Mitsubishi Triton Bold Edition in M’sia – limited to 300 units

There’s a new Mitsubishi Triton Bold Edition available at Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia showrooms from tomorrow onwards, and there’s only 300 units to go around.

The Triton Bold Edition is based on the Triton 2.5 A/T and adds full leather seats, a 2-DIN touch screen system with built-n GPS navigation and reverse camera, automatic climate control, 17 inch alloy wheels, anti-slip side steps, a sports bar, a chrome rear step bumper and a front bumper guard.

The Triton Bold Edition is priced at RM100,117.80 OTR without insurance and until the end of January, you’ll get a Festive Ang Pow if you book and register one.

The truck is available in either black or white and comes with a 2-year free maintenance package and 3-year warranty from Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1866]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Phillip Zak on Jan 11, 2011 at 7:46 pm

Hyundai engine….i rather get a better quality Hyundai sonata….

• Sid Sodamuddin on Jan 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Hyundai engine? Are you on the right topic?

• whitefox on Jan 11, 2011 at 8:04 pm

hyundai and mitsubishi share same petrol engine which hyundai name gema and mitsu name 4b11

But i nvr hear there share diesel engine == are confuse and mix all of them lol

• Goproton on Jan 12, 2011 at 1:24 am

ppl hyundai fanboy ma…ofcourse everything hyundai best lo…

• LandCruizerzz on Jan 11, 2011 at 8:45 pm

haha, this guy is seriously in a wrong topic.

• “mitsubishi car hyundai engine …when proton want to rebadge triton?in thai it is price cheaper than bolehblahland..wtf” – KZM

ps:..i have start make bashing proton n the gov if not i will be consider blind supporter, hypocrite, lowlife etc..by some guy here..sori all

• Singaporean Truckers on Jan 12, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Irf Proton to rebadge Triton and Pajero Sport, it will be Proton Jumbuck 2nd series.

• Is Mitsubishi own development diesel engine, extra cost RM6,818.00,
      Mitsubishi like to make a cosmetic to the new buyer, but the buyer can make it self from accessories shop is more cheaper then Mitsubishi, and Mitsubishi always cannot solve the problems when customer complaints, but you can solve it from out side workshop, 1 beam light bulb cost RM108+/-, but outside spare parts shop only cost me RM2.50, the beam light buld from PHILIP, see the difference? why i know?

• great features,, toyota hilux should do like this la..

• great features, hilux should do like this la.

• My friend and his brother own Triton… now they bit regret.. always got problem.. one of them, the Timing belt snapped pre-maturely. Good looking but not really reliable according to him. Maybe someone who owns triton can share some of their experience here, if paul don’t mind.
    I need to make up my mind between Triton and D-Max… Tolongggg…

• peter32 on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:09 pm

I am driving one. Forget about those ppl who said about the triton. Its actually pretty reliable. Triton=best passenger space at the rear among trucks, average FC, more than enough power for me. Dmax=best FC, very reliable and robust engine with timing chain but noisy. Only 3.2L Dmax can give some level of satisfaction about power cruising.

If you plan to fetch ppl at the back, only triton can be ur choice.

• TingDK on Jan 12, 2011 at 9:37 am

The noisiness of isuzu engine is its beautiful trademark. The purring of the diesel engine reminds me of my dad’s isuzu trooper which is now still running perfectly even after 20+ years. If you feel that the cabin is too noisy, then install some soundproofing carpet to lessen it. Maintenance wise, the parts are quite cheap, and they are pretty reliable too.

Triton is quite a good passenger truck, very spacious, the ride not too bumpy compared to hilux, and if you’re planning to get one – wait till they promote it with 3 years warranty and free maintenance because the spare parts wont be forgiving to your wallet. Just my opinion :)

• Alpha on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Navara~~

• anakSarawak on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Buy FORD……

• i think that’s more to the parts used, not exactly the cars fault. my family owns a triton for 3 years and so far it’s perform as well as i thought it would, no problem or such=). but another reason we choose the triton over the dmax is because at that moment, suzuki did not offer 4 wheel drive on their 2.5L range. maybe you just have to give both a test drive and see which one gives you the best feel.=)

cheers

• M-mealin on Jan 11, 2011 at 10:03 pm

my brother own one…no problem at all with 3years warranty n 2years free maintenance i can only see smile on his face when the kilometers arrive…its not fair when we simply conclude this n that car is bad just becoz of some people said it bad…how about u 1st test drive both car than choose one of coz which the best 4 you…have a nice day…

• Alitstar on Jan 15, 2011 at 9:59 am

I have friend who have a D-Max and another the Triton. They both regret buying them, neither are they claim to be. But then, what are your specific expectation? Business, Outdoor or Tayang?

I’ve taken both on outdoor and I dont know why all these 4WD manufactures have yet to get their acts right on the drive-shafts.

• mitlanevo on Jan 11, 2011 at 8:29 pm

sissy trying to be BOLD?

omg~ another disaster….

• alexs on Jan 11, 2011 at 8:30 pm

yup so stylo for me..booked 1 already yesterday!…

• peter32 on Jan 11, 2011 at 8:32 pm

It looks like the earlier ‘shorter’ version of Triton are being used here.

• the 2.5 liters version is based on what engine? i recall its not the same as 3.2 version

• it is using the same 4d56 common rail engine….. triton 3.2 is using 4m41 engine

• 100K?

Wait until Potong rebadge this as Jumbuck.

• nebula87 on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:37 pm

another “special” edition…>.<

• No matter how good the feature, Sibu people mind only have Hilux, please dont waste your time….

• stevo on Jan 11, 2011 at 11:02 pm

toyota hilux no need to be like this la..
    malaysian will buy it..dont worry..because it has a toyota logo malaysian will buy..
    triton is better than hilux

• Jayram on Jan 12, 2011 at 2:49 am

I’m planning to buy Triton. Can someone tell me when is the new model for 2011 coming?….

• 4WD lover!!! on Jan 12, 2011 at 8:24 am

I would hold back my decision on considering the Triton to be my ride….cause…just last year…more than 5 Triton masuk longkang at Sarawak, since the other brand 4WD dont have much of this incident….should I said Triton handling not tat satisfied??!!! Anyway….Just share out what I found….

• try “Google”ing Triton + CHAOS or CH405…amazing Triton…

• bugger on Jan 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm

in terms of max load capacity/kgs..
    hilux is still the best with its duo 6leaf-springs..

• MonfereBlogspot on Jan 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm

2011 Proton Arena EV (Extended Version)

• Singaporean Truckers on Jan 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Paul and Danny, the Mitsubishi Triton sold in Singapore will be priced from SGD63,988 to SGD90,988 (Approximately RM153,354.92 to RM218,063.66), this is more expensive than in Malaysia. Why compared to Mitsubishi Lancer, the Triton is cheaper in Malaysia but more expensive in Singapore?

• downs on Jan 12, 2011 at 11:42 pm

It may be because of Malaysia’s tax structure regarding the classification of the vehicle (as a truck, rather than a car, i think). Malaysia Tritons are actually cheaper than Australian prices. Other Mitsus should not be compared.

• luxury tax for pickup trucks on Jan 16, 2011 at 7:55 am

Don’t talk australia, talk singapore.

• bugger on Jan 12, 2011 at 11:43 pm

not only triton, all pickup segment oso same
      look at the G’s taxation structure, u will understand..

• downs on Jan 13, 2011 at 6:24 pm

yes, what i meant was pickups in general.

• luxury tax for pickup trucks on Jan 16, 2011 at 8:01 am

People always said pickup truck market in Singapore’s not that good. Ask yourself this, how many Hilux did Toyota sell in Malaysia. Singaporean Government add puncitive excise taxes to pickup trucks, and says “Thai auto factory will be punished by Singapore because they making pickup trucks”. The pickup truck is prohibited in Singapore as they cause traffic jams.

• vw beetle on Jan 28, 2011 at 6:22 pm

People always said pickup truck market in Singapore’s not that good. Ask yourself this, how many Hilux did Toyota sell in Singapore. Singaporean Government add puncitive excise taxes to pickup trucks, and says “Thai auto factory will be punished by Singapore because they making pickup trucks”. The pickup truck is prohibited in Singapore as they cause traffic jams.

• bugger on Jan 12, 2011 at 11:40 pm

ride comfort and FC?
    lolz, did anyone here ever compare the max load capacity and etc…?
    u guys really LMAO..
    u wan comfort get a sedan, u wan FC get a city car then…
    triton is less bumpy compared to others bcoz mitsu take out most of the leaf springs… take alook 1st!

• scgtimk1 on Jan 13, 2011 at 11:11 am

Don’t bother to take a look. Nissan Navara is miles better than this.

• Elyas Ariff on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:35 am

Congratulations to MMM for the launching of Triton Bold Edition.. another new model to the Mitsubishi Triton family.

Btw, problems with Triton is very less.. maybe 1000 units, only 1-2 got issues, the rest have no problems at all.. im using triton for 3 years.. no problems,, any issues, just send to the 3S center, they will gladly help you out.

Btw, Triton Tuners Club is the only Triton Club in Malaysia. just google or facebook .. Triton Tuners Club, you will know what i mean..

Its a trend now in malaysia..sports trucks… no more workhorse,bring sand/woods/heavy machines/ladders, image anymore..

your money, you decide.. whats the best.. for me and us, Triton Tuners Club family, we support n love Mitsubishi .. :)

cheers n regards..

Elyas Ariff
    Triton Tuners Club – Co Founder
    TTC 004

• Hi there, im a triton owner for 3 years, just wanna share some of my experience here. B4 i bought the car, i tested both hilux and triton. I hv to admit that hilux is bumpier and the interior is not so nice. trition on the other hand was like driving a saloon car. It was very comfortable and powerful, I am comparing with my previous honda civic 1.7. I absolutely love it!
      BUT! i hv encountered a few problems.

1. Service centres almost non existent.
      You definitely cannot rely on proton service centres!
      one proton service centre charge me rm120 for an oil filter! when it cost me only rm50 ( excl.promo price ) at 3s service centre. But 3s centre is so few that you hv to book 3 weeks in advance for a normal service. Always no stock for parts..Must put deposit,,then wait for 2-3 days maybe more depending on MMM to release the stock. A lot of time wasted here. i am of course comparing with my experience with honda service centre.

2. Engine problem
      frequent engine check light
      Diesel Euro 2 incompatibility MAJOR PROBLEM!
      Lately my triton has been experiencing engine hunting, loss of power
      and very bad FC. I just learn that is because my tritons suction valve
      kaput already because of bad diesel quality.. and it is costing me apx.
      RM 8++. Although we can put the blame on the government for bringing
      bad diesel, but the question also lies on mitsubishi too..why bring in this
      model if there are issues with our diesel quality??

3. Squeaking Leafspring
      Its like i got a rats nest at the back of my triton. Be prepared to buy
      WD40 in bulk. cuz you have to spray every 2 days.

I luv this car, dont get me wrong, but this three problems makes this my last mitsubishi purchase…

• i will choose mitsubishi over other brands becuase i believe this vehicle is reliable….my dad own the previous L200 06 and so far it does not encounter any problem….maybe its depend on how you drive it :)

• Sorry to say, that L200 06 is of course more reliable to compare with triton. the built is tougher than triton. Just compare the old BMW and the new ones.. the old one is better..last longer..the new ones got alot of problems..it is due to cutting cost….think about it..

• Downs on Apr 22, 2011 at 2:32 am

Guys, need some help. My Triton Bold has too many problems:

1) Poor radio reception (SM said can’t do anything coz no one else complain)

2) Rear bumper drops down by about 1 or 2 inches when stepped on (SM said everyone has the same problem)

3) Sports bar had a crack (SM said it’s my fault for carrying heavy stuff – which I didn’t even do)

4) Extra noisy suspension/absorber (SM said it’s normal so I should stop complaining)

5) Broken wiper spray tank (when I sent in for repairs, mechanic said there was a crack that someone tried to cover with silicone before. instead of giving me new tank, he just covered again with more silicone. how can a brand new car have a broken wiper water tank in the first place? SM said ‘i dunno lah’)

6) Plastics by the side of both front seats are breaking off (SM said it’s my fault for not exiting the car the right way and my passenger may be too heavy – 85kgs)

*SM=Sales Manager

Question is:
    To whom should I write a complain letter to?

Btw, I ordered my Triton the day after reading this blog post.

• Guys, just to share with u guys, based on my previous post which regarding my suction valve, its just a never ending story for me…maybe im the only unlucky ones to have dis problem. After nearly 7months of replacing the suction valve, i am hving the same pro lem again. Engine hunting, and bla bla bla. Well, i cant be bothered anymore, im thinking of selling my triton and maybe going for colorado or navara.. no point wasting time and money to misubishi.. they couldnt care less… i know every cars have a problem,but after 7months and rm8++ again? No way mitsubishi! I have suffered enough.

To brother downs, if its still under warranty, ask them to change all the defected parts with them for free! While u still can.

• my lovly triton
    good
    -very strong akseleret
    -pikap 4 memotong
    -can drive laju-laju
    -body seksi
    -cheaper than hilux
    -very good enjin
    bad
    -my rotor brake dah bengkok n bile brake cam naik kuda(kuda ku lari laju)
    – brake pad always make prob
    -air-con dah tak sejuk
    -maybe may triton takde abs tu pasal rotor senang bengkok koooottttt

papepun aku suke ngan triton ku
    10 star 4 my triton
    kalo sesape cakap pasal hilux ok, den nak tanyo kat korang
    (dah pernah beli hilux n lepas tu bli triton plak?????? aku dah…. dan jawapan ku tetap triton ku gak best)
    aku pake hilux 1.5 taun n pake triton 1.4 taun

• ssss

• Toyie on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:05 pm

TJ – TQ for sharing the experience of both Hilux & Triton. Looking fwd for new Triton launching this 2Mar’12. I heard the new Triton HP for 2.5l is 178 (claimed)