Jazeman Jaafar to continue in British F3 series with Carlin

Jazeman Jaafar to continue in British F3 series with CarlinPetronas-backed Malaysian driver Jazeman Jaafar will stay with championship winning team Carlin in 2011, returning to the Cooper Tires British F3 International Series for a second season of competition.

The 18-year-old had a strong rookie season with two podium finishes, including a second place finish in only his tenth F3 race. With 16 top ten finishes from 30 starts, he’s keen to build on his success
as he enters his second year of racing in the series.

“My first season of British F3 was a huge learning curve,“ he says. “I moved up from Formula BMW to the much more powerful and more technical F3 machinery and had a lot to learn.”

“Entering 2011, I feel much more comfortable, not only having already competed at this level for a season, but also by staying with Carlin who nurtured me through my rookie year, I have a stability which is very important. I would like to thank Petronas for giving me the opportunity to race at this high level in motor racing.”

“My goal is always to win races and that will be my focus this season. The grid shaping up for this year looks highly competitive and I don’t underestimate how tough it will be, but I have the commitment, passion and determination to succeed,” Jazeman says.

“As a racing driver my aim is to reach the pinnacle of my sport, which is, of course, Formula 1, and if I am to do that I have to prove that I have the skill and the talent needed; British F3 is the right training ground for this,” he enthuses.

Jazeman Jaafar to continue in British F3 series with Carlin

The team’s racing director, Trevor Carlin, says the Malaysian teenager had a good rookie season with the team last year and that the team was pleased that Jazeman and Petronas opted to stay with Carlin this year. “We look forward to consolidating all the hard work last year, building on the experience and working together to bring further success,” Carlin added.

The British F3 International Series 2011 calendar takes in five countries and includes four tracks currently raced in the FIA Formula 1 World Championship. The season opens at Monza, Italy on April 14-16 and concludes at Silverstone, UK on October 7–9, with testing being resumed in late February.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Feb 09, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Just a false hope again? Hope not. Petronas, make sure this guy really make it through to F1

• Kimi Raikkonen fan on Feb 09, 2011 at 5:32 pm

the youngest ever champion in Formula BMW Asia Pacific : Jazeman Jaafar

i wish Jazeman Jaafar can be another kimi raikkonen!

• racefan on Feb 09, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Jazeman’s Malaysia’s next real F1 hopeful. FBMW Pacific is ‘jaguh kampung’ honours. Doesn’t count for much in Europe but Jazemen’s mixing it up with the right crowd and is on the right path to F1.

He now needs to show good results in British F3 this season. 12th in championship with Carlin last season is not too bad for rookie but lets pray he makes it count this year.

Good kid with genuine potential. Still easily 3 years away from an F1 debut.

• vertigo on Feb 09, 2011 at 8:07 pm

from afar his grin looks like the late MJ’s

• trav_da_man on Feb 09, 2011 at 10:34 pm

He is our next best hope to see a Malaysian in F1. He did took podium finishes and points finish in the cut throat British F3000 championship and he is driving for the best team in British F3000.

He should gain sufficient experience and hopefully within few years he can succeed and jump to the GP3 and GP2 before eventually to F1. With much Malaysian presence in GP2 (team air asia, Lotus ART) and F1 (u know who), we really hope to see Jazeman into the F1 cockpit, hopefully not because as a pay driver.

• racefan on Feb 10, 2011 at 1:35 am

F3000 does not exist. It was replaced by GP2. Jazeman is competing in British F3. Carlin is the most dominant team in F3. Jazeman is among 5 Carlin drivers. 3 are occupying the sharp end of the championship and he in 12th, is second to last among Carlin drivers. Can understand that was rookie year but lets hope he breaks into top 5 this season.

With sufficient F3 experience and results he would not need GP3 and can jump straight into GP2. All in his hands.