Proton Saga Facelift – New Batch of Spyshots!

This second set of Proton Saga facelift photo sent in by reader Bazli are one of the clearest yet, as it was snapped while the car was parked at a highway rest stop yesterday, while our previous shots of the car featured it on the move on a highway near Bukit Jelutong.

The shape of the front end slightly be made out behind the thick disguise. The grille of course gets the same signature Proton family grille that’s found on the Persona, the Exora and even the new Proton Inspira.

From this angle shot we can note a few more changes. I like how the new rear bumper now has integrated reflectors in them, it’ll definitely enhance the look of the bumper. The pre-facelift bumper was bare, although it had a little diffuser-look design at the bottom. You can also notice the new design for the alloy wheels as well as the new design for the tail lamps, which in the Bukit Jelutong photos we observed were powered by LEDs.

No clear photos of the interior so we can’t really see if anything is different but I do hope that the highline model gets dual airbags as standard – it’s already been offered on the 25th Anniversary Edition. Notice the little LED turn signal peeking from the side of the wing mirror.

Look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery of Bazli’s snapshots.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1640]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow..new facelift for saga. I hope it will be in the market soon.

• wow, u can see tru the black tapes. nice

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Agreed with Bung Mokhtar, close Proton !!! Liberalise NAP !!! Afterall automotive is not included in New Economic Model. Same ol crap, only movin around the companies. Eg. Syed Hisham from EON, NAZA now UMW. Maruan from PEdar now NAZA. *some of them are good but the industry is not progressive.

Not to mentioned all the bongers from P2 joining P1, such as scandalicious GM HR with her secretary. All of them is just a nuisance. Copy fm P2, implement in P1. No originality.

Until now, nobody dares to say, ” Yes, P1/P2/NAZA/BERJAYA want to sell cars in Japan and Korea !!!!” and the US”. For sure all them will lingkup tutup kedai x berani.

In the end, the victim will always be Msian consumers. Pity u all.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Yeah,we should also ignore such a lame guy like this.
        He only talk craps instead of facts.
        Man,how many times I should repeat the same thing.
        This is what we call Typical Bashers.
        Proton copy Perodua?
        Now,that’s weird.
        That politician knows nothing,he just want publicity just like what you did here.

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:38 pm

What kind of originality are u talking about? you mean Waja, Gen2, Savvy, Neo, Persona and Exora are not original models from Proton?
        Exora, Persona and Savvy are well received in Thai, and Saga (S16) is also well accepted in Australia… they know saga is the cheapest sedan in Aussie and they didn’t expect much from the car, yet it perform much better than other more expensive cars. Only Malaysians would expect Proton to produce RM30k car that have similar features and quality as RM300k car.
        And why no Proton in Japan/Korea..? I’ve mentioned this few times already, you may study their market, and you’ll find that they’re more protective about their automotive industries compared to Malaysia. only 0.2% cars in Korea were imported. Try look for Hyundai cars in Japan, or look for Honda/Toyota cars in Korea… could you?

• sweet…

• kiddd on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Good move, this is not re-badge from another car brand, hopefully Proton can stand on their own foot.

• mofaz, theres toyota cars in korea , believe me. honda also. theres honda legend mugen in korea, theres camry in korea. do u live in korea? so u dont know the situation there

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:52 pm

i didn’t say there’s no toyota or honda, i’m just asking could you find it?
            there’s only 2 out of 1000 cars are imported. so what is the possibility of you finding honda / toyota on the road there?
            remember, korea started making cars in 1960s and immediately after that they banned import cars. Korea only liffted the ban in 1988. Proton is competing with import cars eventhough they have certain advantages, but korean manufacturers were competing with nothing at all for almost 30 years….
            and now you think Hyundai / Kia is godsend? stop worshiping & looking so high on foreign products. we can do better than them, and we simply need some time.

• well done..

• think rational on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:48 am

So…if proton so good why proton still is still losing money in business? As well as lotus? Why proton got the worst sales and service rating in the country? Proton should make money already what if what you said is true.

• Kancil_Redbull on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:00 am

Is Proton really losing money?

According to the Malaysian Insider (26/5/2010)- ‘….Proton’s profit before tax of RM285 million for the financial year 2010 which ended March 31 was up 150 per cent …’

The China Post (24/8/2010)- ‘….Proton said net profits for the three months to June 30 had risen to 84.7 million ringgit (US$27.08 million) from 54.6 million ringgit in the same period last year’.

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:53 am

well, you could try be more rational.
            hyundai/kia produced more than 3 million cars yearly for domestic and exports. proton only 200,000.. who has more money to provide better service and develop more models?
            that’s what proton is trying to achieve now. all i can say, they’re on the right track as we see lots of improvement over the years. and who says proton always rebadge others? Youngman (China) and Mitsubishi also rebadging proton’s cars….

• think rational on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:26 pm

What is proton trying to acheive now? I think you are not getting the point. What u said is the competition in the world, did hyundai/kia didn’t sell 3 million car in Malaysia? You should confine the situation in Malaysia where for 2010 (Jan to June) proton car market is 29.4% second after perodua 34.9%. Hyundai only 0.9%.

How can you say hyundai/kia has more money to provide better service? What you mean is even in Malaysia with all rules & regulation, government protection and large network available, the proton still unable to give good sales & service is because your competitor is rich???

Do not forget, in Malaysia, the government set the rules of games more favourable to proton and when you are not getting good score, you blame your competitor for being rich? This is not making sense. Why not proton rethink their strategic and correcting their own mistakes rather than keep blaming competitor by giving all sort of unreasonable excuses.

You should try to be more rational. Do not use the world situation to compare. Think of Malaysia situation ONLY. WIth so many privilages given to proton for so many years and they still losing in the battle. I can accept that proton is on the track but I can’t accept other points that you gave.

Please don’t forget that I agree proton does improve but proton competitor improve more that proton at the same time. Misubitshi rebadge proton car, are you proud of this? I wouldn’t think so, maybe this is the first and last time. Next time, what proton model is going to be rebadged by other car producer? When?

• MoFaz on Oct 30, 2010 at 4:19 am

and you’re saying hyundai/kia service centre in malaysia are much better? cheaper to maintain hyundai cars than protons? proton service centres need to serve more customers than hyundai/kia’s, so for the best service, you should make appoinment (unless emergency cases like car breakdown, etc.). otherwise you might end up waiting for hours. then you claim the service centre sucks?
            yes, proton is protected but still they have competition. korean manufacturers have no competition from outside world in their home market for almost 30 years. they banned car imports in 1960s and only lifted the ban in 1988. and do you think after that over-protection, hyundai/kia produced the best cars in 1990s? their car still terrible during that time.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:55 am

Hey man, where did you get your figure from? Wiki?
          “Germany’s BMW snapped the top rank in the Korean market with 9,652 units and 15.82 percent in market share in 2008″… (news.xinhuanet.com)
          I am not siding Hameed K though, at least I am not falling for it.

• Tiadaid on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:07 am

I think you should put luxury cars aside, because Korean’s don’t have a true brand that can compete in the luxury market. What about Honda & Toyota, or Ford, Renault, VW etc?

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:20 am

that figure from xinhuanet is for 2009, not 2008.
            korea has started to ease their import restrictions after US condeming them. they export 700,000 cars to US while importing 7,000 units only. the imports also increased after EU-Korea FTA. but still, korea require the cars made in EU to adhere to Korea standards rather than EU standards. this is some kind of “non-tariff barriers” setup by Korea probably to ‘minimise’ import of cars in order to protect local car makers.
            according to Reuters, Hyundai & Kia hold more than 80% market out of 1.45mil cars sold in 2009. how come 9,652 of BMW cars become 15.82%?
            9652/1450000 = 0.6% only

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Bro MoFaz…Bagus Ko buka blog sndiri, ceta pasal keta..mcm paultan ni…Tgk ramai ka pngikut Ko nanti..Klu ramai..bagus la..We all pun Support Ko…!haha..

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:08 pm

thanks for the support :)
            sorry bro, aku tak serajin Paul dan konco2 dia… thanks to paul, we get a place to exchange informations and opinions here.

• ProProton on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:26 pm

yes betul tu.. sokong mofaz.. aku sales advisor proton.. slalu baca post ko mafaz.. drp apa yg aku baca aku tgok ko ni cam penah kerja dlm proton ke?

• Dr.SD on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:54 am

good job bro mofaz, ur comment base on fact’ make basher stuck their ideas

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Do you think the Chinese carmaker dare to sell their cars in Korea,Japan or even the USA?
        Do you think the Korean dare to sell their cars in Japan?
        Do you think the Japanese dare to sell their cars in Korea?
        This guy is just purely stupid and useless.

• Tiadaid on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Good, associate yourself with that big mouth no brain MP.

• Hello Hameed, if you follow Bung Mokthar, then not only Proton will close shop, all car companies in Malaysia will lingkup.

• neonda on Oct 25, 2010 at 5:18 pm

i believe you’re not malaysian…the main reason why our industries cannot go widely is because we have lots of people like you man. you talking about korea..did you know how crappy their product was…but they still proud of it…but we as a malaysian…how good and improved our product was..but never been appriciated by egois malaysian like you. Improve your self first la..itu tak progressive ini tak progressive..i dont think you’re progressive too man…haih tired with the people like this.

• couldn’t agree more. As a person with a number of Korean products and a friend that sells Korean power generators, the quality is so so only.

• Prismo on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Hameed… Most politicians know nothing about car… for them the best car in the world was a Ferarri.. may be they dont even know how the spark plug look like.. peace ya…

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:47 pm

You the man….!Beli la barangan buatan M’sia..but Almost Politician – Beli la barangan Import M’sia..Haha..

• Talk Sense on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:33 pm

Aiyooo, of all the people you could’ve quoted, you chose him…. not really forward moving rite…

But Yea I guess everyone who’s ever owned a proton or any other car on the road has had some bad experience with it. However, that should not stop Proton from trying to improve.

Granted, the Saga is not everyone’s cup of tea, but this facelift would be a welcomed change for those who are car shopping in this price range.

:D

• learner on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:44 pm

being able to enter US, Japan, and Korea markets doesn’t makes you any better, the big 3 from US (Ford, GM, Chrysler) that born there also almost went bankruptcy. why must sell car there if we can sell better somewhere else?

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:35 am

betul betul betul…!!

• actually GM bankrupt last yr with US$172.81 billion debt…the GM exist now is New GM with the biggest owner is US gov

• greasemonkey on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:46 pm

ya iah,guys, stick to ori subject- SAGA facelift model. think price will increase?

• Civic_RS on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:35 am

Hameed…There is always pros & cons in this world..Proton has bad and gud thing oso…and as a malaysian, i dun think u just blindly agree with statement by a politician. How oso G do, the impact will be the same, those weak will suffer, but those strong b stronger. but v as human being must use our brain to think and not be emotional with sumthing that we can not see inside and outside. There will be other issue when we remove NAP and close the proton, surely that decision will spoil and pity to P1 User. I don’t know how many p1 car on the road right now, and if p1 close, all the after sale will drop, service/maintenance will be high, and i can say here that p1 car no mor valu and 2nd hand shop probably wont take p1 car anymore. its more to negative impact, highly negative!i believe alot ppl agreed with my coment. We as a malaysian, shuld be together and support p1 in restrengthening th company and Malaysia industrial car generally. Trust me, more ppl will suffer if p1 close. New era p1 is really positive, i can see bright future under now in p1, and quality of product also improve, even just a little but its better than nothing. its take years to change ppl mind, and hyundai also started with alot of issue, but they climb slowly with their ppl.

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Yeah Dude..!We need to Support PROTON..But sometimes..Our pemimpin ckp..Beli la barangan Buatan Malaysia.. But some of our Pmimpin “Beli la barangan buatan Import Malaysia”… Ni yg mnjadi persoalan..Hehe..Apa pun, as malaysian, we need to support malaysian..Hopefully, next generation tak terdidik dgn prkara2 yg tak baik..

• 4x4Fan on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:03 am

Org yg Thumb down ni..mmg “org2 yg berkepentingan”..hehe..

• canibalised on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Ya this taped version is nice !

• if there’s a photoshop of what it may look like would be cool

• Firdaus Abdullah on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:38 am

Ya, we could ask Theo to whip us one. Go on Theo, you’re the man..man

• hihihi on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:55 pm

a proton is a proton is a proton…

• Quattro on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:18 am

ada cadangan utk pakai engine 1.3L cps tak utk atau pakai 1.5 liter ke

• 4x4Fan on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:07 am

Hey Guys…look into the comments…Wah..We all, very concern about Malaysian product oh….!hahaha….

• rosdi on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:33 am

Nice!… me likey the front grill…. launch it NOW!… this instant!!

Hope there is an option for ABS and also leather seat.

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:30 pm

hurm.. i think Proton need to include ABS if they want to continue exporting Saga to Australia… ABS and ESC/ESP are required for all new cars in Aussie starting from 2011.

• good to see proton is improving..

• vader on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:26 pm

ya, they OEM from our local bumper accessory manufacturer. they paln ahead for all car models…… thats great, right

• I can see the cosmetics different at the meter…
    or is it still the same?

• Shaycoat on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:35 am

Hey, this one is awesome! The way of Proton going forward seems to be good with a lot of models, MC models are coming. This shows that Proton engineers are doing their works. I hope Proton will not do the same thing as the previous management did. They just rely on the same model of Proton Wira for almost 20 YEARS!

• canibalised on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Nolah dont worried, they are going to discontinue this model before another 2 years and 2 months. The reason is THEY CLAIMED THAT they are going to stick to a maximum 5 years life cycle. LETS WAIT AND SEE !!

• tikus on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:38 pm

That why they fired the bloody Tungku!!

• drMpower on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:53 pm

tungku had his reasons and plans to develop proton. he mentioned about how the small engine vehicles to be the big thing, few weeks after he was ‘sacked’. the inverter comma serves as a reminder that he wasnt actually sacked, but rather his contract was not renewed.

it was the work of the previous regime which includes a sleepyhead and a pingu. but now pingu no where to be seen. i dont know where hes gone. but he was the one that echo sleepyhead about the ‘insimilarity of engineering in making cars and motorcycles’ i couldnt put it as it was, but something like that he mentioned.

maybe he was right, except we got Honda successfully having both motorcycle and vehicles engineering, and BMW.vpingu also the head that sold 1 euro augusta. the wound open up again. if u have to sell (even after thorough examination when we buy it) then why not rm50?

nominal or not i dont really care. its half a billion down the drain.

bloody hell pingu

• learner on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:29 pm

i did not graduate in finance but i did learn that if you couldn’t avoid loses, from the available cost alternatives that you have, you should choose the less painful one. who know selling MV augusta at 1 euro is actually avoid bankruptcy to P1 (even though still painful, but at very less).

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:51 am

Proton bought MV Agusta for 70 million euros, sell to Gevi for 1 euro.
            Harley Davidson bought MV Agusta for 70 million euros too, and sell it back at 1 euro TOO!!…

so the real question is… what the hell wrong with MV Agusta really?

• i see stereo n volume control at stereing wheel
    yezzaaa

• lover on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:39 am

Bosan dah manjang je facelift..macam seolah-olah buyer sebelum ni x dapat yg terbaik je dari proton.mmg lah x dinafikan company keta lain ada wat macam ni..tapi proton ni mmg amat kerap je….huhuhu….

• frossonice on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:53 am

Saga ni ada facelift lain sebelum ni ke? Rasa macam takde je. Ini first time kot sejak dilancarkan. Lain tu special edition saja.

• keparat on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:55 am

lain kali ikut lah perkembangan skit…jgn ckp ikut sdap mulut je…

• Tiadaid on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:58 am

Kerap? Yang Myvi facelift sana sini tu tak kerap pulak? Saga SE mana boleh kira facelift, sebab dia tambah sikit je, tak ubah byk.

• vader on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:31 pm

What’s next….

Saga
        Saga SE
        Saga facelift (posting now)
        Saga special edition
        Saga Knight
        Grand Saga
        etc……

• sukasuki on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:10 pm

the Saga continues…hehehehe

• Myvi
          Myvi SE
          Myvi facelift
          Myvi SE again
          Myvi Limited edition
          Myvi facelift
          Mvyi SE return
          Myvi Limited edition balik smula
          Myvi facelift
          Myvi SE
          Myvi facelift skit2..
          Myvi Limited edition (warna pink!!!)

will there be another facelift 4 myvi..
          i think so..
          good job P2..

• QC ngong..!! on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:56 pm

they are not car designer maa,..bumper designer only that’s why so many thickfacelift liaoo…!!

• pompeaeau on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:07 pm

lover…..

I do not know what’s actually in your mind dude.amat kerap? well, since this is just a spyshot, better save your comment when the actual product relased.or u’re just 1 of the bashers who always mumbling without thinking???

• noname on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:54 pm

kalau ko bosan, ape kate ko tolong design satu kete all new untuk saga nih.. ok? guna otak la wei.., kete launch tahun 2008 memang la dh masa untuk facelift.. takkan terus all new.. vios dulu pun 5 tahun baru ganti dgn yaris sedan tuh.. pun takleh kira all new jugak..

• if u’re bored with Proton’s facelift, i wonder what would you say bout that of the Perodua MyVi..

• ichi24 on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:35 pm

before bashing, please read & understand what Paultan means.

typical mahresian basher mentality.

• saga baru facelift skali ko dah bising.. myvi dah lebih sepuluh kali facelift ko x komplen plak.. city, vios, accord, kia, hyundai semua pun pernah facelift.. another narrow minded typical basher…

• cggff on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm

sejakb ila pulak saga BLM ni ada facelift
      yg banyak kali facelift tu myVi tau tak ?

• ni la 1st time saga facelit
      haiiyoooo
      feels like wanna ban all this short minded web surfer
      probably surfing all night for porn, before stumbled to this post and drop some stupid comment….LIKE THIS

• Myvi
      Myvi SE
      Myvi facelift
      Myvi SE again
      Myvi Limited edition
      Myvi facelift
      Mvyi SE return
      Myvi Limited edition balik smula
      Myvi facelift
      Myvi SE
      Myvi facelift skit2..
      Myvi Limited edition (warna pink!!!)

just to add some more,

myvi gurl edition
      myvi boy edition
      myvi special edition of limited edition
      myvi limited edition of special edition

then after this what?
      myvi gay edition?
      myvi les edition?

common la perodua lg byk facelifted..

• waja2000 on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:40 am

Proton?
    1. please change the ugly dashboard too. re-design it to more decent look.
    2. change the ratio on manual or to Mit GB, tired to drive 4000 rpm at 120km ..cause high fuel consumption
    3. dual Airbag + ABS in high-line please

• i would be very happy if the car came with CVT like previous rumours said

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:43 pm

er this is only facelift, not new model.

• and in what price are u willing to pay?? below 30k?? or more than 40k? if below 30k u look for all the spec u mention…proton answer…GO TO HELL!!

• the mr. waja2000 doesnt say about the price but he want safety as the main concern for a new saga.
        go figure.

i hope saga h-line will introduce with starting price of RM45k.

• waja2000 on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:51 pm

i hope too HL price between 45?50K, and come with Manual and Auto … important is 2 airbag & ABS ….

• katob on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:10 am

quite good for RM45k…but P1 must include more specs and safety in them..

• daydesiang on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:57 pm

and the streeing wheel should position properly center to the driver but not slighly to the left…

• change to mits GB? i thought all of the proton line up are equipped with invec which is belong to mits. hmm…

• alldisc on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:42 am

this is really what a facelift should be, instead of minor change (MC) model. new bumpers, new lamps, new wheels, new colours…

keep up the good work proton!

• BeemerFreak on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:45 am

Hope proton would not only focus on designing new cars but also developing new engines.. Maybe a range of 1.4L-2.0L turbocharged variants to power across the range. Only then it will trully become a world beater.

• Wira Turbo on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Waiting proton to produce 2.0L turbocharged engine in future. Most people still remember that we need spend alot money (RM10K to 20K) even more for an old 4G63 engine in Wira to get 2++hp end up with alot problem as well.

Hope Proton also will produce a high performance car like EVO or WRX in coming years……. Malaysia boleh !!!

• razzack04 on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:45 am

Good to see that someone is making sure Proton’s engineers working. Last time after they make one model, the engineers and designers can sleep for a couple of years. Now, after new model come facelift. Good to see Proton is improving.

• sepucps on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

Sedih bila dgr org suka hina kerja orang lain..kalau x ada model keluar maksudnya engineer x buat kerja..senang2 saja label org mcm tu..ak baru grad taun 2008 dan mase ak grad tu ade apply utk keje proton tp xdpt..very high expectation to be a proton engineers..my peers ramai yg join proton n perodua n i can say P2 people more relaks than P1 engineers..no offence..just my personal observation..

• alldisc on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:35 am

really an enginner are you? try to post in english then….

p/s by the way, what is an engineer x doing? LOL dont fire me, just trying to be sarcastic.

• comment in bahasa not mean a person can not be engineer..r u mean all bahasa speaker r not capable person or stupid person?..a lot japanese engineer can not speak in english

• what the heck engineer must use english??until you work with foreigners than you know how bad their engineer’s english is..we’re lucky since our gov emphasized on english usage in our educational system.
            BTW…gud to see new thing come out from proton plant…

• Johndeep on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:03 pm

I work with alot of China Mainland Chinese, their English (oral and writting) is very very poor, but they make rocket. I doubt whether you can make the “mercun” rocket flies!!!

• Talk Sense on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Hilarious !

• sepucps on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm

LOL hard man, if only u can speak english then u can be an engineer WTF!!
          Even BEM accept me as an engineer n who r u then?god of engineer?
          U said “what is an engineer x doing?” what does it mean?even english philosopher can’t understand U bro..

• Fridz on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Suruh orang tulis dlm English. Dia punya English lintang pukang.

• teamsleepnine on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:08 pm

dude you think all german’s and jap’s engineer become god like good because their ability to speak english???

• banko on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:27 pm

weh,,aku jurutera jugak,,bahasa inggeris aku tak bagus sangat,,tapi boleh jugak boss aku yang Malaysian Chinese tuh suruh aku buat projek at India,Australia,Singapore,Thailand,Pakistan,Panama etc

percayalah cakap aku,,, aku selalu buat kerja dengan Jurutera dari negara yang bahasa ibunda mereka bukan bahasa inggeris(itali,china,india,czech,ireland,brazil,panama)…mereka guna bahasa inggeris pun bukan bagus sangat, sekadar kami semua boleh faham dalam talian telefon jek…..so jangan lah agongkan sangat bahasa inggeris tu…

so jangan perlekeh jurutera proton,at least, they are the best in south east asia….

• 1/2BM1/2BI on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:35 am

Bangang betul la mamat ni… do you think can speak English can do everything?
          engineer at GM, english pure ma.. bankrup ke apa GM tu..
          japanesse, germany, korean, chinesse.. what do you think they are?
          you your brain la..
          Be Malaysian, make sure you can speak Bahasa, ” Bahasa Jiwa Bangsa”.
          Unless you are foreigner…
          But dont blame people who want to speak and use Bahasa here…

• razzack04 on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Hehehehe.. jangan marah bro. Kawan2 aku pun ramai kat Proton, P2, ada yg level manager. Kau faham la.. dulu proton jarang2 keluar kereta, so nampak macm tak buat kerja. Kadang2 ada engineers bagi recommendation tapi management yg reject.

• amievil on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:55 pm

of course p2 workers more relax.

why?

BCOZ THEY JUST COPY!

• Katsu on Oct 25, 2010 at 6:14 pm

wahai, kalau engineer macam ni, memang aku tak mau beli proton…….jangan beli kereta yg dibina oleh monyet

• 4x4Fan on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:08 am

Katsu…Just want to Ask ya…mcm mana ko tahu keta ni di bina oleh monyet….?

• JACK HAMMER on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:15 pm

p2 got engineers????

wow..

• fantausy on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:56 am

Ya, I think they promise to renew the car after 5 years. Now i believe the saga already 3rd year after it launched. Now, it is time to facelift before they launch the new saga…

• Tengku Rizal on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:02 am

Hmmm……new saga. I need a car for use dailly. Hope this car can fullfill my need and hope price will not increase. I’m believe in Proton now since Datuk Syed Zainal managing Proton, their car more dependable and confident then before.

I really interested with Proton Inspira but unfortunately, you can’t you that car as dailly tranportation. Probally i’ll wait for new exora turbo for my family……..hopefully.. :-))

• buildiflying on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:07 am

Facelift in a few years… New model will be another 20years or so i guess :)

• pompeaeau on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:12 pm

good enough what? it’s an opportunity for you to start saving now so that u can buy it cash!

very genius ma,ur statement…..hehe

• Prismo on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm

How many year P2 selling kancil? how many times they refresh the look before kancil itself becoming a belalang? hehe

• not stupid men on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:31 pm

u talk too much..why dont you build the cars yourself….or be one of the proton emgineer…laaa…..

• skyer on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:08 am

The passenger side compartment, which is used to be opened, is closed now. I believe there is a passenger airbag there. Great!

• badact on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:13 pm

change content

-new lamp 4 system (like accord)
      -new hood
      -new bumper
      -front fog lamp
      -new rim
      -new fender
      -new side protection molding
      -side mirror with LED turn signal
      -new rear combination light LED
      -2 new exterior color
      -new rear spoiler
      -new rear reflector
      -muffler cutter
      -new rear bumper
      -passenger airbag
      -audio with mp3, usb & aux input
      -new seat fabric
      -new steering audio control
      -front & rear power window

that all change in saga face lift YES there is passenger airbag.

• zimba on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:45 am

what about a bluetooth audio? it’ll be cool~

• zimba on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:46 am

what about a bluetooth audio? it’ll be cool and what all youngster want in their car.

• JACK HAMMER on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:22 pm

WOW… so many changes..

and new MYVI only change colour..
        to PINK!!!!!

yea.. a very MACHO-PINK… for a PINKY-GAYS (i mean guys)

LOL…

• aduss on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:14 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA… PINK….harga mahal lak 2.. tah la mcm ner org leh nk beli… beli la myvi h line lg nagus dari LE,, eeerrrrrr

• aldan on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:59 pm

u forgot 1 thing.. new price.. :)

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:13 pm

if the new price really justify the enhancements, nobody will complaint…

• 4x4Fan on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:10 am

Nothing Special la Dude..This is my perspective..

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:22 am

what speciality are u looking for?
      you can choose from many more models from proton or perodua if saga doesn’t suit your taste.

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:20 pm

That why la I have Waja…This only my opinion..like yours….

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:26 pm

there is nothing what i’m looking for la Broooo….It just my opinion…That is why la I have Waja…

• ichi24 on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:31 pm

so? if you don’t like that move along,

they are doing their job to meet customer expectation.

• azrai on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Maybe he was referring to Ramly burger original and special burger near the junction at his house. :-)

• 4x4Fan on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:26 am

Hey Dude..It is only my perspective la, only little bit jak yg berubah Saga ni..So terima la knyataan..Absolutely I don’t have this Saga..I only hv Waja..Apa daaaa……………….

• that why it’s called facelift…

• boyxinan on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:46 am

Don’t mention bout them 4x4Fan.. they just p1 people.. always patronize other people, always said to others to ‘Proud to be Malaysia’, at last they fraud people. they cannot received down comment, they are always right.. all the people thumb you down are p1 people. they just get paid by company. Dont you see, if paul post the p1 news, lots of people thumb down other who comment down p1. they dont care bout others people perspective even they dont know you are p1 owner.. Nothing wrong for what you said, nothing special, only bad quality, bad customer service, also price hike spare part u can get from proton. they only want to support their own pocket money from their establish vendor, that monies will come back to them..

• ichi24 on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:27 am

lol, you feed the troll

• 4x4Fan on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Haha…boyxnian..Yeah..Absolutely right..Dorg ingat diaorg ramai btl la apa diaorg punya pndpt..Every people have their own opinion maa…Like them also…nak depend this car..depend la..We only comment and give our opinion..Ni la org2 yg susah terima knyataan..org yg bfikiran sempit..hahahaha…Klu btl2 nak depend diaorg punya “keta” keminatan ni..depend la puas2…PALUI…….!

Mr. Paul…just want your opinion..Why people like “this” Susah terima knyataan ar…?hehe…

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:31 am

but i can see various improvement over the pre-facelift versions. including radio control on steering, passenger airbags, and turning light indicators on side mirrors.

• the head lamp looks like more larger than the current saga…

• keong on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:43 am

Yeah, compare with photos of existing Sagas, the new headlights seem to stretch all the way to the grille, with the turn signal indicators next to the grille.

The rear lights seem to bulge out at the bottom as well.

• savvy88 on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:32 am

hmmm… audio control on the steering.. dual srs airbags.. side mirror signal indicator.. and also 4-door power windows perhaps? nice.. hope they tweak the ecu or engine to make proton saga more responsive..

• thats great but if u don use signal lite when overtaking is just waste of money

• elite on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:35 am

from the looks of it, is it designed in UTM?

• sepucps on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Why is that so?i’m interested to know since i’m ex-UTM..
      never heard about designing proton in UTM since the wind tunnel scale model test for waja iinm..

• alimuni on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Ya I think it’s from UTM. They have a R & D programme with UTM Skudai. So pround to be a UTM graduate

• savvy88 on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:36 am

also wonder what is the thing that they covered at the side front of the car.. at the former-location of the side signal indicator.. bcoz the car already have side mirror signal, so no need to put extra side signal there..

• mr. wiseGuy on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:37 pm

its called fender…hmmmm me also wonder why ??
      sirip jerung perharps ?

• Proton should instead look into their engine……apparently the fuel consumption is on the high side owing to the low torque engine design…..even with IAFM they couldn’t solve the issue.

• harry on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:57 am

put in 1.6 la proton..i know you can do it..

• cggff on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:16 pm

got that already in the market
        mostly for taxis (red in colour) but normal buyers also can buy
        but as point of view 1.3 is enough or this kind of car
        it’s light enough to be moved and for everyday use

• udasalleh on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:04 pm

All Proton Saga taxis are in 1.6l… its already available albeit in MT…

http://proton-edar.com.my/onlinebooking/index.php?page=booking&car=47

• Wo hen wuliao on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:06 am

for that wait for phase 2 mc for early next year..

• scgtimk1 on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:09 am

What do you mean by High Fuel consumption?

I drove the Auto Saga M-line and Full tank RM55 can go more that 420km ….

Even manual 1.6M can get more than 450km per tank.

Town driving 100% of course Savvy is better… 400km for Rm50

• me drive auto saga 2008…not affect my pocket at all 1 month RM200-250

• On my friend’s wedding day, we drove from penang to perak, all cars full tank. The Gen2 is brand new, Vios is 2nd hand. Half way thru, Gen2 already half tank, need to refill.

This is not a fair comparison coz vios by toyota is such a huge corporation, lets hope Proton can improve on the fuel consumption by another 10 to 20%.

Given a choice, people rather choose fuel consumption over design.

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:35 am

what the heck.. it’s definitely a lie..
          penang – perak is about 200km (depending on which area of perak u refering to). my waja full tank can go well over 400km… but if i adhere to speed limit 110kmh only, it can reach 500km

• scgtimk1 on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Wei! this thread compared Proton Saga la not Gen2.

Of course Gen2 1.6A is worse around 11L/100km town driving.

• savvy full tank – port dickson – johor bahru pergi balik…

• walauweh…how did you drive man…mine average full tank rm55 around 350KM-365KM only…its manual though..

• sure that fuel efficient?even more fuel efficient than Vios?
        Did you modify your car like adding grounding cable and voltage stabilizer?
        If yes then is another case, Saga will only clog in at most 13km/l and this figure is on the high way ! Proven!

• scgtimk1 on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:39 am

Well for the Saga I drive sedately la. Trunk road 80-90kmh Highway Max 110kmh.

This type of driving i did when I went to outstation not enough money to roll in my pocket coz claim very late received from finance.

Normal without seeing the speedometer and ignore and drive without thinking of coz I got the FC mileage as you say.

But the Savvy on the other hands no need thinking la drive as crazy as you wish but still very fuel savvy.

• scgtimk1 on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:40 am

Owh and on another note the Saga was service strictly at P.Edar and they change the Firmware at 20,00km service. After that then the FC improves tremendously

• fame a'mous on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:37 am

may i ask, what is the firmware that you’ve changed at 20k km service?

• 4x4Fan on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:17 am

Yeah Dude.. just want to add..PROTON Should focus on Safety also..modification on facelift or whatsoever, is not a priority for some consumers..

• gen2lama on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:26 am

get 1.6 blm….better fc….errr stil got ka?

btw campro is not that guzzler ..managed to get 7.1l/100km on my exora…constant speed at 100-110km/h…..RM35 for 270km… 80% highway

• subhero on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:36 pm

agreed with u bro. im using CPS waja 09. sometimes pening how to jimat my minyak. bawak slow pun makan minyak, laju pun lagi makan minyak.

anyway cps. brings me power otr. better than vios. LOL

• scgtimk1 on Oct 25, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Did you service you Waja at Proton regularly?

Coz my friend also had the same problem but after went to service at P.Edar at Glenmarie and complain, they reflash with the latest firmware, his Waja CPS FC improves tremendously.

You should try it, but after that he also complain his car can only go to top speed of 190kmh instead of previous 210kmh before the re flash.

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:44 pm

210kmh? what the heck… it’s fine if u do that on track, or if u die alone while speeding like that. but if you bring passengers or hit another car head-on, there’s 0% chance for them to survive. even though you’re not stupid, think before you do stupid thing please…

• banko on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:30 pm

190 not enough aa? tell you friend ,proton create a car,, not a bullet train

• i wonder where did your fren drive with that speed? wanna suicide or what? drive safely… you might kill other people just like what the express bus did!!

• what do you mean by improves TREMENDOUSLY?
          How fuel efficient will Waja be?I suppose.

• Uncle on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:11 pm

But soma claimed that the fuel consumption for this car is lower than a Kelisa, which I really doubt. My Kelisa is 11 cent per km (RON95). I am expecting some discussion based on facts and figures. Please advise….

• subhero on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:01 pm

eleven cents per km for kelisa?…

OMG…

how old ur kelisa? 4 ? 5? 7? auto? manual? drive like hantu ?

• Uncle on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:14 pm

4 years manual. are you ok ? calling your god even for a discussion ?

• autojohndoe on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:09 pm

Then my persona is more jimat than kelisa… 5.8l/100km x rm1.85/l = rm0.1073/km…

• Uncle on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:49 pm

THIS IS IMPRESSIVE !!

• autojohndoe, is your persona manual or auto?

• Possible? 5.8L/100km? If persona is that fulel efficient then for sure everyone will grab it and it will be under the TOP TEN MOST FUEL EFFICIENT CAR! Why I never see Persona’s ranking?

• The “gentleman” up there he is either damn bluffing or he drives 50 km/hr only (even on highways).
          Are you sure its 5.8L/100km? Heck I owned a persona manual and auto gen 2 cps. City driving + highways and most of the time its 6.3L/100km. It’s even worst with auto, around 7.8L/100km.

Heck, my third car which is bigger and heavier, Mitsubishi Grandis can defeat both cars up there with half tank only for the same distance and fully loaded with passengers and goods. Protong apologist and blind supporters bluffing till kingdom comes.

Figure it out.

• scgtimk1 on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Half a tank Grandis how much fuel?

half a tank Gen2 how much fuel?

• this guy..he like to condem proton but he still buy n drive proton..lol

• Prismo on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:44 pm

WOW!! now SY0H has bought a Grandis.. how many car do u have?

• boyxinan on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:45 am

They fraud people, told people to be ‘proud’ but then they fraud people..

• you pay more for your petrol co z you dun know how to drive

• scgtimk1 on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:43 am

Based on the last time Exora MC pricing strategy though the saga rumored to be fitted with CVT and improved IAFM Engine or maybe with VVT?

Suspect The pricing will be as follows.

RM46K H-Line 1.3CVT. Dual Airbag, ABS, 4PW
    RM42K M-line 1.3CVT. Single Airbag, 4PW
    RM40K M-Line 1.3MT. Single Airbag, 4PW
    RM39K B-Line 1.3CVT. No AIrbag, 2PW
    RM37K B-Line 1.3MT No Airbag, 2PW

• Tengokje.. on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:54 am

Nice move P1. No face lift of SAGA since they launched it. Please make sure the quality is better and better for all P1 model and a reasonable price too.

Salam…

• hahaha… same feeling to me when they launched gen2 cps after I bough the plain campro…
      i believe those who bought altis also feeling the same…
      lancer buyer??… dunno… hehehe..

• ermm.. streering wheel?

• artworkz on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:35 pm

nice. hope proton become 100% made in malaysia.

• subhero on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:40 pm

side mirrow – persona elegance
    stereng – neo cps
    plate no. – indonesian? hehe…

ok lah.. better than nothing

• freeze on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:48 pm

I see steering audio controls! Celaka last time when i buy don’t have. Bodoh puya Proton.

• taco21 on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:51 pm

comes the new facelift , comes also the new price…. heard from proton dealers that the new facelift comes wif additional RM3,000-00. meaning new saga all xtra $$$.

• noname on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:56 pm

nicely done!

• Arcane on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm

The hood has design cues from the Neo

• Lancer better lah on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:13 pm

When hot chic see this car sure tak boleh tahan. Make sure you don’t open your window when pass by Bukit Bintang. Nanti amoy lompat masuk !

• balakong ah beng on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:14 pm

what is the biggest rim size i can use for this car ? just wanna make sure i can beat the city and vios

• mr. wiseGuy on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:38 pm

hahahahahahhh..nice one !

• Johndeep on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Bigger heavier, how to beat city & vios?

• claxxion on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:51 pm

15 inches is the recommended size for upgrade. Best in terms of comfort and handling. 16 inches might look nicer, but you have to change the springs to eliminate the common ‘sagat’ problem.

• sagarian on Oct 25, 2010 at 2:26 pm

beat in term of rim size or what?

• claxxion on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Ride comfort. 16 inches might get stuck on the saga due to the wider tyres as the rear suspension is too soft in stock form. If you fit in 3 people at the back, you’ll know what i mean. In order to use 16 or 17s, it is advisable to change the springs or install a buffer.

• 17″..believe me..its fit..i saw 1..saga with 17 vip style rims~ but 16 with low profile tire was good looking too~

• Talk Sense on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Pasanglah tire Bigfoot terus… Sure Win! ! hahahahha

• fazron80 on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:58 pm

You can’t beat city or vios on a traffic light drag by just changing rims LOL. You can probably go find a myvi to geli-geli. :d

• Just to remind you that Saga 1.3L in stock form is not going to defeat Vios /City by any means unless you plug in a turbo.

• balakong ah beng on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:34 am

I think can beat them…..but my bajet onli RM 1400. I think will get a 17 inci second hand punya lah. Actually planing 18″ second hand Lancer Rim with Yokohama tayar. Any advis huh ?

• turbo is overkill. just change the extractor and let see who is leading.

• actually im quite boring defeating vios/city….even when vios jump start the traffic light still manage to defeat them…but straight line speed cannot la compete with vios/city coz am strictly 80-90km/j driving except overtaking…still want to enjoy life some more

• noname on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:43 am

18″ for sure…

• guesst on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:32 pm

i cant see properly whether the tissue box in the front passenger seat is covered or not. if yes, maybe there is an air bag for the front passenger too!! wao!!

• bryan.jones on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:38 pm

that Mak Cik in the interior shot reflection tapau damn a lot of food!

• claxxion on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:49 pm

I notice the new colour. Nice! Hope they’ll introduce new colours as well. It’ll freshen the lineup.

• new front signal placement (inside the headlight). tail lights maybe da same combination like persona elegance. =)

• nabill on Oct 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm

the blm has been a successful car for proton , i think thats y thy didnt want to change too much , hope thy will introduce new colors

• helmy on Oct 25, 2010 at 2:20 pm

new facelift, new price

• Will this facelift have the new Getrag manual boxes?

• nice steering

• kenzai on Oct 25, 2010 at 2:23 pm

I heard from my friend engineer from proton that the new saga will be launch with 1.6 engine. P1 want to get the market before P2 launch their myvi 1.5 on mid of next year. Maybe this facelift will with 1.6 engine and will launch on december. I hope so…

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:19 pm

the launch is during KL motorshow

• losantara on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Never believe this MoFaz fella. Last time he said that the Inspira is going to be priced at 70k. The remain difference 50k with the Lancer can be used to invest in ASB.

NOW MY DREAM INSPIRA IS PRICED WAY AT 95k !! Dia pandai main tipu sahaja !!

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:32 pm

do you understand the meaning of ‘speculations’? at that point, we can only speculate the price. and my speculation is between 75k-100k based on the engine & transmission. you can find my previous post here:

http://paultan.org/2010/09/05/proton-p390a-based-on-mitsubishi-lancer-previewed-on-tv3/#respond

if you’re not bothered to check, this is what i wrote:
          “nope, persona already very close to current waja price. if this waja lancer is priced within the same bracket, it will jeopardize persona sales. most probably is around Kia Forte price, or within 75-100k”

and guess what, it’s not that far from my speculation right? you can still get your dream inspira at slightly below 80k for manual 1.8. Now losantara, stop being a LOSER and calling other people a liar, you’re just like politicians who keep twisting words and facts for your own benefits.

• losantara on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:17 am

wah MAIN TIPU LAGI !!

Remember that paragraph you mentioned about ASB investment from Inspira Saving ? YOU HAVE SELECTIVE MEMORY LOST ah. You mean you really want me to find out the evidence and show you ?

• Tiadaid on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:41 pm

They already have Persona & Gen2 with 1.6 engines, so it doesn’t make sense that the Saga’s 1.6 as well!

• azrai on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:35 pm

You heard from a friend’s uncle’ auntie’s husband’s neighbour who work in proton right? 1.6 engine for SAGA is only for taxis. No point having 2 identical 1.6 engine to sell if not Persona sales also dropped.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm

now that is a good idea, since the 1.3 really needs to be revved hard to get it moving.

• scgtimk1 on Oct 25, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Maybe the new CVT transmission and new CFE engine will adress that.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 25, 2010 at 6:54 pm

there are question marks over the longevity of CVT trannies so best to leave them out for now. anyways, double clutch systems are now en vogue.

• 1.6?? i hope not…lets saga be 1.3 je…1.6 go for persona or gen2…1.8 and 2.0 go for Inspira… the perdana REPLACMENT will be 2.4 kot…hihi

• i hope saga blm will introduce 1.5litre engine indentical with vios and city.

i hope so..

• USDfan on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:48 pm

myvi?…myvi da patut kene lupus jek..bosan daaa…

• dagger on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:03 pm

waht can we say is SAME SHIT DIFFERENT DAY!!!

• claxxion on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:03 pm

The fender is also new. I noticed the different curve line at the fender/bumper area compared to the original blm.

• WahWah on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:05 pm

Am I the only person who hates the steering wheel?

I like how the new Saga look, but again, I hate the steering.

• bawah tanah on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:14 pm

theophilus chin…now you have work to do…please render this car for us…please!

• Izhar on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:35 pm

ok….hope have dual air bags, ABS and 4 power windows….

• Faisal on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:02 pm

looks like it will b far better then the current one! i like! hope p1 will b back at the top!

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:40 pm

It’s can fit to 18″ too.big lips..very nice.

• tacos on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Hmmm..Inspira or New saga facelift..

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:52 pm

haiyoo.. jauh sangat perbezaan tu.. macam langit dengan bumi!

• stephen on Oct 25, 2010 at 5:12 pm

It mention something on LED…hopefully they can work on removing all the incandescence light bulb…all go for LED even for interior light.

not sure will it help environment or not …maybe not significant since electricity from car are generated when the car is running

• Just something i noticed, the headlight should be a totally different design beside rearranging the signal and headlamp placement. Coz if you see closely the shape of the “connecting line” (dunno what it’s called) between the front bumper and fender is different from the outgoing model

• I can see the passenger side has an air-bag installed.

• Maserati on Oct 25, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Really LOL at those saying this car is nice,just by looking at a taped up picture.

How can you say its nice just by a few taped up pictures?!!! Its just looks like a normal SAGA.LED lights,audio controls .Thats all I can see.So is that enough to call it NICE?! zomg!

This car has basically one of the worst FC on planet earth for its CC.Thats why its dirt cheap.

Smart guys wont get this piece of junk.Proton thought they could sell more by IMPROVING the car with some aesthetics.Pls lah Proton,get rid of this junk.Its the 2nd worst car ever made by you behind Proton Tiara.

Rubbish car will forever be rubbish car.Even Myvi so much more expensive also until now still topping the sales chart! Go figure!

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 25, 2010 at 6:52 pm

hey go easy bro, while what you say is true and i believe the govt totally fucked up the car industry with proton. the saga is at least cute like the old mazda 121 sedan. and it is nowhere near as a bad as the tiara, you cannot simply rebadge something french like the citroen ax and expect it to work. i guess they are just following the trend of cosmetic updates to generate excitement amongst buyers since that is what P2 does very well, e.g. myvi SE, LE, etc.

• mizzuddin on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:52 pm

at last… someone bash the government… the true party to be bashed!!!

• savvy88 on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:46 pm

At least proton do it with their own effort.. Perodua Myvi is jz a copycat.. it can sell well jz bcoz of the design is normal and has no direct competitor..

And FYI, Saga BLM and Myvi compete each other every month in term of sales figure.. some time Saga lead, some time Myvi does. Proton Saga is not a rubbish car. There is demand for it, so Proton fulfill it. And it works well.. Congrats PROTON!!

• Johndeep on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:32 pm

It is a bit too much for calling Saga is rubbish model as it is 3rd best selling model now. This kind of comment is actually rubbish.

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:56 pm

hahaha.. u’re in the state of denial. saga has already overtook myvi la.
      go back to sleep, and keep on dreaming your maserati until the world ends.

• autojohndoe on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:14 pm

not always top… in may, june and July i think… saga was top over myvi…

• smart guys don’t talk like u..

• Dak Ajan on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:38 pm

LOL, statistic increasing. Go figure it out…
      i guess this guy from italy who eat sambal belacan and hv a blonde hair yet saying he’s Malaysian.
      This car is for Malaysian and it made from Malaysian market. It was built from Malaysian taste based on study and survey of Malaysian.
      it’s not cheap but it’s value for money.
      Dannazione! Stronzo

• ayamxxx on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:52 pm

nice point. Proton still lame. give us Campro which eat fuel like the’s no tomorrow.
      Nex time, Campro with turbo. Power wise is ok, but in term of FC, it suck big time.

Other maker can make engine that very good fc, like vvti, vtec, ivtec, mivec. but cps is proven no good fc.

go figure

• Dak Ajan on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:43 pm

did you know that CPS patented by Lotus Engineering in UK around late 90″?
        did you know one of Porsche car use this CPS inside their engine for valve management systems?
        i bet you never drive Proton powered by CPS…
        I drive it and i amazed about it.
        It’s always true. Always exciting. Always Original.

• fazron80 on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:02 pm

If this saga comes out from Perodua then it won’t be rubbish? Is that it? And if Myvi came from Proton than it won’t top the sales chart. Is that it? The truth is Japan DNA in Myvi makes it like a ferrari to malaysians. If Saga was produced as JDM you think it won’t top the sales chart?

• neonda on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:16 am

he said so because he owned ‘Maserati’ batch at the back of his car.

• savvy88 on Oct 25, 2010 at 5:58 pm

steering wheel = taken from satria neo
    side mirror = stolen from persona elegance

• if u duno about car then get lost. a manufacturer can use their item like steering wheel or side mirror on few model . it doesnt matter.
      if u duno ppl go study,, other big car manufacurer even japanese do the same thing ok,, dont talk shit here u dungu !

• BeemerFreak on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:10 am

Give chance to people………. We shall not humiliate them here, but rather laugh behind…. There are just too many people commentiing who dont know enough about cars

• savvy88 on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:29 am

I didn’t even tell that it is the wrong step to use the same part in many models.. It is good for cost-effectiveness as long as it is suitable to fit.
        I juz clarify where they take the design.. Cheers…!! ;-)

• nice work proton engineers..SURE susah gila babas nak “BUAT” facelift ni///

• callenish on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:04 pm

then build your own car, it may take forever i guess :)

• Prismo on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:42 pm

Azam car, on the papers maybe, FUYOOOH… but when it goes into final product.. aduh mak…

• xprezzy on Oct 25, 2010 at 6:08 pm

now in sarawak, there are many saga using 17″x7jj rim with low profile tyres.. and can get it lowered too.. so damn low.. going to mod mine in two more weeks.. hehhee.. :)

• Hameed Koyakuti, Proton should close shop? This is not burger stall ,no business just close…think about hundreds of workers or even thousands who have families to feed…I criticise Proton a lot but not to close shop…to see them keep surviving….anyway I think this Saga model is a good effort from Proton

• “Thousands of people” versus 27 Million Malaysian subsidizing them? It’s a big price to pay for such an “elite” group. Literally, nobody is advocating protong to close shop. They just need to lift their protection banner and stand by its own. If it dies, it will not happen in one day, at least it will suffer for a while before another better competitor coming in to take the throne. Your excuse that “thousands of people” (10,000 staffs, supports, and vendors) will lose their jobs is a very shallow argument. 10,000 people losing their jobs, the country will still be able to cope with 10,000 jobless people than 27 Million jobless rakyat. Last time the big G wanted to banned second hand parts import to ‘kedai potong’. Estimated 100,000 people will suffer, some brilliant MP says the country can still cope with this small “losses”. Luckily this plan was never implemented (or will be soon, who knows). So why bother 10,000 people? You do the math and figure it out.

• Prismo on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:52 am

What happen if u got fired from ur company.. did u happy then?

• Jeebonz on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:57 am

Macamana 27 juta rakyat Malaysia ‘subsidised’ P1? Berapa yang u ‘subsidised’ P1? i don’t think so that I subsidised P1….

• sukasuki on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:39 pm

long time not see SYOH bashing proton with all his effort as if world will end by year 2012
        u claim u have persona arent u? last time u said u got waja, also wira
        wahla weyyy, u are so damn loyal proton user but still bash proton kaw2 cannot kawtim maaa
        if proton is sooooo baaaddddd, why dont u throw ur proton away and get a damn mercedes or bmw, simple rite?
        sold off all ur proton car n get a 2nd hand E90 3series bmw. simple solution.

• gen2lama on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:55 pm

he got grandis also maa…

• he like bash proton kaw2 but still he buy n drive his “protong”..i think in his watch list saga facelift, inspira n emas

• Prismo on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:51 pm

And now he said he got a Grandis…

• Salamandar on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:42 pm

Do you even know how to calculate? 27 Million people subsidizing Proton? Did you know only a small portion of this country income come from Income Tax? and other tax related to the citizen.

Stupid people never learn.

• Nizam80 on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Will it come with those rumoured new CVT transmissions from Getrag? Anybody can clarify this?

Actually, the SAGA is a decent car. My only complaint is the current 4-speed auto. Compared to the floaty MeeVee, the SAGA feels much planted to the ground at higher speeds.

• nolan on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:06 pm

it might be a mitsubishi rebadge project…..?

i can see ABS brake all round……and Intercooler too….

• WhiteFox on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:07 pm

you are thinking to much for such price tag car. Unless you willing to pay more.
      Hope it can come with dual air bag :)

Mitsubishi no have such small sedan for them to copy too and it just some update of current saga with same platform.

Possible internal change
      Better ECU
      Better improve IAFM

Impossible change
      CVT (i dont think so it will sure hike the price)
      new engine (i believe that will on next generation SAGA)

• Proton Moving Forward!
    Best of luck.

• ariel on Oct 25, 2010 at 8:31 pm

haha……
    suka tengok ekzos dah nampak balik……….
    gud job proton……….

• suraya on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:06 pm

it has a usb port too

• CopyCat on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:06 pm

good design..headlamp with 3 circle looks like alfa 159

• nabill on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:27 pm

no way its gonna be with be cvt as ppl mentioned above , that campro 1.3 almost impossible to pair with cvt …the car is good enough for the intended buyer , u put cvt and other thngs will shoot the price up , which is missing the point for the blm as its intended to be a low budget high volume car

• scgtimk1 on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:53 am

Are you a fortune teller?

I think putting the CVT is the right move coz the current Mitsubishi transmission is taken from the Waja which is intended to be put in low RPM torques engine, whereas the campro is a high rpm torque engine.

CVT is the perfect setup for campro. How do you now it’s gonna be campro in this saga? REMEMBER! in 2008 proton introduce the all new IAFM engine in what model?

The cost of CVT is not that high, it is already year 2010, CVT may cost the same as normaal AT transmission.CVT is just a stopgap measure until DSG become affordable in the near future.

• theking on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:27 am

Nabill,

There will be Saga Facelift with IAFM+ and Punch CVT Q4 2011.

• nabill on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:12 pm

maybe , thrs no offcicial statemement from proton , dats why stil doubtfull

and regarding to scgtimk1 , i meant with the campro , the 4speed auto and cvt have alot of diferences in size , u can see the pic for both online , dats y i said looks like alot of job for the cvt to actually pair it with the campro ,specially in the blm as its smaller in dimension….and no , im not a fortune teller , jus giving opinion….very mature of u !

• sukasuki on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:44 pm

good way for cvt, can improve fc for the car. d weakness for the saga is, the bench seat at the back cannot be folded just like any other car to access the trunk. so hard if i want to bring a ladder, usually just put it inside the trunk, fold the bench and the ladder will go through the front seat. got dis problem last time with my fren’s saga when i want to bring the ladder to fix the house roof.

• rubbish car , manifold problem and heavy consumption, i have one and i have replace 2 manifolds in 2 years… crap car such a waste of money…. will be trading in for a cheap jap car this weekend…5 years warranty my foot…. after 5 years 5 manifolds ah wasting my time to the service centre up and down and wait for my damn turn… 40k + just wasted

• Sambalbelacan on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:01 pm

I hope this facelift not just some cosmetic changes, Proton should improve saga’s iafm module quality.

• fazron80 on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Looking at the steering is a turn off. It’s time Proton do something about their DNA steering looks. I know that Proton wants it as a trademark so that everyone knows it’s a Proton steering. But seriously it has to go. It’s time for a new steering design.

• yeah you are right…
      time for the designer to develop new steering design

• izaharuddin on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:54 pm

saya baru sahaja booking saga blm, basic line… Emm… Nampaknya kena call SA utk delay dan ambil new facelift nie… Nampak mcm cantik.. Emm.. Rasanya dgn harga yg ditawarkan cukup berbaloi sbg second car banding dgn viva yg lbh kecil tp harga lebih kurang sama ataupun myvi yg mahal hangit. Lagipun my first car toyota vios doing well jobs… Selesa utk long distance. Sebenarnya dlm isu nasional car setiap negara ada pre emptive protection perimeter utk apa yg mereka panggil national interest. Dan mereka juga pastika bahawa mereka tidak overrun by outsiders. Namun yg x puas hati adalah interest finance yg melampau utk nasional car. Ketika toyota boleh offer bawah 4% tp nasional car 4.1% klu x silap. Kualiti nampak bnyk peningkatan namun masih bnyk ruang harus dibaiki….

• infinity on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:39 am

i wonder what is taped at the fender??looks too big for a signal, and it already has the wing mirror signal…maybe a proton logo??any idea??

• shawal on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:38 am

Make sure this time it comes with at least DUAL airbags or more at no extra cost

• seriousSAM on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:51 am

walauweeii 138 thumbs down on that fella comment.. pity meh.. LOL

nice facelift tho…

people wants so many thing to be put in this facelift..
    and if proton granted their wishes but with high price tag.. they bash some more..

• PeYno Fanz on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:27 am

Proton ni nampak sangat takde duit, tampal-tampal sticker ke untuk kereta baru yang sedang testing..(kesian dowh)

Kalau company besar macam BMW, mereka sediakan proper cover dan bukan tampal sticker hitam..

So, rakyat Malaysia, kalau kesian kat Industri Automotif, at least bantu la beli kereta Nasional.. ada la jugak duit mereka nak buat RnD baru…

Ni tak, Proton nak kumpul duit duat RnD melalui jualan Inspira, ahli politik pun bagi komen bodoh.. (sebenarnya org politik ni dengar cakap org bawah je, kalau Japanese wannabe org bawah tu, org politik tu samela Japanese wa kenabeb)

So far Saga ni takde sgt orang komplen, so QAQC dan ada improvement la tu..

• Cucukman on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:34 am

i can see from rear picture, it still 1.3 emblem.

• alf147 on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:12 am

this saga if not mistaken also come with 1.6L engine!!……….

• littlefire on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:02 am

Already have 1.6L engine, they call it as red SAGA SE for Taxi spec..

• katob on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:18 am

aiyoooo…
      1.6 for our taxi transportation and also for Australian…

for Malaysian……B-Line only…

• zimba on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:41 am

sure come with arr.. takkan the current 1.6 for texi not going to have facelift? of course all one shot facelifted.

• bro, saga taxi is 1.6L
      if 1.6L engine in this newfacelift, the price will increase little bit..

ppl choose saga coz of cheap price and big space..

maybe proton provide 2 option, 1.3L and 1.6L..
      if 1.6L about Rm 45K, its okla..if hgher than that, ppl think twice

• alf147 on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:01 pm

EX5…ive seen this car…without the black tape..but only the front side..wat i knw there will be 1.6L with this new facelift….
        i agree with u that to enable proton to compete…there will be option of 1.3 n 1.6…the one tested on the road last 2 months was with 1.6L bro…
        just wait n see but im sure the facelift to come with 1.6…if not soon later.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:55 pm

I think Proton should liberalise its Campro CPS technology to all of their models and try to develop new breeds of CPS based on the existing one. For example, use the CPS mechanism to open only one intake valve during low RPM and open both valves at about 2,300 rpm – a similar concept as in VTEC-E and economy-oriented i-VTEC. And it will be cheaper to produce compared with the existing CPS engine.

• Prismo on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:57 pm

If got 1.6 then, I am very sure that P2 salesman will geleng kepala… now susah mau kondem PROTON woo.. they will said… hehe.. :D

• Salamandar on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:36 pm

If they do that this model will cannibalize Persona.

• mfahd_88 on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:39 am

urm….the silver color of this saga look pink-ish to me
    new color offers for the facelift version perhaps??

• nicko on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:00 am

This FL Saga will use LED tailight??BTW, how many LEDs?

• olman on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:27 am

damn can still see from the spyshot, the indicator & wiper sticks remains at the wrong side,

other wise good job although nothing stellar

• sukasuki on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:46 pm

it is possible for 1.3 campro CPS? if put cps i think it can improve fc quite a lot.and also gear ratio, make it 3000rpm for 120kmj in auto tranny. sure jimat minyak maaaa. so dat of the fuel price hike again, we can opt to get proton for its fc and also effort to buy. quality of the interior? go blame the vendor, shut down their factory if they cannot give good product. those vendor with damn attitude cause people spit on proton face. haiya proton, be strict with ur vendor. if they cannot give good QC parts, just terminate the contract. u r d boss, u got d power.hahaha.

• GaryPkk on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Good news to 1st badge Saga BLM (Fender without Signal Lamps) owner.. now can buy facelift BLM Side mirror with indicator to replace it

• Nick Heidfeld on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Satria Neo CPS is the best!… Yeahaa!!!

• based on the current on the road Saga,the front view( grilles,light and bumper)looks ok but the back looks slightly old style,..maybe the lights or boot…I’m not sure,maybe Proton should look into this….reminds me of the small 70’s car….

• nolan on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:47 am

actually frankly speaking this Saga model is targeted for poor people that only enough money to eat and buy poor quality car……
    sad to see them having burden maintaining 9 years loan and endless car problem made by Proton….
    but this is life dude…..what to do….

• Being a Malaysian, I am proud that our country have its own national car company and to a certain extent, I do believe that Proton did produce some good quality/looking products.

However, after seeing the progress of the company (through its range of products), I don’t really see an innovation in the design, just more of an evolution (read-facelift) to most. I know it’s not easy to design and build a car, but all I want to see in Proton is for them to lessen the ‘copying’ or re-badging practice. We have loads of good engineers and designers which could produce very high quality/looking cars, so why do we always get the same ol – same ol?

To Proton, I would love to see more new design and yes you can do facelift, but not over and over again like the Wira. Seriously I don’t mind paying a bit more if the quality of the design and overall performance are at par or even close to some other brand like Toyota or Honda. So people in Proton, this is just a small voice among millions in Malaysia who is asking for more. Not much of a request ain’t it?

This new Saga? Enough of this for me. Inspira? I’d rather buy Kia Forte, or even the ‘real’ Lancer.

• autojohndoe on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:29 pm

Not to say that you are missing some years of malaysia years…

but, from may reading of your comment… it makes me wonder, where have you been within 2000 to 2008?

During that time, Proton was producing its design instead of facelift i.e Neo, Gen2, Persona, Exora, and this new Saga…

So, back to my question… where have you been all this while?

• honest on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:12 am

model facelift kew nie. mcm tak best jer. ak sakit hati tgok dashboard die. hasil kerja pemalas. =.=

• honest on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:27 am

proton ni syarikat kaitan kerajaan. jd kalau proton untung kerajaan untung. bijaknya kerajaan meletakkan cukai eksais kereta import sgt tinggi supaya ramai terpaksa beli proton. hurm kalau cukai ni diturunkan mendadak. ak rase pasaran proton lingkup kerana kereta2 mewah jepun dan german terpakai tersangat murah. pakcik ak bwk mercedez terpakai dr uk smpai malaysia baru 42k tapi kene byr tax 60k. jd 102k. tanye diri anda! anda mahu mercedez terpakai atau anda mahu gen2. bwahaha. :) tapi ak respect la kerajaan tak mahu money flow ke negare asing.

• mr.eims @ perfume on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:13 pm

signal on side mirror
    i see old waja like front bumper. (coused by foglamp)
    rear bumper got diffuser like, & reflectors.

sure will be better than current saga :)

front proton sign, i like a bit rounded grill like gen2 cps though.

• apooo samy on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:26 pm

after facelift model u will get totally new saga BLM…its normal practice…same like toyol vios old version and facelift version…

• MoFaz on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:53 am

artist impression:
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=6955341&o=all&op=1&view=all&subj=14779190194&id=677851531

• i don’t like LED taillamp from proton.. proton lack of skill to design LED tail lamp..it’s boring design..produa design is more better….just using normal bulb also ok what.. after 5 years , over 100K km driving day and night, the my saga bulb still ok..

• qc ngong....!! on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:33 pm

yalor..the rear design especially tail lamp looks feminine with ‘ciput’ tail lamps, but front design looks so masculine.
      May be rear is designed by female engineer or ‘shemale’, and front design by male engineer….!!!

• Vlakin on Oct 29, 2010 at 8:03 pm

the head lamp looks like accord.. the uncovered picture are on ohtidak.com

• rahman hussein on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Still the same UGLY car with a crappy engine
    no matter how you facelift it.
    P1 engineers are only good at this department
    just what they did to the Proton Lancer.
    And this is what P1 calls R&D.

• farrel8177 on Oct 30, 2010 at 1:22 am

Proton must stand on its 2 feet. No more government protection, please. Proton cars lose out in terms of everything to any other car manufacturer because of 1 thing : It is too chicken to compete with the rest of the world. Afraid because lazy to work, lazy to compete, lazy everything. lah. Just know how to wait for poor people to buy their car because they cannot afford any other car, except P2, maybe. Even P2 much better than Proton. Just ask any of those so-called “Nasionalists & Patriots” this question and answer truthfully : For example, if between Proton Persona : RM50,000.00 & others, Honda, Toyota, Nissan : RM60,000.00, which will they choose ?

Their mouth will lie and say, buy Proton but deep within, they too want to own other car makes, anything but Proton even though more expensive than Proton a bit. The reality is the G overtaxed other car makes to a much higher price so that majority of people cannot afford them but instead had to buy Proton. So Proton take for granted and couldnt care less for their buyers, just produce bad quality cars with sub-standard materials, fuel inefficient engine, faulty parts interior and exterior with no QC whatsoever plus the worst customer service of all = A car with no value at all. Only plus point is Lotus R & H.

But we are lucky now we have a choice in P2. even though P2 rebadge Toyota and Daihatsu, their cars are much much better in terms of everything, especially their Engine which is very fuel efficient. Thanks a million to Toyota / Daihatsu / P2 for everything. Now we have a choice. Though we cannot other car makes, we will definitely choose P2 over Proton, any time, any day.

Fight on, P2 and win the war. Rebadge more good models like Viva, Myvi, Alza. Monopolise the Malaysian market until Proton is no more. No more Proton , no more Govt protection, no more expensive cars.

Go P2 !

• shahmetal on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Well, maybe you are still living in the past. Did the new Proton as fuel-inefficient as yesterday?

And, way to go to support your P2. But just so you know:
      Toyota – 1931
      Daihatsu – 1951
      Proton – 1983

To be realistic, both Daihatsu and Toyota produce better cars in some sense. But compare those numbers. I say, our country is more successful than theirs in that sense.

Go Proton! At least you are trying to make our own car and make Malaysians pride. New Saga, Exora, Persona, Gen2, and Satria Neo are all 100% Malaysian. Your learning time with Mitsubishi is well worth. Maybe now you are not that good, but given the time, you’ll surely leave Daihatsu and Toyota in the dust.

p/s: there are rumors that say Mitsubishi is looking to ‘rebadge’ our own original persona and exora. just wait and see ;)

• good point farrel, proton must look into their production and after sales service….P2 have all these improve….Go P2…

P2 still the best selling car until today…

• scania360 on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Nice looking improvement.. frontial..CONGRAT!!!
    GO PROTON!!!
    SAGA SUPERB RIDE n HANDLING…!!
    i got it!!!

• ferdinand on Nov 07, 2010 at 3:35 pm

DOES THIS PROTON SAGA 2011 HAS 1.6 ENGINE CPS OR 1.3 ENGINE ?

• zainal abidin on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Hey Guys, is it true this new one comes with a larger fuel tank and a CVT gearbox for the auto version?