Sebastian Vettel finally does it and wins in Malaysia!

Today is a very good day for Red Bull as the Renault-powered team scored a 1-2 victory at the surprisingly dry Malaysian GP. The 1-2 victory was led by Sebastian Vettel who started the race from third spot on the grid. Pole sitter and teammate Mark Webber crossed the line in second after losing the lead at the first turn on Lap 1.

The duo were at a league of their own through out the entire race and the final podium position went to Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg awarding the team it’s first podium finish after starting from second place. Podium finisher at the Australian GP a week ago, Robert Kubica from Renault managed fourth place. Force India has done it again with Adrian Sutil’s fifth place. Hamilton made excellent progress through out the race as the Brit started from 20th position.

Seventh place went to Felipe Massa who was the only Ferrari to cross the finish line. Massa is now leading the Driver’s Championship with 39 points ahead of Vettel and Alonso. Reigning World Champion Jenson Button finished in eight place. He nearly lost his eight place after receiving pressure from Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso during the final stages of the race. Unfortunately for the Alonso, his scarlet Ferrari suffered from a mechanical issue, most probably an engine failure which forced the Spaniard to retire.

Ninth place went Toro Rosso’s Jaime Alguersuari while Nico Hulkenberg from Williams filled up the tenth spot. The 56-lap race was a dry affair which was rather surprising, again proving that anything can happen at the Malaysian GP. First corner on Lap 1 was pretty much trouble-free without any drama. Both the Red Bulls pretty much sealed the top two and Nico Rosberg was running in third.

Both the McLarens and Ferraris had good starts but it was Lewis Hamilton who made the best progress. The Brit was steaming ahead through the field and entertained viewers with his battle for 9th place with Renault’s Vitaly Petrov. The Russian gave Hamilton a good fight for a couple of laps. Hamilton finally overtook Petrov but was given a warning as the 2008 champion weaved 4 times on the main straight while slipstreaming the Renault.

It was a disappointing day for Schumacher fans as the 7 times World Champion retired on Lap 10 from eight place. Apparently his car’s rear left wheel nut came off and there was no drive as well. Both the Ferraris and Lewis Hamiton were the last ones to pit. Jenson Button who won the Australian GP was being attacked by the Massa at the final stages of the race and Massa managed to pass the McLaren driver for seventh. Meanwhile, Hamilton was trying his best to make a move on Adrian Sutil’s car which is also powered by a Mercedes powerplant. This battle was for fifth place and Sutil managed to keep himself ahead till the end.

Following Massa’s pass on Button, it was Alonso’s turn and the former World Champion looked good for a pass but his car failed on him with about two laps remaining. A number of cars failed to finish the race while Pedro de la Rosa did not even start the race due to engine problems. Drivers including Timo Glock of Virgin, Kamui Kobayashi of Sauber, Vitantonio Liuzzi of Force India and Vitaly Petrov failed to make it to the finish line.

It wasn’t a good day for Lotus Racing at the team’s home race as well. Heikki Kovalainen had an accident with Virgin’s Di Grassi. As a result, the Finn suffered from a puncture and had to pit. But he had more problems and had to pit again. A couple of laps later Lotus sent him out although he was already six laps down. With six laps remaining Jarno Trulli suffered from some problems and was running last.

Both Kovalainen and Trulli were classified as 18th and 17th respectively, behind the Hispania drivers. Karun Chandhok was 15th while Bruno Senna was 16th. Formula 1 now heads up north for the Chinese GP which happens on April 18th. Overall the Malaysian GP wasn’t all that boring but it would have been nicer if it rained.

Please click here to view the full results.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• karsoon on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Amazing speed on the post~~ Post blog like a F1 Racer.. :D

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:39 pm

WTF!!
    the race just finished,and you are already post about it,wow this is faster than the F1 car.

• ridzyroo on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:41 pm

that was a quick post. the race just ended!

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:42 pm

too bad to lotus,jarno trulli finished last and heikki suffered with a hydraulic problem on his car,
    I’

• Neo.S on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:15 am

change the supplier !!!!!! same issue occur 3 times especially Jarno car. sue the supplier loh lol

• Jarum on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:10 am

Reliability seems to be Malaysia’s biggest problem… now available in F1 too. :)

• bLo0d on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:46 am

recalls to f1 cars maybe? LOL

• brossprocps on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:44 pm

good job bro!

• Spica on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:49 pm

wow, fast update as usual. Congratz Red Bull.
    And Lotus you guys got tough luck today, good luck next time

• Redbull won this game beautifully!

• delio on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:54 pm

go go go for vettel and rosberg. please wake up schumi.

• ya la.. pls wake up schumi. whats up with him?? i think its his neck

• delio on Apr 04, 2010 at 9:08 pm

schumi still dreaming with ferrari….

• Jarum on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:14 am

haih and delio,

I guess your shoe size is bigger than your IQ!!

Schumi’s car failed because of mechanical problems. NOT HIS DRIVING style or let alone his neck. Why not try leaving a sport for 3 years and come back, do you not think you would take some time to come back to your peak, especially when your get into a new team.

• delio on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:36 pm

u should see alonso. although it carrier its not great for around 2 years, but when he join the ferrari, his magic touch is still available. u cannot say when entering a new team, the magic is lost.

• Podium finish for Mercedes powered car again…

• l3 l i t z on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:58 pm

lotus took out some other teams front wing didnt they. Only watched a little of it

• Kenneth on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Petronas made the right choice by partnering with Mercedes-Benz!

• 5laps on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:05 pm

+ 5 laps says it all

Where are all the die hard Tony supporters now ?

• Neo.S on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:11 am

still more to come ……….dont worry we still here wakakakakaka

• KNizam on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:15 pm

very2 dry race today. hopes for rain actually.

• Niteracers on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Lotus fate is SEALED.

What a waste of MONEY ….if Lotus continues tis way

Tony will come out with a bunch of excuxes again…. new la, still data collecting la, still tis la, still that la…….so Malaysians can continue to dream

• tengkurex69 on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:43 pm

I think you didn’t watch the race. Hekki been hit by Grassi (Virgin) and suffering punctured rear wheel and Trulli was hit by Timo (also Virgin) and suffering bodywork that effecting his aero. Get some fact before bashing.

• Tiadaid on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:43 pm

Basically, for Virgin to leapfrog Lotus, all they have to do is to bash into the Lotus cars?

• tengkurex69 on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Basically it just a bad day for Lotus and great day for Red Bull. If you think like that for Virgin, fine with me. LOL

• Annihilated on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:39 pm

seems fine with me too.. LOL

• trav_da_man on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:19 pm

I hope u will be proven wrong by the end of 2010. There still16 races to go.

• If bunga Lotus falls into the hand of any TOM Dxxk and “Hairy” ah… I will say thats it for the Bunga… But bcos its in the good hands of Uncle Tony who do nothing else but serious business, the Bunga shall be preserved and in good shape…

• oldman on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:33 am

40 saat pitstop…bodoh nyer lottus team, tukar tayar pun ambik masa lama…

• simple_mind on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:34 am

oldman, you’re also born stupid what….After 3 years old,you still do not know how to take bath properly on your own.How long did you learn to comb your hair? Cannot ler say other people “bodoh nyer…”If after getting old enough like you,and still “bodoh!”,then I will also join you bashing them….OK like this?

• oldman on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:07 pm

I’ve said it before, and i’ll say it again…. human =/= car…

So, when this lottus stupid project spend millions of dollar (some of taxpayer money) into this business and carry mesia name on it…i expected result, don’t you expect the same?

Do you expect 40s pitstop….? Sheesh, i could even manage to change my Sunny 130Y tire under 40s…

• Neo.S on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:10 am

and your knowledge is SEALED too

just because you are a night racer and you think you are better than a F1 or politician or a businessman ?

shoot me when you are able to take care your whole family root and build a F1 team on your fucking name la.

*FYI family root = every member of your family

• watched it live on tv and i was dissapointed that shumacher was out so soon. and why c63 AMG and not use the SLS AMG? i saw it on tv just parking there doing nothing, such a waste!

• tokmoh on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Oh yes. OH YES. OH YEEEEEEEESSSSSS!!!!

GO VETTEL GO!!! GO WEBBER GO!!! GO RED BULL GO!!! WAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

Padan muka Alonso hehe.

• heavencloud.net on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Congratz to vettel, he deserved it!

and why the rain bomoh didn’t do his job? I was really hoping for rain =(

• haha really ah? i heard abt that. our malaysian bomoh was hired in last year’s wimbledon.

• tokmoh on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Cuz the rain bomoh wants Vettel to win. And win he did wakakakaka!!

• keypad (Member) on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:03 pm

I think the rain bomoh has done a well done job lah

hahaha

• WhyNoManualInMalaysia on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Give Lotus a break … just look at how Sauber is doing

• kazai on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:52 pm

From now onwards, Red Bull energy drink is my first choice. Sure can go fast.

• tengkurex69 on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Red bull tag-line is “give you wings”. Drinking too much, you will flying.LOL

• drink Tongkat Ali.. Malaysian brand.. :)

• trav_da_man on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:17 pm

A disappointing race for most malaysian n Lotus F1 fans. They did very well in qualifying n hopes were high for the home race but unfortunatelly luck runs out the moment the green light strikes. Heikki dropped 7 positions and unable to regain back. Trulli meanwhile got banged by Glock and suffered reliablity issues on the final stages.

Well Rosberg’s 3rd position is a consolation to most of us, he got a well deserved podium finish while too bad Schumacher failed to finish the race. Even force india is showing its promise and hamilton unable to overtake adrian sutil for 5th place. Force india is mclaren technical partner n i guess mclaren must have started to regret now.

Congrats to Vettel over his well deserved race win! Exciting beginning but dull middle n ending……Better luck for Lotus for China GP!

• JULIAN LEE IS A COPYCAT on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:15 pm

right on bro… their target was to get both cars to the finish line.. and they achieved that… dont expect them to get to the podium.. they set a target to be a force to be reckoned with in the next 5 years… so after 5 years, if they fail to do so, then only bash them…

dont just bash without knowing the full story.. it makes u look stupid…

ps: im not a big fan of the current gov, but i still support lotus.. great to see them finished even though heiki had a problem…

• trav_da_man on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Yup, i not a fan of the current gov but being a true motorsports fan i 100% behind team lotus F1 malaysia. I will be very delighted to see an Malaysian team despite it is manned by mostly foreigners. The team is preserving and suceeding what perhaps a historical F1 icon apart of Ferrari.

So far they doing great but just that luck is not on their side in Malaysian GP which is a disappointing to many local fans. But there 16 more races to go, so there still a long way n definery the team will fare better.

• F1Freak on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:29 am

They got both cars to the finish line?? Did we watch the same race?? Kovalainen did not finish the race. Even Trulli who finished the race (last) was lapped 5 times!! Not criticising but stating facts.

• jeffvip on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:30 am

this bad things happened making me feel so bored n almost felt asleep during the race although those F1 car is making a terribly loud sound.

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:40 pm

To bashers,don’t talk if you got nothing inside you head,lotus had problem with the cars,and same goes to mercedes,force india,sauber and even ferrari
    if you only bash lotus,it seems unfair, how about the other team.
    If you read the article clearly,you will know why lotus suffered to the last position

• Jarum on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:05 am

People bash Lotus because of their big talk! We don’t hear big talk from the rest do we??

• simple_mind on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:41 am

big talk? what do you mean by that? does it mean that they need to shut up and be a pessimist? You really follow them? I don’t think they talk big.They are confident , and it’s different.

• Jarum on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Simple Mind,

Remember how they bragged about being the “only” team to have both cars finish the race. Clearly Tony has problems with numbers.

Where is the noise now? Tony loves the media attention! But yesterday he was shying away. Guess he ran out words!

• Commenter on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Hope in future, you put the result in “table format”. It is easier to read, no need to read the article. Sometime can be confusing.

• JULIAN LEE IS A COPYCAT on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:16 pm

oh dude, i replied to the wrong post… it was meant for this post :-

malaysia memang boleh says:
    4/4/2010 at 7:40 pm

To bashers,don’t talk if you got nothing inside you head,lotus had problem with the cars,and same goes to mercedes,force india,sauber and even ferrari
    if you only bash lotus,it seems unfair, how about the other team.
    If you read the article clearly,you will know why lotus suffered to the last position

• Jarum on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Really? If Lotus did not have any problem who they have won? I think NOT!

• scanzew on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:18 pm

haiyo really bad….but nice for mercedes….

• really… really…. really…. really….. DISAPPOINTED…
    Lotus team……. :(

• 2fast on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Congrats for Petronas, our second ‘local’ team for getting on the podium!

As expected, it was an exciting race right up to the end when Alonso blew his engine when he tried to overtake Button. Hamilton was fantastic in his racing. Although most of the top teams, who got wrong footed by rain on Saturday managed a top ten spot, it was nice to see them work their way up instead of doing a boring procession around the track.

I wish Formula 1 organizers can randomize the grids for future races instead of letting the rain to do it, this will make for a more interesting race especially for viewers.

• Ordinary joe on Apr 04, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Totally agree. Yesterday’s wet qualifying resulted in some great racing today with the grid all topsy turvy. Overall it’s good to see that the Malaysian GP is happening and went well this year!!

• kimi_ on Apr 04, 2010 at 9:12 pm

IMHO, the driver of the day should belong to ALONSO although i dont like him….

He showed us today the skills he had as he drive with broken gear box and without clutch!!!!!

SO impressive as he manage to maintain its pace and create several fastest lapsin later part after pits……..

Maybe with his hard throttle and akward driving styles makes the engine work really hard until it burst!!!!

• aksMs on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:27 pm

From my understanding, Ferrari got issues with their engine reliability. Why do they need to overrev the engine whenever they do overtaking?

• GBToyMachine on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:02 pm

Red Bull Racing!! FTW! haha…and awesome result for Nico Rosberg!

• Saya bunga Lotus on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:03 pm

ben says:
    4/4/2010 at 6:18 pm

watched it live on tv and i was dissapointed that shumacher was out so soon. and why c63 AMG and not use the SLS AMG? i saw it on tv just parking there doing nothing, such a waste!
    …………………………………………..

watched live at Sepang and the c63 AMG sound more garang… one of the best sports wagon…. SLS sound so sissy laa… even my 6yr old kid says so

• bmpower on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:45 pm

i was there too!.
    good race indeed, and i wish it was rain (okay since i at grand stand – got roof hehe),
    but the rain did not come. lol.

• SHADUP LA on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Boooooo~

• Malaysian Cars on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Of course when rainind is more nice, more ‘drama’, more exiting… Now waiting for the next year.
    Congratulation for Lotus.

• LightStar on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:58 pm

It was interesting race, Trulli and Heike did great and ahead of virgin…but only they have no luck with their car….anyway they did well…..To all basher WATCH, READ and UNDERSTAND before u want to post or say anything…..lol

• Jarum on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:07 am

We do all of the above including LISTEN! And we still have our facts! :)

• Ferruccio on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:17 pm

LightStar,

Trulli and Heiki didn’t do ‘great’ at Sepang. Both had problems and were just coasting around.

Though Heiki rejoined late in the race, he was NOT classified as a finisher. Likewise, Glock’s Virgin was not classified.

On the other hand, di Grassi finished 3 places ahead of Trulli. Should I mention also the former finished 2 laps AHEAD of Trulli?

So was do you still think this is a proud achievement for Lotus against Virgin?

WATCH, READ & UNDERSTAND :)

• LightStar on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:08 am

Ferruccio,

I dont think you watch that race….Heike ahead of VR and doing great until his care got prob….daaa….OMG

WATCH, READ & UNDERSTAND :)

• F1Freak on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:37 am

Lightstar,

You may have watched the race but you obviously do not know much about F1. Ferrucio is right. Kovalinen DID NOT finish the race. Di Grassi finished ahead of Trulli. YOU should WATCH, READ & UNDERSTAND

• johan on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Hi, finally a blog with a lot of race fans. I’m setting up my own blog and would love to find blogs with information on the indy500 anybody know some good ones?

• Anonymous on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:42 pm

I just see streaming vid. See take off from cockpit view, Massa. Damn so fast he even past few cars straight from behind. If only Lotus could do that…

• raybrig on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:15 am

The Power Root brand should be put on Lotus rear wing..

• Neo.S on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:59 am

hahaha yeah good idea

• GBToyMachine on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:35 am

Perodua too…hehehe…since we’re at it, why not Sime Darby, Ancom, UMW, Malayan Flour Mill, Felda, loL!!! hehe

• rexis on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:34 am

Aiya, no more racing on the lake, but KL drift pulak.

Not quite agree with the idea associating Perodua and F1. Driving Kancil(or any other P2 car) like F1 is practically suicidal.

Yes, put power root on. Gogo.

• power root got no money to put on lotus.. they always put ‘peraduan sume bleh menang’.. where got more money to give lotus.. hehehe… :D

• Annihilated on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:49 pm

yeah.. they can put ‘pakcik menang moto’ tagline just like RBR ‘gives you wings’ tagline..

• so much hu ha for the lotus team,so does for the warm hatch satria neo lotis edition,they share one thing in common that is sloooooooooooooowwwwwwwww.probably petronas people already foresee this,that is why they choose mercedes instead of lotus.wakakakaka

• dinding_batu on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:46 am

Alonso is a bloody good driver. And this is coming from a McLaren diehard.

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:54 am

BMW shud have won. Stupid Malaysia team. Perodua SUXX

• Jarum on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:09 am

BMW? Wake up la brother? There is no more BMW in F1 la? Sauber is NOT BMW anymore!

• simple_mind on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:47 am

BMW Better???!!!! Woiiiii!!! Wake up!! Hahahaha

• Stick tiz on the car ….

1800-LOTUS-SUXX

• tengkurex69 on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:05 am

Actually..I wanna ask more from Lotus because they bare Malaysian name and the legendary Lotus name but I should be realistic that they just a new team. Wait till Spain GP what can they do after going a major upgrade.

• Mysticmind on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:50 am

I was there, at diamond grand stand.
    It was a very great race but I do really wish it was rainy day. But wont happen.
    Lotus did a good job even thought they not good place, but to complete the race with both car are good enough. But untill when? they have to imporove more further and faster. it’s already 3 race. Should get at least a point before 5th race.

The best thing ever in this race is….
    Alonso car smoked and burn while there’s 2 lap too finish! lol! wahahahhaa..
    what a best momment to laugh for me..
    and yessss.. i’m the ferrari hatter since years. :P

god, my ear still got ache , effected by loud sound of cars (yes i do us ear plug).

• Mysticmind on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:53 am

yesterday i saw too many malaysian brought ferrary flag.. but there’s too many european (maybe germany) brought petronas flag.. What a shame malaysian!

• tengkurex69 on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:16 am

Pathetic mindset isn’t it. LOL

• Mysticmind on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:34 pm

yes.. very very the pathetic.
        most of they even wore a ferrari shirt and cap.

but foreigners (white man lah ) buying merz petronas GP.. well might be many reason too.. 1 – Merz, 2 – Schumi 3 – might be germany in malaysia 4- what ever.. but as long as petronas logo are big on their t-shirt.. it’s such a … honor.

• dinding_batu on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:05 pm

hello they were giving out petronas flags for FREE..!! thats why a lot of people had them.. i myself got 5 petronas flags.. and people were cheering louder when Nico Rosberg received his trophy for 3rd place as compared to the two Red Bull drivers.. Relax la.

• Mysticmind on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Yup.. the flag are free.. not their T-shirt. ;)

and yes.. loud cheering when Nico announced 3rd placed.

• F1Freak on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:44 am

Yeah, the flags were free but if you do not support you would not have waved it right? I agree about the loud cheers for Nico, the team did well but how come the media did not report much on this success? Tired of the excuses from the Lotus team la

• wonder the red bull car only can perform in hot weather??

• tengkurex69 on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Vettel also german same like Nico. Emmm..interesting case.

• dinding_batu on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:51 pm

it means that there was considerable support for petronas. furthermore, its their very first podium finish. Seb winning the race wasnt really news, coz he is a proven championship-winning material (and he should’ve won the first two races).

but looking at the performances of Ferrari and McLaren, who knows what might have happened if they had qualified better on Saturday. They shot themselves in the foot and paid heavily for it. Now Red Bull are firmly back in the race.

Now, a 2-week break, then the circus heads to Shanghai. Surely teams will have upgrades by then. Bring it on..!! :D

• another boring race weekend…