Proton Inspira is fastest rising search term of 2010 for Malaysian searchers on Google

Malaysians are truly mad about cars, and this is proven in their online search behavior. According to Google’s 2010 Zeitgeist Malaysia, the term Proton Inspira is the fastest rising search of the year 2010 for Malaysians, which is really amazing considering that the name Proton Inspira was only unveiled to the masses on the 14th of October 2010.

The Google Zeitgeist basically reveals the world’s search patterns annually, and they also publish a country by country report. Along with the fastest rising searches (not exactly the same meaning as the most amount of searches, which could remain constant), every year Google also picks different categories to feature, and this year we have some interesting lists such as “fastest rising movies” and “fastest rising World Cup players”.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Chyan on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Haha. :)

• everyone loves Inspira… :)

• Estimosis on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:11 pm

not the bashers… sure sakit hati sekarang…

• littlefire on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:51 pm

I dont think the bashers sakit hati.. Is the hardcore P1 supporter which last time mention that P1 can made their own car without any other help at all!! Which i also bash them mention that the gearbox still using Mitsubishi..

But when P1 came out inspira, they suddenly turn tide saying that rebadge is good as it can help cut cost, share platform & technology bla bla bla… If those people which follow in this blog long enough will know what i mean.. As i am those people which support P1 to rebadge at the first place as a lot of Malaysian mindset still think that Japanese technology is still so “GREAT!” & still P1 can earn money from selling it (Win win startegy).. If not why P2 still leading the market?!?

• saki77 on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:53 am

I think P2 still leading the market because of the segment of cars they’re selling….
            My 2 cents only…. ;)

• Who I am on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:16 pm

I think their decision to rebadge Lancer is a correct decision as the Waja/Inspira will only be in a niche market, this was their strategy. Their potential selling volume (at least as they estimated) will not be to high like persona and BLM. So for them, 100% in-house engineered car in niche segment may unable to cover the development cost. So to be cost effective, they choose to rebadge rather than spent millions to develop other model.

• makeitmine on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:03 pm

It is not just rebadging. Proton will improve or re-engineer Lancer as the car matures.

The Japanese must have liked the idea that they willingly give the Evo for copy or rebadging.

In the past, Lotus has partnership with Toyota and Proton has partnership with Mitsubishi. In the near future, both will have renewed partnership with Renault/Nissan.

All Proton need to do now is to buy Perodua but running as separate companies and the GROUP can have partnership with Mitsubishi, Daihatsu, Nissan, Renault and Toyota.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:43 am

buy P2?! LOLLOLLOLOLOLOL! and you are going to lend them the money to do it?

• manulovetohate on Dec 16, 2010 at 6:12 pm

boss pls go n learn what is niche market b4 u spitting the term in cyber space.
            n 4 yr info, inspira is for differentiated market!

• Angelina_jolin on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:37 pm

such a humiliating news from google…sigh…sure the mitsu engineers involved in the lancer project r laughing now…

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:56 am

I doubt that given that not many people bought the Lancer when it came out and so not many will get the malaysian made knock off in the face of rising fuel prices and spares. So get over yourself.

• akumuna on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:18 pm

no led

• abenas on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:41 pm

inspira convert to EVO 10 bodykit……fuiyooo must be sporty car the best version…huhu

• It’s weird that m’sians always bash about Proton & Perodua yet the minute a new model is launched, this site is always full of comments and etc… And now u see? Inspira also got a lot of people search in google… That means m’sians really love Proton & Perodua deep down inside… :D

• RON97 on Dec 10, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Love?? No way.. People just get curious becoz of huge publicity….and they get frustrated in the end..it’s a copy & paste model. Nothing special.

• no love la bro…its out of no choice.
      Look at the freaking prices our cars are at… and everyone will think of considering a “better” car… hence high searches for inspira.

but eventually i got a honda city instead…

it slightly pricer but better specs( differs for diff ppl), better workshops, better build quality ( bad experience with P1 la.. ), really want to give P1 another chance but better not la…

i still think P1 must die… and all those AP bloodsuckers must die with it too…

YES i agree… its NOTHING SPECIAL

• turbo on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:05 pm

interesting>>>

• Kalimullah on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:07 pm

;) Top Bashing Topic !!

• swoosh3553 on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:09 pm

We Malaysians just “love” our cars, dont we??? (wink-wink)

• it was the fastest rising search because people just wanted to see how ridiculous this car is…

• pirates of U on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:13 pm

hampir tlupa..how do u know

“people just wanted to see how ridiculous this car”….? (dude, this is ur statement ya…)

• Japan Mit. provided platform and tuned engine which a GEMA engine designed by Korea Hyundai. Suspension and handling tuned by British Lotus / Malaysia Proton? And produced by Malaysia Proton (40% – 60% parts). Mixed blood… oh beauty! Ha.

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:17 pm

PPl search it because to counter check whether is it real that the Inspira same as Lancer. And they got the answer from google. So whole world is sharing google, mean automotive blogger worldwide has aware that PROTON has together developed with Mitsubishi for a car call “INSPIRA” ………….what soever lah, and ride and handling by “LOTUS”………also whatsoever lah!! Ppl from the world should know who developed Inspira first la, of course!

• Handling by Proton themselves la

• Anti BN/P1/MMM on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Handle and by Proton themself by damaging the Lancer reputable suspension system and turn into crab.

• tommy on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:46 pm

have u ever driven any Proton’s car? and compare it to your crappy handling vios or city?

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:45 am

Yes, Vios and City is suck handling. My current VW GTi is the best. Sciroco R is my next car change. I have smoke many Lancer GT owner, yet my ride never let lotus or mitsubishi touch b4. I will continue to smoke many Inspira owner with my Gear two only. Come challenge me at Sepang or else way you want!!

• skyblue on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:18 am

Both Vios and City engine performance is better /smoother than P1. P1 cars are slow pick up. Very comfortable to drive.

Vios /City – just upgrade the suspension and they can take on P1 both in City and on highway.

• skyblue on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:19 am

I mean both Vios/City are confortable to drive.

• Anthony on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Front very soft, scrape bumps if take it at >15kmh. must be about <15kmh to avoid scratching the plastic underneath

• rebadge on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:12 am

hey u said got problem for air intake box isn’it? so how was it? solved already?

• Anthony on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:43 pm

they solved it, it was not seated properly…..I have 6 quality issues to date. 3 more to be resolved, they MUST change door rubber, window rubber and…….door leather which warped…..

No more please……

• Bagong on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Your VW GTi is power? Your VW GTi can smoke Lancer & Inspira? hahahahahaha. I can smoke easily your VW GTi or Sciroco by my KE-20 4AGE 20V engine la. Very very easy la to smoke your VW GTi. i just use with my gear 1 only to smoke your VW GTi laa. You are moron people that drive moron car.

• Inspira > everything!

• some malaysian hate it but still search for it. benci tandanya sayang. kahkahkah

• jengong on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:18 pm

proton jebat…

• SMART on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:26 pm

I check google for Inspira I just wanna see how stupid Proton redesign the car Proton and Perdua are RUBBISH

• I don’t think we can even differentiate whether it is Mitsubishi Lancer or not when they change the emblem.

• jackie on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:09 pm

I search for it just to confirm Proton tipu rakyat by copying jap car. that’s all.

• saki77 on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:25 pm

How come Proton tipu rakyat where its terang-terang Proton said that they took lancer? They didnt say that they built the Inspira from scratch….or is it just u that been conned?….I know for sure that all of my friends know that Inspira is Lancer…

By the way Paul…is it true as Proton claimed that their lancer based is from europe specs? For Proton thats what make their Inspira different from existing Lancer in Malaysia. Is it better or not than the Japs specs(in Malaysia)?

• Paul Tan on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:59 pm

When did Proton claim anything of the sort?

• saki77 on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:42 am

I read somewhere, I’ll try to find it again….

• saki77 on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:10 am

here where i read it….maybe not that reliable…thats why i asked u…. :)
          http://www.protonclub.com/portal/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=99:pandu-uji-proton-inspira-oleh-wakil-kelab-sangat-berkesan&catid=38:proton

• maybe by changing the suspension from jap to european – Macpherson strut/Multilink Coil Spring with Stabilizer Bar. they claim it is of european quality?

• mr_3m_wancer on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Lol!!!!

Where you get your facts from??? A close relative working in Proton R&D??? ahahahaha

• saki77 on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:59 am

I read it somewhere….that’s why i asked paul….i repeat…”asked”…did u even read my comment properly before reply?…do u even know what “is it true” phrase means?…how old are u?…

• saki77 on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:15 am

here’s the link….please do surf….
          http://www.protonclub.com/portal/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=99:pandu-uji-proton-inspira-oleh-wakil-kelab-sangat-berkesan&catid=38:proton
          at least i read something….i didn’t make up stories….maybe the article is not that reliable….thats why i “asked” paul……
          I just want to know…if anybody ask u something…did u just go and laugh ur head off? even if the question was not even directed to u?…please answer….

• tbrit on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:11 am

ha ha ha lepas ni ada la yg kantoi
        i think paul can investigate a bit , tell the world the truth
        by the way i think european specs are different than european standards
        similar words but different things

• mohd_bin_azlan on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:55 pm

proton quietly accept goverment’s susidy (tax payer’s money) by doing nothing but rebadging jap’s car…

• majavaz on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:34 am

..because rakyat want Japanese car with Malaysian price. But still get bashed like hell. Wake up Malaysian!

• bobdbilder on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Mitsubishi the company is a huge conglomerate with business in finance, marine, fine chemicals, engineering (as in EPCC). MHI was involved in expanding our refinery in Kertih ,Terengganu, fertilizer plant in Gurun, Kedah, MISC’s LNG tankers and many other multi million dollar projects.

They do collaborations with Daimler Chrysler, Peugeot-Citroen, Hyundai and Volvo. It is the business model of Mitsubishi Motors to do OEM business with those who are willing. Smart organizations understand the value of partnerships.

• joe_public on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:12 pm

maybe Proton is something that Malaysians just love to hate…hahaha…and since the Lancer has a following around the world…the Lancer based Inspira is sure to be of interest to many people…especially Malaysians…

• SaddenMYS on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:53 pm

It was a good intention to start P1 25 years ago. It was suppose to be something that benefiting all of us, either cheaper or easier car ownership, or greater economy growth that made this country more developed. As a Malaysian, I sincerely wish they are designing and producing good reliable products sold at reasonable pricing, and even become one of our country’s major exports to neighboring countries and afar.

After quarter century of protectionism (high taxes on other makes), govt support and rakyat endurance of long car loan repayment and so, P1 still can’t even stand on their own feet, plus putting their profits into unpractical investment such as F1 (even big guns like Toyota also pulled out), what else P1 expect from all of us?

P1 should concentrate what it was missioned to achieve when it was started -> making us proud and easier with car ownership. If they can’t make good cars, by all means, just rebadge multiple models of other makes and sell it cheaper to us. At least, it serves a purpose. Not forcing us to buy cars 2-3 times more than it’s actual values so that their products look cheap and attractive.

• xuwenchao on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:15 pm

patriotism is something that are lacking from malaysian. this not happen to proton only but to others. why choose shell when u have petronas, why choose mac when u have sendayu tinggi…. we have to learn on how the japaneese and korean grows or even china the fastest growing economic powers…..

• easier said than done when even our local politicians and leaders don’t send their kids to national school, don’t drive national car (not safe enough for their precious children), don’t buy national cloth (padini)…

• joe_public on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:38 pm

I dont mind buying local if we can get value for money or quality for the buck. With companies like Proton, we give them our money and they give us somebody else’s work, and questionable quality at that too.

I don’t owe any loyalty to Proton. When they produced their own models, at least their cars were cheap as their quality was bad. But I can still hope they will learn to improve in time.

Now they copy or ‘rebadge’ other cars, and sell it cheap due to the protection they get, and indirectly burden us by raising the cost of other choices, and their fans expect us to thank them too? Hahahaha. Proton need to learn to give value for our money.

Patriotism got nothing to do with it. If it was then Proton should be fully owned by the Govt where all the profits go direct into the Consolidated Fund and not into any other hands.

• rakyat prihatin on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:14 pm

There’s more than just bashing our national car

For soo long people have suffered so much from the protectionism policy that benefits nobody.

People have to settle for the car they dont deserve due to budget constraint. The car lack of safety features, lack of quality, and as the result, occupants are not well protected when accident happened (car just smashed into pieces, freak and fatal road accidents etc)

Not abiding by the road and safety standards is the reason contributing to this factor. Whilst we could see that European, American cars are well equipped in terms of safety – Airbags etc are among compulsory equipment- due to the imposed government policy. The fact that our national car has no safety rating either due to cost cutting activity or because of the government policy is something that is really sad.

The interest for the national car is no doubt the highest among all. Even the newly launched inspira is at 3.5 % (lowest that was heard of). This is something there is really mind boggling. While people should get the lowest interest rate for the reward because of buying national car, we have been charged extra due to our ‘loyalty’. End up, we are paying more than 20% of the car price that we bought. End of the day, it is the poor rakyat who still suffers.

Where has the benefit of having a national car gone for all these years? Where are they in terms of technology ? Where are they in terms of safety ? Quality ? What can we be proud of ?

The public transport is not efficient. The traffics are heavy. Fuel price has risen (silently), Owning a house is a dream come true. Harga barang pon dah naik. Kos sara hidup semakin lama semakin tinggi.

Each day we wake up in the morning sweating our clothes to just pay all the debts for the sake of living a good life.

Yet the poor rakyat has to take all these burden for the sake of having a national car ?

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:29 pm

what has patriotism got to do with any company anyway? if they make a good product people will buy, simple as that. the fact is, proton is not delivering hence the lack of support.
        the japs and koreans grew to be world beaters because they learned from their mistakes and put right what was wrong, whether it was people or parts. in short, they put the right people in charge and not just some fella coz he fit the quota.
        the truth hurts, but until the day some malaysians accept it and stop mengamuk, companies like proton will not reach their full potential

• jtiongwl on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:34 pm

This is UMNO Propaganda as one of the MP mentioned that NAP is not helping the country but rather benefiting their cronies…

The do this, by using excuse to subsidize the petrol, they have ” future money” from the taxes imposed. They use this money to finance the stupid project.

Currently budget tight, then start not to subsidize petrol, and those taxes collect by them for such purpose, dont know where it goes already.

Today what we can see, fuel price keep on increase, car price, never dropping – I think they are aiming at imposing high car taxes and selling fuel at expansive price….

Who you are.. they dont care…

• Neutral on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:05 pm

why so many negative comment?if this way super people thinking,forever so many basher will be around in the next 100 years :(

• saki77 on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Lots of people without so much money dreaming to buy sportscar with a price of saga…and because they cannot achieve in their life..pitying their own life..start blaming others..in this case..PROTON….Blaming PROTON for the skyrocketed price of other cars
      Without PROTON, i dont think that our government will reduce the tax tremendously…it will be less tax but not that of much…Tax is an income to the Government…
      Still…if the cars price drop…i think the bashers here will still be a bashers..they will find something else to blame…except themselves….

• seriusSAM on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:55 pm

basher and critic are not the same
      unfortunately, some P1 & P2 worshippers can’t accept critics even the harsh one.

• Anthony on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:17 pm

I got mine, 6 faults, and I hope thats it. Took a great car and could not CKD properly. I loved Proton, now a basher. When warranty over, will service in Mitsubishi.

• rebadge on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:36 am

6 faults? are u serious? this really scares me..

• Critique on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:44 am

Since this is the internet,’allow me to take all claims / posts are made in good faith.

Now, its really funny to see that even when an owner criticizes his own purchase, he gets 8 (at time of witing) thumbs down.

He bought it, he can bloody well diss it ! ! !

Anthony,
        Hope it isn’t too bad

The Rest Of U,
        Its one thing to bash, but the fanboys(not limited to proton) out there will vehemently defend (using the word very loosely) even when its constructive feedback !

And there’s claims of being Unpatriotic if u drive a car that’s not Proton/Perodua. Well, let me say this: I will buy when Proton and Perodua improve all they need to improve. I am STILL Patriotic because I want Proton and Perodua to IMPROVE ! Not rest on whatever laurels they have currently !

If you can live with paying monthly installments for sub-standard stuff, great on you. But don’t diss the rest of us who want better.
        My 2 cents.

• PakAbu on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Re: “Since this is the internet,’allow me to take all claims / posts are made in good faith.”

:lol: That’s an interesting notion.

• Critique on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Well, naive, maybe . But I’d rather be a cautious optimist rather than jaded pessimist. :D

• Anthony on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:46 pm

To all those who dont like my post, you don’t like what…proton giving me a car from day 0 with 6 faults ? Or me complaining. My Putra had 1 fault, my waja 4 power window faults and my altis 1 fault. Its all about QC. The inspira is KLIMS is perfect.

• jtiongwl on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Negative thinking because of the negative way the G function.. OK!!!! Stupid!!!

• voicr on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:44 pm

i think they seach for its final price, believe many people hope it can be priced below 60k, but in the end duh …oh and they search for the latest pics too, dun care if it’s leaked ones..really tempted to know

anyway for those who cannot afford inspira i believe they can afford persona r / tuah, that is in the pipeline..just wait and see

go proton!!!

• Inspira, not a CBU nor CKD
    its ctrl+c , ctrl+v

• yeah…p2 also.. its ctrl+x , ctrl+v

• ntahaaa on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:09 am

ctrl+c (folder lancer)
      ctrl+v (folder inspira)
      do you want to merge this files? –> yes

• xuwenchao on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:18 am

AFAIK, inspira is a rebadge lancer, so of course there’s ctrl+c and ctrl+v.

• JohnDeep on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Yes they should ctrl+c and ctrl+v for inspira because they have to ctrl+alt+delete waja

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:50 am

Nice clarification, i like you keyboard short cut statement. Nice, really!

• PreBookInspira on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:57 pm

What’s the point? confirmed news that all the people that book the car when it was soft-launched (or earlier) has yet to get their cars until today…. what’s the story on that? hmmmm….

• mohd_bin_azlan on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:48 pm

better go get refund before it’s too late…

• Anthony on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Many cosmetic bugs, they didnt even know how to install the air filter properly. I was driving mine around without an air filter for 3 days.

• rebadge on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:40 am

yeah me included..still cant get it..what happen eh paul? i dont care whether it is end of year or what coz i need a car now

• stiggy25 on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:08 pm

why i didn’t saw any inspira on the road right now?

• SAWADEECUP on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:41 pm

malaysian are bunch of hypocrite lots and i’m included as well. Most likely for those basher end up buying it and for those who praise this car will never buy it. Peace :)

• gilabangang on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:06 am

those who praise might not have the money.. but the bashers being a hypocrite as you said bought the cars and change the badge to mitsu.

• I test drive the car 2.0 variant, performance wise about the same with Lancer. BUT very bad build interior quality. First is the dashboard like cheap plastic, steering cover too soft no firm grip like lancer and the major disappointment was the seat, you will feel like sinking no support on seat. Very bad cost down by removing the interior driving pleasure quality it does have on lancer.

• xuwenchao on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:11 am

just check with my friends at proton and surprisingly, the dashboard came from japan. it’s ckd. only the head unit aka radio came from malaysia… hmmm…..

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:01 am

Whenever proton cut every single cents, you will lose a parts, few mm of steel or a pieces of screw and etc. Imagine now cutting from 120k to 90k, how much weight and materials or screw will they cut from product?????Lancer CBU from japan already cut so much accessories and part therefore selling at RM120k, then now proton further cut again. the car now turn into very basic thing as similar to kancil. Believe me and think about it.

• bobdbilder on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Student of the all time favourite American school of Value Added Selling I presume? You just upheld the common marketing rule that a 20mm screw made in a Developed country is ALWAYS better than one made in Bukit Raja, Klang.

You like to make people believe that price is always related to costs and quality. What you don’t mention its also about how much Gross Profit you need to offset all of the overheads including freight,R+D and the bonuses of VPs. Not to mention that the rise in Yen is stiffling sales overseas. By all means. Don’t mention those silly little unnecessary facts.

• broken_gigant on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:09 pm

I’m surprised with this type of comment. All these while, people have been talking about lower price due local assembly and whatnots (Toyota PRius,for example,after having set up a plant in Thailand) You must either be a really naive kid, or a ignorant adult.

• JohnDeep on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:34 pm

I own one of the following and all CBU. Plastic panel & dash board best to worst (1~3)
      1. ASX
      2. Grandis
      3. Lencer & sportback.

so Lencer is always the worst even made in Japan.

• manulovetohate on Dec 16, 2010 at 6:19 pm

for RM30,000 lesser what u expect?

• pg qayyum on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:57 pm

i hate proton inspira but i love mitsubishi lancer

• kopiko on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:06 am

i hate both. typical malaysian. U think mitsubishi lancer better??
      placebo!!! because the name is lancer, automatic u drive feel great.
      that is placebo.

i hate japan car. cause i know and research and i drive. looking better cheap price and more good car, get korean car,
      if got good money take VW.

• manulovetohate on Dec 16, 2010 at 6:35 pm

err…which korean car u meant as “more good car’? n kindly furnish in what comparison u said its ‘more good car’ too.

• altecs on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:33 pm

lol. call it what you want and hate it all you want. But get your eyes checked, wear your glasses, and in the end you will see a mitsubishi lancer at the price of 80k. Now ask yourselves, why are you complaining?

• hulawei on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:38 pm

lotus handling and ride is the best in its market.while lancer,known for its speed,not handling,which is good,but still fall short when compared to lotus.its an advantage that inspira have towards lancer.just like the neo r3.although,both are using mivec,lancer have the advantages because mivec is mitsubishi property.but the biggest advantages that mitsubishi have is the quality of the small parts,which is for me,proton biggest weakness.anyway,i have a question.do UK have 0% tax for cars??

• joe_public on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Sorry to burst anyone’s bubble but from the reports I’ve seen, Proton never claimed the handling is by Lotus. Read the brochure. The only mention of Lotus is that Proton might have used equipment developed by Lotus or Proton engineers were supposedly trained at one point by Lotus and they call this contribution as Lotus DNA; and then Proton let the people’s own imagination carry it from there. That also means if the same engineer once worked in Ferrari and was trained there, then they can just as well claim Ferrari DNA by virtue of that engineer. I may be wrong. Am I?

• I have the perception that Proton is hated by lot of Malaysians. You open up any thread@discussion regarding Proton and without failed, it will swarmed by negative comments. It can be depressing for a Proton supporter, not to mentioned Proton’s staff.

But on second though, if we analyzed the response from readers, it was very obvious and consistent that those (very) negative comment always getting a lot of “Thumb down”. Just do your checking to confirm this.

So my conclusion is, majority of Malaysian love Proton but are very quiet about it compare to those minority hater who’re very vocal. But the majority show their feeling through their thumb.

• agree with you

• littlefire on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:29 am

Bro, not only P1. P2 also kena bash kau kau.. As without Basher do u think our local auto manufacturer will improve faster?!? Even the pace now like Kura-kura.. If without bashing, i think they still improve like snail…Still remember Japanese cars in the 70’s & 80’s a lot of people also bash them like milo tin also?!? And now where are there now? Even Korean cars people bash them in 90’s saying their car sucks & drink fuel like nothing.. But now?!? Please wake up all of u!

Is like ur parents if did not critise u of making mistake, will u make the mistake all over again if ur parents just left u alone? We are not perfect & to improve we need to listen to those critism & improve it!

• Critique on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Ask yourself, why do ppl bash? Are all negative postings untrue?

• I love Proton in 21 Dec 2012 :)

• Samarkand on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:41 am

Syabas Protong! proud of the new design…Malaysia Buleh!

• that’s so true, actually lots of people hate something just because everybody hates it… they are known as the crowd followers… the vice versa is also true..but deep inside, they all have different opinions..an opinion that we all should respect..we just have to be rationale sometimes instead of just being a blind supporter or a blind basher.. if someone wants to complain, complain lah, but dont hurt people’s feeling by saying stuff like this ( “i am driving a merc, haha you are so poor man, driving a cheap local car” ) instead we should all be happy for them, they probably have families and now they got a car which is much better than having a motorbike especially with kids…now everybody is happy =)

• Rotul on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:15 am

i totally agree with u VL..but the reality is, some people will not act like that.. :)

• joe_public on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:10 pm

Agreed. Emotional rhetoric doesn’t add value to the discussion. Just raise heat. No light.

• anand mat pian on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:45 am

when people start searching for proton news,paultan always on top,sure more kaya paul tan than 6 years ago !!!!

• racing crazy on Dec 10, 2010 at 7:43 am

the quality is really different from the ORIGINAL LANCER…..esp the sound of the door when u close it….the interior aiyoyoyo…..very different….i love my LANCER 2.9 gt BETTER ALTHOUGH ITS 3 YRS OLD OLEDI…

• Kampret on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:40 am

Wow!! you rebored the cylinder meh? Or increase the stroke? 0.9 liter increase than the ORIGINAL LANCER

• WTH… have u check the inspira interior? and have u compare it with the lancer… i think u don’t because inspira still using the CKD part for the interior.. its mean, they all the same.. cakap macam ada lancer saje.. kalau xde diam sudah.. BSht!

• made in cina on Dec 10, 2010 at 6:32 pm

yeah.right.all the interior is the same as evo.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 10, 2010 at 7:49 pm

i went to the original 2007 lancer launching at the kl convention centre, sat in the launch and let me tell you 112k for a cabin lined with myvi class plastic. yucks. i imagine the inspira would be similar then.

• yup.. but it is kinda weird because when the same part goes to P1, they said it is so plasticky but when it come to Mitsu. it is look damn nice to them.. i think they need to check their own eyes.. LOL

• Armchair critiquer.. on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:19 am

If anyone bothers to read the list provided by Paul, “Paul Tan” itself is in the top ten search for “fastest rising people.”

I know for sure I’m one of those who contributed to the Paul ranking. Every time I want to visit this site, I type “paultan” on google search instead of bookmarking on Windows IE’s favorite tool.

Any consolation for me Paul? for helping to raise your ranking? Tag me along whenever you got the chance to test drive lotus would be a good ‘reward’ for me!

• rexis on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:01 pm

That’s odd, I never google it?

• caffan on Dec 10, 2010 at 3:10 pm

we will see so many evo 10 with various style on the road after this!! :D

• i love P1 on Dec 10, 2010 at 5:14 pm

if malaysian so love proton…….why many of em proton owners change their emblem to mitsu….and the funniest of them all are Saga BLM with BMW style bumper and ohh i saw one with subaru emblem with the trademark blue paint job and gold rims….hahaha…..i just dont understand….

• caffan on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:35 am

that we call it creativity… not about hate proton or something else..

• Drivetrain on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:11 pm

if you doesn’t like inspira nobody ask you to buy.

• Jimmy on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Wah! >100 comments.
    Does everyone giving comment(s) know the real meaning of the exact phrase? What is the criteria chosen? Is it really something ‘wai soi”? Does it correlate well with sales or quality or things like that?
    We should not be so naive in everyday life.
    Do we think everything in newspaper is from God (is it the very real truth)? Do you think the share market news is exactly what happens?

• Celup brand of tax payer’s money!

• niceone on Dec 11, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Now all the bashers kantoi edi they also searching for inspira on google, lol. lets just admit it, we’re all here supporting vs bashing endlessly bcos deep down inside, we DO care about proton, hehe

• malaysian people on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:07 pm

sometimes,there’s no need to fight about a subjective matter.
      it’s all depends on buyers. if you don’t like it, just ignore it.no need to damn there,damn here or what so ever…

• some people have nothing to do but come here and condemn proton. some of these same people do not even own a car, some don’t even have a valid driving licence and i know some of them are salespeople of the other car makes.

• have you bought a Proton before? or do you use your mummy’s or daddy’s money to buy car?

use your own hard earned money to buy a proton then come back and comment la thamby.

see how proud you be talking then. HAHA – i’m laughing at myself because i bought 2 protons. but what to do… can’t afford decent cars.

so many years already, whole market give you, give you subsidy some more and still puttign out crap. ppl don’t mind paying, just don’t make ppl pay for shit. when they can get gold for less.

• manulovetohate on Dec 16, 2010 at 6:23 pm

well said bro…
        1 proton is enuff for me, n i bot lancer last year. still proud of my decision, till this very date.

• Elvis on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:40 am

Inspira dashboard sucks! Looking like plastic…very cheap plastic…yuck!

• If you think this thing is cheap,yes it’s cheap!i love Proton.

• rakyat prihatin on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:39 pm

It is no cheap item. You are paying 30-40% or the price just for the tax and duties.

Imagine a friend of mine who got this offer to buy a CKD-ed car (which includes national car) with tax exemption,

Guess what is the price of Persona?

Around RM35K +…

Dont you feel sad that all the money that you worked for (so hard) are spent for the tax alone?

• johndol on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:55 am

What i dont get it is when the fact that the labor and material cost in Malaysia is cheaper than UK and US, the price of proton in US and UK is cheaper than the price in Malaysia. and they even got more safety spec in UK than in Malaysia. And yes, i feel sad to see the money went to a company that did not value their own countryman

• go out into the world and walk walk see see la bro…

its ok to love your country. i love malaysia too. but our systems is abit screwed la…
      go see see, compare already then come back here then only talk.

• M’sia is not highest taxes in the world,Denmark has the worlds highest taxes!yes UK and US cars is cheaper than us but their fuel is so expensive!go back to school yea!

• jtiongwl on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Their fuel is expansive… but their car is cheap.. use you head and see, are they really subsidizing the fuel, or using the money taken from you ( the taxes on the car ); if you use more mileage, then maybe you can take back some, but how about those who only use the car from home to office ( this is the majority )… What happen to them…

Inspira case, when you puchase it, you’re paying excise duty for up to 40k. refer maa.org.my to undestand further…. Although you’re using National Car, you also pay taxes…

• their fuel is not expensive if ur living and earning there, ignore the currency exchange rate plss. comparison should done with similar expenditure power.
    thus, buy and drive a car in uk/us is much cheaper than us, malaysian.

• zoolterer on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:16 pm

why the proton ‘hate’rs condemn proton bcoz of the re-badging lancer to inspira..why not also condem perodua. they also re-badged from daihatsu model.. they looks even obvious from proton..i love proton..makes “everyone can buy”…like air-asia slogan..

• manulovetohate on Dec 16, 2010 at 6:31 pm

each of my 2 sisters have pero2, one is myvi, n another is kelisa. Now she’s going to trade in kelisa for alza (not exora hor). I have proton, but i didn’t buy another proton when i bought second car. Moral of the story…u always want to get satisfaction fm money spent.

4 me, yeah i still love my wira, but its purely because nostalgic reason.

N for the bugger who said can smoke lancer, wanna try out GSR turbo?