Proton boardroom changes, prepares to enter India

Proton EMAS

Proton saw a list of Bursa Malaysia announcements last week pertaining the boardroom and audit committee. Two members have resigned – Non-Executive Director Haji Abdul Kadir Bin Md Kassim and Non-Executive Director Oh Kim Sun. In addition to the resignations, ex-Hyundai India man BVR Subbu has been appointed to the Audit Committee, which now consists of BVR Subbu, Dato’ Michael Lim and Datuk Zalekha Binti Hassan.

Other than our local Malaysian market, Proton will be focusing on exports markets with four main key markets identified – India, China, ASEAN and the Middle East. It already has something running in China in a partnership with the Youngman Group, which rebadges Proton cars under the Europestar Lotus brand. Europestar recently launched a new car in China called the Youngman Lotus L5 with a longer wheelbase compared to the GEN2 and Persona, something not available in Malaysia.

Proton is already in the Middle East and in ASEAN so the remaining ‘key market’ that it has yet to set foot in is India, which would explain the hiring of BVR Subbu and now appointing him as member of the Audit Committee.

According to an email interview with India’s Business Standard publication, a small car based on the Proton EMAS will be adopted for the four key markets including India. The EMAS Concept’s length of 3,550mm makes it suitable for sale in India as it would help it be priced competitively, as the length falls into a tax bracket (vehicle length based) that is low.

The EMAS Concept should be able to be priced well if the vehicle’s actual production costs are low since tax will not be a hindrance, unlike Mahindra and Renault’s attempt at selling the Logan in India which was a disaster due to uncompetitive pricing thanks to the Logan’s length of over 4 meters.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments reflect a mixture of support and criticism towards Proton, with many expressing pride in its efforts to enter the Indian market and improve quality. Enthusiasts are optimistic about Proton's new models, such as the Exora, and its entry into global markets, including China and India. However, several commenters criticize Proton for the lack of new innovative models, poor safety ratings, and repeated facelifts on existing cars. There is also skepticism about Proton's competitiveness against international brands like T and VW in markets like India, especially given low-cost options from competitors. Overall, sentiments are a mix of hope for Proton's growth and frustration over ongoing quality issues and limited model innovation.

• daydesiang on Jun 01, 2010 at 2:36 pm

A good ‘start’ to Proton~ don’t disappoint us again… and again

• waliao on Jun 04, 2010 at 3:47 pm

wahhh….. so many “sifu” comments on local car here….. :-)

• P4k4bu on Jun 01, 2010 at 2:37 pm

I wonder if it will be full implementation of the EMAS concept….. Or….. Just the bodyshell with conventional petrol engine?

• Vincent on Jun 01, 2010 at 6:30 pm

OK lar, even sell the bodyshell, it can increase the volume, reduce cost and make the electri car more affortable.. good move…

After all, the look is just common and nothing special which can make the electric car buyer feel more superior..

• hen rou on Jun 01, 2010 at 2:49 pm

is it “audi committee” or “audit committee “?

• Nutty Dad on Jun 01, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Proton must thanks all Malaysian for subsitizing their *POOR* Middle Eastern customers so that they can continue export Proton there.

P.S Proton, The Pride Of All Malaysian (poor malaysian can exclude themselve from this compliment) ^^

• This is a very lame comment.
      Poor Middle Eastern customers? U must be joking right?

“P.S Proton, The Pride Of All Malaysian (poor malaysian can exclude themselve from this compliment) ^^”
      ….alo brader…what is your point here? people with no money sure la cant buy proton or any other car…Can poor people from other country buy honda, hyundai, KIA and Toyota?

sigh

• Squawk on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:28 pm

I think he’s trying to say that Proton’s are priced really cheap in the Middle East. Even cheaper than what we can get here.

• yup…those prices are without tax…just like in langkawi…persona for around 30k?

• squawk on Jun 02, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Shipping costs and profit margins must be very low too.

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Anyway,good luck proton,all the best,just ignore those useless bashers,and make us proud.Do improve your quality too!

• Barry Waine on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Another ‘wayang kulit’, Proton will still continue to produce sub-standard cars at price of premium. Let’s face it, you have no new models, no volume…no wonder.

• Neonda on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Open you eyes, head, heart and mind before contribute ur idea. No new model? no volume? aiyarhhh you based on which fact ni? or you are from narrow hidden country which no proton in your state?adoi…if you are in malaysia, just put your self on any road and count how many proton passing you..that’w what we called volumed.

• shocker on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Proton has many new models?? If that is true, then no need so many facelift, SE, Merdeka Edition, Whatever-u-like edition with just some cheap plastic body kit. Is Perdana still selling? what about Wajunk? Even persona and saga is getting the bug. I am sure proton will release 2-3 more facelift this year.

Having said the above, changing the skin and having same old tech underneath does not qualify as new car. Just new ‘kulit’ only. Look at the big T..

Btw, EMAS wasn’t even designed by Proton. Just beli from someone else. Same as all saga, iswara, perdana,waja… yawn….

• kerelbort on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:30 pm

would some with MIVEC heart shut Malaysian basher mouth? coming soon end 2010.

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Err at least proton’s car isn’t ugly like the Big T cars,especially the overrated Dugong!

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:56 pm

May I more of them,
            avanza,Passo,altis…….
            Owh,are you trying to say that new model is better,and don’t tell me that T haven’t done any facelift to their cars yet.

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:58 pm

It should be ”may I list more of them*’

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Are you thinking that all the brands worldwide design their own car?
          Well better think twice.
          Satria neo,savvy,gen 2,exora…all of them were design by proton themself.

• same as Kia..
            to proton, i support u!!! look at Exora!! wow!!!

• Neonda on Jun 02, 2010 at 1:40 am

Come on la boi….be realistic sikit..Saga (Aeroback, Iswara, Magma, Megavalve, Orient and BLM), Perdana (SEi, Exec, Limo, V6 V1 n V2), Wira (GTI, R3, Putra,Aeroback, SE, and few facelift), Exora, Savvy, Satria Neo, Waja, Juara and etc…The facelift they are made is not dat just so called facelift..u ingat buat kereta macam buat mesin ABC kah? invested, and 1 model produced, mfg already shut down/close the die&tools for that specific model?aiyarhhh…where the money come from if ROI pun tak achieve target lagi? dont just see proton…Produa pun bersepah new face list…Kenari dah berapa tahun and have Kenara got new replacement model? “Beli” is not easy as you said…Land Rover – Jaguar…VW…? named all shared that VW bought the company…Even Fiat buy designer from Ferarry..aiyarh boi…talk based on fact la…this is what we call Global Economi….u ingat these business macam tanam sayur ka..? you sorang tanam, you sorang jual…haih,go change your citizen lah senang…

• Bro,

Open your eye..we still see perdana on our road..

• Seriously on Jun 02, 2010 at 9:01 am

volume, and still they made loses before… amazing isnt it? Proton’s pretty hillarious.

• same with SEAT, skoda and other car maker in europe which is has far more volume n make loss..hilarious since that car in europe is cheap-an (said by some of u)..

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:44 pm

To me Malaysian mentality are aslo on par with proton’s quality,that’s true,So TRUE!
      Especially your Mr Berry Wine,if you’re a Malaysian
      Proton had tried their best too deliver a better car for Malaysian,there are only a few with problems,but i think I should blame the owners too,they are driving their proton like an F1 car,no wonder so fast ‘jahanam’ and the worst of all,some of the bashers haven’t really drive a proton or own one.Malaysian,you all are so funny!

• I agree with your statement above because i was one of them before until i drive the Persona and the Exora which kinda shut my mouth…
        Anyway don’t you think that if m’sians drive their Protons like F1 will make Proton further improve their reliability from time to time so that their cars will end up in TopGear / Fifth Gear’s undestructible cars just like the Toyota Hilux and the Mercedes W124 did?

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Driving proton’s car like a Ferrari car is still acceptable,haha.But f1 is already over the line,driving like rally car also got what?

• Louya on Jun 01, 2010 at 6:10 pm

“Malaysian mentality are also on par with proton’s quality” TRUE, i fully agree with this..

• Seriously on Jun 02, 2010 at 9:20 am

To generalize the Malaysian public in that way is just shallow. Yes, there are some truth in that but that’s mainly because of the monkeys we have top… a good portion of us are simply victims.

Sigh, it’s amazing how one spoilt egg can ruin the whole basket isn’t it?

• bryanlo1282 on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:56 pm

U can do it!!! Proton!

• Tengokaje.. on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:01 pm

P1. Keep on producing good quality cars if want to compete with the rest of the world and gain customer trust.

Salam..

• kerelbort on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:29 pm

so, proton going in alone huh? with subbu as the tourist guide… maybe it can go well, next? Proton India Ltd with subbu as the president. see if he can bring the same magic.

• Commoner on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Come on Proton, speed up production timeline for Emas, I’m holding back / resisting tempatations of new models in the market, and am still driving my 5 year old Kelisa. I believe you will not dissapoint me and the rest of Malaysians!!!

• prolever on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:53 pm

i think its a good move.. just P1 have to rise more of their car Q..

• nighttrain on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:54 pm

I drive my E20 like F1 car, tak jahanam pun… How old is my E20?

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Ye ke,bawak macam f1 ke?
      tak jahanam eh,cuba bawak macam rally pulak.
      tengok suma yang bawak Beemer,laju2 pun accident after all,sampai terbakar abis.

• nighttrain says:
        1/6/2010 at 4:54 pm

I drive my E20 like F1 car, tak jahanam pun… How old is my E20?

Nothing is everlasting, bro…neither bimmers nor protons.. There must have mistakes in their creations, since they’re human-made. Need no arrogant in stating yours never have any defects.

• Seriously on Jun 02, 2010 at 9:29 am

What are you talking about? Any car on earth if you run into a wall, will run into a wall. Accidents are mainly due to human error and negligence regardless of the car you drive. But what sets it apart is who made it… and I know you know you rather be in a beemer than a proton when you crash.

Your mentality is the perfect example of proton’s quality. Now I understand.

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Haha,and WTF are you talking about,dude.
          So if you didnt bang your car into the wall,you think it will last forever,maybe the old model will last longer,besides the second hand value for beemer is like priceless.
          Haha,no wonder that bas**rd still having his e20
          sorry,i’m a lil bit off topic

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Are you sure accident is due to human error,what about the drivers that are speeding in the highway then they can’t control their car then accident,is that because of human error too.
          Then,can you tell me what’s the uses of speed limit signboard,for fun isn’t it.

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:23 pm

I rather drive safely,that’s better isn’t it
          and your mentality is also another perfect example of Chinese car’s quality,even worst than proton’s quality!
          Now I really really understand!

• Seriously on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:56 pm

God you’re dillusional. Duh, any car will not last forever… it’s the quality you get. It’s amazing you can even compare malaysian cars with continental cars. That shows your shallowness.

I didn’t say accident is due to human error alone, it’s also negligence… go use a dictionary and read properly. Plus, you dont have to be driving fast to be in an accident, you could be the victim. So you better pray your proton (malaysian quality) saves you. when a BM comes flying in your face. But chances are you wont.

Btw, everything comes from China even luxury items so thanks you for that compliment :)

• E20? 2002 turbo? Really?

Only 1672 of the E20 were made.

Better keep it locked away… ;)

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 01, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Dear Dato Syed > any news on wira 1.5l replacement model?

• Taik KueChing on Jun 02, 2010 at 8:10 am

baru bangun dari tido ka?

Wira Aeroback—> Gen.2
      Wira Sedan ——>Persona

• MoFaz on Jun 02, 2010 at 1:58 pm

huyohhh.. dah berzaman dah kluar replacement model tu. even the replacement model is already scheduled to be replaced soon, in 2012.

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 02, 2010 at 5:30 pm

honda city1.5L
        toyota vios 1.5L
        protan wira 1.5 L

old honda civic 1.6L / currently 1.8L & 2.0L
        old toyota corolla/ altis 1.6L / currently 1.8L
        proton wira 1.6L
        proton waja 1.6L
        proton Gen2 1.6L
        proton persona 1.6L
        proton satria 1.6L & 1.3L

(and this is what i meant – for those who do not want to undderstand)

honda accord 2.0L and others cc
        toyota camry 2.0L and others cc
        proton perdana 2.0 cc
        proton putra 1.8L

not to mention nissan here > not really interested cars…(for me )
        except nissan vannette

hope proton have their way forward like other succesfull car maker

• wolfsburg on Jun 01, 2010 at 5:28 pm

They will have a hard time in India… With the Volkswagen Polo selling at such a low price (4.3 lakh = RM31k), I wonder how low can Proton sell their car there. The top 3 car manufacturer Suzuki, Hyundai and Tata are all so strong in terms of market share, after sale and reputation, Proton will have a very hard time there. Hope they really get a chance to stand up in India.

• P4k4bu on Jun 01, 2010 at 7:18 pm

If that’s the price to beat, most probably it will be EMAS bodyshell with a cheap n chearful petrol engine.
      And the details won’t be as good as the concept.
      I wonder how it will look like ….. :o

• shocker on Jun 02, 2010 at 5:32 pm

All the Indian public needs to do is push push the metal on this ‘GOLD’ and compare with a polo.. straight away sign with VW. wakakak

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 01, 2010 at 5:34 pm

hoping this time around > wira 1.5L replacement model will be compare with vios 1.5 interm of performance and quality > at least at Par with like what proton do with exora > compare it with toyota wish

• MoFaz on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:01 pm

in my opinion, Persona (wira replacement) is already better than Vios in many aspects.

• minnow on Jun 02, 2010 at 3:34 pm

hahhahaha….this is soo funny man….Protong Persona junkie is on par with Vios……hahahhahah…..

• Tiadaid on Jun 02, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Oh yes it is. Vios is just POS! Expensive car couldn’t even have an AUX jack on the bloody radio!

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 02, 2010 at 5:35 pm

do u have vios to say so?

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 02, 2010 at 5:36 pm

my sister persona just have 2nd service dah kene tukar VIms fllapper patah..is this what u say better.

tak tahu compare ke 1.6L dgn 1.5L?????

• MoFaz on Jun 04, 2010 at 5:29 pm

your sister have Persona and you never know that it’s wira replacement? Gen-2 came out 7 years ago as Wira (aeroback) replacement, and Persona in 2007 as sedan version. hurmm… where have you been?
          yes engine 1.6 vs 1.5 in Vios but they’re still in the same segment. I didn’t say everything in Persona is better than Vios, but you get many more features and much better handling in Persona at lower price compared to Vios. Those defects can be replaced for free under 5 years manufacturer’s warranty.

• narmia on Jun 01, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Kadir Kasim quits??? Oh yes waiting for that to happen! Was in a GLC with him… nightmare!

• mati katak on Jun 01, 2010 at 7:26 pm

**yawn**

I hope this is not just another, another, another, another and another “cakap-cakap lebih tapi tak buat”….

• faint…….watever proton do also salah lah……..wtf la you all~please la
    when it’s time to give credit just give la
    when it’s time to bash bash la

why keep bashing 24 hour……moronic blind bashers
    so free everyday bash proton, you all no need work one is it? or snaking during work?
    damn you all

• shocker on Jun 02, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Until the day we get to see something worth giving credit to Proton for sure there will be praises. But until now, this EMAS is not worth the name.

• hazri on Jun 01, 2010 at 8:37 pm

i’m now staying in mumbai for almost 2 months already …here a lot of small/compact car…bring Savvy here..bring Saga also….!!! wish u luck Proton India…namasteee! ;)

• MoFaz on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:06 pm

saga is more than 4m in length, so the tax will be high. not worth to bring cheap car there if tax is making it expensive, unless Proton do CKD assembly in India or find local partner there.
      but yes, let’s test the market with Savvy Campro first.

• Wo hen wuliao on Jun 01, 2010 at 9:11 pm

hao yun proton…

• bmpower on Jun 01, 2010 at 9:24 pm

GOOOOOOD!

proton getting smarter nowaday.
    all the best!

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 01, 2010 at 9:31 pm

It just basically took them 25 years to make another SMALL STEP forward …. what is there to brag about then ?

• bmpower on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:50 am

toyota over 80 years existence still making rubbish car.
      even worse.. still donno how to make a good accelerate paddle.

got that?

• Seriously on Jun 02, 2010 at 9:45 am

Just that they happened to be the biggest autocar maker in the world in terms of production and sales and they did it all without a nation’s government feeding them.

On the other hand, if Proton would have paddle issues… they’d just ignore it, forget a recall, we’ll be just left to die.

• Tiadaid on Jun 02, 2010 at 11:00 am

Who said Japanese govt don’t feed them. Their Hybrids are subsidized by the Japanese govt! Plus Toyota started out as an industrial company already, so it’s not start from scratch!

Plus everyone seems to conveniently forget that Proton DID recall cars before. Remember the Savvy recall in 2007, or the Perdana recall? Bashers think every small problem needs a recall! Duh, you think Toyota recalls their cars for every small problem? No! So don’t be stupid and asking Proton to recall cars for some small niggles that you can fix it for yourself!

• Correct2!

• shocker on Jun 02, 2010 at 5:45 pm

At least the big T is coming out with Hybrids and more modern tech. Want to compare their tech with Campro ka? LOLZ…

Proton got all the benefits and still coming out with milo tin. And if proton were to recall their cars for the power window issues, guarantee bankrupt..

• Seriously on Jun 03, 2010 at 2:02 pm

“Their Hybrids are subsidized by the Japanese govt!”

So wouldn’t that mean they subsidize Hybrids in general regardless of who made them? Is that your arguement against our G who charges 200%+ tax on every foriegn vehicle here? That’s totally different.

• MoFaz on Jun 04, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Seriously, you’re blindfolded by your own mentality.

Currently, Japanese car is all over the world but you could hardly find imported car in Japan. Sure, they give subsidies to every hybrid and EV manufacturers for each and every car they sell, but do you think there’s foreign manufacturer developing hybrid in Japan? in a way, it’s correct to say Japanese is helping Toyota, Honda and Mitsu even though they have been in business for more than 50 years!

Hybrid tech is quite new and expensive, only Japanese has done it in such a scale. However, to get the ‘economy of scale’ required, Japanese gov had to help Toyota, Honda and Mitsubishi to make the hybrid and EV more attractive, i.e by giving huge subsidies to manufacturers so that the price appears ‘cheaper’ to buyers.
            Under a government program started in June, consumers in Japan can apply for a rebate of as much 250,000 yen ($2,747) subsidy if they scrap a car more than 13 years old to buy a new one, and 100,000 yen for a new car purchased without scrapping an old one.
            UK and China also adopting similar step, in order to reduce oil import and for greener world :)

Japanese did not give subsidy for us to import their hybrids or EVs. The only thing our Gov can do is to reduce import tax for those cars. If Gov give subsidy for hybrids and EVs, only the rich would be benefitted.

• Seriously on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:53 pm

I don’t see your point. So the Japs wanting to have a greener world is the equvalent to our G charging such taxes on us?

From what you’re saying the Japs are simply promoting the use of Hybirds and EV by giving subsidies to people who buy em for a greater cause; greener earth. Which all good, where else on the other hand, our G is charging us these taxes for a greedier cause. Correct me if I’m wrong.

• So wat abt the talks wit VW now? Btw VW’s polo sedan, Vento pics have surfaced online. Its lookin good

• rembat on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Good luck P1 – would need heaps of it.
    You are entering a market where the market is so competitive.
    Going into the India mkt with only one unproven model is disaster.!
    At the current uncertain world market conditions, it is best to consolidate
    and use your resources wisely – concerntrate in coming up with
    better models new engine range – not just one – CPS.
    That should be the best business module rather than going global.

• Exora WOW? talk big, the sale volume lost to ALZA

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:58 pm

haha,I don’t know why people bought that ugly beast,
      it is ugly,small,why Malaysian still interested in this fugly car
      opps,i almost forget,because it has the big T technology,no wonder….
      and it’s cheaper of course,but I wonder why saga already beat myvi this year.

• Tiadaid on Jun 02, 2010 at 7:10 am

My cousin who is a staunch P2 supporter went to their showroom with the intention to buy the alza, ends up buying the exora instead…

• p4k4bu on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Yeah… lots of girls prefer alza. Exora too big. Proton missed that girly/women market.

• pacifictuna on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:56 am

another basher that talks ‘bigger’……

• P4k4bu on Jun 02, 2010 at 7:07 am

Oops… A proton lover is offended :roll:
          What I meant was: women find exora too big for them. Susah mau parking. So they prefer the kiut-miut alza. That’s from my scant observation lah… No real research done.
          ;)
          P.s. I don’t have any love/hate feeling for any car brand.

• omanjedi on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Two cars with two different segments.Not related at all. I’ll take Exora anyday.

• Alza and other perodua model main target is women, girl and girlie man…not for man, family, family oriented-man

• fasgen on Jun 02, 2010 at 10:01 am

u dont know.. how regret the alza buyers…

• Bro..
      talk with fact la..dont just give a comment without fact

• Squawk on Jun 05, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Alza stole sales from Avanza.

• reuben how on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:22 pm

I think a lot of people would be happy if Proton, Perodua etc would just turn over and die, Then the 25 year old nightmare of local car industry would be over. Think of our car market as being in a coma, we are driving old old tech. When would the majority of people wake up to curtain airbags, Electronic Stability Control, pretensioning seatbelts, 7 speed transmissions etc?

Hmmmmm.

• nonama on Jun 02, 2010 at 1:52 pm

no i’m definitely not. not nightmare at all.

believe everyone can’t deny the fact that if we want to be a self-sustained nation, we need to have everything on our own.

if u said we drive old tech, you develop new one (or at least lend your support if u r really dumb in car matters). you don’t kill the industry.

if you’re starving, u help fill your stomach to mitigate it. u dont kill yourself to ease the feeling.

simple fact.

• r3 lotus on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:46 pm

to everyone who never own a true proton car, which is waja onwards…please do not leave any comments as you do not know how much things have improved.
    all previous models of proton are rebadged car, just like what perodua is doing.
    however, having said that, which car manufacturer does not rebadge other people car into theirs. Eg: Peugeout rebagde Mitsubishi Ivec to theirs, toyota uses the same platorm for Vios, Avanza, Rush&Yaris.
    Actually, car industry is no longer that easy to make money as there are so many competition.
    Proton are changing for the better…Congratulation to Syed Zainal!!!give him more autonomy to make his decision.
    To all Proton staff, start believing in your own products!Learn from others and improve…
    To fellow Malaysian, start supporting our own products!!! Are Malaysian more inferior than the rest of the world???

• pacifictuna on Jun 02, 2010 at 1:05 am

true…. handling department done a good job so far. only QC department might improve a little more….

btw, rakyat always bash p1 when they facelift a car (old saga excluded) while T and H always get by without much ‘attention’. rakyat is indeed very concerned bout P1.

• Ericboy on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:50 pm

Alza is nice looking car… but the problem is many… such as wind sound when at high speed, loud raindrop sound when raining… like “atap” sound… more of is it’s damn HOT when at daytime…. try to sit at the rear without sweating is a challenge that is almost impossible… for my opinion… turn your view to such as livinia or avanza… althout it also has a lot of rumors,but at least peace of mind….

• Ericboy on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Although Exora was too huge to some people.. but it’s nice enough when you do a small modification like change the rims to chrome and add some bodykits… Done…. Nice and sexy huge MPV…. more of the 2nd row has another air-cond compare to alza only one in front….

• oldwira on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:04 am

Having test drive alza last month, handling and sound proofing were auwful. Better go for exora or rondo.

• Amarajah on Jun 02, 2010 at 3:24 am

No matter how hard you try to promote your Exora
    the bottom line is that the Alza beats Exora hands down.
    This shows how much trust we have in P1.
    A week after launch P1 announce that Turbo version coming out
    What kinda marketing is this ?
    All the current Exora buyers kena “conned” big time.
    When the new model come out Exora 1.6 CPS will
    cost 50K – 40% drop in value within a year after launch.
    Kesian ……

• Technically, I don’t really find much difference in both of them. Let’s see what sales statistic says when Alza peaks it’s own sales volume. What number was it again for Exora?

• Accord on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:51 pm

I am not Proton or P2 supporter. But the facts is P2 cars are Milo tin until now. What so shout about 4 star MyVap rating?? did they dare to send test for NCAP Crash test. I hv already saw Alza accident. If you love your family you would not buy that junk car / mpv (lost identity). For me Alza is for no money person who can not afford to buy much better mpv.

Have you ever think why exora consumpt more petrol than alza?? because its strong body make it heavy & resulting to consumpt more fuel. anyway that your money. the choose is in your hand and your family life is also in your hand.

• Judge on Jun 02, 2010 at 8:05 am

dear friend, selling Alza? be fair, Exora is well design in terms of space, compartment materials, seating arrangement and leg room is far more better cmpare to Exora. Engine 1.6 compare to 1.5 for Alza. Exora is a new platform, whereas Alza the extended old Myvi platform. Alza is better? brother jangan simply hentam

• kerelbort on Jun 02, 2010 at 9:10 am

actualli, most of us at paultan.org knew about the turbo CPS way before exora was launch. ;)
      maybe it sound cliche to tell the world about it but it actually normal to annouce another version coming out, just as other manufacturer will anounce that the model that they now launching will also come out with diesel option or bigger engine output… right?
      to me, no one kena conned… turbo engine would cater for a different segment already, some people just want a big car to transport the family and not the power. Its not like their going to race the car like most Malaysian do.

• Ericboy on Jun 02, 2010 at 10:38 am

adoi… this ppl not phaham…. exora and alza diff segment ok…. the exora is large like innova class,but alza is equal to livinia class ok??

• Neonda on Jun 02, 2010 at 10:53 am

those ppl mmg itu macam…always see P1 as a lame…there’s lot other model if want to compare with..eg Innova, Fiat multipa, Renault Kangoo blablabla which their sales and status is not that ‘good’ also and more worst than our P1..but what to do…typical malaysian mentality always complain bising itu ini…but normal lah human being kan..so proud sangat with non-P1…agaknya bila la Produa nak buat model sendiri ye….

• Tiadaid on Jun 02, 2010 at 10:54 am

So? I remember when I bought my Honda City back in April 2004, then in June or July that year VTEC City come out!

• the turbo model is to enter different segment such as to counter the segment for wish,stream n even rondo. but the cps version is for budget category such as avanza, grandlivina, innova, suzuki apv, citra. so expect the turbo variant will be difference compare to the current one in term of interior trim n exterior which may including bodykit. so, watch out, heard exora minor fl is coming out soon.

• bro Amarajah,

can u think twice? if the price drop 40% after introduction of exora turbo, the price maybe lower than alza..comfirm people buy exora la..

• Mohan Nair on Jun 02, 2010 at 7:00 am

wolfsburg and rembat have said what I want to say.

Good luck and Pray for the best !!!

• fasgen on Jun 02, 2010 at 9:49 am

when proton emas will come out? if use electric, should price more cheaper.. road tax, other tax… hope goverment give us many choices if the fuel price no longer subsidi.. build more facilities to ev cars.. now we only have petrol, diesel n ngv.. comng soon electric charging facilities…

• Motorist on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:08 pm

Answer this honestly.

How many of P1 (& even P2) supporters here will cont. to buy P1 (or P2) should the tariffs be lifted & you can now buy a Japanese / European car for the same price?

I wager many here would scream & shout their so called patriotism by announcing cont. support for P1 (& P2) but deep in their heart, if they could “upgrade” to a Japanese / European marque for the same price, they’ll do it without a second thought nor hesitation.

It’s human nature to want the best for the same price. It’s also human nature to protect your investment. Thus the P1 supporters will not hear of any criticism of P1 as they are now investors in the company’s product. To be criticised for buying something is deemed an insult, so they must protect themselves.

• staff on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:27 pm

if the tax is removed… if proton still a cheaper car, i will be still buy proton…

because, the car is always be your liability…

car price depreciate everyday… by buying cheaper car, i got extra money for unit trust, buy house, home expenses… future investment…

Only less smart ppl willing to pay much for thing that less benefit for their future…

it was said, spend at max of 40% from your salary for car… if not, you will be problem in buying a house…

• tokmoh on Jun 04, 2010 at 12:06 am

Unreg Exora M-line A/T costs RM32k : http://goo.gl/sph5

He guesstimate govt taxed RM22k on it.

I don’t mind buying a Proton. Drove my fren’s Sonata the other day (the old one that looks like a Jag), god it was awful, it made me realise just how important it is to have good handling. Plus, Proton with the tax removed will become a LOT cheaper, so I’d rather use the money saved to invest elsewhere or just pay it in cash.

• omanjedi on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:29 pm

>90% of the comments are off topic. Hehehehe. P1 basher and supporter at its best

• nonama on Jun 02, 2010 at 1:33 pm

driven myvi.
    driven vious.
    driven city.
    latest driven freed (test drive car la..)

but none can’t compare to persona’s handling.
    VERY responsive & precise.
    the ad is true.
    truly. no cheating or praising.

open up.
    be brave.
    and try it yourself.

• Lotus handling FTW!

lol i remember when i saw a Gen 2 CPS tapau my dad’s Ford Lynx RS in genting highland lolol. but now my dad’s car has more powerful handling :P

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 02, 2010 at 5:40 pm

when paul add story about proton…many many people like to comment > cheers to proton supporter

• fasgen on Jun 03, 2010 at 12:08 pm

you should know.. proton is popular brand.. include bashers and supporters.. but i believe.. with DSZ.. proton now can go far with good quality..

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 02, 2010 at 8:37 pm

wow there are really alot of p1 lovers out there ….

Despite their marginal progress, can’t you see that their existence in effect really just a burden to the people and the industry ?

not to mention only benefits a small group of people (elite)?

You call that nationalism ?

• Ericboy on Jun 02, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Ala… for those who said p1 nor p2 was junk… try to ask them whether they’re driving one of it or not, or their family own one… trust me… 8/10 family own a p1 or p2 car… the richie are included, they’ll buy it not because it was cheap enough, but because it’s prettier, perhaps myvi…

• Kelisa Slow on Jun 03, 2010 at 2:34 am

My front neighbor (which is rich and owns estima, etc) recently buy a myvi. From day one till now, she praises her newly-owned myvi for its fuel consumption which she stated ‘ridiculous’. And this keeps repeating everyday, whenever i talked to her. By then i asked her what’s so ‘ridiculous’? She answered ” If i know there is this kind of car, then i had buy it a long time ago. Why should i waste my money, buying cars which consumes fuel like godzilla while i can save much much more everyday?” After the conversation till now, i never see the big T moves again. Yet, she’s a rich person. – Haha our QC indeed being loser than your pride imported cars, but our FC is MUCH MUCH MORE better!! Wait till fuel price HIKES again, then we will see either bimmers, big T’s or my Kelisa will be smiling! =D

• minnow on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:41 am

FC also depends on car weight….its dumb to compare a solid Estima with tin susu tepung body of P2 cars….i rather pay more for fuel in a solid car than mati katak in a Protong or P2….

• silentknight on Jun 03, 2010 at 4:43 pm

it will be good if there are statistics about the number of road deaths that involved our national car brand against other brands.. but then.. it would be quite impossible to get because majority still buy national car.. because of patronisim or $$ issue.

is that what proton is all about? tin cans for invaluble lives for low income and average income malaysian live? population control ?
    why not at least improve safety features of the cars to be on par with europeans laws?
    malaysian support u all these years.. why not give something back to us thats actually a measurable or comparable and at least make us feel safer ?

u see accident reports in news paper.. u can conclude.. national cars are not really safe when u take into account the many different senerios that resulted in serious injuries or even death. one way or another.. u could even blame it on examiner who pass that drivers pratical test after tipping him rm300 haha..

• MoFaz on Jun 04, 2010 at 4:36 pm

aiyoo.. how many cars in our road are local, how many are imported? i guess about 70-80% are local cars. sure la more local cars involved. this is not a correct way to compare and the result is definitly not precise. we can only refer to NCAP rating for now.
      you guys love to talk about safety features but drive like crazy guy escape from Hospital Bahagia. I’m not saying safety features not important, but the most important ‘feature’ is the driver him/herself. no point having 20 airbags and seatbelt like rally racer if you drive drunk or talking on phone. Princess Diana died in a very-very-very safe Mercedes, remember?

• Kelisa Slow on Jun 03, 2010 at 9:11 pm

minnow says:
    3/6/2010 at 10:41 am

FC also depends on car weight….its dumb to compare a solid Estima with tin susu tepung body of P2 cars….i rather pay more for fuel in a solid car than mati katak in a Protong or P2….

Yaa-lah wei…even till the day u die u’ll never know whether u’ll die in an solid estima or in shitholes.. come on man, everybody will die someday, even when in sleep or while driving tin can or solid estima.. it’s all fate that’s written for us.. u tink u can live for eternity ka? Btw, I’m comparing bout the FC, not on HOW TO DIE. Peace bro.

• MoFaz on Jun 04, 2010 at 5:00 pm

you don’t have to condemn him/her. it’s just you’re comparing cars which are not in the same class for their FC. People choose their own priority, be it FC, safety or ‘eksyen’ factor.
      Of course you couldn’t escape death, but would you left everything for God to decide for you? should you just left your laptop in you car, left the door unlocked and think that if it’s meant to be stolen, the let it be…? or do you think that you should just stop working, and let God decide what you and your family eat tonight, because it’s all written by God? Remember, God will not help you if you’re not helping yourself. In this case, he/she is just trying to protect his/her family by driving a safer car.
      peace!

• limsk on Jun 03, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Proton cars export to China, but China called it Youngman Lotus L5, What is wrong of using the brand name of Youngman-Proton L5 ? You should be consistent about your brand name because you used it in ASEAN, UK, and Australia..

• MoFaz on Jun 04, 2010 at 5:18 pm

you should not be picky about this issue, it’s just too complicated to explain. but you could consider it as normal, as it’s being practiced by every other manufacturer:
      why not Perodua-Daihatsu-Toyota Myvi?
      why not Proton-Mitsubishi-Saga?
      why not Maybach-Mercedes-62 Landaulet
      and so on…

• oklar
    seem alot ppl bash exora for underpower

why last time avanza come out with 1.3 no ppl bash one?hehe~

• To compare a MPV and a Myvi is totally ridiculous. Its more fair to compare a same size model like Myvi with a Jazz. or etc… With non-local high tech engine Myvi would be beaten dramatically. at the end of the day it still boils down to the price of the car and whether u pay cheap car and get high fc later or pay exp car and get low fc and safer cars.

P/S: e-class is much much more better in fc compared to myvi though its much more heavier compared to myvi. its kinda not right for ur neighbour to say she wun buy an estima if she know got cars like myvi. its up to each and everyone’s preference in all the aspects…

• minnow on Jun 04, 2010 at 11:50 pm

exactly Ben….the upcoming Peugeot 308 GTi with 200HP GDi + Twin Scroll Turbo engine expects an FC of 14.5km/l…..this is a big saver…superb Conti…

• Kelisa Slow on Jun 05, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Ala, at the end same oledi la.. everyone knows bout this issue.. bout how this bashers like our own company ground to earth and about how p1 and p2 supporters keep on convincing and backing up… same story, same never-ending arguements.. maybe if sumday our national makers ground to earth then they will start to realize what is NATIONALISME.. Ask the Americans, they say Ford’s the best.. Ask the Japanese, they’ll say Mitsu’s, Big T’s the best.. Back to our country, ask the bashers which is Malaysians, they’ll say Imported cars’s the best, Proton’s a tin can, power window problem, Perodua’s a shithole.. have u drive a ori mini? small, no air cond, overheating engine.. but, feel free to ask any British whether they bash the car or not.. no, they’re proud of it.. The car may be small, but it’s a fine compact, cute-looking, good to drive one.. But seems like the bashers loves Malaysia to sell the company to other car makers.. Other carmakers are ready to buy the shares..Why? Because they know that our company have the potential to growth, PLUS our own people who doesn’t have the spirit of nationalisme wants to ground the company to the earth.. Shame to be called Malaysians which still has colonized minded.. What ever produces by Malaysia, thumbs down, while whatever produces by others, 2 thumbs up. Shame.

• imhotep on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:29 am

I Support Proton…

• ANONYMOUS on Jun 15, 2010 at 12:18 am

heyy… i heard that EMAS Concept is in trouble, bcoz italdesign was bought by Volkswagen, and VW have a cold relation with Proton regarding the Proton shares issues..