steve Slater. For the first time ever in Asia, F1 live broadcasts will also be shown in High-Definition on ESPN HD.

Online content at ESPN Star’s website includes Live Race Centre featuring lap-by-lap live race coverage and commentary, online video highlights, insightful columns by Steve Slater, the F1 Fantasy game and a new winner prediction game sponsored by Petronas. Autographed helmet by Schumi anyone?

We can’t wait! Let the racing start!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• me0wster on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Wohoo! Looks like getting B.yond was useful!

• What about NTV7? Any F1 race covered?

• King Samurai on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Haiyaa…I stay in an apartment with centralized satellite dish. Can't upgrade to byond to watch in full hd…..arrghhh..

• Paul Tan on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:09 pm

yes ntv7 also has rights.

• carsenthusiast.blogs on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:30 pm

astro B.yond will sell well ;)

• Cynical on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:38 pm

The race will still be the same, no matter if you watch it in HD or not. But I'd like to B.yond those girls in kebaya dress though…

• trav_da_man on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Cool, but i dont wanna see Paula in HD. Cant stand her annoying accent n her "fake" passion in F1.

I hope we can have the BBC commentary in NTV7.

• 1Malaysia on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:01 am

jg said,

March 11, 2010 @ 3:06 pm

What about NTV7? Any F1 race covered?

Ntv7 was announced yesterday as the official host broadcaster of the Petronas Malaysian F1 Grand Prix at the Sepang Circuit from April 2-4.

It will air seven races ‘live’ this year – the GPs in Australia, Malaysia, Brazil, China, Canada, Japan and South Korea.

Twelve other races – in Bahrain, Singapore, Spain, Monaco, Turkey, Europe, Britain, Germany, Hungary, Belgium, Italy and Abu Dhabi – will be delayed telecasts.

• kayel on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:10 am

haha…not waste at all after a lot of hassle in order to install astro byond at my apartment which was using centralized before….finally!!

• Who is the model?… I like the far right one… she's nice…

• Toyota people are th on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:14 am

Why do all these people giving a thumbs up? Maybe it is because they get paid by Petronas. NTV7 coverage is far better than Astro's because I am sick of Steve Slatter bla bla bla on Button, Hamilton since he is English. Boring.

• thecarman on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:15 am

I hope it's the ITV commentators. StarSports ones are just not up to standard!

• Ntv7 was announced yesterday as the official host broadcaster of the Petronas Malaysian F1 Grand Prix at the Sepang Circuit from April 2-4.

It will air seven races ‘live’ this year – the GPs in Australia, Malaysia, Brazil, China, Canada, Japan and South Korea.

Twelve other races – in Bahrain, Singapore, Spain, Monaco, Turkey, Europe, Britain, Germany, Hungary, Belgium, Italy and Abu Dhabi – will be delayed telecasts.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What was the delay like? 1 hour? After the race was over?

TQ.

• MoooL on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:27 am

I thought FOM have said no HD for F1 until 2011? How come we have HD?

http://www.f1fanatic.co.uk/2010/01/07/f1-in-hd-no…

• King Samurai on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:33 am

kayel said,

March 11, 2010 @ 4:10 pm

haha…not waste at all after a lot of hassle in order to install astro byond at my apartment which was using centralized before….finally!!

So jealous of you lah my fren…it'll took ages for my jmb to do something about this b.yond thingy….damn!! race already starting!!!

• gangully on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:57 am

trav_da_man said,

March 11, 2010 @ 3:55 pm

Cool, but i dont wanna see Paula in HD. Cant stand her annoying accent n her “fake” passion in F1.

u meant ITV right? BBC does not have rights to broadcast F1 in UK…

• Vanilla Vixen on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:46 am

Finally F1 in HD

• Mysticmind on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:57 am

Paula malai ali also had a race what?… but small race.

but i think she currently just bit old already.

• Mysticmind on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:57 am

Paula malai ali also had car race before what?… but small race.

but i think she currently just bit old already.

• toddy vall on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:06 am

hamilton will beat you like a baby…

• Tiadaid on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:27 am

gangully said,

March 11, 2010 @ 4:57 pm

trav_da_man said,

March 11, 2010 @ 3:55 pm

Cool, but i dont wanna see Paula in HD. Cant stand her annoying accent n her “fake” passion in F1.

u meant ITV right? BBC does not have rights to broadcast F1 in UK…

———

Boss, you missed the boat la. BBC took over from ITV last year!

• 2fast on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:08 am

Ok, here is the reason to get the b.yond thing.

Finally will get to see in detail all those intricate aerodynamic designs.

Must call Astro tomorrow :)

• F1 in HD, sweet!!

• HD is the standard in Australia. Nothing Special

• ghostandard on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Ayoo I got problem with aspect ratio 16:9 with my ASTRO Beyond yesterday + today + so on. ASTRO plz resolved ASAP.

• arch808 on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Cynical said,

March 11, 2010 @ 3:38 pm

The race will still be the same, no matter if you watch it in HD or not. But I’d like to B.yond those girls in kebaya dress though…

hahahahaha,

thats a gud one.

• kimi_ on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:27 pm

I have followed F1 since the first race in Sepang circuit…..

Before this, it was broadcast by RTM and TV3 which is suck as mostly all races is aired delayed except for (australia and malaysia gp), some races is skkiped also

Then it changed to 8 TV later which is the best as most race is live like at 8pm

for european race….

Now it is NTV7 turn which done great jobs also

BUT I WONDER WHY NOT GIVE THE RIGHTS TO THE TV STATION THAT ABLE TO AIRED ALL RACE LIVE SINCE THERE ARE MALAYSIAN TEAM ON IT NOW??????????

• Nerddy on Mar 12, 2010 at 11:04 pm

as usual…. love the chicks…

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:01 am

I love the looks of the girl at the right, so ayu and beautiful… good as stock buat bini.

• brossprocps on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:11 am

Go!Petronas!GO!!!!fIRST RACE IS VERY INTERESTING RACE EVER. SO KLCC THIS YEAR FULLY BOOK BY MERC NOT BMW ANYMORE,INTERESTING ALSO.

• furide on Mar 13, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Most races if aired live will be around 8 pm…so difficult because that slot is for news….that's why have to be delayed until almost midnite…die-hard fan like wouldn't miss a race even the race was broadcast at 2 am! But that was long time ago…now got Astro so live for all races! But i like the astro version the least…

• Imran on Mar 14, 2010 at 11:27 am

There are no HD broadcast for F1 yet in the world. The so claim HD in ESPN is just upscale. It should be called HD. Even the video is still is 4:3 format.

• Imran on Mar 14, 2010 at 11:29 am

There are no HD broadcast for F1 yet in the world. The so claim HD in ESPN is just upscale. It should have not be called HD. Even the video is still is 4:3 format.

• Tiadaid on Mar 14, 2010 at 6:19 pm

furide said,

March 13, 2010 @ 12:30 pm

Most races if aired live will be around 8 pm…so difficult because that slot is for news….that’s why have to be delayed until almost midnite…die-hard fan like wouldn’t miss a race even the race was broadcast at 2 am! But that was long time ago…now got Astro so live for all races! But i like the astro version the least…

———-

That's why 8tv got the right last time. Every race is live. Give it to them.

• David on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:59 am

What F1 ESPN HD? This upscaling is crap! Even S'pore's Channel 5 HD F1 is so much sharper!