16-year old Malaysian gets to drive Lotus Racing F1 car

Lotus Racing announced today that they will be allowing 16 year old Malaysian karting prodigy Nabil Jeffri the chance to drive one of the Lotus Racing Formula 1 cars at an undisclosed location in the UK.

Nabil Jeffri who competes in the Formula BMW Pacific with Eurasia Motorsport is currently fifth in the championship and will be taking part in an aero test session. This has been all thanks to the AirAsia ASEAN Driver Development Program which was formed to improve the growth of motor sports in the region. Open to youths in the ASEAN region, it gives them a platform to reach their goals of becoming a professional race car driver.

As well having access to expert mentors such as Alex Yoong, the young drivers also receive Air Asia’s support for publicity and sponsorship. This being one of the key aspects and hurdles facing up and coming drivers in a money-hungry sport that is motor racing.

As you would imagine Nabil (@nabiljeffri) is quite pleased with the opportunity saying, “Driving the Lotus Racing car will definitely be a priceless exposure to the F1 driving experience, and I’m looking forward to many more similar opportunities to arise as a result of being part of the AirAsia Driver Development program.”

Team principal Tony Fernandes commented on the matter stating “being able to give bright young talent like Nabil the chance to play an integral role in the development of our team is a recognition of his burgeoning talent, and shows that there is a clear route to the top rung of the motor sport ladder, no matter how old you are or where you are racing.”

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• y alex yoong again…. but we have not much choice lolz

• Fuyoooh on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Which one is Nabil Jeffri? The one in the cart or sitting behind?

• hope he won’t crash and burn …

• jolly_idiot on Aug 06, 2010 at 6:59 pm

They dare to let him drive? He dunno how to brake 1 wor.

• rageaccel2 on Aug 06, 2010 at 8:41 pm

the idiot speaks again!!!

• derrick on Sep 02, 2010 at 9:08 pm

if he dont know how to break they wouldnt let him even drive it. as a friend of his, he’ll sure kick you ass goodbye. race him anytime in gokart if ur gonna talk like some big timer.

• Cyberman1508 on Aug 06, 2010 at 7:05 pm

poor kid…to be mentored by alex yoong…

• enchekere on Aug 06, 2010 at 7:51 pm

and u think u can drive better?

• John Player Special on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:43 am

anyone can drive as long as they set the “pit-lane switch” on permanently, the car won’t go fast.

• Not like he’d be worse than any other asian driver, amirite?

• trav_da_man on Aug 06, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Hmm apart of this unheard kid, why not having Jazeman Jaafar to be inside this program? He won the Formula BMW Asia Pacific title on his 1st year when his 14 back in 2008. Now he is racing at the highly competitive single seater events in europe, this year its the British Formula 3 and currently on 6th overall standings. Took a few podiums as well.

I felt he is a better candidate as he is our best chance to have a local racer in Formula One or any high lvl motorsports events.

• Chilavert on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:43 am

maybe this kid Nabil Jeffri is son of some VIP
      politics… politics….

• bcoz he not in the part AirAsia ASEAN Driver Development Program….jazeman is petronas sponsor driver

http://www.carlin.co.uk/preview.php?id=933&teamid=2

• Lotus Fan on Aug 07, 2010 at 2:45 am

insyaallah…Malaysia akan berjaya!

• elite on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:20 am

i think his cita-cita is to work at proton

• autojohndoe on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:11 pm

so… what’s wrong?

at least… if it is true he already has an ambition…

instead of complaining but has no ambition and effort…

• Tommy on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:13 am

Alex Yoong is the loser, this kid, he’s a winner…

• aksMs on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:29 am

And how do you reckon this kid will win when he got a loser mentor? Haihh… I’d prefer Jazeman though….

• Hahhahahahha! You (aksMs) are absolutely funny!

“how do you reckon this kid will win when he got a loser mentor? ”

hahahahahaha! No matter what, if you think you are age 16, why not go for candidate? Since our so called as “Malaysian” LIKE to give “excuses”, “tease”, “compare” ETC?
        et cetera… et cetera… et cetera…

ROFL

• Tengkurex on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:47 am

Nabil Jefri is the one next to Alex http://www.kartingasia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/nabil_yoong.jpg

• Tengkurex on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:54 am

Maybe something to do with breaking Nico Rosberg’s record. Rosberg was 17.5 years old when he drove a williams current F1 car in Dec 2002. Rosberg also Formula BMW graduate. Bear in mind,Resberg also drove straightline in Wiliams.

• motorist on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:43 pm

To be fair to Alex, he “failed” b’cos he was put into F1 too early (for PR & political reasons). There were many reasons for his “failure”, chief amongst them is his inexperience & it totally handicapped his F1 performance.

Look at all the current F1 drivers. Many started in karting, moving up different Formula series, gaining experience along the way. Some were F1 test drivers (like Coulthard for Senna in Williams-Renault) before they were given the chance to race in a proper race.

Alex was dropped into the deep end of the pool, expected to swim & win!!! Come on, his Minardi wasnt exactly the best on the grid, plus his inexperienced coupled with no mentor, made him totally unprepared for the big boy’s game.

• The girls in the back are sooooo cute!

• SquarePetrolHead on Aug 07, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Hang on… isn’t this kid actually a Singaporean?

• sangkunang on Aug 08, 2010 at 2:27 pm

jazeman is currently under petronas…
    maybe petronas or mercedes gp has another program for jazeman…

hahaha,
    who know, maybe one day jazeman will be appointed as test driver for mercedes gp petronas….or maybe bmw…

• Sharviin Sasasey on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:15 am

sudah 16 thun pegi blaja la…..

• dis boy can tapau us anytime anywhere lol..