Lancia brand to carry rebadged Chrysler cars in Europe

This is the Lancia Delta HF Integrale, which was just recently announced as the “greatest hot hatch of all time” according to a vote participated by over 3,500 Autocar UK readers. The Delta HF Integrale garnered 14.3% of votes, almost double that of its nearest challenger, the Peugeot 205 GTi, followed by the original Ford Focus RS with 7.7% of the votes.

It’s sad that in today’s times neither Peugeot or Lancia are known for their hot hatches anymore. In fact Lancia has been reduced to a brand that sells what’s basically Fiats with sometimes slightly longer wheelbases and slightly better trim.

And the latest news is that the Lancia brand will basically be used to sell rebadged Chryslers in Europe, with the Chrysler brand being officially pulled out of the continent, except for UK and Ireland where Lancia has not been sold since 1991, so the Chrysler badge will remain in those two countries. It’s going to be a strange situation similar to that of Vauxhall and Opel where a set of cars will be sold as Opels all around Europe except for UK where they’re sold as Vauxhalls.

Chrysler cars that will get a new Lancia badge soon include the next generation PT Cruiser and Sebring replacements, the current generation Chrysler 300C and an updated Chrysler Voyager, which is sold in the US as the Chrysler Town & Country.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• at least peugeot is still making cars and selling them under their own brand. Lancia at one point even overshadowed Ferrari in grand prix racing, indeed it is sad to see it reduced to this.

• squawk on Jun 09, 2010 at 4:32 pm

And Chrysler’s doing a worldwide recall involving 700k cars. Nice.

• mohsin on Jun 09, 2010 at 4:44 pm

nah!.. only know this brand from arcade game.
    celica vs this Lancia Delta by Sega

• need to broaden your knowledge if you are really into cars!

• bukapintubayartol on Jun 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Sega Rally Championship… i used to love that game; spent a lot of time (and money) in the arcade…. keke
      always ‘drove’ the Lancia…

• Mujahiddin on Jun 09, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Lancia was one of the most evocative motorsports marque in the late 1970s up to early 1990s, not just in WRCs but also in Le Mans & World Sportscars. It’s a pity Fiat Group didn’t carry on with this tradition, for quite a long time. This brand deserves sporty models, instead of just mundane cars.

• Tiadaid on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:37 am

I think Fiat have too many brands under their belt, basically the entire Italian automotive industry (with the exception of Lambo of course) is owned by Fiat! So it’s hard for them to focus on the brands. I mean, how do they choose which brand should have sporty cars? All of them are renowned for their sportiness!

• Mujahiddin on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:42 am

They need to do for all.
        If VW boleh, takkan Fiat tak boleh :)

• Tiadaid on Jun 10, 2010 at 3:08 pm

VW at least have differentiator. VW mid-range, Audi premium, Skoda low-end. With Fiat, you can’t differentiate. Fiat ke Alfa ke Lancia ke, all the same. Perhaps Lancia should be the sporty one, Alfa the premium & Fiat mid-range

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 09, 2010 at 4:56 pm

damn this is pollution of the brand !

• theanswer on Jun 09, 2010 at 4:59 pm

manufacturer should promote hot hatch using manual tranny..instead of advance tranny.. manual tranny should feel ‘hotter’.

• thebugbud on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:20 pm

ya.. true.. just like Ford Mustang.. Lancia Delta HF Integrale looks is timeless…

It was my dream car in my days.. (beside the Volkswagen Scirocco)

If you watch the last Top Gear Season 14, Episode 3
    http://www.finalgear.com/shows/topgear/14/3/

a good used Lancia Delta HF Integrale still cost GBP20k+.

• Mujahiddin on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Don’t forget another legendary Lancia models – Lancia Stratos & Beta Monte Carlo Turbo.

• HirumaKecil on Jun 10, 2010 at 7:20 am

stratos is one of the best car at that time…… lancia should make new stratos…. people will buy it…

• Huge Fish on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:24 am

I tot it is modified PROTON SAGA 1985

• Jumbsuck on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:51 am

Meanwhile, the world’s worst hatch ever is a split between Proton Tiara and Proton Savvy voted 100 percent surveys another world record Bolehland book of records lah.

• HirumaKecil on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:30 am

savvy is a good car… not beautiful… but it is a good car.. only who drive it will know… kakak kawan i guna perodua… masa holiday kat langkawi, dia sewa savvy… balik terus beli savvy.. perodua bagi kat adik dia…. x betul la orang cakap yg myvi lagi bagus.. cuma rupa ja myvi menang… lain kalah… tapi bagus2 savvy pon, jangan la nak banding ngan focus atau yg mahal2… berpatutan la dengan harga… nak yg bagus, kena la melabur lebih.. adat dunia la tu…

• That hatch back was the king of rally during those days….competing wt the equally good Toyota Celica

• Earthling on Jun 10, 2010 at 2:05 pm

The Toyota Celica was no where equally good. The Celica never own nearly as many championships, and Toyota was later banned for CHEATING.

• Stratos was my favorite Lancia when I was a kid playing those car ‘Top Trumps’ card game.

• PakAbu (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:26 am

“Chrysler cars that will get a new Lancia badge soon include the next generation PT Cruiser…”

PT Cruiser! I like this car. Have not seen one for a long time. Wish I can have one… :( …. and hope the new one will retain the quirkiness of the retro-styling … :mrgreen:

• bukapintubayartol on Jun 10, 2010 at 2:48 pm

BTW.. how many votes did the (original) Golf GTi get?
    Its inconceivable to think VW didnt’ get many votes…

• azrai on Jun 10, 2010 at 3:55 pm

My first glance at the photo above I thought it is a red Saga. maybe due to the grille.

• unbelievable….this should be made unlawful.

A PT Cruiser wearing a Lancia badge……blasphemy!!!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Whats wrong with the PT Cruiser?

I had the Turbo 2.4 for 2 weeks. fun little car. The auto 4 speeder was a disaster though.