More muscle for the Dodge Challenger SRT8 392

The Dodge Challenger is the best modern interpretation of American muscle to these eyes, and the most potent version, the SRT8 392, now gets a boost in horsepower and torque with the introduction of the legendary 392-cubic inch HEMI V8 engine. With 470 hp and 637 Nm, this 6.4-litre has 122 Nm more torque at 2,900 rpm compared with the previous 6.1L V8 while delivering up to 20% better economy.

The Challenger isn’t only good for drag racing, according to Dodge, which claims “world-class ride and handling” for the 392. New, highly damped shocks offer a firm ride and SRT engineers recalibrated the suspension geometry to improve the Challenger’s balance and cornering ability.

Quicker steering ratios and new negative camber settings all around “dramatically improve Challengers appetite for cornering”. The fully hydraulic steering system also has been improved with a heavy-duty pump and revised gearing for more direct feel and on-centre response. It’s still playfully “tossable” though.

To kick off 2011-model year production, Dodge will build 1,492 Inaugural Edition models. They get two colour/stripe combinations and 20-inch SRT wheels with a polished face and black pockets. “392 HEMI” badges and Mopar quad exhaust are the other visual cues. Inside, the Inaugural Edition features standard Smooth Pearl White leather trimmed seats and dual blue stripes accented by blue stitching. And a plaque.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• squawk on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Agree with Danny. Very classic looks.

• Not coming to Malaysia I presume :(

• Yummy. Road tax alone will cost more than 10k per year.

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Yup..this is why named challenger..it will challenge you, how long you can survive. 6.4L..do you gut???

• paparadzi on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:27 pm

I wonder if the 392 hemi will be as legendary as the original Hemi 426.

• rajaraja chola on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:22 am

fast & furious

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:41 pm

scaring 250 small cars off the road

it does its bit for the environment too

• perambuang on Dec 14, 2011 at 12:36 pm

hmm macam proton saga je ….

• Ker Tao on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:52 pm

may i know what’s the price for dodge challenger in malaysia with tax ?

• how i wish i can swap saga front bumper with this beast. can we modify malaysian cars to that much?

• montana on Jun 20, 2014 at 11:40 am

ini kereta manyak syiokk ooo…patut la dia punya bunyi betui2 kuat..6L nooo..dasyat2..sakan ini kereta…

• What is the price of this car to sale in malaysia
    W