Kia Cee’d is Top Gear’s new “Reasonably Priced Car”

Top Gear, the British motoring based entertainment programme has just revealed their new Reasonably Priced Car – the Kia cee’d. Its function is for the show’s guests to set lap times around TG’s 2.82 km test track. Previous lambs to the slaughter were the Chevrolet Lacetti (Optra to us) and the Suzuki Liana.

The cee’d in question, which is the latest facelifted version featuring Kia’s new corporate grille, is a five-door C-segment hatchback with a 124 hp/153 Nm 1.6-litre engine. The show’s guests never had it this good, as the cee’d is on a different level altogether compared to the Optra and Suzuki.

Top Gear’s mystery ace driver The Stig requested three identical red cee’ds from Kia, which is not at all embarrassed by the selection. “The last time Top Gear paid us any attention I think they tried to build one of our cars out of washing machines – so this is quite a step forward in their understanding of just how Kia has changed over the last six years,” said Kia Motors UK communications director, Stephen Kitson.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• KIA should downgrade NAZAKia as super dealer rather than keep as DISTRIBUTOR. The brand can’t lift their image if still under NAZAKia.

NAZA has too many brands and reputation is far from satisfactory.

• Carss on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:35 pm

if they downgrade, then kia will be more expensive than toyota. no more tax loophole, hahah

• Nutty Dad on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:38 pm

That Naza badge save u a few thousand ringgits & your soul from Proton.
      God Blessed SM Nasimuddin!!!!!

• Green Fuel on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:06 pm

I wonder when a Proton will be selected as their reasonable car

• sadbuttrue on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:23 pm

OZ top gear

• Salamander on Jun 29, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Got already for Top Gear Australia (Satria Neo)

• Well. At least Top Gear Australia uses Proton Satria Neo as their ‘bog standard car’ which also means Reasonably Priced Car

• actually proton satria neo has been selected as top gear australia reasonably priced car

• odi862 on Jun 30, 2010 at 10:21 am

Maybe Driven will introduce this kind of segment in their show?? If they do, maybe proton will sponsor Saga.

• austin_cipan on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:20 pm

nice car… but at GBP14k, it is not cheap, considering the liana n lacetti’s sub-GBP10k.. though it is reasonably priced…

• waaaaaaahhh on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Is this equivalent to Malaysia’s spectra5?

• Carss on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:34 pm

proton satria neo is in australia top gear.

• mystvearn on Jun 29, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Yes, that is why they can’t have it on Top Gear, cause its in Aussie. Also I think the cee’d has better quality than the neo. I have seen this in the flesh, nearer to Astra in terms of quality of materials.

• Yes you can save on the price how about the after-sales service?

• Still reasonable. Do ur homework….for eg u compare between Forte, City and Vios..see the maintenance cost…

• trav_da_man on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:56 pm

They should make the Dacia Sandero as the SIARPC instead!

• tokmoh on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Capt Slow is sooooo gonna love it lol

• trav_da_man on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:56 pm

nah, his in love with the new dacia duster now. GREAT NEWS!

• Someone on Jun 30, 2010 at 12:07 am

They couldn’t. I think even dacia was quite willing, but they didn’t bring the Sandero to the UK, so it was no go

• Clarkson calls it Kia Cee Apostrophe D. LOL

• kimi_ on Jun 29, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Is this car equal to KIA RIO here???

• raybrig on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:09 pm

hmm… Naza Biji

• this is newer generation than spectra5..

hyundai i30 cuzzin

• Jumbsuck on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:43 pm

And of course the world’s most un-reasonably priced car (vuvuzela noise please) is Proton lah, no brainer at all. Selling stone-age car at space-age price like RM102k Perdana and Tok Arab buying Gen2 Waja Pesona at half price RM35k only.

• helmi on Jun 29, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Kia’s this generation front grill trade mark looks like an old man with a tooth up & a bottom… it’s getting bored to me.

• And because no celeb had driven it yet because there would be no one to compare with, Jeremy invited a few celeb at once to come race their lap time. Btw, Hammond invited Angelina Jolie!

• shawal on Jun 29, 2010 at 10:16 pm

You should see how they ‘tried’ to bury the previous Reasonably priced car, the chevrolet lacetti (optra here) …. epic fail!!! LOL!

• darkskies on Jun 29, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Does this car will come to Boleh land?

• this episode is so funny,total opposite of serious,nice cameo by phil oakey

• highly tune-able (looks) for a hot-hatch

• hmmm…Naza benih <—-Naza rebadge version

• ahben on Jun 30, 2010 at 12:34 pm

sshh….ceed….. how could that beee… :-)

• taucu on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:46 pm

bring it in NAZA, mulah2 sudahla

• in UK cost 14000
    in malaysia will cost rm140000
    that how u can estimate any cbu car price in malaysia

• Kia Motors UK communications director, Stephen Kitson sure took criticism even a cynical one by TG constructively

• morondetector on Jul 02, 2010 at 3:09 am

i think the reason we all here are having this discussion and argument about the pricing levels are all due to Mahathir and his fucking fantasy… the day Proton die, we can all celebrate and world will be better off..