Gordon Murray’s revolutionary T.25 city car makes debut

Gordon Murray is best known as a designer of Formula 1 cars and the McLaren F1 supercar. So it was unusual for him to leave the speed industry in 2007 to develop groundbreaking solutions in urban mobility.

This funny looking thing is the T.25, which Gordon Murray Design is promoting as the future of urban motoring. The car is 2.4m long, 1.3m wide and 1.5m tall, which makes it smaller than the smart fortwo. But unlike the smart, T.25 sits three in a 1+2 layout, with the driver up front in the middle, with two passengers flanking him/her. Apparently, passenger legroom is better than in most B-segment cars. A front section that flips forward allows entry/exit in tight spots.

Speaking of that, the T.25 is made for tight spots. Its maker claims that three T.25s will be able to fit in one parallel parking space, with head/tail facing the kerb. Also, the T.25 is narrow enough that one conventional highway lane can accommodate 2 units side-by-side. Combine this with the car’s length (or the lack of it) and the T.25 has the potential to triple lane usage at peak times, according to Murray. The turning circle is 6 metres.

The T.25 weighs about 550 kg and runs on a 660 cc 3-cylinder engine with 51hp and 57Nm of torque (Viva engine?). Fuel economy is quoted at 3.8 litres/100km (26.3 km/l) and it only produces 86 g/km of CO2. Driving dynamics are described as “fun” as the car features all round independent suspension while F1 derived materials in the chassis frame design makes for a strong “safety cell” structure, with at least 4 stars in Euro NCAP expected. Other neat features refueling on either side, a flat underfloor for aerodynamics, replaceable body panels and luggage capacity between 160-720 litres.

Murray could be waiting for a buyer for this project, which comes with its own manufacturing process called iStream, which “could potentially be the biggest revolution in high volume manufacture since the Model T.” With it, a plant can be designed to be 20% of the size of a conventional factory, with high flexibility and low costs to boot. A T.27 electric powered model is on the cards.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1257]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• gonggok on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Hmm..I hope this breaks the heavier, more powerful trend.

Just wondering since the door hinges forward, how would you exit the car after a front end collision?

• littlefire on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:21 pm

You can open the rear boot and jump off? Or u kick or break the rear window also can.

• brilliant question!!!!

• Kenny on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:46 pm

similar to one sided open trend car, scissors door or people call suicide door … lol
      wait for rescue, oh ya, it better have explosion proof tank and electronic or else you will burn … although you will survive the crash …

• rageaccel2 on Jun 29, 2010 at 6:08 pm

scissor door is as the one in lambo. suicide door is RX8 rear door. opens rearward.

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jun 30, 2010 at 9:43 am

what rageaccel2 said in other words..kenny please cheack your fact before posting

• reverse parking..

• squawk on Jun 30, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Ejector seat?

• Kevin Lau on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Such a cutie!

Replacement to bikes in future

• littlefire on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Wow~! 4 Star Safety for such a small car?!? Nice personal car in the city.. If the price is good, it may be even better than smartfor2!

• boss coffee on Jun 29, 2010 at 6:01 pm

4 star for small car not same as 4 star for big car brader….

• littlefire on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:16 am

Bro, have u seen the crash test for smart4u in EURONCAP? It even have a youtube video seeing it headcrash with an e-class merc…

• Motorist on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Looks like Wally & EVA’s kid :-)

• Cosmos on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:57 pm

can use on bike lanes!

• Whatever on Jun 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm

The safety features star is better than Malaysia p1 n p2 car. 4 stars

• rageaccel2 on Jun 29, 2010 at 6:10 pm

sure laa.. wait till they annouce the price.. hohoho… don’t compare la.. totally different class. same as u compare viva with smart for two la.

• boss coffee on Jun 29, 2010 at 6:29 pm

rageaccel2, basher always say orange is better than apple… LOL!

• anti-Porsche on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:37 pm

tough to say on cars…

Brabus Ultimate 112 costs half a mill!!! Go figure… and this one with Gordon Murray’s signature on the design… hmmm… go figure!!!

• Vincent on Jun 29, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Cannot belive some one who is designer of Formula 1 cars and the McLaren F1 supercar come up with such normal look kind of product…

Even the smart for 2 look better

• molala on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:59 am

I dont think its normal product. It is the absolute city car.

• mitlanevo on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:03 pm

nice effort!

saw an article about this car before in TG mag…

• botak on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:26 pm

see the cc same like kacil 660.. wonder its more p0wefull compare to kancil la..

• Elvis on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:44 pm

More like a furnished go kart to me

• prolever on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:04 pm

what happend if..
    1. the car crash with a Smart 42.? uol thinks who gona win..
    2. the car turn turtle..or i bet i wont be..

and im sure the price not gonna be cheap

• dickybird on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:05 pm

this gordon always like this 1+2 seating style.

• like it hehehe dam bile nak kuar betul ke tidak nih ke show jerk

• scoobydoo on Jun 29, 2010 at 11:28 pm

is tat metal wheels or metal wheels??? cud use a nice set of rims….if price the same as Smart For 2, i’d get this one anytime….

• Elvis on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:12 am

Kancil better coz got aircon. This one apa pun tiada..no music, no aircon…forget it. I wont be conned by marketing hype anymore.

• leonardo on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:31 am

A good idea since SMART car. The one thing that Murray have in common with his McLaren F1 car is the 3 seater arrangement. This is a good urban transporter, let’s see which company picks this up for mass production.

• it’s best solution to replace my motobike…when raining day….

• squawk on Jun 30, 2010 at 12:50 pm

1 extra passenger than the fortwo. *thumbs up*

• Hhmm… good project for Hayabusa engine upgrade.

• alldisc on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:11 pm

this is solution to the mega traffic jams in KL, penang and JB since this cutie is about half the length an ordinary sedan. imagine 1 million cars in KL in morning rush hour cut down in half.

genius. and in that matt black finish, looks better than Proton’s EMAS concept. as Henry Ford used to say… u can choose any colour. As long as it is black.

charcoal black, anyone? or just midnight black??

• Peter on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:42 pm

Its quite high…Looks like Kenari…..

Ok anyway, i don’t really like “tall” cars..

The centre of gravity seemed to be off and its more likely to “over-turn” easily……

• Rizal on Jul 01, 2010 at 10:36 am

In terms of look… ok

In terms of speed… I don’t think so.. not aerodynamic at all..

in terms of possibillity to get kill from car crash… sigh….

• it’s got flat underbody and it’s narrow.it does have some points for aerodynamic