McLaren MP4-12C gets approval from F1 champs

The Honda NSX is a legend, and owners can always boast that another legend, Formula 1 great Ayrton Senna, had a hand in the mid-engined sportscar’s development. Now, future owners of the McLaren MP4-12C can claim that their 600 bhp supercar is endorsed by not one, but two Formula 1 champs! Well, almost. With the two most recent F1 champions racing under its name, McLaren couldn’t resist letting Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton have a go at the “XP Beta phase” prototypes of the MP4-12C, although testing road cars isn’t part of their official job scope.

The two British champs tried out XP8 and XP10 at Goodwood Motor Circuit earlier this month. Being self confessed ‘petrolheads’ and having seen the 12C at the McLaren Technology Centre in February, they were keen to get behind the wheel and share some views. Their time on the tight and fast circuit in southern England returned feedback on the 12C’s launch control, Brake-Steer application and threshold levels of the electronic stability control programmes, as well as driver comfort at speed.

Good comments are expected from the two well-paid employees, but we believe that the MP4-12C is truly a cracking car to drive coming from the people who brought us the McLaren F1. Read what Jenson and Lewis have to say after the jump. Images and video of the MP4-12C are available here.

Jenson Button commented, “The 12C is so easy to drive. Its cockpit is a nice place to be and really makes you feel at one with the car. The driving seat is very comfortable and the layout of the controls is completely logical. I like the fact that there’s no switchgear on the steering wheel. You simply select the mode you want before you begin driving and after that there’s no need to concentrate on anything but the driving itself.

“The car’s dynamic capability is fantastic at both high and low speeds. Within just a few seconds, I felt really comfortable with the car – and after only a couple of laps I was able to begin to push it hard through the corners. Yet, even though I was pushing, I was amazed by the car’s great stability at high speeds. It’s very quick in a straight line, too. In fact, the biggest problem with driving this car on a circuit is that sometimes you forget it’s a road car!”

Lewis Hamilton said, “The 12C is a real driver’s car; it delivered on all my expectations. The visibility is great from the driver’s seat. You really appreciate that in tight corners. I loved the McLaren F1 when I drove it and, like that car, the huge front windscreen of the 12C allows you to take in all the information needed for perfect lines through apex turns.

“It was clear when meeting the Automotive test team that they share the same competitive focus as our race team. We’re obsessed with winning and we’ll do all we can to make sure that happens. If the 12C team say they are aiming to make the best performance car on the market, then I’m convinced that is what they will do.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MADBOY on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Memang kena endorse lah, dah boss suruh.

• AlphaBravia on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:03 pm

1st!.. It would be fantastic! No picture of the car meh??

• munky on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Not first !

• Mohd Nazri on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:06 am

uber cool

• world champ approved!

cool yo !!

• Tengkurex on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:30 am

Here for more pics http://www.f1fanatic.co.uk/2010/03/18/mclarens-mp…

• nabil on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:47 am

without a stupid loophoe in FIA regulation , jensen button will never be a champ….so watever he says doesnt mean much !!

• iskett on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:46 am

If Jenson Button says its good then it must be good!

In F1, needs a perfect car to perform, hence his stamp of approval means the car is perfect!

• iskett on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:47 am

Correction,

.., 'HE' needs a perfect car..

• prolever on Mar 20, 2010 at 8:14 am

yep, world champ approved… and ofcouse, among world most expensive car..

but ya, i say cool cause it mclaren,

• alldisc on Mar 21, 2010 at 12:18 am

the original McLaren F1 of 1994 is still the best to me. simply superb. fantastic. brilliant.

• JULIAN_LEE on Mar 21, 2010 at 12:21 am

BMW better

• Steven on Mar 21, 2010 at 1:49 am

button had d best car early in d season, fact!…he was d most consistent driver to score high points, fact!..he had d best tactical team n pit crew, fact..all=world champ no doubt!!!…if want to argue in tat context i can say tat then all champioship by ferari wif shumi shud be a fluke coz they were cheating by spending d most money n having the best crew!!

• Wanna be mad at the loophole that brings Button to the world champ stage??? why not be mad at the others who didn't manipulate the loop hole as they all racing with in the same loophole???

if loophole is what u're mad about, I think schumi have the worst history of being bad after all… but still, I respect him because what ever he did it shows that he knows his car, his opponents capability, and he know what he did…

• the 458 italia n 570-4 superleggera shud be shivering rite now… or not… depends on the buyer lah~ still a great afford to do a mini-mee of the F1 GTR. :)