Violence escalates in Bahrain, GP2 Asia Series cancelled

The wave of protests demanding change in the Middle East is rocking the kingdom of Bahrain, where authorities have banned public gatherings, sending tanks into the streets of capital Manama. These moves are part of an intensified crackdown that has so far killed seven anti-government protesters and wounded more than 200. Generally, it’s the disaffected majority Shiites up against the Sunni ruling elite.

As we all know, the much anticipated start of the 2011 Formula 1 season is the Bahrain GP scheduled for 11-13 March, and there’s a final pre-season test on March 3-6. These latest happenings are making F1 bosses and Bernie Ecclestone sweat.

There’s already one race canceled. GP2 Asia Series organisers announced yesterday that they have called off this weekend’s round of the series at Sakhir following a request from the Bahrain motorsport federation.

Autosport says that the teams will discuss whether or not to go ahead with the Bahrain test when they meet in Barcelona this weekend. Apparently, the Bahrain test needs to be decided on fast because teams will have to send freight to the test within the next week if things go as planned. Changing the location of the first race is much trickier, as most sea freights have already left their bases for Bahrain by now.

Will it happen or not? Fingers crossed!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• frossonice on Feb 18, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Their gov. give a thousand usd to each of their citizen to stop rioting and they still do it. Maybe the protesters are asking for more. Let see how much we will get if we start a protest here in Malaysia. Hahaha.

• be-end on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm

start a protest in msia and the gomen will isa yr ass….simple as that…….they will request peruntukan for usd1k…pocket the amount quitely and isa yr ass…..

• FBI-SA on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:21 pm

you’ll be the first one to be isa-ed… no matter what you do, you cant change the goverment… they got the power, money, bunch of ho’s, etc..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:40 pm

No,I hope it doesn’t happen here in Malaysia.I want peace,that’s why I still love my country.

• 1Malaysia2020 on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:47 pm

Tu laaa next time do like what motoGP did…. test in Sepang…no riots…no demonstrations… no military tanks….only heavy rains….

• mmouse on Feb 18, 2011 at 4:29 pm

I love Malaysia and I hate Politician!!!!

• yellowbus on Feb 18, 2011 at 7:04 pm

And I love you for feeling that way! Theres nothing wrong with this country and the people living in it….its those selfish bastards with their own agenda up there who are the country’s main problem….I LOVE MALAYSIA!

• racefan on Feb 18, 2011 at 4:59 pm

A bit lambat lah Danny. This was announced yesterday and things have further escalated in Bahrain which now seriously call into question the Bahrain F1 test first week March and also now, the Bahrain GP itself. Today teams deciding whether the test should be cancelled and it seems it likely will be cancelled. Next week Bernie will announce whether Bahrain GP will be cancelled or not

• bryan.jones on Feb 18, 2011 at 6:34 pm

cancel. dubai got nice circuit also.

• VW_fans on Feb 18, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Sekarang sikit-sikit protests!!!! and u all know lllaaaa…… Malaysia sememang sangat boleh, scared later some political party “copy & paste”.

• ezracopters on Feb 18, 2011 at 6:57 pm

make it double in Sepang..haha

• bobdbilder on Feb 19, 2011 at 1:42 am

And the Black Banner shall fly in the wind of change.

• omanjedi on Feb 19, 2011 at 10:18 pm

It will be cancelled. That’s for sure. What’s the point of having a race when there is no significant attendees. Furthermore, the whole world mood has changed towards the regime after they killed peaceful protestor – see it on youtube…

The conflict will escalate – no doubt about it…

2 x race at Sepang is not a bad idea isn’t it……perhaps either race would be lucky enough w/out any rain………..

I HOPE THE SEPANG F1 COMMITTEE SHOULD BE MEETING BERNIE NOW