LPTC says it will look into improving safety of bus travel

LPTC says it will look into improving safety of bus travelFollowing the recent spate of accidents involving long distance buses, with Monday’s incident involving an excursion bus in Cameron Highlands – where 27 people lost their lives – being exceptionally fresh in the memory, the Land Public Transport Commission (LPTC) has said that addressing the safety issue is a point of paramount significance.

In a statement, the LPTC – which was officially established in June following the passing of the Suruhanjaya Pengangkutan Awam Darat Act 2010 by Parliament in May this year – said that as the Government agency which will be taking over the regulation of land public transport including express, tour and charter buses, it viewed the issue of long distance bus safety very seriously and with great concern.

To underscore this concern, LPTC is making road safety a very high priority area in its list of concerns as it moves towards full operations next year. LPTC has begun discussions with bus operators and relevant government agencies with the view to resolve issues which are causing a compromise in safety within the industry.

The commission recently held a round table discussion on express and tour bus safety which was well attended by both express and tour bus operators, as well as relevant Government agencies. The session allowed all parties to identify several root causes of bus accidents and identify ways and parties to find ways to overcome them.

On LPTC’s part, the outcomes of these discussion sessions will be evaluated and, where relevant, LPTC will draw up policies, rules and regulations to ensure that safety standards of public transport services are maintained. Among the options being looked at closely is an enhancement of the implementation and enforcement of the Safety, Health and Environment Code of Practice (SHE COP) for bus operators, essentially a holistic approach to safety for the industry and covering all aspects from driver hiring policies to bus structure specifications.

What do you think – how best can the issue be addressed, and bus travel made a safer proposition for all?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sleepwalkerz on Dec 22, 2010 at 8:37 pm

We are always good in creating new rules etc…but always lack in execution..

• the problem is us attitude…rules n law r meant to be follow…remember saman ekor…we want that to be abolish..we go to umno public service, mca public service, dap public service pkr public service to complain… whereby the system catch traffic offender without the offender know through CCTV, other we want no speed limit in our road, speeding like crazy people, not pakai seatbelt, not give signal, phone when drive without handfree, drive at emergency lane…people follow law when there is police or jpj whether motocyclist, car driver, lorry driver or bus driver..tomoro morning u can observe by urself all thing that i mention above

• we’re good on creating rules only when something happens… if the bus accident in simpang pulai didnt happen, they wouldnt look into this…

but, car accidents happen everyday, but they still dont look into improving safety for cheaper cars… why? coz money is more important than human lives to them… agree?

• car accident mostly that i see is from fail attempt of passing, langgar red lite n speeding plus sleepy n unfortunate victim(front car fail passing)…most nowadays cheap car r tough(except supermini own opinion if the car accident with lorry)..the prob is old generation cheap car eg proton,honda, toyota etc…most killed in accident is from that car which r not tough enough to withstand collision with newer gen of car, lorry? i don think so..the newer car now at least have the most basic safety aside from seatbelt is the under body of the car itself..at least we a bit safe still precaution is important eg wear seatbelt..there news where neo driver throw out of his car n died(tv3 cover it don remember when), one news bout passenger thrown out car at penang bridge n splash into sea unfortunately the driver n front passenger died

• Armeng on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:36 am

From my point of view, there are so many loop holes to the goverment policy. I’m not sure either the G is really serious in handling this matter. Two companies’ permits were taken away which affected the staffs and drivers. It was short term solution but not for long run. I still don’t understand why G still don’t want to make a law for all heavy vehicles/buses to fix with tampered proof speed limiter. At least, to reduce the irresponsible driver from speeding. Don’t believe me? Go to any PLUS highway and KESAS highway to see these lorry/bus speed demon.

• Ronaldo on Dec 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Ppl die already only now they wana improve rules. apa lah…gomen.
      btw bus upper parts is the weakest part. They are made of woods,plastic and some thin sheet metal.(save cost). it can only protect u from the sun and rain but not from impact. Thats why most survivor are from the lower deck. To improve safety they need to redesign the roof of the bus with reinforce steel to increase rigidity.

• Its not the time to do the talking. whenever unfortunate happened, stand out and talk. We dun want hear the talking, we want to see the result. Show it!

• osh_kosh on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:13 pm

all buses must install this install that, check this check that… then give all this hi-tech goodies supplying contract to ‘my’ friends company, check by third party runs by ‘my’ friends.. ok lah.. as long as everyone safe.. :P

• The Dude on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Ban all soft roof/body buses…….make rollover protection an absolute must….then make ABS/ESP mandatory on all new buses by 2012.

If this had happenned; this 27 people n others will not have to die like this…………

• ambientscape on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:27 pm

They should take action long time ago! Malaysia Boleh….!

• mystvearn on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Give few months without accident, then everyone will forget. Malaysia is knee-jerk country. We have lots of laws, only no execution

• ambientscape on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:28 pm

The government should take this very seriously when the very first case occurred.

• So, it costs 27 lives for LPTC to come out with such response ? Our country people do things always wait for disaster to come first before take any action. I hope this is not another example of dragging the news until everyone forget about it and no follow up action.

• because this 27 dead are foreigners, thai. our malaysia government got to respond to another country ppl. just like what happened in philipines. when foreign tourists die in that country all the world will zoom in on them.

• Of course Malaysian Government has to respond, or else the whole of Red Shirt/Yellow Shirt armies may decent upon our door step or checkpoints tomorrow.

It is just for show, as long as no body wants to take drastic action to hold Malaysian government responsible, it will be forgotten after a month or two.

We are showiz people, do a good show, and make peace signs, things will be ok in no time. Malaysia Boleh…!

• Anak Malaysia on Dec 22, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Regarding to latest accident involving bus – i have no idea why in Malaysia they permit double-decker bus to be operate or use as express bus. This type of bus only suitable to be use as low speed tour bus around town. Please think of the physic law that this kind of vehicle is lack of stability due to their high center of gravity. Law maker!, please use your brain or i suggest you should throw your useless brain away!! Maybe it is the time to require all express bus to be fit with seat-belt and black box as mandatory safety feature.

• linear_system on Dec 22, 2010 at 10:31 pm

it is worst when they use double decker going up and down a mountain.even car can lost control on a windy road..

• Whynot on Dec 23, 2010 at 2:05 am

D-decker should not be put on highways and should only be allow to use in cities only.
        CG too high and extremely risky on hills and slope. V all know that. I greatly praise linear_system for his comment to start with.

• those politic ppl will say i am older i have more power so i am cleverer than u! i decide and u shut up! (maybe graduate of form 5, economy, political science but thinks he’s so good in everything including physics)

• linear_system on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:03 pm

thanx Whynot..but i think the praise should go to Anak Malaysia who started this comment :)

• Don’t just look la. Make it work ASAP. For the start, limit the bus speed, not more than 100 KM/h.

• darkskais on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:53 am

Put the speed limiter on all buses to 90km/h.
      Currently its just a sticker at the outside of the buses.

• Someone will ask we all to vote them so that they will have chance to implement the idea of limit the maximum bus speed to not more than 100KM/H.

• bobdbilder on Dec 22, 2010 at 10:35 pm

According to statistics, globally most accidents occur in low income economies. Higher income economies could implement safety regulations and install devices and afford the higher fees. There is no way for you to increase cost without departing that cost to consumers.

Safety and reduction of hazards in all aspects should look into:-

a) Elimination or removal of risks
    b) Replacement or substitution
    c) Isolation
    d) Engineered Control
    e) Management of Risks
    f) Safety Devices

Removal of possible threats is the best and most effective answer than having safety equipment such as ABS/EBD/Traction Control/Vehicles Stability. Having tests for drugs or alcohol abuse is more cost efficient than control of the vehicle.

(Just came back from NIOSH training) :)

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 22, 2010 at 10:35 pm

How about bad roads?

I frequent the Cameron roads very often, and that spot is a very unforgiving corner. its not rare to see one barreling down at 100+ and heading to a 50km/h turn. Miss your braking point and you’d eat barrier or worst.

The other issue is the general safety and options. If the bus operator is shoddy, you still use them because there aren’t much other options.

life is cheap here. the Government thinks we are expendable….LOL….

not only for Bus companies, in this day and age, we can still buy a new car with no airbags…..I mean, its absolutely ridiculous that you tax cars to high heaven and leave people with no choice but to option out safety gear?…..and while at it, throw the book at those that don’t use seatbelts or not secure children properly.. (how many times have we seen small kids in the front seat unsecured….?) .

and the joke of the day would be to legitimize the LACK of a safety gear. I mean, WTF is this, you get an exemption sticker if your late model car does not have rear seatbelts???

• slum in bolehland on Dec 22, 2010 at 11:49 pm

i do agree with u that spot is like waiting an accident to happen.really dangerous actually there are another 3 spot that need to turn slowly upon downhill from cameron.
      as far as i know the bus company such as transnasional,mara all have using either scania or man,got install GPS and speed limits but the biggest problem is body.
      for this so called bus persiaran which they get all the junk bus from big company also a real threat.and they do not have qualified person to take care and maintains.
      i do hope gov can implement such simple solution like put height barrel to limit a very high cars to enter cameron or any highland

• niuhje on Dec 22, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Just don’t include any POLITICIAN in the panel!! We need EXPERTS who know what they’re talking about and not some fat cat who is just for show!!… but i have a feeling it will just turn into NATO! KNN! When will we ever learn!!

• oh that will never happen, the chair, advisor, chief executor will all be politician coz they always think they know better!

• nabill on Dec 22, 2010 at 10:44 pm

lip services is cheap….specially when the aim is to win votes rather than actually solve the problem….totally no trust watever thy say….u are naive if u think thy actually do sting…

• anand mat pian on Dec 22, 2010 at 11:04 pm

dont go to Genting Highland,but if do go to Genting
    better take personal accident insurance
    quite cheap less than RM200 for RM50000 cover
    RM1000 for RM1Million cover

• anand mat pian on Dec 22, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Dont go to Genting Highland,if you do go to Genting
    better take personal accident insurance
    RM1000 for RM1Million cover

• then you pay rm1000 to go die and take rm 1million to do your funeral

• guruman on Dec 22, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Last month one heavy storm accompanied by strong winds along the east coast highway to kuantan, even at 60km/hr i can feel the car very unstable as aquaplanning on middle of the road surface, then suddenly on the fast lane, a tour bus overtook me so ridiculously fast,estimated speed of 100km/hr….

So if the bus lose control in this kind of suicide attempt by the driver, what can we do about it?

• speedyjack on Dec 22, 2010 at 11:38 pm

all comment here seems to blame the gov. why dont we put the blame on ourselves as a driver? no matter how good the condition of the road, the condition of the vehicle, but if we as a driver still didnt change our driving attitude then nothing can help. sory i am not pro gov. :-)

• Ronan on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:59 am

I agree. Most of us are so eager to criticise the government when something like this happens, yet when it comes to their driving they have no problem using emergency lanes, excessive speeding, using their handphones while driving, cutting lanes, forcing their way into other toll plazas, using highbeams on well lighted roads, tailgating – it’s ridiculous! Yet when I tell people that what they are doing is wrong, they just say “Malaysia Mah!”.

THIS KIND OF ATTITUDE HAS TO STOPPED!

When will we learn that human life is precious, and start walking the talk? Most people seem to feel they’re invincible behind the wheel, that their Myvi’s/4×4’s/Exora’s and what not is crash-proof and what not. Take the Subang toll plaza after 6PM on weekdays – classic cay of Malaysians gone bonkers!

For my part, I hope that LPTC do look into putting in speed limiters, GPS coordination as well as seatbelts. I remember when I was travelling on a bus from Woking to Heathrow in the UK, the bus driver will not move until you put on your seatbelt, and you are not allowed to move when the bus is moving.

Yes, this may all be blown away after 6 months, but somehow I hope this sticks – or we have another disaster in the making…

• shawal on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:04 am

it would be better if the headlines reads like this “LPTC says it will Improve safety of bus travel ”

I wonder How you guys can sleep at night, i took a bus from kuantan to kl (Raya time, want to get d feeling), its like a effing roller coster at Karak Highway, God Knows I’ve never prayed so much for my safety in a transport like that before…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:28 am

shawal,

I’d have loved to use “LPTC promises improved safety of bus travel,” but until someone finally does something to prevent such generally preventable mishaps – and the needless loss of lives – from happening again and again and again, and inject accountability and responsibility into the equation, then I guess “will look” is as good as it gets.

• shawal on Dec 23, 2010 at 5:37 am

for future passenger’s and all motorist sake, I hope things will change for the better

• transformer on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:06 am

Too many loop holes everywhere in malaysia….. everywhere is leaking… even our country largest courthouse is leaking without wikileak’s cables….. pathethic @@

So we should pray for a day to come, a bus/lorry/train hit some minister’s son/daughter/itself killed on the spot… then only we can see change…. or changes…. R.I.P.

• Please use tolled highway for your safety.
      Gov doesn’t have any intention to build super federal road in Malaysia.
      What the heck we are paying road tax every year?
      Discuss.

• What can we do ? on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:16 am

Friends. I think the Truck & Bas, accident will continue happen again. more & more Vehicle are using Second hand tire now. cause near my house 500mtr away. that’s big warehouse . are import lot’s of big Bas & Truck second tire. Their business damm good.
    everyday also new container coming in. worker are busy everyday. What can we do ? our kastam allow them to import.

• speedyjack on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:38 am

although we know kastom allow to import, we already know that the second hand tires are dangerous than why we still buy it? coz it cheap? darn. our life is priceless.

• i would say, people behind the steering is the most determining factor, but another factor (in this case, g’ment action, or inaction) is a contributing factor too. This is not time to blame anyone, but the G has been acting like this so many time – accident happen, people make noise, the G propose something, and after 3-4 month all seems forgotten. this happen one time too many…

• They only react when accidents happen. If not, they’ll just sit there and minum kopi. _|_ lah.
    Say wanna be better but lazy how will that possibly happen?

• Dah bosan dan muak dah, yet still hearing the same stories.

How many more lives need to be lost? We all got relatives, friends or somebody we know travelling here and there by bus. Benci la.

• Gajen on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:39 am

i lost count of how many bus accidents happened this year..and after so many accidents happen only,we are talking action,typical la..just wait till it gets worse then only rectify..i feel pity for those victims,god bless

• drMpower on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:56 am

i promise u
    just after 24 hours of that deadly accident at Pos Slim, one Kulim-something bus was speeding and driving recklessly on the road.

i know it because the driver kept high beaming me on the way after the Juru Tol (northbound) i saw my speedometer, i was doing 90kmh! i was so pissed that i wanted to take picture but the traffic ran into slow-mo because of the jam people coming out from the bridge

i know without proof, somebody would say i am just smearing or bluffing but get one holy book and i am gladly to swear on it. thats the only way i can prove my allegation or better still if the authority got roadside cameras then it would be useful to get the driver and maybe we can start sodomise him with something and burn him.

come on dude, i am not against the speed. i am against the RECKLESS driving. i roll fast man. infact faster than u.

• like i suggested so many time. just use the ticket or time when a vehicle enter the highway. using simple math. distance divided by time travel will give us the average speed the vehicle travel within the highway. if the average speed is above the speed limit immediately fine the motor vehicle upon exit of the highway! europeans highway had been practicing this many yrs ago!
    simple and cheap solutions! install black box so what? when accident happened review so what!? we must prevent ppl from speeding 1st in the 1st place!

• Carl Wong on Dec 23, 2010 at 2:53 am

Good idea man.

• rejab on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:04 am

But still the bus can speedup certain places and slow other places to compensate the time OR the bus speedup all the way but stop at rest area longer!

Anyway it is the driver again…need to educate more so that they really reponsible with their passenger and bus.

• adlanar on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:41 am

this way the bus drivers will just take longer pit stops at r&r to average thier speed. simple solution to your simple math. Malaysia Boleh!

• hatibudak on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:23 am

make a tollgate before entering and leaving RnR. just to record down pitstop duration. let start with bus 1st.

• niceone on Dec 23, 2010 at 3:02 pm

if build tollgate for every R&R then it’s not a cheap solution anymore. i still think GPS is the best solution, at least at this time, which can be implemented immediately. you can track the bus speed all the time..oh well who am i for my voice to be heard, i’m not a politician.

• “Will look” as compared to “should have look” since it is Public Transport’s duty……………..

To the families of the death, do accept my sympathy.

• all buses must come with speed limiter.. max at 100kmh (for overtake purpose only), blackbox stil compulsory and the data must be reviewed weekly, any speeding buses will be stopped from operation for 1 month, same goes to the driver beside $ fine…

• Rockmebaby on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:02 am

Today newspaper say they found out that the double decker had been modified from 19 seats to 30+ seats illegally…..Well, maybe their math skill is not much better than primary school kids…Isn’t that the original reason for double decker is to double the the number of seats in a bus so bus operator can double their profit….
    Now, I can’t wait for the authority to announce that all double decker buses in the country are modified illegally…..LOL
    Maybe it’s time for out Transport Minister to be FIRED for allowing it in the first place.

• it’s not only the driver’s fault.
    Bus driver is a human, like us.

An accident happens generally because of a chain of effect.
    May be because of the bus wasnt legally modified, fatigue – due to the workload, road condition, weather, etc.
    Hope LPTC could find a comprehensive solution.

About speeding, i do agree bus drivers could be very reckless. Faster than us driving a car – and they got 30-40 lives on board. Higher number in double decker buses.
    That’s dangerous. and we’re not lack of example.

One thing i’d suggest, rather than just to have timing and simple math.
    Why not government oblige all bus to have a log book, and to stop every 2 hours (that’s recommended safe time for normal driving). They gotta stop a while, have coffee or something, and resume driving.
    Of course, the log book shall be in line with the black box.

Driver got under his hand lives of our family, relatives, friends, etc.
    These people gotta travel, by hook or by crook.
    Given our system, bus is the most affordable and most common.

Can’t afford to have more and more tragedy!

Hmm, appreciate our govt to look into developping better railway system too.
    Those who travel regularly from KL to KB, and similar roads will understand what i’m saying.

• Sometimes you just have to chuck out scientific nonsense and use common sense to solve problems. As a lot of correct suggestions have already been made I just wish to add on a few more.
    Buses, trucks, commercial vehicles of any size have NO business at all on the fast lane. This is with reference to an earlier bus crash which occured this year. In my many years of driving experience (and many countries), our roads are quite hilly and there exist many a sudden inlet and exit. These heavy vehicles sometimes sway trying to avoid vehicles going in or coming out or slower ones. No matter what the excuse, they must slow down and patiently wait their turn. Sometimes they swing out with no indicators what so ever. This all boils down to attitude and lack or consideration.
    Another thing, Ive said this before, why are earth movers allowed to be driven on the roads? You guys have probably seen those bulldozer thingies, sometimes even in pairs, no power whatsoever hogging the roads and disturbing everyone from motorists to car drivers. These vehicles should be completely banned from travelling on the roads unless they can be trailored.
    Since I am a frequent highway traveller, I have also heard one too many blowouts. And most of the time it is due to the infamous ‘tayar celup’. I also witnessed one incident during Raya this year along the LDP stretch towards Motorola where the heavy vehicle had a blowout and the driver was incompetent in handling it, resulting in the said vehicle crashing into a wall.
    Of course the CH bus issue may not be due to these but im sure common sense and enforcement will go a long way to prevent such incidences.

• damien on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:07 am

When there’s road accidents which involves fatality, every1 blames the bus/bus driver but never did they blame the government. WHY? Have any of them take the road/highway design into considerations. If we want to build roads on highlands, proper and thorough investigation in terms of SI/design and etc need to carried out. Dont just think of MONEY.Dont think of building roads just 2 please the rakyat. Life is at stake.

Like the earlier replies, why in the world would the Authorities let a double decker bus on the highway. Maybe some exclusion can be given in normal highways which have lesser bends. But then again, Malaysia have this mentality that “dah bagi sayap nak dada” :)

The rules and regulations are already intact and there to adhere BUT are there any executions from the Authorities?NO ! I took a bus not long ago from Kuantan to KL as my car is in the workshop. It was during Raya Holidays. I could see the JPJ guys walking here and there at the terminal station checking buses. You felt secured (in a way lah, although you never know whats going to happen). But after fetching my friend from the terminal last month, i found out that there’s still JPJ personnels there but mostly are either inside their pajeros sleeping/inside their tent or at mamak stalls. Buses keeps on moving in and out. Bangun laa woi….makan lagi rasuah banyak2….

But then again, im sure everywhere in government sectors are like that la…mentality low to the max….PEMALAS dan PERKOSA

p/s The best answer to any question would be “GO ASK NAJIB”

• lantoi on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:24 am

The authority should not allow double decker bus to use winding mountain road because lack of stability. That kind of bus only allowed to use highways only

• Dissapointed on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:49 am

Why does Government only waits until a bus full of foreigner to crash to take some action and inquiry? What about all previous bus accidents? Is Malaysian’s life not precious?

Previous Sani Express and the Genting bus accident should triggers this. Not until some foreigner tourist are involved then only government take action. It seems that our lives is cheap.

• apooo samy on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:01 am

one more thing must check puspakom or JPJ coz i feel something fishy here..hahahaha…how come sometimes bus with braking and tire problem can Pass puspakom inspection?? weird…

• Remember the NS Expressway Bus Accident? After that accident, many voices came from the authorities and so called expert wanted to address and go to the bottom of the matter. Since then, many months have passed, it is just another dead end thing.

This is Malaysia and those in authority — Life Goes On, As Long As It Is Not My Loved Ones Who Had Suffered, Who Cares!

The same with the Highland Tower Incident. Has the Government seriously wanted to deal with the root of the problems. The answer is NO!

I think our Government may take this CH Bus Accident more seriously if the Thai family of the victims take the matter to court and make a big hoo-haa about the matter, as in the Philippine Killing of Hong Kong Tourists incident.

Having said that, I think those in authority will most probably find every evident to put all the blame on the bus, driver and the bus company.

They will deny that there is a wrongful design in the CH road, and they have failed to stop TALL buses from making hilly trips or travelling at nerve breaking speed on any given road.

Think about this, how can they permit a TALL bus making hilly trips to CH or GH? Common sense will tell you the bus will be VERY unstable due to high centre of gravity and it is VERY difficult to control the bus on decent without brake failure at some point, due to the weight of the bus and OVERLOADED passengers.

Who should be blamed for the latter? Those in Government of course! Will they be responsible? NO!

So sad!!!

• same bollock story from the Ministry. same comment and same respond.
    another incident ought to happen and the same respond from the same bull ministry.
    anyone bet?.. An Open statement to Ministry Of Transport or Ministry Of Tarakerja
    Dont blame the driver as his gone already, he can’t defend himself. No one actually saw what happened and what went wrong. Don’t bury the case with the dead. The more lenient your enforcements are, the more accidents we will see daily.

• i heard today, some another so-call intelligent ‘Officer’ made a statement that the minimum qualification needed for a driver now is ‘ Diploma ‘,
    well said sir, yes, brilliant idea.
    Are you going to introduce another syllabus in the Education system call – ‘ Driving and Road Safetyness ‘ and make this must-pass before entering U – level?..
    get a life.. -seriously?..

• vincew on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:31 pm

To make things worst is that the bus was found to be modified from 19 seater to 40 seater. Assuming average person is 50kg, that is additional 1000kg in weight increase. If the brakes were original, this is remedy for disaster already happen, the comment from survivor is that they smell burning smell before the crash. Most probally the brakes are burning up due to the extra 1 TON load.

Now before we blame the company (who may be in trouble), the funny thing is how did the modification was not seen during JPJ checks (about 6 months once?). Permit was approved for the Bus to travel, who approve it?

In Cameron, I have personally crashed my car at the same bend (It is know as the “killer Bend” by the locals). The road before the bend is very straight and slightly sloped downards, this will build up the momentum inertia of the vehicle. At the bend, it is noted that sometime “Tow Truckers” were seen pouring used Engine Oil to the road to make it easier to slip. Very coincidently a tow truck appears just 5 minuts after i crashed my car. (I was going 70kmh per the road limit posted). I pray to GOD to bless those victims and hopefully justice and Karma previals on the person/s who caused this.

• ultrawomen on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Quote : “At the bend, it is noted that sometime “Tow Truckers” were seen pouring used Engine Oil to the road to make it easier to slip.”

omg, izzit for real ???

• The only true one who do the best job is dedicated-heart emergency response units (especially firefighters & medical personnels) .

Discovery Channel must come to bolehland and remake a complete bus accident series in brand new season of Seconds From Disaster.

• yc.low on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Every time there is a big accident involving buses there is a promise of a big inquiry but after some times when the dust has settled, all the inquiries are forgotten until another accident happens! Hagat, hangat tahi ayam – sudah biasa mendengar cerita ini. First and foremost bus drivers and all heavy vehicles drivers must change their attitude. Discipline on the road is a must on the road – one senator even suggest that bus drivers must pass with a diploma in driving – even a degree from the university ( or a phd ) will not make any difference if there is no discipline and correct attitude on the road.

• bugger on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:18 pm

1st thing, active safety.. (forget about airbags..)
    passenger needs safety belt… seriously!

• SAME SAME on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:21 pm

it’s the same story all the time. action is only taken after something happens. no one seem to want to do anything before that

• SHADUP LA on Dec 23, 2010 at 1:23 pm

dengar dulu lah …… *yawn*

• ultrawomen on Dec 23, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Let me talk cock abit here also lolz

Just Ban long distant bus travel altogether and start building accident-proof trains/bullet trains (think japan), start building more budget airport and let the train and aeroplane do the job of mass transportation. Long distant Bus travel just too many eggs in one paper basket! a basket made of paper. very fragile. Bus is more appropriate for inner city travel.

we need shockproof basket like high tech train/airplane!

• existence on Dec 23, 2010 at 2:46 pm

investigation underway still on Cameron Highlands-Simpang Pulai Road tour bus crash fatalities .

So we know now the investigation are saying the bus was modified beyond the actual seat capacity and were shock later to discovered there some extra number of seats …

n the reports are saying Bus crash possibly due to human, technical factors and the road condition might be the cause. Not to seem their cannot blamed others or something but are those things usually the main cause???

Meanwhile, the Land Public Transport Commission (LPTC) is making road safety a high priority area in its list of concerns as it moves towards full operation next year.

so next year their going for full operation? as if the list of concerns was not enough since previous years or in 2007 which claims 20 or so victims ……

• ko malu saje... on Dec 23, 2010 at 3:40 pm

just look only…..

• Anak Malaysia on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Root cause analysis>
    1. Man > sleeping, tired, not follow road regulation, not proper inspection, lack of enforcement, maintenance failure, overload , vandalism > human
    2. Machine > mechanical failure, part failure, design failure, > human.
    3. Method > > no proper device to avoid driver mistake or vandalism, no regulation on bus safe condition status >human.
    4. Material > worse road design, worse road condition > human.
    You can go detail if you want but lastly you will stuck at HUMAN.
    So HUMAN => US, our mind, our attitude,we all can contribute to accident like this, we as driver, as road user, as lawmaker, as authority, as law enforcer, as mechanic, as road builder, as engineer, as bla..bla..bla..Please think. TQ

• limsk on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Land Public Transport Commission (LPTC).. from my own opinion their roles defined as commission, which mean make recommendation to bus operator about transportation safety. But they don’t enforce a policy to bus operators. Otherwise it wasting tax payer money we have Road Transport Ministry.

Even speed limiter on the bus installed who going make sure that these devices are calibrated or not tampered (modified) thus compromise the safety of the public. Unlike tampering water meter and electric meter this tampering can cause lost of love ones and probability a bread winner for a family.

• Franco Baresi on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Lets all post picts of reckless bus drivers on paultan’s FB!!!Then we forward them all to RTD n PDRM!!!!!

• mata katak on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:23 am

Malangsia country always need many death before they start anything…

After numerous study, special task force, study this and that….then suddenly forgoten everything…….

Malangsia Boleh…..

• Evrything will be forgotten in months frm now, as usual.. Its not hard to find what is wrong. Just drive around and we can see lorries, buses, speeding insanely! I just came back from my mother’s house and while waiting at the traffic light, I felt something huge coming from behind really fast and then swooshh.. – a lorry was speeding on the next lane and langgar the red light, and it was in a tight 2-lane jalan kampung, the space between the speeding lorry and my car was mere inches away! I had my sons sleeping at the back seat for godssake..
    And the buses, like so many people here mentioned above, it doesnt take a genius to find out they are everyday speeding on the hiways. We speed at 120kmph or so, yet they can still overtake us with ease..
    Transportation tickets may cost higher if tighter safety regulations are implemented but if its for the good of all, I think people dont really mind.

• AgreeToDisagree on Dec 24, 2010 at 4:07 am

Hi Paul Tan, Anthony and guys,

First time commenting here. Was looking up commercial vehicles modifications and found Paul Tan automotive site.

I’m abit of a modifications enthusiast and trying something new or maybe even to start a trend. Am wondering if any of you know if a 10 ton or above vehicle can be converted into a mini-clubman shape or other regular vehicle shape for private use and not be considered commercial?

Will it be subject to the once year check if not used for commercial purposes? The main reason is safety for me, and the chasis of a 3 ton or even 10 ton lorry looks much safer than the conventional vehicle. If cash should not be the consideration, what kind of problems with registering or licensing something like that?

Or shouldn’t even try at all because JPJ too inflexible?

Thanks.

• i think u guys still remember the tragic on NSE at 10/10/10. what happen next was, the bus company’s license was suspended. guess what, you can still see the exact “red bus” on the road. Was wondering if re-register a company can help to resolve such incident from happening again. Wake up genius!