FIA: No new teams for 2011 Formula 1 season

Looks like there won’t be a 13th team on next year’s F1 grid after all. This is after the sport’s governing body announced that none of the parties bidding for the slot vacated by USF1 have met its requirements.

“Following the press release of 19 March 2010 calling for expressions of interest to participate in the 2011 and 2012 seasons of the FIA Formula One World Championship, a number of interested parties expressed their interest. It was considered that none of the candidates met the requirements to be granted an entry into the championship. Consequently, the allocation of the 13th team will not be granted,” the FIA World Motor Sport Council statement read.

Since March, there were a number of interested parties. Some withdrew halfway (GP2 regulars ART and US based Cypher Group) to leave Epsilon Euskadi and Villeneuve Racing in the chase. The former was rejected a year ago while the latter is a partnership between 1997 world champion Jacques Villeneuve and Italian ex-GP2 team Durango.

They haven’t fully given up though; Villeneuve is reported to be considering purchasing an existing team. “Of course it’s disappointing, but we just shift the focus now and turn our attention to alternatives,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mitlanevo on Sep 09, 2010 at 4:16 pm

happily watching rally and nascar now….

• mata katak on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:35 pm

hahahahaha…mat rempit racing is more exciting that F1…..

• Ford_GT on Sep 09, 2010 at 10:03 pm

I stick my 2 eyeballs into WRC and IRC.

• do you really watch rally honestly…its boring racing no passing…..nascar exiting when car crash each other..other than that boringgggg….if u said gt racing or gran touring better choice..at least paris-dakar rally…someone killed in accident or killed by terrorist or kidnap by terrorist

• seriusSAM on Sep 12, 2010 at 1:33 pm

these guys who said they watch rally and nascar I bet they didn’t even know how many teams compete in rally and nascar, who drive for who… etc

did astro even show rally or nascar even?

• nabill on Sep 09, 2010 at 7:38 pm

ya , f1 lost its shine some time ago , alot of stupid rules hampering the whole race,really boring to watch….

• mfahd_88 on Sep 10, 2010 at 12:32 am

hopefully the car comes with better design in the next season

• shako on Sep 11, 2010 at 1:11 am

I Love F1