Jarno Trulli hopes to end frustrating start to the 2010 Formula 1 season

Jarno Trulli has expressed his hopes to end what has so far been a frustrating start to the 2010 Formula 1 campaign. The Italian who drives for Lotus Racing alongside Finn Hekki Kovalainen has suffered with hydraulics-related mechanical issues forcing him to retire in three out of four races so far this season.

In the opening round at the Bahrain Grand Prix Trulli was classified as a finisher but his car broke down at the dying minutes of the race. Kovalainen went to finish in 15h. At the next event in Australia he did not even start the race. He managed to finish the Malaysian round in 17th while Kovalainen retired, again with a hydraulics problem.

At the most recent race in China Trulli was forced to retire again while his teammate settled with 14th and at one point he was running in 6th place as he decided to pit later.

“I seem to have had all of the bad luck so far, so I admit that expectations have not been completely met,” said Trulli when speaking to Autosprint magazine. “We operate like a real team but unfortunately we’re at only ten percent of our potential due to a lack of preparation,” he added.

“My aims are to just stay in front of my team-mate and help lead the new teams. Anything else would just be dreaming right now; the only way of through into Q2, for example, would be for a disaster to happen (for quicker teams) although it did in Malaysia,” he concluded.

So far this season Lotus has been finishing ahead of Virgin and Hispania except for the Malaysian Grand Prix. Lets hope the team will rectify the mechanical issues so the drivers can focus on finishing races as high up the order as possible. Lotus is expected to introduce a ‘major’ car update at the Spanish Grand Prix on May 9th.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• God speed to u la.. Give u chance.

• Shaycoat on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:22 am

Go Lotus!

• you got the wrong team bro, wrong team :)

• modan on Apr 28, 2010 at 12:10 pm

maybe lotus put proton punya engine kot….

• staff on Apr 28, 2010 at 2:16 pm

if proton engine…. means it is good engine because 1 lotus car the finish in all races..

• Usually, i would say “Malaysia throw money to sea again” or those money dunno end up in who’s pocket.

Now, it is under Tony Fernandes… i would say Lotus still deserve a chance from us….
    I believe this dude can do something…. maybe miracle could happen… =)

• if tony is so good at everything, why dont we ask him to try to run the country?

• I would give him a try if it is my call…

• Jarum on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:28 pm

I wish he could but they would be riots as I think we are not prepared to change the constituency!

• trav_da_man on Apr 28, 2010 at 12:58 pm

Just hope for the best in the next upcoming races. I bet team lotus F1 is fare better in the Spanish GP with these new upgrades!

• something is just werid, why hekki can complete the race but he cant? its confirm that its based on the style of driving …

• Mysticmind on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:41 pm

if still not perform, give seat to fairuz fauzy lah later.

• Scuddie on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Heheh..ya loh..pls give seat rights to the fairuz lah..or else ahmad or abu also can…lu pls do a favour lah,lotus “1 malaysia”…

• abang_butuh_panjang on Apr 28, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Tolong la…dun waste money on this hype anymore. Cannot perform means cannot perform la…doesnt matter fairuz or mahathir or Heikki drives. Proton should use that money to R&D for newer proton models which is safer, more fuel efficient and value-for-money

• lepak laa bro… my proton breakdown on dying minutes too.. then my mechanic said .. “biasa laa bang.. proton”.. some more i paid for the car and the mechanic.. you lucky got the car for free…. did your mechanics gave you the same answer? … keep on driving beb

• arch808 on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:37 pm

dont forget that other teams (especially the established ones) also have upgrades for the upcoming races to…!!! So Lotus needs these upgrades to be the best among the newcomers kui kui kui.

I Just hope that Lotus still dont use the tagline “to be the best among the newcomers” for the rest of the season. Even it is a feat they cant achieved in msian GP weeks ago…!!

• lucky thing the lotus F1 car got no power window……if not, Jarno Trulli may blame power window failure as the reason of not winning…….kakakakakakaka…

• Scuddie on Apr 29, 2010 at 7:01 pm

Lolzz..it’s also lucky that lotus-f1 doesnt have the front headlamp like the p.waja…XD

• red shirt on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:12 pm

No way Lotus will pull out cos they are planning
    to move the testing and will build a wind tunnels at SIC.
    There is more money making opportunities for Mahathir , his sons
    and crony’s.

• staff on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:48 pm

so, work with the crony la…

haishh… clever to talk only…

• again… I’m LMAOL here…

i still cannot understand how unrealistic you guys are… just as much as how unrealistic my contingent manager last time…

they already said they want to be the best among newbies for this season… what makes you think they will change “i’m side by side with McLaren” in Spanish round??

if cannot perform means cannot perform no matter who drive it, how come Heikki is showing improvement and running great???

the thing with Trulli is, ppl did say he’s just with bad luck… Even in Toyota times… so what??? it can’t be repeated in Lotus???

and again, if this Lotus Team is no good… How come the sponsors keep on coming??

I wonder how a person who have only few knowledge with zero experience in an F1 team saying this Lotus has no potential yet the driver who are frustrated saying they’re at 10% of their potential…. if this is 10% of their potential, i wonder what is 100%…

Trulli is just with bad luck that his car got hydraulic problems and they dont have enough time to rectify it properly… and temporary solution just dont last long… at this spanish round they should be able to rectify it…

• lotus paste power on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Whatever la, Lotus….

If you are good, proof it by winning.
    IF you are lousy, super duper publicity, politicians, etc wont help you winning races.

Enuf said.

• Tiadaid on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Name one team that was successful in its first season. And if you say Brawn I’ll slap you!

• cosworth engine overall 4 -5 sec slower than Renault, Mercedes and Ferrari engine..

• Tiadaid on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Cosworth engine 4-5 second slower? It’s the car. Williams run the Cosworth and they’re doing ok.

• Mysticmind on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:22 am

even CNN sponsoring lotus.
    that justified how skeptical and unrealistic Malaysian are!

• I really don’t understand why Malaysian always like to condemning this new team. Different from international F1 forum I had encounter. The guys praise Lotus team. They understand that Lotus Racing is a new team and in their apprenticeship year. This seem like some of us still have 3rd class mentality.

• azlan on Apr 29, 2010 at 1:19 pm

most malaysian aware that ‘our’ F1 participation waste the people’s money. We should put our priority towards the welfare of society. berlambak yg miskin. Dahlah kadar kemiskinan remain low, then claim kemiskinan dah dibasmi…

Maybe you counter that the team use their own pocket money, but remember, outflow of RM will make the value of RM become lower! then makin miskinlah kita malaysian.

If they use that money for CSR, developing the country far m0re better then invest in F1. tak pun, use that money for RND for automotive industry in Malaysia esp proton. nak bwk teknologi ape bila join f1? bukan boleh bwk laju pun msia.110km/h only!!

Actually, we are 1st class mentality. Why we always put the west as benchmark?

• staff on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Our RM is stronger day by day isnt it?

You watch news or not?

• Lexus on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:22 pm

1usd is around rm3.13. So figure it out.

• azlan on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:21 pm

stronger? we still cannot beat the last value before 1997 crisis..

• callenish on May 01, 2010 at 4:38 pm

economic downturn affect almost all country in the world, why blame the F1?

helping the poor is indeed good, but malaysian has been pampered with so many subsidies till we became lazy. everything want G to help. even the rich guys still wanted G to help during downturn.

• that right………3rd class mentality……..
    that malaysian….

• michaelk on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:05 pm

show us some good results then… 1 decade period enough or not??

• callenish on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:29 pm

everybody is talking big, “i want this” and “i want that.” as of he/she paying for the team. but in reality the team runs by private entities which not even related to our G, not even a cent of our money being use. the money come from various sponsor, you name it.

as of now, they are at the right track, improving something in every curcuit. even the big boys got problems, mercades GP drive by schumi also having wheel nut loose, why nobody bash them?

it is about mentality. if we want and strive for it, we will success. this team is doing their job well. think about us, what do we contribute except sitting in front of our screen and bash, bash and bash…

• KONICK on May 04, 2010 at 2:05 am

yup! try to be positif. there always complaint.are they succes in their life?
      are they try something big like “F1”? what they know ,complaint… they are 4th class mentality.how sad! change bro! we r now in 2010.

• Rizal on May 06, 2010 at 10:08 am

If they want to enter F1 competition ok, but with the proper planning… maybe this is one of the character of the leader.. fast decision making!

Just look how far they can go and then we can judge.