Volvo S80 Turbo Testdrive Review: a Swedish alternative?

Volvo introduced to us the facelifted S80 last month, and took the chance to streamline the range for Malaysia. Gone is the imported 3.2-litre model, which leaves the 2.5T as the sole variant offered. Volvo now calls it the S80 Turbo, and the changes made are more than just skin deep – the engine has been improved, the interior updated and the skin metal has been given subtle changes. There are plenty of new toys too, all for an increase of only RM10,000.

At RM295,000, the locally assembled S80 Turbo once again appears very good value for money, especially when compared with size class rivals from Mercedes and BMW (Volvo names the 523i and E250 as rivals).

Volvo wants to be more mainstream than it currently is, but it’s never easy to break that Merc-BMW stranglehold on the Malaysian premium market, which standards and expectations are dictated by the German duo. We drove the facelifted S80 to Penang to check out Volvo’s interpretation of premium.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

The S80 is a significant car for Volvo. The first generation S80 made its debut more than ten years ago as the first Volvo to ditch boxes for curves, and the marque’s design department hasn’t looked back since. Today, with its latest models like the XC60 and the new S60 (to be launched here later this year), Volvo is a fully paid up member of the Scandinavian brand of industrial design alongside the likes of Ikea and Bang & Olufsen.

But while sleek and neat, this generation of S80 never had a strong presence to this writer, looking more like a more bloated version of the old S60. Nothing wrong with that (my mouth gaped the first time I laid my eyes on a black S60 T5 with those multi-spoke alloys), but it’s a very familiar shape after all these years and one that won’t get you much attention on the road.

Not that it matters to Volvo owners, who are usually affluent but understated professionals. Equally as subtle are the new exterior bits – the bigger iron mark on the grille is the biggest giveaway; others include chrome strips beneath the doors and under the rear lamps. The plain star spoke 17-inch alloys are once again smart, but not spectacular.

Inside, there’s only one major change, but it brings a big effect. The new four-spoke steering wheel, like the front grille, features a bigger logo and “silk metal” trim, which is also sprinkled across the dash. Unlike many wood layered wheels, this one has a full ring of wood, not just the usual top and bottom parts. Very classy and a big improvement over the old wheel.

The dash design is orderly, minimalist and ergonomic, and Volvo shows that it’s possible to have lots of functions without resorting to iDrive/Comand style menus to keep the dash neat. As usual for Volvo, the instruments are highly legible and look good. I’m not a fan of wood trim, but the dark timber here is not offensive and goes rather well with the black cabin of our test car. Volvo really needs to change its stereo displays though; monochrome is old school and rivals have colour screens.

Volvo S80 Turbo Testdrive Review: a Swedish alternative?The front seats are comfortable in a Volvo sort of way, which means that it’s big and cushy like your favorite armchair – those used to chairs with more thigh and torso support might not like them.

I found the driver’s seat to be more comfortable than the rear seat, which is odd for a car like this. At the back, I somehow couldn’t get into a “perfect” position – the headrest wont move forward, and with the front seats set low (tall guy in front), there was no room for me to tuck my feet under. The latter won’t be an issue in a car with more legroom (Honda Accord comes to mind), but I had to reposition my legs sideways, which isn’t natural.

We turned off the North-South Expressway at Slim River heading north. From here to Bidor is a wide and fast stretch of trunk road, but with some challenging corners plus severe compressions and mid corner dips that really challenge a car’s suspension. It was probably too challenging for the S80, which bounced its way around and wasn’t far from bottoming out. Hard driving on less than perfect B-roads clearly isn’t within the big Volvo’s comfort zone.

Steady state cornering revealed that the body doesn’t lean as much as we’d feared, but slightly better cushioning against sharper bumps and horizontal obstacles at low speeds would be appreciated for a comfort oriented car. Also, the controls (steering, brakes) aren’t as feelsome and communicative as some driver focussed mid-size execs around, so forcing the issue is uncomfortable for both man and machine.

Volvo S80 Turbo Testdrive Review: a Swedish alternative?The S80 is more “dignified” and prefers fast cruising and covering distances with ease, and it’s well equipped for that. The familiar 2.5-litre five-cylinder engine gets a substantial 31 bhp and 40 Nm more for 231 bhp and 340 Nm (from 1,700 to 4,800 rpm), figures that comfortably shade those of the Mercedes E250 CGI and BMW 523i, both of which cost RM100K more than the Volvo.

Paired to a six-speed automatic, the S80 does the 0-100 km/h dash in 7.5sec (pre-facelift 2.5T was 8.0sec), which is 0.3sec faster than the turbocharged E250 and one full second faster than the naturally aspirated base F10. So if it’s maximum bang for buck you’re seeking, this is it.

Besides the added firepower from higher boost pressure (0.5 to 0.8 bar), Volvo says the Euro 5 engine’s fuel economy has been improved to 10.4 km/l from 9.8 km/l, so it’s a gain at both ends, although that’s still not great compared to Merc’s CGI engines. In practice, the five-pot emits a nice growly soundtrack (as always) which is nice company during those trips to the redline. Sounds like a bigger engine than it is, too. The gearbox is not the snappiest, but is vice-free and smooth enough, so no complaints in the drivetrain department.

The extra RM10K not only buys you the improved motor. Let’s not forget the revised S80’s fully stocked safety arsenal, unlike the previous 2.5T. Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) is here, as are Lane Departure Warning (audible warning when you sway away from your lane), Active Cruise Control (follows the speed and pre-set distance of the car in front) and Collision Warning with Auto Brake, which flashes a red light and audible warning at you when you approach a car’s rear end too fast. Should the driver still not react, up to 50% braking power is applied to minimize damage. We tested all of these safety kit (but not the airbags, thankfully) and can confirm that they all work as intended. Anything you don’t need can be switched off.

Personally, of frequent and practical use to me are BLIS and LDW. The former, which lights up the inside section of the wing mirror when a vehicle is beside you, saves one from middle fingers and angry honks when not driving with full attention, while Lane Departure Warning would be a good partner on those long solo highway drives where I’m prone to dozing off, especially after nasi campur lunch at the R&R!

Volvo S80 Turbo Testdrive Review: a Swedish alternative?Brand power notwithstanding, the S80 offers a lot for the money. Now, some might see the Volvo’s lack of all conquering dynamic ability as a criticism, but not all luxury sedan buyers drive their RM400K cars to within 70% of its abilities anyway, so do rivals really need to match up to the Ultimate Driving Machine in handling and car-driver communication?

My opinion is that it’s perfectly fine to be yourself and the Volvo S80 strikes us as a car confident of its own strengths, a welcome alternative in the segment for those whose priorities are comfort and safety. Yes, an E-Class offers that too, but RM100K is not insignificant, even in this segment.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1212]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sundayman on Jun 18, 2010 at 9:59 pm

here in malaysia, volvo only good in lorry segment …..

• No surprise from volvo, the grille design buyer killed interest! High tine to have a new logo/G design

• im sure ur mistaken on all ur negative comments….u need to drive a volvo to say all these things about the car……most ppl judge a book by its cover..WRONG WAY

• TonyT on Jun 18, 2010 at 10:05 pm

A very good car with boring design.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 18, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Nice but Volvo has been missing its party pieces.

The full arsenal of wagons

Seriously, I can’t find a logical (or emotional) reason to buy a Volvo unless it was a wagon. I still have fond memories of a bright yellow 850T5 wagon blowing the doors off a 328….

Where is the S80 based V70?

• Have to agree with you there… I’ve always thought Volvos are more logical in their estate form.

• In Malaysia, car sales is too dependent on resale value of the brand of the car Which is very unfair to car makers like Volvo. Personally, I feel the new Volvos look gorgeous and classy. Wish all the best to Volvo =) Awesome looking S80

• Matchy on Jun 18, 2010 at 10:38 pm

The dashboard looks rather bland…

• my foo on Jun 18, 2010 at 10:47 pm

the only model that attracted me so far, the V50 T5 … superb car with superb engine …

• Overpriced FWD car with boring design

• The Loner on Jun 19, 2010 at 8:32 am

What can be expected? G’s ridiculous duty structure for automobile causing this even though foreign vehicles are CKDed.

• littlefire on Jun 18, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Volvo for life.. Most of the current Volvo users on the road are loyal customers.. Hardly to see new people owning them…

• Victor on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:15 pm

I want to be counted in as a new addition to your club…. Anyone selling off his/ her S80??? Please call me/ email me

• ST OOI on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Hi Vic,

I have a 11/2007 S80T5 in Oyster Grey with 30K under its belt that I am looking to dispose. Accident free and service by FA. Still under warranty. Am a Volvo addict.. owned various models since 1980.

Interested? Shoot me an e-mail…

Regards, Terry

• sutheshkumar on Jun 18, 2010 at 11:28 pm

the prefacelift had bulit in sat nav, and its gone in this version. Not even the portable one is offered.

• Paul Tan on Jun 18, 2010 at 11:31 pm

The satnav is just a Garmin GVN52 anyway… get a normal Garmin lah :)

• E bear on Jun 18, 2010 at 11:43 pm

I think Volvo worldwide face the same branding problem.

When everyone seems to be getting all the safety stars as well, this selling pt has already become a norm. Even MIROS comes out with standards to giv our local cars some stars.

It just needs some fine-tuning to the shocks, spring setting, bushes and a great set of tires.

Engines needs to be less thirsty as others are able to do it.

Some sporty optional kit would be nice. For those who want it.

• FunnyBored.com on Jun 19, 2010 at 12:28 am

Volvo’s brand is always on par with merc,beemers and other european continental. Only asian countries we find solace and prestige in beemers and mercedes not matter how crappy it look example new e class. But imagine the S80 on helco body skirting and etc and the S80 becomes a head turner

• among the safest car!

• volvo should offer some additional bodykit..
    nowadays people likes sporty car..look how estimas,alphards with bodykit..
    they look nicer..

and the s80 rim..its boring spoke..the 5 er rim look so much better..

• Alanore Chong on Jun 19, 2010 at 9:35 am

Now even doctors and Engineers are driving Merc…

• Esther on Jun 19, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Correction

Forgot to let you let you know , Accountants , lawyers , doctors and Enginners are driving Hyundai, Volvo , BMW , Audi and VW besides Merc to be more accurate . Value for money comes first not the overpriced badge .

Merc look like an ” UNCLE” car .

Some do not like Merc or BMW to be precised.

• Volvo design are good. Volvo for life!

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 19, 2010 at 4:14 pm

NOW the hot cake of volvo here in malaysia is the XC60 !! powerful & sporty !! not to mentioned one of its kind of safety feature!!

XC60 standing side by side with Q5 , both gorgeous! but XC60 is more poweful, given same price range!

definitely a better buy then the overprice Lexus RX or Harrier!!!!

• edifice on Jun 20, 2010 at 7:34 am

this piece is overprice?
    design is bland?

i take this S80 anytime over new E and 5

• Shiang on Jun 20, 2010 at 3:36 pm

Why isn’t the A6 in the equation?

• wajarays on Jun 20, 2010 at 4:53 pm

the problem about volvo here is NO AFTER MARKET PERFORMANCE PART …. if merc got AMG & BRABUS while bmw got M power and AC snichzer, ……… VOLVO also got their tuners like R-design (official from volvo), EVOLVE, HEICO SPORTIV, iPD….. but no one brought it here….

seriously who drive volvo will know the X factor of volvo cars compare others continental marque …..

• wajarays on Jun 20, 2010 at 4:55 pm

try search the s80 heico sportiv …. damn nice….

• wajarays on Jun 20, 2010 at 5:00 pm

and not forget VOLVO s40, v50, s60 EVOLVE…. VERY SPORTY

• don’t think volvo will ever eat into the german market.

BMW owners want the driving experience and performance,
    Merc owners want the prestige and Audi owners want to be different.

Volvo offers safe,solid ,powerful cars at a lower price but handling,comfort(seats a bit too hard-had a sore butt driving from ipoh to Kuantan non stop) and image cannot match the germans.

Long term duarbility has become a problem with the newer models (S series)compared to the old “bricks” (144-244-240-740) which used to last 15-20 years without any major problems

• wira angkasa on Jun 29, 2010 at 3:13 pm

remember my father old 264 bolbo. he use it for 20 year wit no problem. now using V70 since year 2000. but he wont buy this one coz very expensive and now he retired.
    maybe i buy him one soon.

• Boring lo…just for old man

• fadli on Aug 03, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Wow, such a beautiful design, smooth curves and lines, distinctive Volvo taillights, warm and cozy interior, feel like a home inside……!

I love it, Volvo For Life…..!

• NISHANT on Aug 05, 2010 at 8:15 am

a BMW for me and this for my father.

• Roland on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:48 pm

The new S80 is a good car in terms of design compare to the new 5 series & new E. The 5 series looks too long front end and it looks hanging from behind. the New E design looks a like a cheap car especially from rear view. From front it looks better. S80 looks nice from every angle and I called balanced design & looks very exclusice and still maintain that European looks.

In terms of interior all the three cars have a top notch quality but Audi A6 have the best interior quality. No doubt. about it . People who buys this car segment is looking for comfort and safety. When come to this point S80 is the best. All Merc & BMW owners you should test drive the new Volvo S80 you will notice on what I’ve said in terms of comfort and S 80 have awarded a Top safety Pick in its class…by IIHS. When talk about safety Volvo never compromised on that. The moment you open the door you’ll notice how solid the s80 is and automatically you feel safe.compare with 5 series & E class. And further more s80 have loads of safety features that the rivals are lack of..

And finally S80 is cheaper by 100k compare to 5 series & E class..